Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2019
We had a great time during our stay! The managers are so nice and helpful. My wife also found out that Mark is from her hometown and may have competed against her dad in cross country! The kids loved playing in the creek and on the playground. They also really enjoyed the family nights. The new cabins are beautiful! Thanks for the memories! Can’t wait to come back again next year!
Jun 16, 2019
Probably one of the nicest KOAs I've stayed at. The sites along the Little River are very nice. As close as you can get to Cade's Cove without staying in the park.
Jun 16, 2019
Jun 15, 2019
Loved it as always. The patio sites are fantastic and the improvements are great. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We will be back in the future.
Jun 15, 2019
Great stay except for the rain
Jun 14, 2019
Clean, friendly, well maintained
Jun 14, 2019
The cabins were nice. Didn’t get the loft one that we reserved. Usually when u go to a Koa the ppl are what sell it! So nice and friendly. There was only one guy on the whole team that was this way. A lot of the workers didn’t even speak to you or say hello when u walked by. At check out the guy held his hand out for the keys and said “drive safe”. Not how was ur stay? More issues but no s
Jun 14, 2019
Beautiful campground close to smoky mountain state park. Only drawback was the poor WiFi and cellular coverage if you need to keep in contact with someone at home. Otherwise very peaceful and quiet.
Jun 14, 2019
Get as always!
Jun 14, 2019
Great place to stay
Jun 14, 2019
Jun 14, 2019
Jun 13, 2019
Have stayed there in the past in a 45 foot RV. It was wonderful. We no longer have the RV so we opted to stay in a deluxe cabin. We brought three grandchildren with us. They had a blast playing in the river. It was a great Vacation.
Jun 13, 2019
Had stayed there before. We love it
Jun 13, 2019
Lovely setting on the river.
Jun 12, 2019
Love the campground and the staff! We really appreciate the guys that guide you to your camp spot and help direct you into the site!!
Jun 11, 2019
We've camped at your campground (our favorite) every year since 2010. We really enjoy the many landscaping improvements you've made over the years! And we especially appreciate having full hookups available at the sites along the river! Keep up the good work!
Jun 11, 2019
We loved our time there for all the family - everyone enjoyed!
Jun 11, 2019
Very clean, friendly awesome staff, convenient to everything
Jun 11, 2019
Campground was awesome. The kids loved the pool. We drove through Cade’s Cove and went to Gatlinburg. It rained the whole time but we made the best of it.
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 10, 2019
It was a very nice tent site along the river. It was our second time coming and we loved it. We will be back. Parking can get confusing & congested back towards cabin 5. Overall amazing experience again!
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 09, 2019
Our best vacation ever. Camping next to the river on camp site #81 was wonderful. Staff are very friendly. Bathrooms are very clean as well as the campground. Close to Cades Cove. Kids had a wonderful time on the playground and making campground friends. Just a wonderful experience.
Jun 09, 2019
It was a very nice and relaxing stay. We were close to all of the attractions that the area had to offer. We also found the sound of the rapids surrounding the Koa to be very soothing.
Jun 09, 2019
The next time a I stay I need to figure out how to get a river camp site.
Jun 09, 2019
We love staying at the Great Smoky Mountains KOA in Townsend. Everyone is so nice, and the facilities are always clean. There was so much for our family to do without having to leave the campground.
Jun 09, 2019
Great staff - excellent location to enjoy Great Smokies - great park.
Jun 09, 2019
Staff was very helpful!
Jun 09, 2019
Fantastic campground and staff. Our golden retrievers especially loved playing in the river. We will definitely stay stay there again.
Jun 09, 2019
Jun 08, 2019
Jun 08, 2019
We enjoyed the campground. Very clean and neat. Enjoyed the doggie area. Except for our neighbors riding their motorcycles through camp Thursday night.
Jun 08, 2019
This was our favorite cabin so far! Our granddaughter loved the playground so much! Thanks for another great stay!
Jun 07, 2019
It's really a 4.5 status. A beautiful location, nicer than the other Great Smokies KOAs. Love the Bath House configurations - clean and the individual showers give a very secure feeling. The guides to check you in are the BEST - we watched them guide a huge 5er into a tight spot that was perfection. Drawbacks - sites are short, sloped, road noise and tightly packed between road and river.
Jun 07, 2019
Awesome campground, My grandson had a blast. He really enjoyed the weekend activities.
Jun 07, 2019
Great place to stay friendly folks
Jun 06, 2019
Jun 05, 2019
Jun 05, 2019
Wonderful campground, wonderful staff; we had a great time and will be back!
Jun 05, 2019
Jun 05, 2019
Everything very accessible, very friendly helpful staff, great place for kids with various activities. A few miles from the entrance to Smokey Mountains. Can't think of anything that would have made our stay better!
Jun 04, 2019
Very relaxing as usual. Park is always clean. Much to do for the kiddies. All workers very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.
Jun 04, 2019
It was great!
Jun 04, 2019
Jun 04, 2019
Very clean.very quite.staff are great and helpful l.will definitely be back.
Jun 03, 2019
Mark is the best general manager in the business. Adam and Craig are really good at thier jobs too.
Jun 03, 2019
Very friendly staff, clean and the kids love it each time
Jun 03, 2019
Jun 03, 2019
The cabin could have used a more thorough cleaning and is in desperate need of a murphy bed! It is so tight that you can barely move, for a deluxe cabin we were hoping for a little more space. Location was great and the pool was an awesome amenity.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award