Townsend / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Experience Winter In The Smokies

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Dec 10, 2019
Was wonderful cabin was very nice and clean
Dec 10, 2019
The campground was very well maintained and the staff were absolutely wonderful! We will definitely be back again!
Dec 10, 2019
Gotta be the best in Townsend. Friendly staff who constantly monitors the campground. Very clean area, and same in the restrooms. I really like the patio campsites with the raised firepits. Very good off season rates, but even with all the amenities, very high during the peak season. I have stayed during both times.
Dec 09, 2019
This is a great place to stay! We had a nice spot right on the river and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again!
Dec 09, 2019
It is perfect for all age groups. They have an excellent and super fun playground area. We played ping pong and skipped stones in the river. We felt welcomed every minute. We stayed in our RV and my parents were able to spend a couple of nights on their own in a cabin. The location is ideal for day trips to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge or hiking in the Smokey Mts. Nat’l Park.
Dec 09, 2019
Dec 08, 2019
Not only are the grounds well kept, but this is only eclipsed by the friendliness and helpful staff. Lots of things to do within a short drive. Good food right in front of the campgrounds. A wealth of wildlife and scenic views. We will return and recommend to all our friends.
Dec 07, 2019
Excellent location, campground is clean and the staff is friendly and very helpful. We have already reserved site for our return trip in May 2020.
Dec 05, 2019
We had a great time staying at the Townsend KOA! Everyone was so nice and helpful and the cabin we stayed in was really cute and clean. We plan on coming back next year.
Dec 05, 2019
Everyone was very nice and accommodating. The room was freezing cold, I should of brought a room heater.
Dec 03, 2019
The staff is always friendly and accomodating. We love staying with y'all. The added outdoor dish washing station is so cinvenie.t for is tent campers.
Dec 03, 2019
Dec 03, 2019
Dec 03, 2019
An absolutely beautiful campground. We always stay in the cabins right on the river so we hear the rushing water our entire stay. I like that there is a large fire pit and a grill so we can cook separately from the campfire. The only drawback I noticed is that the cabin could use a little more flat table space, other than that, it is wonderful!
Dec 02, 2019
We always like the KOA Townsend Thanks to Mark and all the crew there. It is a clean, friendly, Family camping experience
Dec 02, 2019
Always a great time with awesome staff!
Dec 02, 2019
We had a great stay. Our only issue was how tight it was to get backed into our site. The site itself was great. We loved staying right on the river. The patio and the raised fire pit were nice touches. The staff was very friendly, and they kept the campground up very well. Not long after our neighbors checked out, someone was there cleaning out the fire pit and blowing away the leaves.
Dec 02, 2019
The heated bathroom has some security/safety issues. You aren't able to lock the main door or have a private shower. Anyone can come in while you are in there and no overnight security. The shower stalls are tall enough at the bottom that someone could crawl under them. They were dirty. I took pictures. I'm not talking "end of the day" dirty. I mean the vents filled with filth dirty.
Dec 02, 2019
Wonderful and friendly staff, campground very clean. Loved our stay and plan on going back
Dec 02, 2019
Dec 02, 2019
Dec 02, 2019
Beth was very helpful in making sure my friend and I could camp by each other. They guys on golf carts always said hello. Amazing place already booked again for July 4 weekend
Dec 01, 2019
Dec 01, 2019
Dec 01, 2019
Dec 01, 2019
Always a great stay! Staff always makes us feel like part of the family. They are dedicated to making your stay a great experience.
Nov 30, 2019
We had a wonderful stay over Thanksgiving in a couple of deluxe cabins. The owners and employees here treat everyone like family and they went above and beyond to make our stay awesome. Every time we come here we are reminded of why this is our favorite place to stay in Townsend! Thank you!
Nov 30, 2019
The staff was friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean, well stocked and we really enjoyed the location.
Nov 30, 2019
Nov 29, 2019
The best KOA campground that we have ever stayed in.
Nov 29, 2019
very friendly staff and bathroom was very clean
Nov 28, 2019
It was such a beautiful place!! The cabin was nice and I loved that y’all provided towels and linens for the DC. Only complaint is that we didn’t like that the fire pit was set to the backside of the cabin right under the trees next to the shrubs. It would have been nice to have it set further up closer to the porch area. Seriously, we enjoyed our stay! The kids want to go back this summer:0)
Nov 28, 2019
everyone helpful and cheerful
Nov 27, 2019
We had a great trip. The only bad thing was that I wished we had requested a site closer to a bathhouse as our pup doesn't have a bathroom. But that was on me. The bathhouses are clean but do not have heating. We will be back!
Nov 26, 2019
Nov 25, 2019
We loved our stay and we will most likely be back!!
Nov 22, 2019
Everyone was helpful and gracious from the start. We had reservations at another campground in the area but when we checked in found that they were having water issues.Visited kOA the next day and they found a campsite, without reservation, for the total of our stay. The grounds are well kept and bath houses clean. We will be staying at Townsend KOA again.
Nov 21, 2019
A great place to camp! We will be back!
Nov 21, 2019
Nov 21, 2019
Great place to stay. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Look forward to coming back when it is warmer.
Nov 21, 2019
Nov 20, 2019
We love Townsend. People helpful & friendly. Such a wonderful place.
Nov 18, 2019
No hot water in main boathouse or heat and too hot much leaf blower noise ...... LOL! Park is beautiful; we have been staying there for 20 years and it is the best place we stay- keep it up
Nov 18, 2019
The staff and amenities at the KOA Townsend are wonderful. The staff is extremely friendly and understanding! The campsites and cabins are very clean with so many extras. We love to stay here and will always return! Thank you
Nov 18, 2019
Nov 18, 2019
Shower rooms were cold and water was only warm, not hot enough to offset the cold air in the shower room itself.
Nov 18, 2019
Very nice campground, very cordial host , will go back again line the cabin stay that was a change from regular camping .
Nov 17, 2019
Nov 17, 2019
Nov 16, 2019
We had a wonderful time, from the minute we arrived Adam greeted us and took us to our campsite, he was very courteous and professional. We look forward to coming back next year.
Dec 05, 2019
Clean and we'll maintained. Did not stay here.
- Karen Glover on Google
Dec 05, 2019
Great location, grounds are clean people are extremely nice and helpful. We will stay here again.
- Bedford Sorrell on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.