Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2017
Beautiful campground with nice shade trees. We did not have a deluxe patio site, but the patios and patio furniture were beautiful! Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful but the biggest surprise to me was how great the food was!! Awesome pizza and burgers!
Jul 22, 2017
I was suprised at how much shade this campground had. Which was excellent for the hot July when we visited.
Jul 22, 2017
Very nice lots of shade Pool & laundry a little small Enjoyed a good burger from Tiki hut for dinner
Jul 21, 2017
Great pancakes, great indian tacos, nice people! I will be back!
Jul 21, 2017
We loved this KOA!
Jul 21, 2017
Pool is to small for a place that gets so hot. Bathroom could us some updating.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a pool for the comfort of our guests. We are glad you were able to enjoy it. The main bath house was newly updated this season with new fixtures, stall walls and floor treatments. The second bath house renovation is slated for next year.
Jul 20, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
The location was good. Nice stay in the teepee. It was very neat to stay in one. The kids enjoyed the pool. The bathrooms felt as if they needed some attention.
Jul 20, 2017
we've stayed here many times over the years. this year we arrived after closing and left before they opened, so really can't judge on much.
Jul 20, 2017
Nice place. Very nice view. I would say that the pool was very small. But we liked this KOA
Jul 20, 2017
loved the space and the people that work there are awesome but this area is buggy those big flying beetles and biting flies made it quite uncomfortable,
Jul 20, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, but were taken aback by the aggressive nature in which the owner attacked our requests to charge our electric car. We offered to pay for a short top-up charge, so that we could comfortably make it to Grand Rapids. In the end we spent two hours in the heat of the day charging at the local non-KOA campground in Interior. Unnecessary ignorance!!
Jul 20, 2017
Great place to stay. Owners are great and location to Badlands is perfect. Lots of shade unlike the national park campground which had none. Owners care about their property and their campground. We'd stay again.
Jul 20, 2017
Awesome campground! The couple who run it are terrific!
Jul 20, 2017
It was very convenient to Badlands NP. Our cabin AC didn't work very well, but staff put a fan in cabin to help circulate and that helped. Bathrooms and pool were clean. Beds were comfortable for KOA cabins.
Jul 19, 2017
Perfect spot for a visit to Badlands - everyone was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Dinner was great and the price couldn't be beat.
Jul 19, 2017
The staff and owners were all very friendly and helpful. They even brought us a new ac unit when ours stopped working well. It was a great experience!
Jul 19, 2017
Expensive but secluded and away from the tourist madness
Jul 19, 2017
Facilities were great. I was happy with everything until check out when I was charged for overages. (I checked out an hour late) late fees were not stated anywhere in the policy. Sometimes life happens, and you need an extra hour to pack up.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The checkout time of 11 AM is indicated on both sides of the campground map provided at check in. We have a guarantee for arriving guests that their site will be available by 1 PM, and after guests leave, we do need to clean up the campsite for the new occupant. We are sorry this was not clear to you. We try to make this policy straightforward.
Jul 19, 2017
The staff was abrasive, didn't seem friendly. Pool water looked dirty, ok stay. They were full both nights could have just been very busy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We test the pool water as required by the state. The water is safe for swimming, but our dry conditions have resulted in a large amount of dust blowing around, and a certain amount does get into the pool. The filters work very hard to clarify the water, and it is sparkling by morning.
Jul 18, 2017
we had a very good time and no problems
Jul 18, 2017
The campground is conveniently located and in a shady area. The cookhouse on sight is very slow and the breakfast isn't great-save your money and eat your own food. The pool was a bit warm and super dusty.
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
I rate them at 4.5. A very large site w/lots of extra amenities, trikes, put put golf and more. The site is well maintained. Large pet area with a cooling tub. The staff are very good. Breakfast and diner available The two improvements are: More than one hook in the shower stall. Sewer line stuck up over 14 inches so my lines were up hill and would not drain, Cut them shorter
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
nice facilities and sites-they do take advantage of you pricewise for firewood and general store items
Jul 17, 2017
We've stayed at this campground around the same time of year for the past 12 years with a group of students from Indianapolis. We always appreciate this oasis in the Badlands. Great facilities; love the updated pool and restroom/shower facilities, and appreciate the shade.
Jul 17, 2017
Deluxe family cabin was fantastic. Food shack was simple, but really good food. The mini golf course was pretty worn down, but the kids had fun. Pool was very good. No e selection of food and stuff in the shop.
Jul 17, 2017
Quiet, clean, spacious, friendly! Among the best KOA's ever stayed at!!!
Jul 17, 2017
The Badlands is hot, dry, harsh country, but this feels like a real oasis. Staff was friendly and accommodating. We will be back.
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
I like this KOA, have stayed there numerous times. On our most recent visit, we had a less than satisfactory stay because the air conditioner in our Kabin couldn't cool to below 90 degrees. The outside temperature was 103 but a breeze made sitting outside slightly better than being inside. It was a long night.
Jul 17, 2017
Friendly and accommodating staff. Nice facility.
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Nice , clean and quiet
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Great place to stay right next to the Badlands, clean bathrooms and friendly staff. We had a wonderful time.
Jul 16, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was awesome. It is like a home away from home. You have your own shower and bathroom, small kitchen with microwave and fridge, and sleeping for four. Outside it has a nice pavers patio, table with umbrella, and Weber charcoal grill. It was a great experience.
Jul 16, 2017
We stayed just one night traveling through Badlands at this KOA. It is very conveniently located to the Badlands and the staff were friendly. A camp restaurant serves mediocre and overpriced food. The campsites are small. A fenced dog park was nice. I would stay here again.
Jul 16, 2017
Drive through site was nice for camping. Shaded, roomy, level, Staff very supportive.
Jul 16, 2017
Great KOA. It's got shade, not plenty, but enough, and when you are at the badlands, you need shade. Takes about 5-10 to get into the Badlands. Staff was great! Helpful and polite. I would stay here again.
Jul 16, 2017
Nice place to camp. Friendly people and surrounding by beautiful landscape
Jul 16, 2017
Everything was wonderful!
Jul 16, 2017
Very well run campground with very nice staff. Everything was very clean and well keep. Was a very relaxing stay that is very close to the Badlands NP but much nicer then the NP campground. Would highly recommend anyone to stay at this KOA!
Jul 15, 2017
Very nice place for our short stay.
Jul 15, 2017
Great campground but needs to be sprayed for bugs especially biting flys.
Jul 15, 2017
Great owners. We'll run campground.
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
Hosting family were very kind.
Jul 15, 2017
It was decent, the men's bathroom was far from clean. The staff was nice / helpful.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award