Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 15, 2017
Super awesome kindhearted people run this place. Staff are very attentive & extremely helpful, which I as a mother of 4 kids camping alone really appreciated. Campground is safe, quiet, clean, and beautiful. Bathrooms are very clean, shower are big & private. My kids love the playground and the creek. We will definitely be going back!
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 13, 2017
Absolutely spectacular! A huge KOA on a quiet street. Lovely sites. Impeccable facilities. Unless you live in brand new luxury apartment, these bathrooms are an upgrade. Wonderful staff and TONS of them keeping the place clean and taking care of us/you. Our best ever KOA. A bit more expensive than others but totally worth it! Book with confidence.
Oct 11, 2017
Restrooms and showers very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. The lots are well maintained.
Oct 09, 2017
One of the cleanest campsites I've stayed at. The bathrooms and showers are spotless and the staff was very friendly.
Oct 08, 2017
Car door slams all though the night. Too pricy, and too strict with visitors parking.
Oct 08, 2017
tent camping with no hookups. Had a nice river site, just wish there wasn't so much hard rock in the particular site. Very quiet and the weather was perfect. All staff was very helpful and friendly as usual.
Oct 06, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Best KOA Campground we have stayed at. Campsite was great, service in front office great. We had to check out earlier than we had planned and were granted a refund for nights we did not stay without even asking for the refund.
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you for new bathrooms closer to where we like to camp! Everything nice except for the dog poop on our campsite (130). We hung our Eno and stepped in some, then smelled it the rest of the weekend.
Sep 18, 2017
We always enjoy our stay here. The only negative thing I have to say that we never noticed before was the sewage smell. It was everyday but you would smell it off and on.
Sep 11, 2017
The campground is clean, safe, quiet, and nestled along a beautiful river with plenty of shade for everyone. There were events planned for kids like a movie night on Saturday and you could rent tubes to go downriver. Right at the bottom of the Smokies, just a short drive to beautiful hiking paths and breathtaking scenery.
Sep 05, 2017
mostly okay. neighbors ran extension cord right through our camp, random children kept running through our site. showers were nice.
Aug 28, 2017
Great place to stay! Friendly staff! Clean bathrooms and showers!
Aug 28, 2017
The campground is beautiful and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. We will definitely be back.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
This is an absolutely GORGEOUS camp ground with a wonderful location. We camped our tents and had a site right next to the river. The site however was on gravel and we could not get our tent steaks in the ground. Walked right up to the store and bought some gallons of water to hold it down, but still an inconvenience..but overall had a wonderful experience!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Fantastic stay - loved the cabin right on the river and the easy access for tubing.
Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff and a beautiful setting with lots to do! Renovations are beautiful, they really keep on top of it and it has a resort feel. Highly recommend! :)
Aug 16, 2017
Always a great stay at our favorite local campground. Great staff, well run
Aug 15, 2017
We will deffently be back.
Aug 14, 2017
Other than the rain (which no one could do anything about), we had a WONDERFUL stay. The campground staff were phenomenal; every one of them. Our tent site was perfect. We'll definitely be back.
Aug 11, 2017
I love this campground- Great people! Great facilites! I am concerned that more and more river rafters kept coming on my site-' And acted like it was theirs! Even people camping at KOA kept coming on our site... Otherwise, best camping spot ever!
Aug 08, 2017
Beautiful campground. We always love staying there. We were there on July 4th, and it was VERY busy! We stayed on the river and people were constantly walking and running through our campsite. We were OK with this, but if noise and children running through your spot all day bothers you, pick a site that is not right on the water.
Aug 03, 2017
This was our first time camping at a Koa and the Townsend location was wonderful. The bathhouse and bathrooms were very clean and updated. The pool and playground was great for our family. We loved the peaceful site by the river. We will definitely come back.
Aug 03, 2017
We had a great time. We just camped out in a tent and it was quiet and peaceful. The bathrooms were very clean. Would highly recommend for others and will definetely come back.
Jul 28, 2017
You will not find a nicer campground anywhere, top notch facility and people.
Jul 22, 2017
Beautifully maintained campground. Great location. Secluded, near the entrance of the National Park, but close to tons of activities for the whole family. River tubing was a blast. Can't wait to visit again.
Jul 20, 2017
Our favorite campground!
Jul 17, 2017
Fantastic stay! The campsite on the river was perfect! From exploring to the campfire to all the campground provided, my 5 year had a great time!
Jul 17, 2017
We had a party of 11 people stay at the KOA Townsend and had an extremely amazing weekend. We were able to book tent sites right next to each other and had to leave a little later than the actual check-out time and were not charged for being late. They have amazing amenities and wonderful staff. They offered family friendly activities during the day and evenings. We will definitely be returning!!
Jul 12, 2017
We had tent site 124/125 by the river. It was beautiful. we did have a lot of people go to the water thru our site but u just have to deal with it. The staff was very helpful. We worked with them on these reservations for 6 months to plan this perfect weekend. The bathrooms and showers were nice too. Loved the bingo night And movie night. Deff will recommend and want to stay again in the future.
Jul 10, 2017
We stayed in a tent site and had a wonderful time! The campsite was clean and so well kept. Every staff member we saw was friendly and more then ready to help if we needed anything. All in all it was a wonderful stay here!
Jul 07, 2017
We stay here every year and have for almost 20 years even before it was a KOA property.
Jul 04, 2017
There used to be a port-o-potty near the river sites. You removed them and replaced with nice bathroom. Problem, nice bathroom is at the other side of the campground.Because of health issues, we are having to walk across campground 10 times a day. We could camp near the bathrooms, but we came to camp near the river. Yall put in a pump station where the portopots where. Why can't you put a bathroom
Jul 03, 2017
Was wonderful even with it being 4th of July weekend. The Grounds, bathrooms, and showers where always clean! We are coming back!
Jun 28, 2017
Great
Jun 28, 2017
Thought it was great
Jun 26, 2017
I had a great time at both camp grounds. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Beats the places I've been to.
Jun 23, 2017
This was our first tent camping trip with our 2 year old son. We had only booked 2 nights, but everything went so well we ended up staying 4 nights. The front desk staff made it so we didn't have to change sites. The staff was friendly and awesome. Thanks for a clean and safe place to stay. We love KOA camp grounds!
Jun 20, 2017
We loved our tent site right on the river. The campground was clean and staff were super We will definitely be staying here again
Jun 19, 2017
This KOA is very nice. We bring our boy scout troop here every year for the tubing. They have one of the best teams here. The showers our clean and very nice, and I do mean nice. Our boys really like the movie night. We will see you guys again next year. Keep up the good work.
Jun 13, 2017
Ladies in front office are angry and bitter. They are busy yet cant answer phone. We happened to arrive late and i have cancer i couldnt get up and out of cabin on time we were moving to a tent slipbut because of mean women we left koa. And i wasnot credited my tent spot of 40$. I will not recomend although sites are great front office lost you my fam8lys trips
Jun 12, 2017
My friends and I went up to Townsend for The Crawl and the mini bikes. We had such a phenomenal experience! All of the employees went above and beyond for us the entire time, even when registering for the camp site. They stopped to chat with us about our bikes and we all really bonded. The site was beautiful and everything was clean and the showers are fantastic! We'll be back again next year!
Jun 12, 2017
We visited this campground with 3 motorcycles and we were treated like children and watched our whole trip. Couldn't enjoy our stay with staff breathing down our neck the whole time.
Jun 05, 2017
Love the riverfront site. Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoy the family activities, wish they had more!
Jun 05, 2017
The staff was extremely helpful! Our first time camping and it was a wonderful experience.
Jun 04, 2017
We love staying here. We have been going there for 26 years. The staff is great and love seeing them every year. We love the fact that they have family fun things. They let Charms come in and do a children's day camp and family events nightly.
Jun 04, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award