Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2017
Hosting family were very kind.
Jul 15, 2017
It was decent, the men's bathroom was far from clean. The staff was nice / helpful.
Jul 15, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff
Jul 15, 2017
Very nice campground with any extras. Greatlcatikn and we really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 14, 2017
I and three children ages 7 to 11 years old stayed in a deluxe cabin for two days. The kids had a lot of fun. They spent a lot of time in the pool during the upper 90 degree days. The cabin was clean and bedding and towels were furnished. There were quite a few ants in the cabin, something I did not get around to mentioning to the management. Otherwise everything was good.
Jul 14, 2017
Great people great park...big spots & quite...shaded
Jul 14, 2017
Great site (38). Love the big trees. Friendly staff.
Jul 14, 2017
One of the best KOA campgrounds we gave ever stayed at.
Jul 14, 2017
the upgrade to the area I was in is badly needed. at times I only had 100 volts or less
Jul 14, 2017
This KOA is great! The only place with real shade in the badlands. The owners are lovely and the staff work hard to make your stay great! The only thing I'd say could be better is the Fire grates need maintenance in the tent sites. But, that's pretty minor considering how great the place is!
Jul 14, 2017
We loved the dog run area and dog bath!
Jul 14, 2017
Liked the escort to the site. Nice facility. All the way from Bradenton, FL. Bob and Roseann
Jul 14, 2017
Bad internet. No cable. One of the sinks in the ladies bathroom has not been fixed in over a month. Not big rig friendly. Sharing electrical box with neighbor. Because of location near Badlands this KOA does not feel it needs to upgrade

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry the sink drain needs to be reconstructed. This will shut down this bathroom for two days during our busiest season. We felt having three sinks available all season would be better than no bath house for a half a week. This will be remedied as the season winds down. Please reserve ahead of time to get big-rig friendly sites.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Nice, family-friendly campground!
Jul 13, 2017
Park was very clean. Plenty of things to do.
Jul 13, 2017
Clean washrooms, friendly people, and a comfortable cabin.
Jul 13, 2017
This was our first experience camping in the cabins, we enjoyed our stay, appreciated the camp store and enjoyed the bike rentals.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Pool was pretty nasty. I'm surprised that there are not toilets near by. By the looks of it, I'm sure kids were using the pool instead. Other than that, it was a nice site.
Jul 13, 2017
Really nice park - close to Badlands park. They offer breakfast and dinner which is good - not many options for dinning out near there. I wish they had more 50 amp spots - it was really hot when we were there and only had 30amps . Laundry and bathrooms were very nice and spotless! Would stay again if in area.
Jul 13, 2017
What a phenomenal campground! Best run operation I have ever seen. Absolutely the best.
Jul 13, 2017
Friendly staff
Jul 12, 2017
Helpful staff, great food available on site. Had to drive up the road for phone connection and wifi, but that is part of what we wanted to get away from. Lots of things for kids to enjoy!
Jul 12, 2017
We LOVED staying in the cabin while we explored South Dakota. The hosts and staff were wonderful!
Jul 12, 2017
Nice clean campground and very well treed. Good spacing between unit.
Jul 12, 2017
Very friendly staff, clean restrooms, wide variety of food options. Easy to find with minimal traffic on the main road. Easy access to the Badlands enterance.
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
Two nights in a tent and one in a cabin -- all clean. Good service when checking in. Will go back.
Jul 12, 2017
Cabin had a carpenter ant infestation and the solution was to buy traps in the office. A/c unit was too small to cool the cabin on a 90 degree day, asked for help but was told to wait and no one ever came.
Jul 12, 2017
Nice playground for the kids. The pool is small and was rather crowded, but overall nice, clean campground and facilities. Grateful that they had recycling as well as trash.
Jul 12, 2017
The staff was on top of the 5 MPH speed limit. Clean sites. Dry wood. Bottomless coffee. Pleasant and efficient staff.
Jul 12, 2017
Too many bugs. No locks on bathroom doors.
Jul 12, 2017
Site was clean but the pool was filthy - dead bugs and hair floating all over. Also - locals who weren't staying at the campground were there with their kids crowding the pool. Close location to park entrance which was good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This summer was especially hot and windy. The severe drought had leaves falling very early in the season, yes: early July. Most mornings the pool is very spiffy, but when it is a hundred and five, lots of guests take advantage of it.
Jul 11, 2017
We stayed one night and it was great! Cabin was clean and the employees were friendly and accommodating!
Jul 11, 2017
Although it was 95 to 105 degrees, the stay was successful. I did think that it was unessary for staff to tell my son-in-law that he was parked about 3" off his lot when there was several vehicles and utility trailers parked totally on the grass, and also to tell my wife she was going to charge us an extra $5 for not being off our lot at 11:00 (it was 11:25). It was 100 out and we left at 11:35.
Jul 11, 2017
Campground is well cared for. Owner and staff are very nice.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
Very nice campground. Will definitely go back. Relaxing and quiet.
Jul 11, 2017
mostly my stay was park & sleep as was visiting family in area, but cabin was so nice wish we had, more time to enjoy! plus people were so accomidating
Jul 11, 2017
Explored campgrounds in the Badlands online before booking. We made a great choice. Nestled between a creek and the White River the shady campground was much cooler than others we saw once we arrived in the area. The staff was friendly and helpful. The place was neat and clean. We would stay here again - absolutely.
Jul 11, 2017
Extremely helpful staff. The deluxe cabin is worth the money! A delightful stay at a beautiful site.
Jul 11, 2017
Very friendly staff, good amenities, a lot of people stayed there but it was quiet, close proximity to the Badlands, and plenty of shade!
Jul 11, 2017
Everyone was friendly and the campground was very clean.
Jul 10, 2017
The site was nice with many trees, which unfortunately didn't allow for satellite. The all you can eat breakfast was a great idea but with only one guy cooking it made for a very hangry group.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
The A/C units had not had their filters cleaned in ages and were inefficient. One unit did not work at all and the owners did not come to look at it even after complaints were made. The campground advertises that wifi is available, but is so poor that it was inaccessible. Absolutely not worth the money, we will not return and do not recommend.
Jul 10, 2017
Stayed here last year and again this year. The campground is beautiful. The bathrooms that are not in the main building are so dirty. This was not the case last year. The staff is very nice. But bathrooms need to be cleaned. That's what brings back repeat customers
Jul 10, 2017
It was just fantastic staying here nice people
Jul 10, 2017
This is a great KOA! Large pull through spots, beautifully maintained campground, and really friendly people. Great location near Yellowstone. If we are in the area again, this is where we will stay!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award