Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 24

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Info: 410-923-2771

Email This Campground

768 Cecil Avenue North -

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 21, 2018
easy & comfortable camping
Jun 18, 2018
Outside of the new bouncy pillow hours and no staff watching the activity on the pillow, our stay was excellent. Children were jumping rather late as the pillow was left inflated all night, we also saw several children crying as a result of being hurt from doing things they shouldn't have been doing. My kids love this campground as do I.
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 01, 2018
We had such a nice stay last memorial day weekend that we decided to come back. We stayed in a tent, but with electric / water hookup. If you are tent camping greater than a 4 person tent, I recommend using those lots, as the tent only with no hookups is on a hill with lots of trees that might make space an issue. Staff friendly, lots of kids activities, and they kept the place clean.
Jun 01, 2018
Staff is very accommodating and friendly. We had a blast!
Jun 01, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful
May 23, 2018
May 21, 2018
People running it very nice. Bathroom floor was ALWAYS wet. Shower weak. Long wait for hot.
Apr 23, 2018
The staff were super helpful and nice. The bathrooms were very clean and during the on-season, there seems to be a ton to do. The only downside is the tent sites are right on top of each other. If you like a little privacy when camping, this isn't the place for you.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The back woods of the park is good for tent camping. Because of the unusual cold weather the water was not turned on in this section of the park because of freeze warnings. These are favored tent site areas. They have finally been opened this weekend.
Apr 15, 2018
Apr 05, 2018
Apr 03, 2018
My family and I had a wonderful 1st time at KOA! The facilities weren't completely quite up and running because it was so early in the season and the grounds were not yet fully staffed. However, the staff (campground director/managers) that were there was extremely kind and helpful! There was plenty of activities for the children during our stay.We are looking forward to our next adventure at KOA!
Nov 18, 2017
Too far from DC. Traffic 2 hours in 2 hours back. Awful. However, the site itself is very nice
Nov 14, 2017
Boy Scout troop stayed for a visit to Naval academy and football game campground close to destinations Bathrooms clean and the showers hot Camp staff friendly
Nov 07, 2017
The campground was nice but I was disappointed with the amount of trash on our site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The camper was assigned another site and choose this one themselves. They were next to a group that had taken over sites not assigned to them. We appreciate if guest tell us about issues like this while they are here. We would gladly correct the problem. Fire pits are not to be used as trash cans as what happened in this case.
Nov 06, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
Awesome Halloween! Very well organized this year great time had by all! Only one bonehead was driving through the park during Trick or Treating. After we had been told no driving during trick or treating. Can't fix stupid. LOL
Oct 16, 2017
Great activities for the kids, clean and friendly staff, for easy camping especially with kids would highly recommend this KOA site.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Very friendly staff!
Oct 16, 2017
Camp site 79 had limited space for a tent due to many rocks and hills. It was small and very close to every other camp site. Would prefer not to stay at that site again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you didn't like your site. You can hand pick a site and put a Site guarantee on it. We see you booked very late. We suggest you book very early as October is a very busy month. It is good to book 6 months to a year ahead at Capitol KOA.
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 06, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Lovely staff, the tent site I was at had really hard grounds so we were unable to put our tent pegs in well. Also it was basically in the playground so we had screaming kids running through our campsite which I didn't like at all. The tent sites are far to close. Was kept up until 2am from loud drunks next to us.
Oct 02, 2017
The staff were all so friendly and welcoming!!
Sep 27, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Clean facilities, nice area, convenient to points of interest. Tent sites are not very flat, making it hard for larger tents to be used.
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Outstanding campground! My daughter was riding her bike and fell. The manager was talking to someone and stopped what he was doing to make sure my daughter was alright. And a shout out to the lady in the office Debby. She was so kind and funny. When I walked in the next night she remembered me and asked how I was. Nice park well kept. Will return on way back.
Aug 28, 2017
High priced for the conditions of the sites. Very uneven sites unless you pay top dollar.
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Fridge for campers would be apriciated.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This is a tent site.
Aug 23, 2017
Our scout troop really enjoyed our stay at your camp. It is very well maintained and the drive into DC was better than expected. The only negative was not the camp, but the campers that arrived very late at night to set up and were not considerate at all of their noise levels.
Aug 21, 2017
Something to do for all ages.
Aug 19, 2017
Wonderful place, great service, and lots of fun, especially for families!
Aug 15, 2017
The shuttle alone was fantastic! Our granddaughter loved the giant air pillow and spent hours over there. everyone was nice and the campground was clean and in good order. Only complaint, the swimming pool was a little rough (surface) below the water.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Nice quiet stay with very nice people working there.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Ce qui est le plus dérangeant c est le bruit incessant des grenouilles et de la circulation des autoroutes. Le terrains pour les tentes est humide . ca prendrait du gazon. Par contre c est propre. Le personnel accueillant. La navette pour la journée pour Washington est une des bonnes raison de se camper chez vous pour ceux qui veulent visiter Washington sans se casser la tête.
Aug 04, 2017
Fantastic and great to have a tour bus to DC!
Aug 03, 2017
Was good but unfortunately was loud Sat night due to rowdy guests making loud noise till about 1.30 a.m. washrooms were very clean and people serving us were friendly
Jul 31, 2017
prompt on the checkout, but really great amenities
Jul 30, 2017
The staff are friendly.
Jul 27, 2017
Not very tent friendly. Lots on slopes. Bathhouse close to pool cleaned only once a day which is not sufficient.
Jul 24, 2017
It was great.
Jul 24, 2017
Nice campground. Facilities were clean and well kept. Lots to do for kids. Not crazy about tent sites. Some on hills, some not sure where you would park your car, some too out in the open. My tent site had no shade.
Jul 17, 2017
The staff people were very nice and the grounds looked well kept. I only gave them 3 stars because our tent campsite was covered in anthills and the bathrooms were pretty scruffy.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals