Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 11, 2018
Staff was amazing and campgrounds were fantastic!
Jun 10, 2018
Very friendly Staff and clean kept campgrounds and Great scenery!!!��
Jun 09, 2018
Jun 08, 2018
Jun 05, 2018
The staff were friendly, and wonderful in all ways. The campground was clean and well manicured. There were activities for families.
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 03, 2018
We love staying at this camp ground. We have tent camped beside the river now for 28 years and went to make our reservation for next year on the site we normally get only to discover that our sites are being done away with to bring in cabin's. Not everyone can afford those cabin's or has a camper but enjoys being able to stay in a tent next to the river. After next year we may look some where els
May 30, 2018
In no way a primitive camp site. Sites are too close together with no authentic outdoor experience. Not for campers, but glampers.
May 28, 2018
We enjoyed our stay very much! Very nice, neat and clean campground.
May 21, 2018
May 21, 2018
Very clean and nice. My battery died while I was there. I asked for a jumper box, but that wasn't available. Took 30 minutes to get maintenance technician to be truck to jump battery. Not his fault very nice guy. I would recommend purchasing a jump box for the campground. I probably wont ve the first or last that needs a jump.
May 20, 2018
Everyone there is great love this campground, I’ve loved it since before KOA actually owned it. Love what had been done to the place thankyou
May 18, 2018
very friendly staff and beautiful campground
May 14, 2018
May 14, 2018
We truly enjoyed our stay at our riverside tent site. This is the best KOA we've stayed at and we WILL be back as soon as possible.
May 13, 2018
Great!
May 10, 2018
May 09, 2018
Apr 30, 2018
We love staying at this particular KOA! Everyone is super friendly and the Campground is always wonderfully maintained.
Apr 21, 2018
Clean campground with beautiful river view. Nice shower and bathroom facilities. Great location to the park. A little high priced for tent camping, but that’s the only complaint.
Apr 09, 2018
ended up at the Townsend KOA due to weather. Had res at Cherokee. I arrived late in the dark, and the attendant on duty was very helpful. I love KOA's. I camp in my car when traveling, its cheaper than hotels, and at the KOA's all the amenities are superb.
Apr 05, 2018
The staff was very supportive and welcoming upon arrival. We had a great time while on site and the campground was very clean. Everyone was willing to help if you needed additional tourist information and advised on fun things to do in the area.
Apr 02, 2018
We were hopeful for a peaceful weekend trip by the river, but will not be back. The campsite across from us constantly had 15-20 people there and most were in and out until 2 in the morning, there cars thumping loud music. "Quiet time" was never enforced and about 5 people a day walked through the middle of our campsite, not around....actually through the middle. Kids were not supervised at all
Mar 27, 2018
Mar 10, 2018
Everything was great except the showers The showers were extremely cold and this just made things so much worse when it’s 20 degrees outside. We paid extra money for the extras koa offers and wouldn’t do so again
Feb 16, 2018
Check in person was super sweet. The restroom was clean. The guy who brought firewood to my site was very helpful and friendly. And as always, the riverside tent site was unmatched. This is my favorite place to be. If I could afford to live here year round I would do it in a heartbeat.
Jan 26, 2018
We loved our campsite and the pavilion with the fireplace. The staff was wonderful but definitely come back
Dec 05, 2017
Nov 27, 2017
Simple check in process, very accommodating. Great location and clean facilities! Would recommend to everyone!
Nov 13, 2017
Wonderful!
Oct 24, 2017
Great as always. Appreciate the new restrooms and dishwashing area next to the pavillion.
Oct 22, 2017
My wife, dogs & I just spent 4 days with you on a tent site. I can't think of a thing that could have made it better. The restrooms & showers were always clean and well maintained as were the grounds in general. You have a beautiful facility and a great staff.
Oct 20, 2017
Overall it was a good experience - what you'd expect with KOA, As others have mentioned, it was very clean. The only thing is that there was no recycling (not KOA's fault - it was not available in the state as we were told) so we brought our recyclables home. And it was a bit too big and got quite crowded (all spots were taken) the last couple days that we were there. Still a great experience!
Oct 17, 2017
Beautiful place, very friendly people and very clean facilities.
Oct 15, 2017
Super awesome kindhearted people run this place. Staff are very attentive & extremely helpful, which I as a mother of 4 kids camping alone really appreciated. Campground is safe, quiet, clean, and beautiful. Bathrooms are very clean, shower are big & private. My kids love the playground and the creek. We will definitely be going back!
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 13, 2017
Absolutely spectacular! A huge KOA on a quiet street. Lovely sites. Impeccable facilities. Unless you live in brand new luxury apartment, these bathrooms are an upgrade. Wonderful staff and TONS of them keeping the place clean and taking care of us/you. Our best ever KOA. A bit more expensive than others but totally worth it! Book with confidence.
Oct 11, 2017
Restrooms and showers very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. The lots are well maintained.
Oct 09, 2017
One of the cleanest campsites I've stayed at. The bathrooms and showers are spotless and the staff was very friendly.
Oct 08, 2017
Car door slams all though the night. Too pricy, and too strict with visitors parking.
Oct 08, 2017
tent camping with no hookups. Had a nice river site, just wish there wasn't so much hard rock in the particular site. Very quiet and the weather was perfect. All staff was very helpful and friendly as usual.
Oct 06, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Best KOA Campground we have stayed at. Campsite was great, service in front office great. We had to check out earlier than we had planned and were granted a refund for nights we did not stay without even asking for the refund.
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you for new bathrooms closer to where we like to camp! Everything nice except for the dog poop on our campsite (130). We hung our Eno and stepped in some, then smelled it the rest of the weekend.
Sep 18, 2017
We always enjoy our stay here. The only negative thing I have to say that we never noticed before was the sewage smell. It was everyday but you would smell it off and on.
Sep 11, 2017
The campground is clean, safe, quiet, and nestled along a beautiful river with plenty of shade for everyone. There were events planned for kids like a movie night on Saturday and you could rent tubes to go downriver. Right at the bottom of the Smokies, just a short drive to beautiful hiking paths and breathtaking scenery.
Sep 05, 2017
mostly okay. neighbors ran extension cord right through our camp, random children kept running through our site. showers were nice.
Aug 28, 2017
Great place to stay! Friendly staff! Clean bathrooms and showers!
Aug 28, 2017
The campground is beautiful and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. We will definitely be back.
Aug 26, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award