Washington DC / Capitol KOA

Open March 1 - November 24

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Reserve: 800-562-0248

Info: 410-923-2771

Info: 410-923-2771

Email This Campground

768 Cecil Avenue North -

Millersville, MD 21108

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2018
Very clean, large sites.
Jun 18, 2018
Was very happy with my visit and stay at KOA. Would definitely recommend the campground to friends
Jun 18, 2018
Very friendly people at your site.We had a good time to visit Washington with your bus each day.Very well organised. Keep good work.
Jun 18, 2018
Outside of the new bouncy pillow hours and no staff watching the activity on the pillow, our stay was excellent. Children were jumping rather late as the pillow was left inflated all night, we also saw several children crying as a result of being hurt from doing things they shouldn't have been doing. My kids love this campground as do I.
Jun 18, 2018
The spot that I had was way to close to my neighbor not able to use the fire pit at all for my neighbors saftey.
Jun 18, 2018
It was a bit pricey for an over ight stay. Everything was good but the person that checked us in was a bit bossy. Everything else ok.
Jun 18, 2018
Very polite staff, very helpful.
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 17, 2018
Jun 17, 2018
Staff where very helpful and took us to our site. Wifi typical of KOAs sometimes it works but most of the time it didn't. No cable. Quite expensive. Gravel and sand site. Didn't use any of the facilities as we were off in Washington each day.
Jun 17, 2018
Used te DC shuttle, and it made the trip very worth while.
Jun 17, 2018
The site we had was very small and not terribly level. In fact, I could not back my 24 ft Winnebago into the site. I had to pull in and run the utilities from the other side. For us, this was not a big deal since we spent all of our time away from the site; only using it to sleep there. I loved that the site was under trees! We did not use anything else there. VERY friendly staff!!!
Jun 17, 2018
Jun 17, 2018
Fun, a lot of things for the kids to do. Clean. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again.
Jun 16, 2018
Excellent helpful staff with great information for visiting the surrounding area. However, after enjoying our stay from Monday through Friday, we were greatly disappointed by the campers who came in Saturday. At least 2 families were extremely inconsiderate. Parents escorted their children and large dogs through our campsite multiple times giving us dirty looks and yelling at our dogs to shut up.
Jun 16, 2018
The staff were very helpful, giving us various ways to get into DC we didn’t like the first site but they allowed us to move to a better site at no additional cost. Bathrooms were very good and the camp shop was excellent.
Jun 15, 2018
Very friendly staff. Safe and clean environment. Fun activities. Even the adults played on the bounce equipment. Friendly security. We'll be back.
Jun 15, 2018
Nice location to explore DC. Loved the daily shuttle. Had a service issue with the hop on, hop off DC tour bus they partner with so wouldn’t recommend that tour; it had not enough buses, long waits, rude bus driver. The campground was nice- quiet, clean, friendly. Was nice coming back to after a long day of touring DC.
Jun 15, 2018
Great location, nice well maintained facilities and wonderful camp hosts. We had a tail light out on our Airstream and one of the gentlemen who was not working at the time helped us figure out the problem, which was not as obvious as it might seem. Super nice guy, interrupted his time washing his truck to come see if he could help us. Wish I’d gotten his name to thank him again. Great people.
Jun 15, 2018
Enjoyed our stay. Check in process was smooth and quick. Sites and facilities are well maintained. Staff very friendly and courteous, as well as accommodating.
Jun 14, 2018
Great staff and campground. Shuttle takes you to the front of the Capitol. Loved it!
Jun 14, 2018
The bathrooms were both men and women in their shower area. It got really noisy and we had to walk to far to use the bathrooms. The people in the office were nice enough, but the whole campground was dated and the basic cabins were even more basic then others I have been to for example no wooden night stand like all the others and the stool for sitting was a too high bar stool. We left a day early
Jun 14, 2018
Guys were very helpful jump starting my tow car Thank you again
Jun 13, 2018
All the way around a perfect stay.
Jun 13, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
We made a reservation 3 days in advance, for a Thursday,Friday and Saturday night . We were assigned site 33 the site was not very level, fire pit was right by the access road , and it was directly across from the garage. It was very noisy all day long between power tools and grounds keeping equipment. It was not a very relaxing trip at all. We ended up packing up and leaving a day early
Jun 12, 2018
Great place, clean, friendly people. Only complaint is there were some very noisy dogs there.
Jun 11, 2018
Excellent, everything was great. Personal escort to your parking space. Very clean yet woodsy tree covered space. Each space has its own fire-pit. Personnel was friendly and efficient. Pool area was spotless.
Jun 11, 2018
Checked in no problem. The people who worked there were extremely friendly and helpful. We had issues with our camper, they we so kind and willing to provide assistance. Facilities were clean. Basically nothing about this experience was bad. Would highly recommend this KOA yo anyone.
Jun 11, 2018
Nice park, convenient to DC area. Wifi was spotty.
Jun 11, 2018
Very good
Jun 10, 2018
This was our 8th year staying at the campgrounds but our 1st year with a camper. I would have preferred to be able to reserve a specific site. Also the small gravel lots are very close together and grossly unleveled. As always the staff were out of this world! Customer service is never a disappointment at the Capitol KOA, We'll be back next year!
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Staff was very friendly
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 07, 2018
Very clean campground. Everyone that works there is very helpful and pleasant.
Jun 07, 2018
Jun 07, 2018
Very nice campground, clean and well kept. Very nice people and alot to do in the surrounding areas. We felt very comfortable being there and would definitely stay again if we are in the area.
Jun 05, 2018
Upon checking out, I found multiple over charges on my receipt. The front desk staff said that they could not help but would have a manager (Cheryl or Bob) contact me within 2 days. Never happened. Management is a complete disaster. After finally talking with Cheryl 2 weeks later, she was rude, short and condescending. Pathetic customer service. I won't be returning to this or any KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper checked in and had stated he had 8 people and 2 extra vehicles. He had signed receipt at checkin. At checkout he stated he only had 4 people and one vehicle after turning in 2 car passes. Finding out extra people were a charge I am sure had to do with this review. Last years records stated 8 people as well. And 3 cars.
Jun 05, 2018
Loved the shuttle to DC....great perk. Nice staff
Jun 05, 2018
I enjoy staying in a Kabin, but i cant get one close to the bathrooms, so we may not return. We can get a hotel for less money and the bathroom is handy. When we were there, I could see several empty cabins close to the bathrooms.
Jun 04, 2018
Had a wonderful time. This was our 20 yr. Chery and Bob McGinnis are the best.They can't do enough for their campers. Their staff was so nice and helpful. Doc Bob is a power house. The ramp that he built in front of the cabin was a God send. Thank you KOA for having such wonderful caring and thoughtful managers and staff at the Capital KOA. Looking forward to returning there next year. Thank you
Jun 04, 2018
Very clean. Excellent service. Escorted to the camp site. They brought materials to help level the RV and helped me back in. Fire wood delivered to the camp site. Very courteous!
Jun 04, 2018
Expensive but that’s expected in the DC area. Excellent staff. Truly enjoyed our stay. We’ll definitely stay here again.
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 04, 2018
The water has a strong Sulpher smell. Difficult to find.Otherwise nice property.
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 04, 2018
the pleople unbelievable very kindly , the acomodations very confortable and easy for our RV , the location excellent very near to all the places , the tour to WDC very smart and professional guides ,
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals