Townsend / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Mar 31, 2020
Mar 31, 2020
Great as always..
Mar 31, 2020
Na
Mar 30, 2020
Mar 30, 2020
Mar 28, 2020
We stayed in a camping cabin for the first time. We have always tent camped. We had our grandkids with us and all had a great time. We will definitely reserve one again.
Mar 28, 2020
Fantastic! Great staff, great location, cleanest restrooms and bathhouses I’ve ever had. See you soon!
Mar 27, 2020
I was stunned to see what they did to the campground. The sites from 123 down to 100 are ruined. What used to be easy access slight slope down to Little River is now a 10' wall of rip-rap.dropping almost straight off. Very ugly limestone that looks nothing like it belongs on the river. They have killed all the trees on the river by covering the trunks with dirt and rocks.
Mar 26, 2020
Staff were wonderful! Was great to get away when things are so crazy right now in our nation. Highly recommend this place.
Mar 26, 2020
Our favorite KOA!
Mar 24, 2020
Fantastic service and support! Greeted outside due to the pandemic. Great upgrades being accomplished throughout the campground. Will continue to be the best campground near the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Thanks!!!
Mar 23, 2020
We had a fantastic sister's getaway. The campsite was very nice and we plan to come back in the fall.
Mar 23, 2020
Mar 23, 2020
Mar 23, 2020
Major construction on sites by river. Will be nice when completed but every morning at 8 am construction equipment was moving through camp. Campground is also very muddy due to construction. Stay somewhere else until construction is completed.
Mar 22, 2020
Mar 22, 2020
The staff is always very helpful, friendly, and available at all times. We love staying at this KOA.
Mar 22, 2020
Early loud construction noise. Friendly staff! Clean bathrooms. We’ll come again! Thx
Mar 22, 2020
We were able to stay secluded during the virus outbreak and make the most of our time together as a family for a few days while the kids were on Spring Break. The extra precautions taken at check in were much appreciated.
Mar 20, 2020
We always enjoy staying at the Townsend KOA. The staff is always friendly and the place is always clean and well kept.
Mar 19, 2020
great place - can’t wait to go back!
Mar 18, 2020
Under construction at this visit but hopefully it will eventually be back to 5 stars soon.
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 16, 2020
It was great! Bathrooms clean and campground clean. Even with the construction in the lower area and the caution tape due to reseeding the area by the water, due to the resent flood, it was a great peaceful stay. Our 2nd trip here, but won’t be our last.
Mar 16, 2020
Beautiful location. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice sites. Unfortunately, they had floods earlier this year and work is being done. Very noisy from 7:30-8:00 a.m. until dark or after which isn't very relaxing. So we didn't stay at the campground much. But will definitely return again--probably at least once more this year!
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 15, 2020
Will be nice when construction is done. It was very noisy during our stay as they were bringing in large rocks to put on bank of river. Dump truck and backhoe noise all day long, every day starting just before 8am. Would have appreciated a heads-up during booking that this was going to be taking place. Dog park was muddy, dirty and full of feces. Clearly people don't abide by the clean-up rules.
Mar 13, 2020
Mar 12, 2020
We loved the area and the hospitality. We will be coming back.
Mar 11, 2020
Absolutely perfect. Great campground and service was first class. I’m booked again for next month and then again on down the road. Loved it.
Mar 10, 2020
Everyone was very friendly and willing to help with anything you needed.
Mar 05, 2020
Loved it
Mar 02, 2020
Beautiful views of the water .. awesome staff and very clean campground ! Family oriented
Mar 02, 2020
Mar 02, 2020
The camping cabin we stayed in the heater wasn’t very good. We were cold all night told front desk when we checked out all I got was oh sorry. No refund no discount or could have offered one night free stay for our trouble. Had 2 grandkids with us one was only 2 years old she was so cold we were all miserable and I think something should have been done about the inconvenience we had to deal with
Mar 01, 2020
Feb 29, 2020
Nicely maintained excellent location, desk staff very helpful but maintenance may as much. Sites were very nice but extremely tight. Noticed several people had difficulty getting Into the tight sites.
Feb 27, 2020
Great resort on the peaceful side of the Smokies! Checked-in for 1 night and stayed for 3 days. Already planning our return trip in April! See you soon!
Feb 25, 2020
Feb 24, 2020
I would highly recommend staying here. The staff is great and the camp ground is really nice. They have made a lot of upgrades since KOA came in. I would love to work and live there. We always have a great time when we do get to stay there.
Feb 24, 2020
Staff was super friendly and clean restrooms. Highly recommend.
Feb 21, 2020
With all the flooding the campground experienced, the staff was very accommodating and excellent with their communication of the situation. I always enjoy my time at this KOA and look forward to my return visit.
Feb 20, 2020
We loved the campground. Our son stays there pretty offended so we decided to join him. We stayed in a cabin. We noticed NO hot water late that evening. Tank had to be drained and took a little over half the day to get hot water. Would I stay again? Probably so like I said nice campground. Other than that enjoyed our stay.
Feb 19, 2020
We had a great time. The facility was beautiful and staff was very attentive.
Feb 18, 2020
Staff were great and very friendly!
Feb 18, 2020
Despite a terrible storm that kept us from our original cabin we booked, the staff made alternate accommodations for us that worked out great. The entire staff was excellent and the campground was very clean. Definitely will return.
Feb 15, 2020
Personal touch from KOA employees! They go above and beyond the call of duty to make you fell welcome and comfortable!
Feb 03, 2020
Rented a cabin and they upgraded due to construction of our original. Was able to check in a few hours early even. Very friendly staff and everyone in our party thought it was a great location. This KOA is very well managed and the best one I've seen.
Jan 29, 2020
Peaceful and safe and restful thanks
Jan 28, 2020
Great, quiet, campsite!
Mar 18, 2020
Big thank you to Lisa today for helping change our reservations due to an event date change she was super helpful and so nice ! We love this KOA everyone is always super friendly and the campground itself is absolutely gorgeous. ! Cant wait for May to get here !
- Jason Rosser on Google
Mar 14, 2020
Love staying here. Always peaceful on the quiet side of the Smokies
- Andrew Smith on Google
Mar 13, 2020
Make sure to hike Abrams falls while visiting.
- Rob Blackman on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.