Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2018
Wifi only worked close to the office. Couldn't get online at all where we were camped. There was toilet paper all over the ground from a previous sewage spill at our site. Stagnant creek running thru the campground. Perfect environment for producing Mosquitoes.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This review is for another campground we do not have a creek running through Capitol KOA. The site he stayed at has no sewer on it.
Jul 07, 2018
Jul 07, 2018
It was our first stay with you and we will definitely be back. Thanks
Jul 06, 2018
Very nice place. Employees very helpful.
Jul 06, 2018
We enjoyed our stay with you in one of your kamping lodges. We were vacationing and sightseeing in and around Washington DC. We took the shuttle into DC one day. It was a nice feature for us not having to drive and find parking. Your staff was very helpful and courteous.
Jul 06, 2018
Our experience was excellent.
Jul 05, 2018
The sites were level and well kept. I was impressed with the entire site overall. The only reason for a 3 start rating, and it is a big deal to me, is there was no air in the shower / restroom area or the laundry area. When you pay $70 a night for a 30amp elec and water site the lest I would expect to leave my shower feeling refreshed. Not hurrying back to my popup so I can stop sweating.
Jul 05, 2018
We had a great stay! Clean restrooms, well-maintained sites, and enjoyed the amenities provided by the campsite. The staff was very friendly and were very accommodating.
Jul 05, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.
Jul 05, 2018
The place is nice. I just think the "luxury" sites are over priced for what you get. A wrought iron table, small concrete patio and small fire pit do not just justify the extra cost when the site itself is not paved and there is no cable.
Jul 05, 2018
This campground has degraded since the last two times we stayed there. The bathroom was constantly flooded. And the staff, who were very kind, struggled to process a KOA gift card. Sites near the dog park suffer from smells. This campground's #1 benefit is its proximity to Washington, Baltimore, and Annapolis.
Jul 05, 2018
Jul 04, 2018
Our stay was great. Loved the cabin, a/c and porch swing. Never had any trouble getting into the showers. Some uncleanness in the shower on edges. The shuttle to DC was great, however it wasn't free. For a family of 5 that added up. Campground was nice. Staff was friendly. We would stay there again. Oh, saw daddy long leg spiders and lighting bugs. Exciting why? NO mosquitoes!
Jul 04, 2018
The staff was very rude. We were put in a campsite that was extremely unlevel, took an hour in the extreme heat to get our camper level. We asked to speak to manager and in 3 days time, he never made the time to talk to us. Very disappointed considering this is the most we have ever spent on a campground.
Jul 04, 2018
This was our firts time at KOA and we loved. Great,clean campground, helpful staff.
Jul 04, 2018
Jul 04, 2018
Customer service lacks. Not friendly-All business. Requested a shaded lot since we were staying for 4 nights. We were told that none were available. There were quite a few - we checked in pretty early. Took the shuttle to DC. Driver to DC preached to the group about getting back to the shuttle on time. It was a FAST, crazy drive there. Coming back was a different driver, much better. Friendlier.
Jul 03, 2018
The campground was beautiful and the employees were very helpful. Thank you for advice on how to hook up our sewer. Had a local pizza joint deliver food right to our site.
Jul 03, 2018
It was our first time staying in a cabin at KOA, we usually pull a camper, only staying for two nights for a wedding. There were a few things we really enjoyed that not all KOA's offer. 1 We arrived later and the office/store was open til 10p. 2 The pool had a lifeguard insuring enjoyable pool time. 3 Sites are nicely spaced and shaded. I would not hesitate to stay at Capitol KOA again when in DC
Jul 03, 2018
I have stayed here several times and it has been a very positive experience every time.
Jul 02, 2018
KOA was nice, but would've loved a full hook-up site and we did book in March. Office hours were a little short...
Jul 02, 2018
Staff very helpful and friendly!! Lots to do there for children too. Nice bathhouse, well kept and clean. Would stay there again for sure!!
Jul 02, 2018
Staff is very helpful and courteous. Great for families with kids and location good for dc access on a budget.
Jul 02, 2018
Loved the wooded area of our cabin!
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Campground and faculty’s veary clean . Staff was veary courteous and knolageable .We vary much enjoyed our stay and will defiantly stay agin when in the D.C. area.
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
The people were nice and the pool was nice. Transportation to the Capitol Building was a wonderful plus.
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
Outstanding customer service. Very helpful.
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
I could not have been more pleased with the campsite, the people, the location, and the campground as a whole. Wonderful workers and managers. All very helpful and have genuine friendly personalities. When we are back in the area, we will be booking again. Kids loved being there and the weekend activities kept them busy. They did not want to leave and honestly, neither did we.
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
We enjoyed our stay at this campground . Taking the park bus with my friends was very easy. Nice people that work there. The store was nicely stocked and they carried just about anything you would have forgot. The campground is not in DC but the bus took you into town.
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Site number 2 easy getting in and out. Plenty of shade on the patio area. Close to restroom, showers and laundry. DC tour was worth it if you like to walk and explore on your own.
Jun 28, 2018
Terrain mediocre (pas nivellé, eau et électricité mal positionné donc difficile d'installer un VR), sanitaires pas très propre Personnel très gentil et serviable
Jun 28, 2018
Clean, friendly staf, met my expectations
Jun 28, 2018
Jun 28, 2018
For the price you should bring towels to the cabins . I have stayed at many koa s. The group running this location is the most unfriendly group in the country. I will not stay at this location again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We gladly exchange towels when you bring them to the office. I am sure the unfriendly staff comment had to do with asking them to quiet down after their neighbor complained about the noise.
Jun 27, 2018
Wonderful location! Great facilities and friendly staff. Highly recommend taking the MARC train and the $1 DC Circulator buses instead of the tour offered in the camp office.
Jun 27, 2018
Very nice
Jun 27, 2018
Was not a bad stay, the price is way too high though for what you get. We have stayed here several times over the years, but we might have to look elsewhere in the future - $99.00 a night for full hookups and a gravel pad, I don't think so... The CG isn't even that pretty - if they had lavish landscaping or a bunch of amenities that might be a different story - there is nothing there...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper was on a deluxe patio with cement pad, patio furniture, propane gas grill, landscaping, Adirondack chairs, fire pit. We his KOA value card he paid $ 78.00 per night.
Jun 26, 2018
This is a very nice and clean campground. This is the second year that we have stayed here traveling to and from the beach. We came in a day early on our way to the beach to utilize the shuttle service to Washington DC. This is a very nice and well run service that is offered. We will certainly be back at this campground and would recommend it to our friends.
Jun 26, 2018
Great sites, helpful staff. Great location to access Washington D.C. area.
Jun 26, 2018
The employees were very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The facilities and grounds were well maintained and clean.
Jun 26, 2018
Clean well maintained KOA. Super friendly staff.
Jun 26, 2018
The staff was always available when needed and always helpful. They were willing to swap our site for a better one that had grass (instead of dirt and roots) without hesitation. Will definitely go again.
Jun 24, 2018
A great place to stay while exploring the area
Jun 24, 2018
Jul 16, 2019
Nice KOA, well run, many decent sites with full service and some trees / shade.
- ufragme on Google
Jul 11, 2019
Amazing campground but a little bit far away from DC
- Dege Over Here on Google
Jul 18, 2019
I love that very clean motel is comfortable everything works very well, the owner of the is very kind and amazing too.
- Eunice Cook on Google