Washington DC / Capitol KOA Reviews

Let us be your guide for everything Washington DC!

Campground Reviews

Sep 20, 2018
All employees were very friendly. Camp was very clean, everywhere. The setting was very pretty and relaxing.
Sep 18, 2018
Was a great time.
Sep 18, 2018
We were passing by and needed to stay for a night. At first I was skeptical about the noise being beside the highway but it was very quiet. The sites are not level and my pull through would of destroyed my camper if I actually pulled through but the staff helped me back in. The lady's in the office were extremely nice and helpful.
Sep 17, 2018
We had a wonderful time, Campground was very nice and we will definitely be back. Thanks
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
clean accommodations, clean grounds friendly staff
Sep 17, 2018
Always a great time! Peaceful and quiet. I love staying in the cabins and enjoying what nature has to offer.
Sep 17, 2018
Campground clean, staff friendly. Not many amenities. Great if you want to take their shuttle to D.C.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Very nice stay. I loved our site!! It was Great. My daughter had a blast doing the craft and playing games. And at night doing the s’mores and movie.
Sep 17, 2018
There wasn't anyone around trained in propane refills. Every time I tried to get a refill. So I didn't cook on the stove. All in a all a very nice place.
Sep 17, 2018
We camp here often... Our staycation! We love the staff and our boys stay entertained. The rewards weekend is always my birthday weekend. So we had a lot of friends come visit for an additional cost that we feel is fair to pay! The hurricane weather held off so we were able to enjoy the entire weekend. �

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for responding and also for your great survey. See you wedding weekend!
Sep 16, 2018
We stayed late in the season and pool and other activities were closed. Still it is a nice campgrounds and and met our expectations
Sep 16, 2018
despite the heat very enjoyable stay. Wish the pool could stay open after labor day with the 90 degree heat. Staff said not permitted to be open in maryland after labor day but western Maryland campground open until Sept 7. Confusion.
Sep 16, 2018
Hot water in the showers was unpredictable - trying to take a shower (10 PM and 3 PM) we would get lukewarm water that would then turn cold. When I complained they said:"Oh, yes, we know about that but all you have to do is run the water in the dish-washing area until it gets hot". Of course they didn't tell us about this when we checked in - we found out when we were undressed. Also, no cable
Sep 16, 2018
A little bit too expensive
Sep 16, 2018
Sep 15, 2018
Nice campground, nice staff, great facilities.
Sep 15, 2018
This is the third time staying there. Still wonderful but I was disappointed that when I called three different times Saturday to say we'd be arriving late that night and ask what we needed to do no one called back. It added more anxiety then needed. Also the water at our site #121 came out rusty no matter how long we ran it for. Even when it looked clear it tasted really off.
Sep 14, 2018
Our stay (both times) was fine. No problems with site, office etc. Our only reason for giving a 4 rating is the low tree limbs. We have a High Profile 5th wheel and they were so low they scraped the top of the unit no matter which drive you taken. Our neighbors (both times) who were in Coach RVs said the same thing happened to them and Coach RVs are not as high profile as our 5th wheel.
Sep 14, 2018
great location
Sep 14, 2018
Sep 13, 2018
We loved the campground and it is conveniently located to the whole Baltimore/DC/Annapolis area!
Sep 13, 2018
Campground very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Biggest complaint is that you cannot get thru to-the campground, they very rarely answered the phone had a group coming and when one cancelled needed to adjust sites to keep us together could not reach them. Also employees taking reservations need to learn size of sites, put the largest trailer in our group on smallest site.
Sep 12, 2018
It rained 95% of the time we were there but you aren't responsible for the weather. It was a very nice place all the same.
Sep 12, 2018
It was a very nice and clean campground. The only thing was they closed the pool the first day we arrive and all week temperature was above 90 degrees. The reason they gave was end of season.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

In this area the pools close on Labor Day as the lifeguards are mandatory. We have to hire a pool service and the lifeguards are college age and have to return to school.
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
Pull thru sites were too short to actually pull through and leave toad parked. Fortunately we were going to disconnect anyway but overnighters, stop and go would have had to take time in morning to hook back up.
Sep 11, 2018
It was great but the weather wasn't too good.
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA campground! Very clean restrooms and showers. Purchased campfire wood and very nice gentleman delivered it to our campsite within minutes. Playground was awesome. Park very clean. The girl who checked me in was not very helpful and was more concerned about ordering her dinner then paying attention to the check in process. I do highly recommend!
Sep 10, 2018
Enjoyed the stay despite the weather, we really didn’t stay much during the day but we always enjoy your KOA and stay there for most of the Navy Football home games!
Sep 10, 2018
This was non descript, but felt safe. I was not clearly made aware of the pool being closed the day after Labor Day (because they have to have a lifeguard even for adults?) so it was miserable heat/humid days with no way to enjoy the outdoors. The metro was actually 35/40 min each time in addition to another 40 min to the mall. Driving in was 42 min. I consider this for proximity only stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We close the pool Labor Day weekend and it is listed on the website and also on social media. Here in Maryland the pools close Labor day. It is mandatory to have lifeguards. It can not be KOA staff. Our pool service ends our contact on Labor Day. The metro is the fastest most convenient way to get to DC. We don't recommend campers drive into DC.
Sep 09, 2018
It was a quick overnight stay on our way back home...we plan on visiting again soon!!!
Sep 08, 2018
Great staff, very helpful with changes.
Sep 08, 2018
Sep 08, 2018
Great Labor Day weekend with kids and grandkids! We will definitely be returning.
Sep 08, 2018
We made reservations July 11 for Aug 28-Sept 5 (8 nights) and it would have been nice to have a shady spot but we were told that others reserved for the weekend. 8 days
Sep 08, 2018
Sep 08, 2018
Sep 07, 2018
Water pressure was mediocre. 50 A breaker had to be replaced. Site was not very level also short.
Sep 06, 2018
Sep 06, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
The only bad thing I can say is the laundry room sucks. It should be huge & air conditioned!
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
Weather was perfect for the kids, bathroom and shower was clean all the times, the only that I don't liked was a grill, because was in the ground floor and I have a really back problems. Other wise, everything was good. We enjoyed. Thank you
Sep 05, 2018
It was nice. Would like a more level lot next time.
Sep 05, 2018
Common areas were neat and clean however our site was not mowed and very muddy. More stone was needed to cover dirt. I would stay there again however only in a few spots that I have noted on the map as I walked around the campsites. Staff was friendly and very courteous.
Sep 05, 2018
Overall, the campground was nice. The team that runs the KOA is extremely nice. My only complaint is the showers need a good cleaning!!
Oct 15, 2019
Such a great visit to Capitol KOA. Kids had a great time, very family friendly. Cabin was lovely. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely return.
- Alicia Kwait-Blank on Google
Sep 17, 2018
Super schöner Platz. Netter Empfang. Es sollte aber vorher gebucht werden.
- Carola Nevermann on Google
Jul 31, 2018
The kids love spending time in the cabins and swimming in the pool we go just to getaway from everything, its a good place to spend the weekend without breaking the bank!
- chris hirsch on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.