Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

Lodging Reviews

Nov 07, 2019
The Halloween Weekend was so perfect for the kids. Kids of all ages had the best time. Super cute cabins. That climbing wall was an AMAZING thing to throw in!
Nov 07, 2019
Everyone very friendly. We were not aware we were staying on a Halloween celebration weekend. The weekend was very enjoyable and festive.
Nov 07, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 18, 2019
Nothing that you can change, but compared to other KOAs this one is extremely pricey for being squished on top of each other. The fire ring is almost on the road and there is no privacy at all due to how close things are. Would never choose to stay at this one again.
Oct 16, 2019
Great location and very nice campsite with lots of option for staying. Easy access to shops and restaurants. Bathrooms and Cabin was clean as expected.
Oct 16, 2019
Very nice and clean. Friendly and helpful people.
Oct 15, 2019
Such a nice visit! Our kids had a great time camping and enjoyed the movie night. Staff is awesome, friendly, helpful... will definitely come back! :)
Oct 14, 2019
1st time staying at a Koa and wasn’t sure what to expect from a chain style campgrounds. Everything was great, we stayed in a cabin and it was cute, clean and comfy. I do wish this Koa had pictures of the cabins on the site, I loved how the decks pointed into the woods instead of the road like the stock photos.
Oct 13, 2019
Oct 13, 2019
Lovely campground and facilities! The employees at the office were so helpful and welcoming! I stayed 2 nights in an affordable cabin on a road trip up the east coast! I plan to stay here on my way back down the coast as well! Thanks KOA!
Oct 10, 2019
Our cabin site was small but nice. The bathrooms were clean. The office delivered bundles of wood for our fire. We also called the office and said we would be late back from the Navy football game and they left wood on our porch waiting for us. KOA let us pay them the next morning. My kids loved the bounce pad. Overall solid experience.
Oct 09, 2019
Oct 06, 2019
Great stay!
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
We stayed 3 days and 2 nites . The bathrooms were never cleaned . The cabin was very comfy and the lady at the office at nite was VERY helpful, with that said the last day when we were leaving we waited till 8 am (when you open so the sign says ) we walked up to the door that was locked and a young girl opened the door and not very nicely stated “is there something we can do for you” rude! We
Sep 16, 2019
Cabin was clean, landscaping around k121 needs some help as it was very dusty from being straight dirt. Loved the dog area. We were surprised how little road noise there is even with being just over the hill. Sat evening we were disappointed to see a very unprofessional moment between two employees in the office as he was screaming at her for not double checking an RV length, please address this
Sep 10, 2019
Nice place with friendly helpful staff.
Sep 04, 2019
Stayed 4 nights over Labor Day weekend. Very pleasant staff and clean cabin.
Sep 03, 2019
Great staff and clean accommodations.
Sep 03, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
Two nights in a one room cabin that was clean and well kept. Campground was quiet and relaxing. Facilities were neat and clean. Staff was pleasant.
Aug 22, 2019
Always a pleasure to visit. The staff is top notch! Thank you #Capitolkoa #makingmemories
Aug 20, 2019
This is my third time staying here. The first two times were 4 and 5 years ago. I live locally and all three times including this time were to have small camping themed birthday party. The KOA site itself is great - the staff are friendly and nice EXCEPT the check in woman. She is NOT NICE at all. The other two times I had been 4 & 5 years ago were so nice and accommodating. This time was CRAZY.
Aug 12, 2019
Nice location and peaceful. The staff was very nice. The tv didn't work very good in the cabin and bathroom had mold on walls. Didn't bring these concerns up to staff when staying there wasn't that big of an issue.
Aug 12, 2019
Dirty and flooded men's bathroom that is close to the office (all the time). Spiders, spider webs and mouse droppings in the Cabin. No kids activities planned during the week or on the weekend. Unfriendly service and rude behavior of the management working in the office with the customers. Poor site maintenance and not a fun place to stay. We didn't like Capital KOA campsite or its management.
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 11, 2019
Loved the setting of our cabin- our air conditioner barely worked warm and extremely damp at all times in our cabin- respiratory issues- so it was difficult. Bathrooms poorly maintained and cleaned. Nice staff and great location for the Metro
Aug 10, 2019
Everything was great. The only down side was we rented the large cabin that sleeps 8 and another cabin that sleeps 4. With 6 adults we were only allowed 1 car per site. The third car had to pay $35 for the week and park at the office even though our large cabin had room for a second car.
Aug 07, 2019
Staff was very courteous. Having shuttle bus to DC was convenient. Rented a deluxe cabin, it was clean and necessities were provided. Campground was clean and had lots of things to do. Only down fall is that the sites are tight for an RV and where I had to park my truck it was very tight.
Aug 02, 2019
Our first time, will use koa again. Great entertainment things for our 10-12 year old grandsons. Loved being in a cabin in the woods. Only down side was the sour smell in cabin. We think from AC unit.
Jul 29, 2019
The camper cabin was perfect. It was quiet and comfortable. The amenities (bath houses, pool, games, jumping pillow) were all well kept. My kids had a blast. Hopefully we will make this trip again and stay at this KOA again.
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
Cabin was perfect size, nice new deck, nice table/chairs, and fire pit. Pool clean. Bathroom and showers always clean.
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 28, 2019
Jul 27, 2019
Perfect place for our family of 5 to stay! Amenities were clean, plenty of activities for the kids and cabin was well maintained. Wish we had stayed longer!!
Jul 24, 2019
Polite staff, clean cabins, everything was as expected. Short drive to metro which gets you basically anywhere we needed to go in DC. Thanks!
Jul 22, 2019
Great staff, wonderful campsites, nicely done!
Jul 20, 2019
People working there were nice. Camp was clean. But it is too close to a highway and the truck and car noise take away from the tranquil quiet nature of camping. They should add a free standing grill to the cabin and tent sites. The grill is on the ground also used as a fire pit.
Jul 17, 2019
Wish you allowed pets in cabins that had bathrooms.
Jul 16, 2019
Great stay! Clean and this KOA has a very friendly staff.
Jul 15, 2019
We were not aware of the fee for our extra vehicle until check in, only one was allowed at the cabin, which was fine and we parked our other car in the store parking lot, but its $5 per day for a 2nd vehicle. So I paid $10 just because we had 2 cars, which I've never experienced before at other KOAs. Staff could be friendly!! Otherwise, it was an ok stay.
Jul 15, 2019
Ask for close to bathroom got for away
Jul 15, 2019
Asked for late check out being that we checked in late didn’t mind paying extra.Was told no Paid for another night the lady that checked us in said that no one was coming in after us on Sunday And we didn’t have rush out then some other guy showed up at 11:55pm and said we have to get our stuff out of the cabin right now.Paid $500 for some uneducated man to speak to My very disrespectfully

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Guest was told checkout was 12 pm. Cleaning staff were kept waiting until 12:30 pm because guest said they were still in the pool. They were informed early in the morning that there is no late checkout. The new campers coming in had to wait to checkin as the people had not left on time. The cleaning crew were not rude as they had to ask three times before they could get in to clean.
Jul 12, 2019
Awesome place to vacation. Great location but a little tricky to find, new signs would help a lot. The pool is beautiful with a lifeguard in duty so parents can really relax! Staff is very friendly and helpful. The shuttle to D.C. is a lifesaver!
Jul 11, 2019
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
The cabin was great. The bus was not good. The AC did not work in the back, did not work well on the first day, the shocks were AWFUL. The showers & bathrooms were amazing
Nov 05, 2019
This campsite is a diamond in the rough! We booked a cabin for the Halloween festivities and worried it might be a let down. It was the opposite! It was packed full of things to do and lots of people to do them with. They even did trick or treating on the grounds and my kids loved going from RV to cabin and getting candy. My whole family talked about going back in the summer and seeing how it would be in a different season. Definitely check it out!
- Shea Hopkins on Google
Nov 02, 2019
Clean family campground.
- Sam Morthland on Google
Oct 15, 2019
Such a great visit to Capitol KOA. Kids had a great time, very family friendly. Cabin was lovely. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely return.
- Alicia Kwait-Blank on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.