Townsend / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Fall Cabin Deal Save $25 a Night, valid Sunday-Thursday

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Sep 18, 2020
Beautiful place, just had problem with site in that sewer connection was not in a convenient location. It created situation whereby I had to borrow an extension which was provided by KOA in a timely manner. It just created a situation after a long day of travel.
Sep 18, 2020
Very nice place to stay and very clean
Sep 18, 2020
We reserved 3 nights, but left after 2, because of heavy rain. We were reimbursed for our last night. Not expecting that, but very nice of them. We had a cabin and it was perfect. Like a tiny house. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. This is a pet friendly place. I would stay there again.
Sep 18, 2020
The staff followed my children around waiting for them to be unattended. When my husband went to the bathroom for 10 minutes while they were at the pool for 4 hours they approached my children, complained about our vehicle, complained about our visitor to our visitor and our family we invited along rented a cabin and it was dirty. I was so very embarrassed by their behavior and cabins.
Sep 18, 2020
The campground itself was nice. Our site was lovely near the water. The two big negatives were that the Wi-Fi was poor. We found out halfway through that you Could sit outside near their tech lounge but would have preferred it be better inside our RV. Also the checkin lady was unfriendly when we asked her to back up bc she wasn’t wearing a mask. All staff should have them on and none did.
Sep 17, 2020
Enjoyed our stay.When we arrived we were met at the entrance by friendly staff with a smile and welcome.We were lead to our site and giving assistance with getting backing our RV in place.Our site was on the river and had a nice concrete pad, picnic table and fire ring. Bath house was well maintained and clean.Wifi was weak and dead limbs need removed from trees.Concerned wirhthem falling on RV.
Sep 17, 2020
Fabulous!
Sep 17, 2020
Hands down the best KOA I have ever stayed at!! The bathrooms were amazing!! They layout was beautiful and the location perfect! The staff were friendly and great to work with!
Sep 17, 2020
The cabin we stayed in was not played. Even people that pay to park their cars inside the campground were harassed every time they left. Children at the swimming pool being supervised by an adult as stated in the rulesHad issues with the adult it was watching them went to the bathroom inside the pool area. Workers were unfriendly and rude. We have stayed here many times throughout the years.
Sep 17, 2020
Great time ! would like to return next year. Very clean and friendly experience
Sep 16, 2020
As usual it was excellent A+. The staff were very helpful and willing to help hook and unhook trailer and maneuver on sight. Very friendly and helpful crew.
Sep 16, 2020
Sep 16, 2020
The site was amazing, the staff was incredibly helpful. I look forward to the day we go back. All around an excellent experience in the most beautiful setting mother nature could provide.
Sep 16, 2020
Great place to spend a vacation thank you all great staff
Sep 16, 2020
Beautiful clean campground. Wonderful staff.
Sep 16, 2020
A nice park, good clean restrooms, shaded sites. Very pretty.
Sep 15, 2020
Love this csmpground. Try to go a couple times a year.
Sep 15, 2020
From the moment you enter the property, you are taken care of by top notch folks. Beautiful, well kept property. Could stay there full time!
Sep 15, 2020
Such a great experience! Friendly and very accommodating staff! If we needed anything they would bring it to our site. Accommodated is when we wanted to move to a full hookup site and even moved our firewood for us. Grounds are clean and beautiful. Clean restrooms and showers!
Sep 15, 2020
We had a wonderful time with our family and friends that were there.
Sep 15, 2020
we love it there . the staff is so kind and the campground is very well taken care off.
Sep 15, 2020
We enjoyed our stay! Camping but more. We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin (DC-3) which overlooks the river. We enjoyed listening to the river. Our cabin was clean and equipped with essentials. Albeit a few bugs here and there, but that is too be expected when in the mountains in the woods! Really nice people and store in the front of the campground. We will be back.
Sep 15, 2020
Needs better internet. Otherwise a 5/5. David
Sep 14, 2020
We stay every year for the 1/2 marathon. Beautiful and relaxing.
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
I absolutely love it here. I come here every year and look forward to coming back.
Sep 14, 2020
Loved everything. Our campsite was great, the workers were great, the amenities great. Only thing I would change is get high speed Internet. My child had virtual learning she needed to do, but couldn’t:/ otherwise, great.
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
Enjoyed the campground and site along the river
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
Love this campground. Always clean. Great facilities. My last campsite (71) is poorly laid out. To have a campfire I am pretty much in my neighbors campsite.
Sep 14, 2020
Wonderful, attentive, plentiful staff. Clean and fun! Beautiful location!
Sep 14, 2020
It wonderful place loved it.
Sep 14, 2020
My family and I have been here many times. The only reason the 3 stars because the bed in cabin was like sleeping on the floor. The bunk beds had much better mattress feel.
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
We were there for four nights and enjoyed it immensely. From check-in to check out, everyone treated us with respect and with professionalism. The campground is clean and well-kept. Thew bathrooms were very clean.
Sep 14, 2020
We really enjoyed our stay! We loved that we could order ice/firewood via text-very nice touch. The bathrooms and showers were super clean. We loved the site we had. Our only complaint was several people walked right through our campsite to get to the Little River. Not a huge deal, but we had a dog and it upset him. I wish there was a public access point for people to get to the River.
Sep 14, 2020
Staff was super friendly. Pool was amazing. My son loved the playground area. I enjoyed the bike path nearby. Excellent stay, will definitely come back.
Sep 14, 2020
Very nice place to stay. Would highly recommend
Sep 14, 2020
Our first trip with a camper. Love the location, site. Wish we had sewer hookup but will plan ahead next time.
Sep 13, 2020
Great quite KOA& friendly workers.
Sep 13, 2020
Awesome place and great people!!
Sep 13, 2020
Wonderful setting. Extremely clean. Staff is very kind and helpful. Closeness to the national park is a bonus.
Sep 13, 2020
We really enjoyed our stay at KOA Townsend.
Sep 13, 2020
Really like the campground. The staff we’re helpful and very visible during our stay. The kids loved the playground. Would definitely stay again.
Sep 13, 2020
I will definitely stay here again! Only one recommendation. Exit is too tight. Almost hit your stop sign on way out of exit . Trees too close. Could be wider for bigger rigs but still doable! Very Very nice place and friendly staff!!!! 5 stars!!
Sep 13, 2020
Arrived on Monday after Labor Day and this by far has been the best KOA we have been too. The staff was wonderful! We had a patio site with really nice fire pit and outdoor furniture. Only downfall is the drive to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.
Sep 13, 2020
Beautiful campground on the river by Cade’s cove. The staff was helpful and friendly. Close to pigeon forge and Gatlinburg.
Sep 13, 2020
We enjoy KOAs all over the US. GS KOA standard trailer sites are packed in on each other. Hear everything that neighbors are doing. Not informed upon check-in dump station not available for standard trailer sites, staff did help us unload waste but would have planned differently if we had known. Do not use site 67 - next to dumpsters, traffic, maintenance shed, BB-Court. Won't stay here again.
Sep 12, 2020
We’ll b back
Sep 17, 2020
Enjoyed our stay. We were on one site and family on the site next to us. Nice camp ground well maintained with friendly staff. Cable TV was very good. Our site was on the river and was well maintained as was the bath house. The wi-fi was weak on our phones and computers. Some dead tree limbs on our site and sites close by need to be taken down. Would stay again.
- Shirley Shirley on Google
Sep 16, 2020
Very very nice campground. Excellent and helpful staff. I camp a lot and this is my top five experience any where! Highly recommend.
- Johnny Smith on Google
Sep 13, 2020
We had a great camping experience with the best in customer service. I was impressed by delivery services provided by staff on site . Very clean and well stocked facilities. Outdoor movie theater was a great amenity that the kids loved. Wonderful access to the river for fishing, swimming, & tubing. This is the perfect place for families with children and pets too. This is a must see and stay when in this area.
- Penny Melhorn on Google