Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Feb 16, 2018
Check in person was super sweet. The restroom was clean. The guy who brought firewood to my site was very helpful and friendly. And as always, the riverside tent site was unmatched. This is my favorite place to be. If I could afford to live here year round I would do it in a heartbeat.
Feb 15, 2018
It was our very first time ever staying with a KOA we stayed for our 30th Wedding Anniversary, when we checked into our cabin, they had a nice gift waiting for us. The staff are very professional and friendly they made us feel at home. Great Christian people. We will definitely be back again. And we cannot wait. Thanks
Feb 13, 2018
Great super nice staff
Feb 13, 2018
Jan 29, 2018
Always clean , staff always very friendly and helpful.
Jan 29, 2018
Jan 28, 2018
Jan 27, 2018
Great, clean, well kept up place to stay!!! Happy to see the wi-fi vastly improved since the last visit!
Jan 26, 2018
We loved our campsite and the pavilion with the fireplace. The staff was wonderful but definitely come back
Jan 22, 2018
Loved having the river right behind or camper. The facility was top notch!! The playground area was awesome for my grandson. Will be back for sure!!!
Jan 21, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay,especially between Christmas and New Years. The campground was beautifully decorated for the Holidays and a warm fire was always lit in the pavilion.Thank you to Mike for coming out in a cold dark night to check our electric. His prompt action that night and the next day fixed the problem. We love the location and the beauty of the area. We added on to our stay!
Jan 17, 2018
Cold weather, but everything very good. All KOA employee's very friendly and helpful! A +. Cabin was Great!
Jan 17, 2018
Great no matter what season we have stayed!
Jan 16, 2018
Jan 13, 2018
Wonderful staff, clean park, plenty of fun facilities to play on but too cold! Cold was our fault, lol.
Jan 12, 2018
This was our first time there, and this is one of the better campgrounds! Clean, neat, well kept. Staff extremely friendly and Dominique was outstanding and a great source of information. We will be making this a regular favorite!
Jan 08, 2018
Jan 07, 2018
Campground well maintained and clean. People were great! Location very conveinant for large bus access.
Jan 07, 2018
This is THE NICEST campground in the Smokies. And one of the nicest we have stayed at anywhere. Staff is super friendly, Park is super clean (and staff works tirelessly to keep it that way) and the location is A+
Jan 05, 2018
Amazing- can't wait to get back !
Jan 04, 2018
We came and stayed between Christmas and New Years. We had a super nice site that was plenty big with a patio/fire pit. We had a furnace problem night 1 and the employees there came out to see if they do anything to get it going, but it was too far gone to fix. But over all, we love the campground and always recommend it to folks. We will be back up there Memorial Day week and again Christmas.
Jan 04, 2018
Excellent stay, bed was uncomfortable with very squeaky springs. Staff was great. Will stay here again
Jan 04, 2018
This cabin was perfect and perfectly clean. Check in staff were so very nice and the accommodations were great. I was VERY impressed!
Jan 03, 2018
We love this place. It's perfect for family gatherings.
Jan 03, 2018
Great place, excellent service!
Jan 03, 2018
The staff are always very helpful and polite. The campground is always clean .
Jan 03, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Clean campground and facilities. Beautiful location. Wonderful, friendly staff. Second time to stay here and will be back again and again!
Jan 02, 2018
By far the best campground in east TN!! We stayed in site 3, very well maintained by a great staff. They are some of the friendliest people you could ever meet. We will definitely be back. Thank you Adam, Dan, Mike, and Lisa, y'all are the best!
Jan 02, 2018
Enjoy the the camp grounds and cabin was clean and ready when we arrive. The staff was excellent and friendly and very helpful. thank you for a great stay!
Jan 01, 2018
As always another great stay at townsend koa.Forth trip down now from Ontario Canada i guess that kinda says it all. Thank you for another great 8 day stay again this christmas time. We will see you all again soon. The Metz Family.
Jan 01, 2018
Jan 01, 2018
Our stay at Townsend KOA was amazing. Starting with the booking staff making it possible that all of our cabins were side by side allowing us more time to spend with each other. Due to traffic problems, we're were forced to be a late arrival, and the temperature was extremely cold that night, however, we arrived to a cabin that was toasty warm, with lights on to help us find our way in easier.
Jan 01, 2018
Loved the cabin. Staff very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!
Dec 31, 2017
Great place. Great staff. Very friendly and helpful.
Dec 31, 2017
Just wished the bath houses could be opened nearer to our site...other than that awesome time. Great group of people running the koa.
Dec 30, 2017
Love the location but the cabin we stayed in wasn’t very clean. Dust and dog hair on the floors, we had to fix the shower head before we showered and never could get the coffee pot to work.
Dec 30, 2017
It was our second stay at the Townsend/Great Smokies KOA in two months. Our first was in a camper, and this was in a cabin (due to camper being put away for the season). The cabin was wonderful! Small but designed well and very usable. It was rustic but clean and beautiful. We'll definitely be back again!
Dec 28, 2017
Dec 28, 2017
Loved your park, very clean. Would love to come back in the summer. Everyone was extremely nice & helpful
Dec 27, 2017
The greeting we got when we were checking in was awesome. We were taken care from the minute we got to the campground until it came time for us to leave.We had a great time at the campground because our children their spouses and our grandchildren were all together for Christmas in the Great Smokey Mtns.
Dec 27, 2017
Dec 27, 2017
It was a great stay. Only issue was the cable tv connection did not work. Great site...patio and fire pit were great!
Dec 24, 2017
Very nice campground on the river. We enjoy staying here. Bath house was closed for the season though. Wished I would’ve known ahead of time just for a heads up.
Dec 23, 2017
It was amazing! We will be back
Dec 23, 2017
Quiet and not far from and attractions like Cade's Cove.
Dec 22, 2017
This KOA is the place to stay very clean,friendly staff and we will for sure be back maybe even try out the deluxe cabins next time :) Looking forward to our next trip with KOA:)
Dec 20, 2017
Very nice,loved the new pavilion with the fireplace.Alot of attention is given to make the guest feel welcomed and comfortable.It is one of our favorite places to stay in the country. The facilities are spotless.Our site included a very nice paver terrace with a stone fireplace and furniture. The river and stars at night were magical. A short drive to National Park inspired us.
Dec 20, 2017
Even though there was hardly anyone else staying in the campground, the bathrooms were clean and always heated. The staff was very friendly.
Dec 20, 2017
This is the nicest KOA we have stayed in. We usually only hit one KOA per year and usually stay at the National Park when we visit the Smoky Mountains National Park but this campground is so nice, we will be back. Very clean and well cared for park.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award