Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 16, 2018
great
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 06, 2018
We had a spot right next to the river and I don't think it could have been more perfect. The sites were clean, the staff was so friendly, and the bathrooms/showers were in good condition. I definitely recommend staying here!
Nov 05, 2018
Nov 04, 2018
Great location. Very clean. Would recommend to anyone wanting a close camping experience near the cades cove area in the Smokies.
Oct 30, 2018
Really nice tent site. Staff was very friendly & helpful.
Oct 27, 2018
Love this camp ground
Oct 26, 2018
My family and I look for every opportunity to visit the Townsend KOA. Our experience this time was the same as always...the staff are friendly and helpful, the bathrooms and showers are kept very clean and stocked and the setting on the river is hard to beat. See you again soon!
Oct 22, 2018
The "yellow shirts" were all very friendly and helpful. I had a very nice stay.
Oct 21, 2018
We loved our camp site #124. I was very sad when we were checking out and the ladies told us that the camp site might not be there after this year. She said they were making room for more cabins. I hope that they change their minds and leave them for people like us who love to tent camp.
Oct 19, 2018
My wife and I stayed 4 days and hammock camped had a great time. Staff was excellent always willing to help, very nice and seemed to love their job.
Oct 18, 2018
Our stay was amazing, however we are very disappointed that camp sites 124, 125 and 126 will no longer be available due to cabins being put on these sites. Now there will no longer be any tent campsites river front at this location which will saddly result in us not returning.
Oct 14, 2018
We enjoyed our stay! Look forward to the next time!
Oct 11, 2018
This is one of our favorite KOAs. Well managed, clean, very nice sites. Great facilities and amenities but still quiet and peaceful. We enjoy every stay here.
Oct 10, 2018
We had an awesome campsite (124) with a great view of the river. Everybody we came in contact with was extremely personable and friendly. We will definitely be returning in the future!
Oct 09, 2018
When i booked i said I would be bringing a small camper but was put on a tent only site.Our first site (129) had steps leading to the site that were not mentioned - important fact in case we had someone who is unable to climb stairs - & no parking spot. Upon arrival we were notified of rules that we were not aware of before arrival. Not sure why rules were not sent out before hand.
Oct 08, 2018
Glamping for sure. The people that work there treated us like family. They even sent someone out to us while we were setting up to let us know they had a cancellation on the spot we really wanted. Above and beyond great customer service throughout the stay. Super clean, neat and new. We felt very comfortable letting the kids run around and ride bikes. Can't wait to go back. The Rose Family
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
We had a wonderful stay at KOA Townsend. The site was wonderful and the whole campground was well cared for. The staff was superb—very helpful when we had questions or requests.
Oct 06, 2018
The spots were very tight. We were tent camping and I don’t understand why showers were clear across the campground since it’s mostly tent and cabin campers who use the showers. That being said, the staff was the sweetest group of people and the facility spotless and beautifully decorated!
Oct 04, 2018
Recently stay two nights in a tent site by the river. Everything was beautiful! The campground is very clean and family friendly. It's a little more expensive than camping in the park, but the convenience of having stores and restaurants so close by as well as the ability to take a hot shower are well worth the extra cost. Would definitely stay here again!
Oct 04, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
It's a very nice campground with a helpful staff. I would have liked another fan in the ladies room-very hot- and can we be e-mailed the event schedule before we arrive .
Oct 01, 2018
We had a great weekend in a tent by the river! We love everything about the Townsend KOA.
Sep 24, 2018
Although my family has been staying at this KOA at least 4 times a year for over 5 years, we will not be back again. We have never had such poor customer service. Mike rude and disrespectful to us several times during our stay. We will stay at Little Arrow from now on and have the same view and it's comparable in price. I would LOVE to talk to someone about the issues we had. masingok@gmail.com
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 16, 2018
Awesome location Can't wait to go back
Sep 12, 2018
The staff is VERY friendly and the facilities are VERY clean!
Sep 10, 2018
Drove in for a 5k on Friday and a Half Marathon on Saturday, the staff was amazing, the campground was perfect. Showers and Bathrooms are clean with lots of hot water. I definitely will stay again.
Sep 10, 2018
My tent site was verrry close to one that had 7 kids and 4 adults. The adults set their tent up partially on our site and allowed the kids to scream and play tag on our campsite while the adults were loudly yelling trying to control them while we slept.There either needs to be more room between campsites or fewer people allowed per site. The front desk was only able to move us with an upgrade fee.
Sep 05, 2018
Everything was perfect! Couldn't ask for a better vacation with my family. We all loved it!
Aug 26, 2018
All of the staff members were friendly and helpful. The setting is great! Great job! Thank you!
Aug 22, 2018
Came for the balloon festival.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Rained all weekend was told one thing then it was not true no amenities on site for a family more or less have to go off site to do anything at all.
Aug 16, 2018
We had a wonderful time. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice
Aug 14, 2018
The trip was way better then I anticipated it to be. Originally booked it as just a quiet get away wasn’t too sure what to do in the area. But as soon as I checked it the staff at the reception help us out right away and we had the weekend of our lives
Aug 11, 2018
Very helpful staff overall. Men’s bathroom floor dirty as were toilets. Lots of people riding around the park in golf carts doing various things, and attending to bathroom cleanliness is vitally important. I do not know about the women’s bathroom. Difficult to navigate around the park without good directional signs. The gravel roads look like the individual sites.
Aug 06, 2018
We had such a wonderful experience at this campground! The grounds are well maintained and the staff is very accommodating. Our favorite employee was Adam who helped us multiple times during our stay and made our vacation that much better!
Aug 05, 2018
Best KOA I ever stayed at.
Jul 31, 2018
I have been staying at this campground since I was a young kid. I was hesitant to come back knowing that it was now run by a different company (KOA) because this place has been near and dear to me for so long, but I was so pleasantly surprised. The people that run the KOA were so kind and helpful. The campground was clean and well kept. I cant wait to come back!
Jul 30, 2018
We have been coming here for more than a dozen years, but it has been about 5 years since our last visit. We are very impressed with the upgrades since then and the fact that you still keep the classic feel of the general store and fudge shop. We do hope you won't try to add any more cabins lol They are packed in pretty tight.
Jul 30, 2018
We had a great time and loved our campsite ...can’t wait to come back soon!
Jul 28, 2018
Jul 24, 2018
Jul 23, 2018
Everything was perfect! Very friendly and helpful staff. I knew my kids would like it but 2 hours in they saying how happy they were to be there. Our last day they were already requesting to come back! I'd say that's a win!
Jul 23, 2018
Despite the rain we had a wonderful stay at KOA townsend. Our daughter loved all the activities they had for kids. The campground and facilities were in top shape and all the faculty were great to work with. A+
Jul 23, 2018
Jul 18, 2018
We stayed at a campsite by the river. The river was beautiful, but children and adults were walking through our campsite to access the river during our entire stay. Since there is already a lack of privacy at the sites it would be nice if the campground made efforts to let campers know not to walk through campsites and to use the common access point for the river.
Jul 18, 2018
Staff was super friendly. Such a clean campground! The bathrooms we're so clean and the sound of the river was amazing!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award