Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2017
We love this KOA! Situated in the Badlands, it is within driving distance to the various areas of the Badlands and to Wall, SD as well. Exceptionally clean grounds, pool and washroom facilities. The hosts are terrific! The best place to see the stars in South Dakota! :)
Jul 27, 2017
An oasis in a beautiful but hot Badlands. Friendly and very clean! Wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommend Badlands KOA!
Jul 27, 2017
Staff is awesome, amenties are clean and well care for! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a great stay in the badlands!
Jul 27, 2017
Great people very helpful & nice!!!
Jul 27, 2017
Great people.
Jul 26, 2017
Great base for our badlands adventure.
Jul 26, 2017
Very friendly staff and clean facilities!
Jul 26, 2017
Very clean and well maintained
Jul 26, 2017
Very nice, friendly staff and a great pool!
Jul 26, 2017
Friendly, competent staff. Clean, well kept showers and bathrooms. RV sites and tent sites arranged well. Beautiful site overall near the White River with plenty of trees and a short, easy distance to the Badlands entrance.
Jul 26, 2017
KOA Staff were very helpful, knowledgable, and courteous. I would definitely want to return.
Jul 25, 2017
Great place to stay. The deluxe tent sites "extras" (outlets and sink) made our stay even easier. Loved the pool and mini golf!
Jul 25, 2017
Very friendly staff, nice accomodations.
Jul 25, 2017
Loved this KOA! Our hosts were friendly and helpful, the store was well-stocked, and they offered hot food on site. Everything was clean, and our spots were roomy. Best time on our trip!
Jul 25, 2017
Badlands KOA is great, we were there during a cicada outbreak and our 7 year old loved it! (others might not)
Jul 25, 2017
Best campground ever! Beautiful cabins and pool.
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Friendly folks, relaxed attitude, one of the most comfortable camps I've stayed at.
Jul 25, 2017
was disappointed in "deluxe camping cabin" as compared to the one we stayed at near rapid city. No TV, less than intermittent wifi, cabin too, too small small, no kitchenette (only microwave and college size frig) all that seemed to have been done to a regular cabin was to add bathroom, microwave and very small frig; have pictures of the deluxe cabin near rapid city, it you want to see them.
Jul 25, 2017
Great staff. Very friendly. Very welcoming.
Jul 25, 2017
bathrooms

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have recently updated the bathrooms in the main building. This renovation included replacing all the fixtures and the stall walls. We have the other bathroom slated for renovation next year.
Jul 24, 2017
We thought the facilities and services were wonderful! This place was an oasis in the Badlands! We highly recommend!!!
Jul 24, 2017
The owner Bob is super nice and helpful the facility is clean and very well taken care of I highly recommend this campground!
Jul 24, 2017
This campground is very convenient to Badlands Nat. Park and with full hookups it makes summer visits easier. The staff were very helpful during a minor repair to our camper and we look forward to staying here again.
Jul 24, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay here. The KOA is very close to Badlands National Park and has a nice playground, pool, and diner. The only downside is the water, so make sure you bring drinking water or have a filter.
Jul 24, 2017
Staff were kind, took the time to answer all my questions, bathrooms were cleaned, they even had the air conditioner on when we arrived late into the night!!!!! Thank you!!!
Jul 24, 2017
One of the nicest KOAs i have stayed at. Great amenities, shaded sites and very clean campground. Would stay here again.
Jul 24, 2017
Bathrooms were nice but.... need paper towels so you can dry the counter top off, so you can sit things down also more outside lighting would help get to restrooms
Jul 24, 2017
Neat, clean, and friendly. Large campsite.
Jul 24, 2017
I was very pleased with this KOA. As a tent camper, KOA's are usually not our first choice--we prefer something a bit more primitive (secluded and quiet) but we had a great stay. Nice shady spot (essential in the summer heat!) and excellent hosts.
Jul 24, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at this KOA, it was short. We did not use any of the amenities such as the pool or mini golf, but there was a lot offered. We stayed in the wagon wheel with a tent. We really liked the space with some privacy from the fence, the electric, & the sink was great... we wished we had that at our future KOA stops. My only complaint was the toilets were slow to flush.
Jul 24, 2017
Nice shade in an area of the country where shade is hard to come by!!
Jul 24, 2017
Great campground, the people were very nice. The only issues were the fire pits were below ground level (made using them more difficult and concerned me that a child could easily walk into it), and the pool water was very hot. I would recommend that you stay here.
Jul 24, 2017
Very comfortable. Near the park. Rocked the playground!
Jul 24, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 23, 2017
Bathrooms were not as clean as I remembered in a previous stay, but the campground was very busy. We would come back. Very friendly people
Jul 23, 2017
Nice clean campground with friendly staff.
Jul 23, 2017
Great campground. All facilities were neat and clean. Great staff. Loved the Cook shack, very reasonable and great food. Very close to Badlands. We enjoyed our stay.
Jul 23, 2017
Bathrooms need to be monitored during the day - large campground with not enough showers, so stalls get dirty/messy quickly.
Jul 23, 2017
Pretty campground w nice air conditioned cabin. The chicades singing was a new experience and kind of excotic. The only minus was the bathrooms were a little over used and not so clean.
Jul 23, 2017
Great location all necessary amenities, nice people.
Jul 23, 2017
Worst camping experience ever. Staff is more concerned with policing than accommodating. Bat feces on the kitchen counters in the tent pavilion area that no one ever cleans. Showers were the most disgusting I have ever seen in a campground. Staff should be more concerned cleaning and remodeling their bathrooms than posting nasty notes about what not to flush. I could not wait to leave.Never again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were unhappy during your stay. Please contact onsite staff with cleaning concerns when you are here so we can address the problems to your benefit. We appreciate your feedback.
Jul 22, 2017
Ok campground with very little shade. The showers and bathrooms are dirty, shower curtains need replaced for sure....
Jul 22, 2017
Really no fault of the KOA, but the cicadas were loud. It just became white noise after a while. LOL
Jul 22, 2017
great amenities, friendly and prompt service
Jul 22, 2017
Super staff and owners. Very personable. Great location to explore the area. Stayed two nights, but wished we could stay longer. Clean, friendly even though it was super busy and triple digit temps. Would certainly come back! Love it here.
Jul 22, 2017
Loved being able to purchase breakfast. Traveling as a family didn't have room to pack cooking just tents & cots. Thank you for this great service!
Jul 22, 2017
Very nice level shady site, many amenities, great breakfast and dinner options. Great value.
Jul 22, 2017
Great place to stay with Friendly helpful staff!! Very clean, beautiful big shade trees, minute drive to the entrance of the amazing Badlands loop drive!!
Jul 22, 2017
the trees, swimming pool and friendly staff make this campground ideal when you are visiting the Badlands.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award