Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

Lodging Reviews

Sep 10, 2019
Nice place with friendly helpful staff.
Sep 04, 2019
Stayed 4 nights over Labor Day weekend. Very pleasant staff and clean cabin.
Sep 03, 2019
Great staff and clean accommodations.
Sep 03, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
Two nights in a one room cabin that was clean and well kept. Campground was quiet and relaxing. Facilities were neat and clean. Staff was pleasant.
Aug 22, 2019
Always a pleasure to visit. The staff is top notch! Thank you #Capitolkoa #makingmemories
Aug 20, 2019
This is my third time staying here. The first two times were 4 and 5 years ago. I live locally and all three times including this time were to have small camping themed birthday party. The KOA site itself is great - the staff are friendly and nice EXCEPT the check in woman. She is NOT NICE at all. The other two times I had been 4 & 5 years ago were so nice and accommodating. This time was CRAZY.
Aug 12, 2019
Nice location and peaceful. The staff was very nice. The tv didn't work very good in the cabin and bathroom had mold on walls. Didn't bring these concerns up to staff when staying there wasn't that big of an issue.
Aug 12, 2019
Dirty and flooded men's bathroom that is close to the office (all the time). Spiders, spider webs and mouse droppings in the Cabin. No kids activities planned during the week or on the weekend. Unfriendly service and rude behavior of the management working in the office with the customers. Poor site maintenance and not a fun place to stay. We didn't like Capital KOA campsite or its management.
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 11, 2019
Loved the setting of our cabin- our air conditioner barely worked warm and extremely damp at all times in our cabin- respiratory issues- so it was difficult. Bathrooms poorly maintained and cleaned. Nice staff and great location for the Metro
Aug 10, 2019
Everything was great. The only down side was we rented the large cabin that sleeps 8 and another cabin that sleeps 4. With 6 adults we were only allowed 1 car per site. The third car had to pay $35 for the week and park at the office even though our large cabin had room for a second car.
Aug 07, 2019
Staff was very courteous. Having shuttle bus to DC was convenient. Rented a deluxe cabin, it was clean and necessities were provided. Campground was clean and had lots of things to do. Only down fall is that the sites are tight for an RV and where I had to park my truck it was very tight.
Aug 02, 2019
Our first time, will use koa again. Great entertainment things for our 10-12 year old grandsons. Loved being in a cabin in the woods. Only down side was the sour smell in cabin. We think from AC unit.
Jul 29, 2019
The camper cabin was perfect. It was quiet and comfortable. The amenities (bath houses, pool, games, jumping pillow) were all well kept. My kids had a blast. Hopefully we will make this trip again and stay at this KOA again.
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
Cabin was perfect size, nice new deck, nice table/chairs, and fire pit. Pool clean. Bathroom and showers always clean.
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 28, 2019
Jul 27, 2019
Perfect place for our family of 5 to stay! Amenities were clean, plenty of activities for the kids and cabin was well maintained. Wish we had stayed longer!!
Jul 24, 2019
Polite staff, clean cabins, everything was as expected. Short drive to metro which gets you basically anywhere we needed to go in DC. Thanks!
Jul 22, 2019
Great staff, wonderful campsites, nicely done!
Jul 20, 2019
People working there were nice. Camp was clean. But it is too close to a highway and the truck and car noise take away from the tranquil quiet nature of camping. They should add a free standing grill to the cabin and tent sites. The grill is on the ground also used as a fire pit.
Jul 17, 2019
Wish you allowed pets in cabins that had bathrooms.
Jul 16, 2019
Great stay! Clean and this KOA has a very friendly staff.
Jul 15, 2019
We were not aware of the fee for our extra vehicle until check in, only one was allowed at the cabin, which was fine and we parked our other car in the store parking lot, but its $5 per day for a 2nd vehicle. So I paid $10 just because we had 2 cars, which I've never experienced before at other KOAs. Staff could be friendly!! Otherwise, it was an ok stay.
Jul 15, 2019
Ask for close to bathroom got for away
Jul 15, 2019
Asked for late check out being that we checked in late didn’t mind paying extra.Was told no Paid for another night the lady that checked us in said that no one was coming in after us on Sunday And we didn’t have rush out then some other guy showed up at 11:55pm and said we have to get our stuff out of the cabin right now.Paid $500 for some uneducated man to speak to My very disrespectfully

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Guest was told checkout was 12 pm. Cleaning staff were kept waiting until 12:30 pm because guest said they were still in the pool. They were informed early in the morning that there is no late checkout. The new campers coming in had to wait to checkin as the people had not left on time. The cleaning crew were not rude as they had to ask three times before they could get in to clean.
Jul 12, 2019
Awesome place to vacation. Great location but a little tricky to find, new signs would help a lot. The pool is beautiful with a lifeguard in duty so parents can really relax! Staff is very friendly and helpful. The shuttle to D.C. is a lifesaver!
Jul 11, 2019
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
The cabin was great. The bus was not good. The AC did not work in the back, did not work well on the first day, the shocks were AWFUL. The showers & bathrooms were amazing
Jul 05, 2019
Luvd da cabin. Dog friendly wrkd out gr8. Clean and vry convenient to my needs
Jul 03, 2019
Great clean bathrooms
Jul 01, 2019
Dirty bathrooms Overpriced store Ive stayed st many KOAS throughout our country. Sadly this did not have the standard resort atmosphere It felt like just another campground Not what I'm used to from KOAS
Jun 30, 2019
We stay here every year on our way to South Carolina . Always a great stay !! Thank you
Jun 29, 2019
Cabins too close together, no privacy. Restroom were filthy the entire time we were there. Need cleaning more than 1x/day with this many people. Way to far away from DC and the shuttle driver was a maniac. Almost wrecked 2x.
Jun 27, 2019
Really enjoyed cabin. It was clean and AC kept it comfortable. Only downside is it could use more washroom facilities.
Jun 26, 2019
Didn't like that the campers with bathrooms are near the bathrooms but the cabins are the farthest away.
Jun 26, 2019
Quiet, easy to get to, lots of trees, friendly staff.
Jun 25, 2019
Campground itself was okay but the cabin not so much. I am 64 and was staying alone so I requested a cabin near bathroom.They gave me the cabin furthest away from EVERYTHING all by itself in unlit area where the tents were. After saying none other were available they did somehow find one near bathroom. Cabin had a rank stale body smell that never went away so maybe a good cleaning would help.
Jun 25, 2019
GREAT EXPERIENCE AND WONDERFUL STAFF! They made us feel super welcome and the cabin was amazing. Thank you all for the wonderful time
Jun 24, 2019
Jun 24, 2019
Perfect in every way!
Jun 22, 2019
Jun 20, 2019
Jun 19, 2019
First time using the 2 room cabin. It was nice having the extra space. However, our site had way too many steps for us, having back issues and being seniors. It was our 3rd time using this KOA and will use this KOA again.
Jun 19, 2019
There were a lot of unsupervosed kids. The camp site itself was finem nothing fancy but fun atuff to do all day. Then my son broke his ankle on the moon bounce jumping not wrestling like most of them and it pretty much ruined our stay bc what else fun is there to do. Not your fault but thats how our experience was.
Jun 15, 2019
Great staff. We loved our stay.
Sep 16, 2019
We arrived for Ohio and when we got there we wanted a more shaded lot they were very willing to accommodate us
- Lynn Davis on Google
Sep 15, 2019
Wonderful relaxing weekend
- Tammy Forwood on Google
Sep 04, 2019
We went to the Renaissance Fair and this is the best place to stay.Debbie in the office was so funny and great with the kids. And Helen at the front desk checkin was so pleasant and Bob took us to our site. We Ubered to the Faire. New this year they have a GaGa Ball Pit. The kids had a blast and they had a new jumping pillow thingy. We stayed on a premium patio campsite and it was nice and relaxing. They delivered firewood and ice right to our site. We are coming back for their great Halloween.
- I3249Evegasgal on Trip Advisor