Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2019
So clean and so close to both Baltimore and Washington DC. Our pull through site was just right for our camper we’ll be back
Aug 15, 2019
Good tent spot, good place to grill, kids enjoyed the playground and pool.
Aug 14, 2019
The site was small. I could not get my tow vehicle off the road. The curb in front of my site made it difficult to get my tow vehicle out and when we left it made it difficult for us to get the tow vehicle and trailer out. But everything else about the campground was great.
Aug 14, 2019
Aug 14, 2019
Aug 14, 2019
Like Staying in a Parking Lot. Twice as expensive as any other KOA. You wont see me back.
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
The pool Policy was odd, I have never been in a pool where we had to get out for 10 to one time 20 min of an hour so they could test the water and clean. Was very frustrating. Not sure if a state regulation or your KOA, but in traveling all over this great country I have never ran into this at a KOA or any other campground.
Aug 13, 2019
Great people good service.
Aug 12, 2019
Nice location and peaceful. The staff was very nice. The tv didn't work very good in the cabin and bathroom had mold on walls. Didn't bring these concerns up to staff when staying there wasn't that big of an issue.
Aug 12, 2019
Very convenient provisions for travels to & from WDC and and around the sights there. The fenced in dog area was enjoyed by our Bella. Thank-you to the 2 shuttle drivers who were very nice & provided a cold bottle of water.
Aug 12, 2019
Pool was nice and clean. Bathrooms were clean most of the time. A lot of campers there over the weekend and did not clean up after themselves making it a mess. But the staff did a good job keeping up with the slobs. Had to pay for the fire wood. I like to bring my own, but whatever not a big deal ($7.00). Close to everything in DC, had a great vacation.
Aug 12, 2019
Dirty and flooded men's bathroom that is close to the office (all the time). Spiders, spider webs and mouse droppings in the Cabin. No kids activities planned during the week or on the weekend. Unfriendly service and rude behavior of the management working in the office with the customers. Poor site maintenance and not a fun place to stay. We didn't like Capital KOA campsite or its management.
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Really nice place, will stay again������
Aug 11, 2019
Aug 11, 2019
Aug 11, 2019
Loved the setting of our cabin- our air conditioner barely worked warm and extremely damp at all times in our cabin- respiratory issues- so it was difficult. Bathrooms poorly maintained and cleaned. Nice staff and great location for the Metro
Aug 11, 2019
Stayed for 7 days. Fantastic time. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Had a problem with my trailer hitch and they actually fixed it for me even though it’s not part of the KOA experience to have on site mechanic they went the extra mile. Store was well stocked and shuttle service to Washington is a must. DO NOT try and drive and park downtown you waste you time and money. I’ll be back!!
Aug 10, 2019
Aug 10, 2019
Aug 10, 2019
Everything was great. The only down side was we rented the large cabin that sleeps 8 and another cabin that sleeps 4. With 6 adults we were only allowed 1 car per site. The third car had to pay $35 for the week and park at the office even though our large cabin had room for a second car.
Aug 10, 2019
delightful every time! the staff is very helpful and courteous!
Aug 08, 2019
Staff was very nice! Nice place to stay! We love thé pool!
Aug 08, 2019
Great staff that was very helpful in docking and directions. Would like cable and payed sites for the price.
Aug 08, 2019
Aug 07, 2019
Staff was very courteous. Having shuttle bus to DC was convenient. Rented a deluxe cabin, it was clean and necessities were provided. Campground was clean and had lots of things to do. Only down fall is that the sites are tight for an RV and where I had to park my truck it was very tight.
Aug 06, 2019
Great staff, fun play items for the kids. Laundry facilities were very nice and the machines worked. Clean showers. A great place to stay while you explore our nations capitol.
Aug 06, 2019
Pool water was green all 5 days of our stay. Only 1 life guard so everyone had to stay out while he/she were on break. Pull- through sie #6 wouldn't accomodate towing our vehicle. Site itself had no cable or antenna reception!
Aug 06, 2019
Loved the campground. Share this as hopefully someone at KOA head office will consider policy change. Large family with seven kids. State park, provincial parks, all recognize single family without surcharge. Paying $20 surcharge nightly so my kids can swim and jump on the pillow is hard. We travel coast to coast with our kids. Would stay more but policy puts sites over $110usd a night.
Aug 06, 2019
The team was great. The shuttle to Washington was nice.
Aug 06, 2019
Clean site, friendly atmosphere. Infants/toddlers that are not toilet trained are not permitted in pool.
Aug 05, 2019
The shuttle into DC is a great thing. Drivers were great and go above and beyond to make your trip good. Bathroom facilities could have been maintained better. Shower and bathroom areas do not have great ventilation and are extremely hot this time of year. Some campsites for RVs are not very level and need some work.
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
Overall it was a pretty good trip, I live in Maryland and did not know there was a law for Anne Arundel County for young children not being able to wear water wings while swimming, however, i do not understand why horse playing and ball throwing were allowed. A young child was on top of shoulders and the lifeguard did not say anything and I would think that would not be allowed.
Aug 04, 2019
most camp sites other then the premium ones are slanted and sloped and makes it harder and takes more time to level your trailer. Staff are polite and courteous. . washrooms and showers are clean and well kept.
Aug 04, 2019
Aug 03, 2019
I loved every minute of our stay. It was quiet, staff was great and I'm definitely coming back in the future.
Aug 03, 2019
Aug 03, 2019
Very nice and spacious campground. Very clean bathrooms and well kept grounds and facilities.
Aug 03, 2019
we only stayed 2 nights. but I would stay again. very nice people. very helpful.
Aug 03, 2019
excellent
Aug 03, 2019
Loved it! Very nice, accommodating people! Would stay again! Great pool, great store, great trampoline.
Aug 02, 2019
Our first time, will use koa again. Great entertainment things for our 10-12 year old grandsons. Loved being in a cabin in the woods. Only down side was the sour smell in cabin. We think from AC unit.
Aug 01, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
Aug 10, 2019
(Translated by Google) Big, clean city with a diverse cuisine for all tastes.Safety everywhere.Good quality public transport, subway, bus.Bikes and scooters for rent.Historical museums, well-preserved parks and of course the White House! (Original) Cidade grande,limpa,com uma gastronomia diversificada para todos os gostos.Segurança em todos os lugares.Transporte publico de boa qualidade,metrô,onibus.Bikes e patinetes para alugar.Museus históricos,parques bem preservados e claro,a casa branca!
- Damaris Bueno on Google
Aug 08, 2019
35 to 40 minutes outside of Washington D.C. True country mouse / city mouse experience. Very good sized lots so you don't feel like you are staring into your neighbours kitchen. Clean washrooms/showers and pool. Perfectly laid out. Staff was friendly and very helpful. I had a problem with my trailer hitch and they fixed it for me. If you think of driving into Washington in your own car, DONT!!! , parking downtown is atrocious and if you are not moved by 4 they tow your vehicle and considering most museums close at 5 or 6:30 you are cutting your stay short. Personal advice: TAKE THE SHUTTLE from the KOA to downtown. Its worth the money. Our first day we spent $28 in parking alone and had to keep running back to feed the meter. Our drivers, Mike and Tony were both entertaining and punctual. Again: TAKE THE SHUTTLE. This is one KOA that is on our return list.
- Tom W on Trip Advisor
Aug 07, 2019
Great for families and pets and other peoples...
- Joy Lih on Google