Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

Tent Reviews

Sep 04, 2019
Aug 31, 2019
Very nice Campground friendly staff.
Aug 29, 2019
My 3rd stay at capital with my three boys. We all enjoyed our stay. Best to the staff. They were very kind.
Aug 28, 2019
Short but enjoyable. Great staff. Clean washrooms
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
I can't wait to come back again next year for the maryland renaissance festival!
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 20, 2019
Toilettes avec fuite d’eau sur le plancher les 4 journées passées là. Terrains réservés si mauvais que je ne l’aurais pas mis en location, heureusement le personnel a pu faire des changements pour me satisfaire.
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 15, 2019
Good tent spot, good place to grill, kids enjoyed the playground and pool.
Aug 05, 2019
Overall it was a pretty good trip, I live in Maryland and did not know there was a law for Anne Arundel County for young children not being able to wear water wings while swimming, however, i do not understand why horse playing and ball throwing were allowed. A young child was on top of shoulders and the lifeguard did not say anything and I would think that would not be allowed.
Aug 03, 2019
I loved every minute of our stay. It was quiet, staff was great and I'm definitely coming back in the future.
Aug 03, 2019
excellent
Jul 31, 2019
This was my children’s first time camping and they had so much fun. Will return really soon
Jul 30, 2019
Jul 30, 2019
This was my first visit to Washington DC. The staff at the KOA were fantastic. Super friendly and always there to assist. My only issue is that the highway nearby is extremely loud at night but that’s not there fault. The shuttle to the Capital was was a bonus so that I didn’t have to drive into the city and find parking. Overall a great camping experience.
Jul 26, 2019
The sites are beautiful, the staff helpful. It is an old campground, & needs serious updating. No AC in bathrooms, bathrooms worn, wet, usually not clean. Security non-existent, entrance gate never closed (we returned after midnight), bathrooms not locked. Sites NOT level at all, drainage runs right through sites 4) tables very poor shape 5) firepits poor shape. Campgound feels like state park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper stayed two weeks during extreme heat in 90+ degrees in a tent. We had major heat and thunderstorms every night. Not surprised they weren't happy. Capitol KOA does not need to close their gate. Bathrooms are not locked here as we are in a great neighborhood. We have upgraded deluxe tent sites which are very level. They chose basic site. And booked very late.
Jul 19, 2019
Jul 14, 2019
My daughter Jenny, 17, and me arrived late during a thunderstorm. We coudn't put up the tent, so we happily got an update to use a cabin for one night. But it smelled! So the next morning we built up our tent. It was hot, so we were looking forward to swim. We got into the pool and right away were asked to get out and wait 10 min. The water quality was poor....
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Very nice location, somewhat annoying listening to highway traffic at night but we enjoyed the pool very much.
Jul 01, 2019
Overall pleased with campground and stay. The two times we were in the office/store, they definitely needed more staff because there was a significant wait both times. As a Dad who was camping with my young daughter, a family bathroom would have been MUCH appreciated but I only saw a Men’s and a Women’s. Our tent site was large and had a picnic table, fire ring with grate and two benches
Jun 26, 2019
The service was friendly, the camp site was clean. For a tent site that you can still hear the highway 57. dollars is extreme.
Jun 25, 2019
Great time and good staff. Camp sites are nice size. Pool was awesome with lifeguards that are well trained and did their jobs very well.
Jun 25, 2019
Except for one temper tantrum throwing granny, our grandchildren and all of us had a great time. The lifeguard had to tell all of the people in the pool to get out because a grandmother was throwing a fit because she wouldn’t get in the pool with her grandchild who couldn’t swim. Sign says you have to be in pool with non-swimmer. KOA employee came out and granny screamed at her too. Unbelievab
Jun 20, 2019
Great staff and well maintained facilities. Only negative is that you get a bit of road noise in this location, though that cannot be helped in such a populated area (DC/Balt corridor).
Jun 11, 2019
While staff were accommodating and facilities clean, 2 things very much in disfavor: 1. The campsite assigned (#86) had treacherous rocks and stumps scattered over a steep downhill grade. The grade was handled by placing camper at the top by the gravel road. Yet I often stumbled and once fell in the dark. 2. 1.75hr shuttle return in 87° from D.C. provided NO a/c! Miserable!!
Jun 10, 2019
Excellent. First time and will be back again
Jun 10, 2019
Great amenities and a friendly staff. The shop is very convenient. That said, lots of road noise all hours of the day and night, crowded campgrounds and limited enforcement of the posted quiet hours makes it much less enjoyable.
Jun 10, 2019
Employees were super super super super super rude! Worst experience ever ever!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The reason this camper thought we were rude was because we asked them to clean up after their pet. We asked them not to walk through occupied site and they let their dog go to the bathroom on another guest site. We politely asked them to pick it up.
Jun 01, 2019
We were given a bad tent site and was told nothing was available, we stayed for two nights but there were A LOT of tent sites vaccant! :(((
May 30, 2019
It was a great weekend
May 29, 2019
May 27, 2019
Very fun wish the office could be open longer though.
May 26, 2019
Nice shaded site, firewood was delivered promptly, bathrooms were clean. Overall great place to camp and close to home.
May 25, 2019
Great stay, friendly staff, clean bathrooms!! Tent site was spacious compared to other KOAs we've stayed at.
May 25, 2019
At least 20 really nice tent sites available. Only one other tent camper so it was empty, and instead of giving us a nice site they put us on a dirt/rocky knob. Car had to be parked at a 40 degree angle. No flat spot to put the tent. Not even close to level. Office hours were 8-5 and we left before 8 and came back after 5 so we couldn’t get switched. Storage yard was by entry. Overall kinda crap
May 22, 2019
May 21, 2019
Cheryl was awesome
May 17, 2019
Apr 21, 2019
Oct 29, 2018
Despite a rainy start, we had a really great time (as usual) at the KOA for Halloween weekend!
Oct 23, 2018
The staff is well organized and very attentive. Requests for support, such as propane or firewood, were fulfilled immediately. We brought grandchildren for the Halloween weekend for a second year and were just as impressed as we were last year with the activities.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed our Halloween weekends. We had the perfect weather for it. I will pass on the compliments to our hard working staff. It takes a lot of planning for our favorite holiday weekends.
Oct 22, 2018
Staff was very friendly! We rented 2 tent, no electric sites (95, 96). These 2 sites are horrible for a tent. Both are on a steep hill. No where was it flat. It is also full of big roots and rocks. My tent got 2 holes in the bottom from stumps sticking out of the ground. They need to do better with these spots if they plan to rent these out.
Oct 09, 2018
Nice
Sep 25, 2018
I wish they would work on leveling the sites instead of moving and adding cabins. Unless you are in premium sites, you don't have much of a chance getting a level site.
Sep 24, 2018
It was nice and clean. The sales in the store were amazing, and the staff was very helpful! Can't wait to go back next season.
Sep 24, 2018
Awesome playground and great craft activities!
Sep 05, 2018
At a glance this KOA is nice and the facility is well maintained. However, once the sun goes down the noise ratchets up and the management is nowhere to be seen. Several tent campers partied, fought and played music late into the night, making it very difficult to get sleep.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Manager is on call and available all night. There are after hours numbers posted for immediate response. Manager was not contacted all night.
Sep 04, 2018
We had another great stay! Our guaranteed site reservation was not correct when we arrived, but the office staff worked hard to get it corrected. The only thing I think the campground is ever missing is some type of Friday/Saturday night event (other than the outdoor movies) for the campers at least on the big weekends. (e.g. a dance or party in pavilion w/ music, etc.)
Sep 16, 2019
We arrived for Ohio and when we got there we wanted a more shaded lot they were very willing to accommodate us
- Lynn Davis on Google
Sep 15, 2019
Wonderful relaxing weekend
- Tammy Forwood on Google
Sep 04, 2019
We went to the Renaissance Fair and this is the best place to stay.Debbie in the office was so funny and great with the kids. And Helen at the front desk checkin was so pleasant and Bob took us to our site. We Ubered to the Faire. New this year they have a GaGa Ball Pit. The kids had a blast and they had a new jumping pillow thingy. We stayed on a premium patio campsite and it was nice and relaxing. They delivered firewood and ice right to our site. We are coming back for their great Halloween.
- I3249Evegasgal on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.