Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 13, 2018
It’s one of the better campgrounds around and every who manages the campground does a great job everyone one is friendly and very helpful the people help you back your camper in do a great job and I am so glad they do that and all the improvements they have made to the campground is great they continue to up grade every year to make it better we love it there and will never stay anywhere else
Oct 13, 2018
Warm, clean cabin and campground. Very friendly staff.
Oct 13, 2018
Wonderful friendly service! Clean bath houses. Clean campground. We loved our stay and will be back.
Oct 12, 2018
We ABSOLUTELY LOVED our stay at the KOA Great Smokies in Townsend Tennessee. It was soooooo peaceful. The staff and other campers were VERY FRIENDLY!!!!! The cabin was everything we wanted and more. LOVE that the campground is FAMILY oriented!!!!! Looking forward to returning VERY SOON! We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this campground to EVERYONE!
Oct 12, 2018
Our favorite campground. Staff is so nice and helpful.
Oct 12, 2018
Oct 12, 2018
Our kids and our family had a great stay . Staff was friendly and helpful.
Oct 11, 2018
Very pricey but great bathrooms, great location.
Oct 11, 2018
We had a great time. Our kids were on spring break, so we had 3 campers together. The weather was great. We love the campground and the staff.
Oct 11, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
This is one of our favorite KOAs. Well managed, clean, very nice sites. Great facilities and amenities but still quiet and peaceful. We enjoy every stay here.
Oct 10, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
Excellent as always!!
Oct 10, 2018
Wonderful experience
Oct 10, 2018
Loved every minute of my stay. I really loved the cabin and the bed was extremely comfortable. I would highly suggest staying here for anyone. Great place to stay that is close to several other areas of attractions that people like to visit.
Oct 10, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
We had an awesome campsite (124) with a great view of the river. Everybody we came in contact with was extremely personable and friendly. We will definitely be returning in the future!
Oct 10, 2018
We had a great time and the staff is very friendly and accommodating! They do a great job! I don’t know what they are paid, but whatever it is it isn’t enough! Great place to stay! We will be back!
Oct 10, 2018
KOA in Townsend Tennessee we completely other way to accommodate us especially with our reservations a big shout out to Pam for going out of her way to make a reservations much much better thanks Tony and Deleda Mosby
Oct 09, 2018
Overall, visit was good, but folks on site # 114 or # 116 had a terribly noisy/aggressive dog who barked excessively whenever anyone walked by with another dog. Really should not be allowed to bring dog like that to campground. We were on sites # 10 and #11 from 4-8 October and could hear dog all day...was disruptive and created nuisance. Rating was because Mgmt did nothing about dog.
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 09, 2018
Very attentive staff. Clean bathrooms. We had a lovely quiet stay.
Oct 09, 2018
Very nice stay as well as very nice employees.
Oct 09, 2018
This is one of my favorite places to stay. The campgrounds is very nice and the workers and the owner are exceptional.
Oct 09, 2018
Loved the cabin....everything was fine.
Oct 09, 2018
Great campground
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 09, 2018
Very impressed with the staff and facilities.
Oct 09, 2018
When i booked i said I would be bringing a small camper but was put on a tent only site.Our first site (129) had steps leading to the site that were not mentioned - important fact in case we had someone who is unable to climb stairs - & no parking spot. Upon arrival we were notified of rules that we were not aware of before arrival. Not sure why rules were not sent out before hand.
Oct 08, 2018
We were greeted by a very helpful and courteous staff member who helped us get to our site and get the camper positioned. The campground and campsite were very well maintained and clean and we had a great 5 days there. Nothing negative to report. We’re from the region (about an hour and a half drive) and we’re already making plans to go back.
Oct 08, 2018
Great location and facilities, phenomenal staff. Our favorite, we are becoming regulars!
Oct 08, 2018
First time in a deluxe cabin, so we werent’t sure what to expect. Everything was great! The only suggestion would be to add a couple of pans with lids to use on the outdoor grill side burner. We were able to purchase these at Dollar General, so it was all good. All was clean and neat and the campsite on the river was beautiful. We will be back again!
Oct 08, 2018
If I could give more than 5 stars I would! Great place to stay!
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
Glamping for sure. The people that work there treated us like family. They even sent someone out to us while we were setting up to let us know they had a cancellation on the spot we really wanted. Above and beyond great customer service throughout the stay. Super clean, neat and new. We felt very comfortable letting the kids run around and ride bikes. Can't wait to go back. The Rose Family
Oct 08, 2018
Only problem we had was within the first 5 minutes of us being there my husband stepped in dog crap.. There were 3 different places where we saw it within our small site. If people have their animals camping they need to clean up after them.
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, excellent restroom facilities, excellent location for seeing Great Smoky Mountain National Park
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
We had a wonderful stay at KOA Townsend. The site was wonderful and the whole campground was well cared for. The staff was superb—very helpful when we had questions or requests.
Oct 07, 2018
We arrived on Sunday afternoon. As soon as we had registered, 2 KOA staff members led the way to our campsite and assisted us in backing in to our site. We very much appreciated that! Very friendly and helpful staff. The campground was decorated for autumn which was delightful. This was our first experience with this campground, and it definitely won’t be our last!!
Oct 07, 2018
Great stay at a great campground! Best service.
Oct 07, 2018
Great as always, very well run, we had a problem with out camper jack and they had one that we could borrow.
Oct 07, 2018
Oct 06, 2018
nice campground except you can let your kids drive around on those battery operated cars with plastic wheels. even 3 and 4 year olds driving down the road.
Oct 06, 2018
We love to stay at KOA because it is always clean & the workers are so helpful helping us set up our camper.
Oct 06, 2018
We had a great time. Very well kept and clean. Just wish the pool had still been open.
Oct 06, 2018
The stay was great and had a good time with our grandkids, �� however, wanted to stay one extra day which was October 1st she said due to the October price change and time of year the price would be almost be $40 more than I paid the on the previous day. $90 plus, we thought that was out rages to bring up the price that high due to the time of season, plus the fall colors were not even showing.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award