Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 17, 2018
Sep 16, 2018
Awesome location Can't wait to go back
Sep 12, 2018
The staff is VERY friendly and the facilities are VERY clean!
Sep 10, 2018
Drove in for a 5k on Friday and a Half Marathon on Saturday, the staff was amazing, the campground was perfect. Showers and Bathrooms are clean with lots of hot water. I definitely will stay again.
Sep 10, 2018
My tent site was verrry close to one that had 7 kids and 4 adults. The adults set their tent up partially on our site and allowed the kids to scream and play tag on our campsite while the adults were loudly yelling trying to control them while we slept.There either needs to be more room between campsites or fewer people allowed per site. The front desk was only able to move us with an upgrade fee.
Sep 05, 2018
Everything was perfect! Couldn't ask for a better vacation with my family. We all loved it!
Aug 26, 2018
All of the staff members were friendly and helpful. The setting is great! Great job! Thank you!
Aug 22, 2018
Came for the balloon festival.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Rained all weekend was told one thing then it was not true no amenities on site for a family more or less have to go off site to do anything at all.
Aug 16, 2018
We had a wonderful time. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice
Aug 14, 2018
The trip was way better then I anticipated it to be. Originally booked it as just a quiet get away wasn’t too sure what to do in the area. But as soon as I checked it the staff at the reception help us out right away and we had the weekend of our lives
Aug 11, 2018
Very helpful staff overall. Men’s bathroom floor dirty as were toilets. Lots of people riding around the park in golf carts doing various things, and attending to bathroom cleanliness is vitally important. I do not know about the women’s bathroom. Difficult to navigate around the park without good directional signs. The gravel roads look like the individual sites.
Aug 06, 2018
We had such a wonderful experience at this campground! The grounds are well maintained and the staff is very accommodating. Our favorite employee was Adam who helped us multiple times during our stay and made our vacation that much better!
Aug 05, 2018
Best KOA I ever stayed at.
Jul 31, 2018
I have been staying at this campground since I was a young kid. I was hesitant to come back knowing that it was now run by a different company (KOA) because this place has been near and dear to me for so long, but I was so pleasantly surprised. The people that run the KOA were so kind and helpful. The campground was clean and well kept. I cant wait to come back!
Jul 30, 2018
We have been coming here for more than a dozen years, but it has been about 5 years since our last visit. We are very impressed with the upgrades since then and the fact that you still keep the classic feel of the general store and fudge shop. We do hope you won't try to add any more cabins lol They are packed in pretty tight.
Jul 30, 2018
We had a great time and loved our campsite ...can’t wait to come back soon!
Jul 28, 2018
Jul 24, 2018
Jul 23, 2018
Everything was perfect! Very friendly and helpful staff. I knew my kids would like it but 2 hours in they saying how happy they were to be there. Our last day they were already requesting to come back! I'd say that's a win!
Jul 23, 2018
Despite the rain we had a wonderful stay at KOA townsend. Our daughter loved all the activities they had for kids. The campground and facilities were in top shape and all the faculty were great to work with. A+
Jul 23, 2018
Jul 18, 2018
We stayed at a campsite by the river. The river was beautiful, but children and adults were walking through our campsite to access the river during our entire stay. Since there is already a lack of privacy at the sites it would be nice if the campground made efforts to let campers know not to walk through campsites and to use the common access point for the river.
Jul 18, 2018
Staff was super friendly. Such a clean campground! The bathrooms we're so clean and the sound of the river was amazing!!
Jul 17, 2018
Love to tent by the river. Falling asleep to the sounds of the little rapids near 126 is heavenly and knowing that we are safe at KOA ...
Jul 16, 2018
Nicest locale we have stayed yet. We will be back.
Jul 11, 2018
Overall is was good, only drawbacks were, the campsite was small. Some of the staff members were rude (2) though majority were very nice and helpful.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Great customer service Clean Installations with friendly security people always around.
Jul 07, 2018
Our stay was amazing! Clean, friendly and quiet. We will definitely return!!
Jul 03, 2018
Clean and beautiful grounds with convenient access to river and small store with gas station. The workers and guests were pleasant and family friendly.
Jun 30, 2018
This was our first camping trip ever! Kids had a blast. The staff was awesome, friendly and so helpful. We were out of town when the river unexpectedly rose above regular levels. There staff moved our tent, supplies and clothes to higher level. Then helped move again when we got back. Can’t say thanks enough and how great our experience was, can’t wait for next summerThank KOA of Townsen
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
To be honest, my group of 5 twenty something year olds was a lot to deal with for the staff (my friend went into anaphylactic shock and we locked my keys inside my car without an hour of checking in). However, the staff continued to be super accommodating and sweet. At checkout, they remembered to check in on my friend and make sure we had a good stay. Hospitality is a 10 out of 10!
Jun 26, 2018
Beautiful campsite and campground. We can’t wait to come again!
Jun 25, 2018
It was great. Had an awesome stay. The one site we were at was a little smaller than the rest but it was great for us!!
Jun 19, 2018
It was great and the kids loved it, however, sleeping in a tent while you have neighbors slamming car doors approximately 20 to 30 times until 1 to 2 am makes it an unpleasant night and many walking in your camping are just to get to the river, leaving their stuff at your camping area was also disappointing. Besides that, everyone was friendly and welcoming and the place was well kept.
Jun 18, 2018
Truly enjoyed my tent site by the river! A beautiful location and a well run campground! Every convenience right at your fingertips!
Jun 17, 2018
This is the first time I've stayed at a KOA. I usually camp in State Parks. This place was fantastic. It's so close to the park and other amenities! The bathroom and showers were extremely clean, which is huge. If you have kids, there is a nice play area. Another small touch that was great was the wood chips at the tent sites. Made for extra soft sleeping. I've already recommended to friends.
Jun 17, 2018
My kids love this campground with the pool, river, and playground. Lots to do. I would say the weekends are loud and people are up late. But by midnight it got quiet and we slept well. Overall a fun place to go. Great staff. Well managed.
Jun 16, 2018
Nice shaded tent site. Clean and friendly campground. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, we use KOAs every year on vacation and this was one of the best ones we have stayed at!!! Thanks for a great experience in the Smokies!!!
Jun 15, 2018
It was great meeting the staff and enjoying all of the hospitality they offered. Going to sleep each night with just the sound of the river was the most relaxing time I have enjoyed in years.
Jun 11, 2018
Staff was amazing and campgrounds were fantastic!
Jun 10, 2018
Very friendly Staff and clean kept campgrounds and Great scenery!!!��
Jun 09, 2018
Jun 08, 2018
Jun 05, 2018
The staff were friendly, and wonderful in all ways. The campground was clean and well manicured. There were activities for families.
Jun 04, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals