Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2018
Ok nice place would stay again
Aug 20, 2018
With the exception of the rude, angry, dismissive woman who checked us in, our stay was wonderful. Seriously considered cancelling our cabins and just losing $250 because of the way she behaved. I was so humiliated. She ended up calling the manager and I let my daughter deal with the check in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper was explained the visitor fees which she did not agree with paying them. After holding up a long line of people we asked her to step aside. We called the manager after she told the camper behind her to shut up. We were never rude to her.
Aug 19, 2018
Good Location, was clean and a nice pool.
Aug 19, 2018
Great staff, clean washrooms, good location. Main drawback is the fire pits are close to the RVs. Would come here again!!
Aug 19, 2018
Great campground.
Aug 19, 2018
It would be very helpful to your campers if you would add another Trash Bin. Having only one Trash Bin is a inconvenient
Aug 19, 2018
Our cabin was clean and fresh. All the staff was friendly and helpful.
Aug 19, 2018
Aug 18, 2018
Every request was considered and granted. Every one was very accommodating. Clean bath houses. All maintenance handled quickly. 18 miles from Washington DC New Carrollton Metro. Park the car for $8.00 all day, and ride subway to anywhere in DC. Recommend the hop on and hop off tours for DC site seeing
Aug 18, 2018
Very nice facility. Friendly people and staff. My only suggestion would be to pay more attention to the bathrooms.
Aug 18, 2018
Nice clean little camp. Thanks for the hospitality
Aug 18, 2018
Aug 17, 2018
It was very nice . Lots to do when at the campground!
Aug 17, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Very nice and clean facilities
Aug 16, 2018
A nice spot and a good deal on the promo. I was impressed by how clean the bathrooms and the showers were. Quiet time really was quiet time and the cabin was very comfortable. The staff members that I dealt with (especially Susan) were very friendly and the on site manager really does respond to 2:30 a.m. emergencies.
Aug 16, 2018
It was super
Aug 15, 2018
Really enjoyed the swimming pool!
Aug 15, 2018
Nice camping. Sites not quite level. Great shuttle service and friendly personnel!
Aug 15, 2018
Great location. Nice staff. Nice laundry.
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 15, 2018
Very kind host!
Aug 15, 2018
Right off i 95/ helpful staff / great pool / facilities are clean and well maintained / 3rd time we stayed / will return on future trips
Aug 15, 2018
Asked for shady spot, and although plenty available, got a bare spot� Also, booked shuttle for next day but had to cancel two hours later because of repair issue that had to be resolved next day. Refund refused. Greedy, not very accommodating. Also, very expensive for nothing special. No cable tv. Sites need more gravel. Would not return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper asked the next day for a refund not two hours later. At check in campers are informed before buying tickets that they are non refundable. We got complaints about site 21 repairing their tire at 12 am in the morning. And talking loudly at that early hour disturbing other campers. When another guest asked them to keep it down Site 21 was rude to them.
Aug 14, 2018
All was good except when a tree snagged my roof and ripped a hole in it coming out of the site. All trees need to be trimmed to allow clearance for RV's. This will be very expensive fix and uncalled for in a campground. ALWAYS should be clearance for trees.
Aug 14, 2018
The KOA daily shuttle to D.C. was wonderful. The staff at the KOA was very courteous and helpful. The general store is above average for a KOA. Large, quiet KOA. Prompt wood delivery. For suggestions, perhaps upgrade the small bathroom facilities near the office. Also, we could have used a path from the extended deck cabins to the bathrooms to shorten the walk in the middle of the night.
Aug 14, 2018
The nature trail was disappointing but the rest of our stay was great. We had 4 grandchildren 12 and under
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Friendly Staff, clean accommodations, and has a safe, home-like environment.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Si vous y aller avec une tente demander les site de luxe car les autre sont mal placer plein de vase et non adéquat pour une tente. Sinon le personnel est tes courtois.
Aug 13, 2018
we usually tent camp, but given the crazy Maryland weather this summer we opted for a 1 room cabin. The cabin was clean and very comfortable. We had a great time at the pool and joining in the crafts and family game sessions. Thank you KOA staff you are all very helpful and polite.
Aug 12, 2018
The staff was phenomenal, courteous informative and attentive and smiled through my son flooding the bathroom lol. Overall campground was great. Pool, outdoor pool table, ping pong, chess and always the pillow got heavy use. Upgrade to power and water tent site, rustic sites or around pillow have biting ants and some sort of gnat. Also, defy GPS at times, the merge onto 3 sucks.
Aug 12, 2018
We appreciated the extra effort put forth to make our stay an enjoyable one! We took the shuttle into Washington, DC and it was well worth every penny. Upon leaving, we were given excellent directions to get back on the interstate and return home. If we decide to visit Washington, DC again, we would consider staying at this KOA.
Aug 12, 2018
Wifi work excellent and Tour Suttle bus service appreciated.
Aug 12, 2018
We stayed for a week and had a really good time. A few bonus things would be an arcade/club house for kids on rainy days, maybe more movie nights and deli meats/cheeses. We will definitely be va I!
Aug 12, 2018
Staff was great, facilities for kids excellent, price is very high but typical for DC and Annapolis. Due to small sites, lack of privacy between sites and a "parking lot" feel, it doesn't feel like camping as much as parking.
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 12, 2018
We loved the showers. Lock the room for complete privacy.
Aug 12, 2018
Second time we stayed . Great location and lots to do . They do have a life gaurd at the pool which is great but when there is only 1 on duty they close the pool 1 time and hour for 10 minutes . They also don’t allow some child floatation devises which is their choice but check before you goto swim with your child ... the life guard was not to friendly. I would stay again for sure . Thank you

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for filling out the survey. Wanted to clarify it is a Maryland rule that floatation devices must be coast guard approved. It s not an option it is mandatory here in Maryland. The lifeguard's job is to ensure our guests safety. Sometimes she has to say it more then once. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Aug 11, 2018
I would go here anytime .
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Had a level shaded pull through site in the woods for the Motorhome. Temperature was 15 degree cooler than the sunny sites during our stay. Will be back again.
Aug 10, 2018
Very nice people.
Aug 10, 2018
It was good.
Aug 10, 2018
The staff was just lovely and we had a nice stay. Would stay there again
Aug 10, 2018
Great facilities neat and clean
Aug 09, 2018
Sep 16, 2019
We arrived for Ohio and when we got there we wanted a more shaded lot they were very willing to accommodate us
- Lynn Davis on Google
Sep 15, 2019
Wonderful relaxing weekend
- Tammy Forwood on Google
Sep 04, 2019
We went to the Renaissance Fair and this is the best place to stay.Debbie in the office was so funny and great with the kids. And Helen at the front desk checkin was so pleasant and Bob took us to our site. We Ubered to the Faire. New this year they have a GaGa Ball Pit. The kids had a blast and they had a new jumping pillow thingy. We stayed on a premium patio campsite and it was nice and relaxing. They delivered firewood and ice right to our site. We are coming back for their great Halloween.
- I3249Evegasgal on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.