Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2018
Disappointed, we have stayed here every August for 8 years on a family camping trip and this KOA has gotten completely over priced and now we are getting nickel and dimed at every corner. They now charge for a second vehicle on your site ($5) and now you have to pay $10 if you want a guaranteed site for the next year. They claim its corporate I claim bullshit, its all about the money
Aug 13, 2018
As always, our favorite place to camp!
Aug 13, 2018
It truly is the quiet side of the Smokies. Campground was peaceful and clean. Hardly any traffic and a nice quiet river nearby. Hours of the swimming pool was good. Nice showers and friendly people. Great access to National Park and Cades Cove. New Mexican restaurant and IGA nearby. We will come back!
Aug 13, 2018
From the minute we arrived to the time we left, everything was wonderful. We have already made our reservations for next year. Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful. We had spot 55, which had a beautiful stone patio and fire-pit. Bathhouse was really nice! Our daughter had plenty to do and made a lot of friends. The location is great as well. Thank you Townsend /Great Smokies KOA!
Aug 13, 2018
We had a fabulous time. Cabin was great and couldn’t ask for a better location! Absolutely beautiful!
Aug 13, 2018
We stay here twice a year and have yet to have a bad experience.
Aug 13, 2018
Excellent campground! The facilities are very clean and maintained. Staff was helpful and friendly. We had a great stay!
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Had a great time...staff is amazing.
Aug 13, 2018
Sites way to close!! The site was well maintained but the sites not along the river were way too close. It was such a tight fit that my awening was almost touching the guy next to me; ad to move bushes & step on his patio to get to rear storage. Could not walk around slideout to my H2O, elec., & STG w/out stepping on the other neighbors patio. Firepit not useable because of parking.
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
As always, we had an amazing visit. We came from Michigan, our car broke down, and we had to extend our stay another night....koa Townsend’s staff was very accommodating. We really enjoyed tubing too! Thank you for another great vacation. Looking forward to our next visit!! -love, The DeJong Family.
Aug 12, 2018
Small campground with adequate facilities (clean bath house, restrooms, etc.) Not very many riverside sites that will accommodate campers larger than a pop-up or small travel trailer though. During our stay, there were LOTS of unattended children running around the campground & riding bikes on the roads. 1 particularly rude KOA employee almost ruined our whole stay but everyone else was PLEASANT
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
We love this campground! The sites are great, especially the ones along the creek. The staff is great and the location isn’t perfect!
Aug 11, 2018
Loved this campground! Staff and facilities were great! Great service with ice and wood delivery. Trash pickup is a bonus!!
Aug 11, 2018
We had a beautiful site, with many great amenities. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful! We were extremely impressed with Adam. His personality was top notch!
Aug 11, 2018
We have traveled here from Michigan 3 times in the last year. We absolutely love this place!! It’s so well maintained, has gorgeous views and the staff treat us like family�ϋ� Can’t wait to come back!!
Aug 11, 2018
Loved the woodsy feeling of the campground .Definitely a camp feeling instead of most campgrounds that are just a parking lot. We also enjoyed the river tubing.
Aug 11, 2018
Very helpful staff overall. Men’s bathroom floor dirty as were toilets. Lots of people riding around the park in golf carts doing various things, and attending to bathroom cleanliness is vitally important. I do not know about the women’s bathroom. Difficult to navigate around the park without good directional signs. The gravel roads look like the individual sites.
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
What a great campground! We had a riverfront camper cabin and loved it! The facilities were well kept, the showers were great, the whole campground was really clean and nice. We plan on coming here again for sure...we had a wonderful time and the folks who ran the place were fantastic as well. The river was so nice to be beside, we loved to hear it and spent lots of time just enjoying the view
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Very clean friendly staff close to the smokies and a must to raft down the smokies
Aug 10, 2018
The prices for the camping spots are twice as much as they should be. We were so close to the neighbors that we could hear them snoring.
Aug 10, 2018
Excellent location, facilities, and staff. Only possible comment is that the air conditioner didn’t seem to cool as well as expected and a screen door latch would allow a camper to get the screen door closed enough to keep out insects (screen door gapped open a little bit). I will definetly return to this campground.
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
Enjoyed the stay, really liked the campground
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
Absolutely wonderful. We as children back in the early 80s stayed here with our grandparents as they left there camper there all summer. This was the 1st time we have been back in almost 30 years. We reminisced of childhood and made wonderful new memories. The campground, facilities and staff were are wonderful. We have plans to come back every year and continue where our grandparents left off.
Aug 09, 2018
Great location to Pigeon forge and Gatlinburg. Good amenities and cabin was very clean.
Aug 09, 2018
We enjoyed our stay so much we booked two more night and extended our trip. We stay in 6 and 4 person cabins and both were nice and clean. Can't wait to come back
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
Amazing as always. The new patios and fire rings are a great upgrade. Looking forward to spots 122 And 123 being upgraded to full hookup.
Aug 08, 2018
Great time as always
Aug 08, 2018
Peaceful and beautiful with great staff and service landscape and decoration is very professional cabins are very clean we come here 2 or 3 times a year and can’t wait to get back
Aug 08, 2018
We stayed in a nice cabin near the river. It was very clean, well stocked with linens and basic kitchen stuff. We enjoyed tubing using Cowboy tubing was very convenient and our kids favorite part of the trip. The pool was nice. We enjoyed fishing along the banks of the river and took a nice drive around Cades Cove. We’ll definitely be back .
Aug 07, 2018
Very friendly and attentive staff. Any problem we had was fixed very quickly. Clean bath houses. Love this place
Aug 07, 2018
The whole campground experience was perfect and very enjoyable, the cabin was way nicer than we thought wish was a plus, the grill , fire pit , and easy access to all the campground was well designed , and well shaded, we bought kids so the pool playground and bike riding was perfect to keep them entertained, the close by store was nice too. All desk help and workers were very helpful and nice .
Aug 07, 2018
Great stay! Only issue were small kids on bicycles unsupervised. Witnessed them run into a moving car & run over a lady that worked at campground. Saw several bike wrecks due to children riding way too fast in campground. Should be some type of rules or restrictions on age of children riding unsupervised & the speed of bikes in campground.
Aug 07, 2018
Our stay was great. The campground is clean and they have helpful staff. I would recommend this campground.
Aug 07, 2018
Everything was amazing. We will be back!!
Aug 07, 2018
Only place we will stay when we come to the Mountains!!!
Aug 07, 2018
We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed your campground. We were impressed at how well-maintained the facilities are and nicely landscaped the grounds are! Loved watching the tuber going down the Little River.
Aug 07, 2018
Wonderful. Such a clean place and wonderful staff. We could not have asked for anything better.
Aug 07, 2018
Nice efficient cabins. Camp grounds are very improved with fire pits and paver stones... Staff is helpful. Thanks all.
Aug 07, 2018
Camping Cabin - guys motorcycle trip.
Aug 06, 2018
We had such a wonderful experience at this campground! The grounds are well maintained and the staff is very accommodating. Our favorite employee was Adam who helped us multiple times during our stay and made our vacation that much better!
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals