Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 21, 2019
Location of the cabin on the river was beautiful. Nice campground, very clean facilities. grill was not working, Kurig was not working and the toy toaster did not work well. There are No inside cooking facilities other than microwave. New glassware is needed and a toaster oven would help. You can’t cook outside in bad weather. Add in those items to substantiate the $ rate.
Apr 21, 2019
Apr 21, 2019
Very clean cabin. Friendly, helpful staff. We look forward to staying there again.
Apr 21, 2019
We stayed on a beautiful river front site. Park is very clean and staff is very friendly. Rate is premium but comparable to other KOA,s of this quality. Close to many attractions and the Smoky mountains
Apr 20, 2019
Great campground & great staff!
Apr 20, 2019
Great family campground. Clean bath houses! We will be back.
Apr 20, 2019
Apr 20, 2019
Perfect location for access into national park. Beautiful campgrounds. Facilities are all up to date and very clean. Staff was wonderful and eager to make sure stay was comfortable. We camped on tent site and tent site was perfect. Small store and gas station right at front gate. After spending 5 nights here I cannot say one negative thing about this KOA. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Apr 20, 2019
People friendly and helpful. Accommodations were superb. Very nice atmosphere!
Apr 20, 2019
We loved it here! Thanks for helping make our vacation perfect!
Apr 19, 2019
Very quiet, family oriented campground. We will return! Clean bathrooms, great camp store, super nice staff!
Apr 19, 2019
We enjoyed the campground and the amenities. The only thing negative to say is the layout is a bit confined with some of the campsites being very close to each other. Very nice, clean campground.
Apr 19, 2019
Apr 18, 2019
Was a great place will definitely visit again
Apr 17, 2019
Apr 17, 2019
We had an amazing time at your KAO. It was by far the cleanest location I’ve every stayed at. The staff where fantastic and my cabin was perfect. I will be back 100% and have all ready reserved for next year. Thank you
Apr 17, 2019
Loved it & my great granddaughter had a blast. She loved the cabin & play ground.
Apr 16, 2019
Excellent place to say and everybody there is very friendly. This was our fifth time staying there and we will stay there again and again !
Apr 16, 2019
Excellent stay. Cant wait to stay agsin
Apr 16, 2019
Everything GREAT !!! Staff great,location great,camp ground great,will definitely stay there again
Apr 16, 2019
Had a great visit,weather was great, cabin was clean,staff was great as well.
Apr 16, 2019
very helpful and friendly staff. clean and well maintained facilities. we will certainly return!
Apr 16, 2019
We love staying there
Apr 15, 2019
Apr 14, 2019
Apr 14, 2019
All of the sites were well maintained and spacious. We were greeted as we came in and escorted to our site as well as assisted with spotting as I backed in. We had a great time at the playground with our granddaughter and by the river!
Apr 14, 2019
Very nice campground. Very friendly and convenient to everywhere. Well maintained.
Apr 14, 2019
Flawless camping experience, all hookups worked perfectly, staff was friendly, etc. Townsend KOA is right next to the GSM National Park, and it is easy to get in and out for hiking and sightseeing, great place. NOTE TO KOA TOWNSEND: My one issue (not your fault) was a neighbor who loved his music SO MUCH that he just had to share it with all near him. Natural silence is better than stereo.
Apr 14, 2019
Apr 14, 2019
Showers and bathrooms were clean and functional. The campground itself is very crowded, demands tight turns, and precision rig alignment. Sites are relatively close together with little provide privacy.
Apr 14, 2019
Excellent, friendly staff! The cleanest and most comfortable campground we've experienced! We especially enjoyed the playground and convenient camp store! We will definitely return and recommend this campground!
Apr 13, 2019
The campground was immaculate, the staff friendly and very helpful. The CG location is right outside of the Great Smoky Mountain NP entrance in Townsend TN. We saw lots of spring flowers, lots of deer, a coyote and a bear while hiking in the park. The only small downside of the CG is that they squeezed so many sites in to the area. A small downside since the rest of the CH is perfect.
Apr 10, 2019
Absolutely perfect even with the rain-Adam,Dan,Craig and Beth are great and made our stay even more enjoyable!
Apr 10, 2019
Apr 09, 2019
Awesome site right on the Little River. Great hosts and the campground is exceptional. Made reservations for two weeks next year! Can't wait!
Apr 09, 2019
Very friendly and helpful staff , we arrived staff met us at the entrance , showed us where out our lot was and helped us get backed in . Very likely to stay there the next time we're go to the Smokey Mountains
Apr 09, 2019
The showers were the nicest ive seen and the playground was nice too and that river is amazing! I was disappointed that it was advertised that there would be kids activities which is one of the main reasons we picked KOA, but there was no kids activities at all "at this time of year".. spring break!? due to short staff, but they had no less than 3 people driving around on golf carts at all times.
Apr 09, 2019
Best campground showers ever. The rest of the campground was also very nice. Staff helpful. Convenient location to the National Park on the quite side of the Smokies.
Apr 08, 2019
Clean facilities and friendly staff
Apr 07, 2019
Apr 07, 2019
We were on the river which was very nice. Had some rude campers beside us. Screamed, played loud music and partied until around 11:00. Thank goodness they left the next day before we had to report them.
Apr 07, 2019
Really no complaints about the place. It was clean and everyone was super nice. Wish there were more activities but I know your season was just starting up and I want to come back in the summer to see what you all have to offer.
Apr 07, 2019
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground very clean and well taken care of. We stayed in a 40’ motorhome.
Apr 07, 2019
We enjoyed spring break with friends and family. Thank you for providing a clean and safe place. We will be back soon.
Apr 07, 2019
Enjoyed the camp site .Very family place to come .Not to far away from everything. very quite .Spring break was awesome. Only down fall .The office and store closed early. With it been spring break needed to be open longer ..
Apr 07, 2019
The campground was neat and clean. The employees were very friendly and helpful. Our 4 year old loved the playground and she could ride her bike ( with training wheels )safely on the blacktop by the check in office. This is our 2nd time to ever go camping with our RV and both times it was at this KOA. We will definitely go back.
Apr 06, 2019
This is our second year staying here and we love it! Our favorite sites are along the river and being close to the Smoky Mountain National Park, Gatlinburg & Piegon Forge you cant beat it!! We will definitely be back!!
Apr 06, 2019
Our site was located near the peaceful river allowing us a relaxing sound and calmness. Criag and Beth are truly lovers of this place and add to the welcoming flavor and charm to this much needed getaway. Thank You again for being such gracious host.�. I am going to mention the wasps and carpenters bees in the children’s playground. Perhaps some attention needed. Beautiful, REALLY Beautiful p
Apr 05, 2019
Staff was friendly! Very clean facilities! Great playground for our kids to play. Amazing views of the river from our campsite! Look forward to returning again soon
Apr 05, 2019
Our stay was excellent!! The guy who directed my husband on backing in the camper saved our marriage and was super nice! Guy cleaning site next to us came back later as he saw we were eating lunch & didn’t want to get us dusty. He also cleaned out our fire pit just because he was there. Everyone super friendly.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award