Townsend / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Fall Camping-Cool Nights, Warm Fires, Bright Stars

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 11, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
Wonderful as always! Townsend KOA is our go to place!
Oct 11, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
Fun and simple
Oct 10, 2019
Another great trip other than getting charged 4 nights extra car without being asked and no extra vehicle. Thank goodness for credit card alerts!
Oct 10, 2019
We always enjoy our stay.
Oct 10, 2019
very nice employees. Spots are a little tight.
Oct 10, 2019
We had 2 flat tires on the way up to Townsend. We went to the campground to let them know what was going on. They were so nice and helped us find where we could get new tires. They went out of their way to help us. I can’t explain how much we appreciated this. This happened on Sunday also. Thanks for the excellent customer service. We will definitely be back.
Oct 10, 2019
This is the Top KOA in a 100 mile radius. We love the grounds and the managers!!
Oct 09, 2019
I love to come to this koa, one of my favorite places in the Smoky Mountains
Oct 09, 2019
Oct 09, 2019
Friendly staff, clean facilities, beautiful campground
Oct 08, 2019
Perfect! Very professional and courteous staff. Clean and well maintained site. Will definitely be back on our next trip.
Oct 08, 2019
Our cabin was pricey here compared to the other towns we stayed at. But campground was huge and well kept. Workers were always working to keep it looking good. Cabin was clean. Could have used some shelves to stow toiletries and more would have liked more counterspace. Bunk bed mattresses are a little thin and can feel the wood frame.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
All of the employees were great. When asked they did hesitate. Great time!
Oct 08, 2019
The property is very nice. Unfortunately the campsites where very close together (Campsite 99 and 119). Due to noise pollution from the road and some rowdy campers staying in a nearby site we were unable to get a good night sleep during our two night stay. It is unlikely we will stay at the Townsend KOA in the future.
Oct 07, 2019
Friendly staff. Clean and well maintained facilities. Great location
Oct 07, 2019
Always excellent
Oct 07, 2019
Excellent facility. Exceptionally clean. Everyone extremely friendly!!!!! Already booked 7 days stay for 2020��
Oct 07, 2019
Staff were very helpful with getting our 25ft travel trailer backed into our spot. The wifi was good, as was the cable TV. The store was comprehensive, and stocked most of the essential camping items. They kept the pool open due to the high temps we had in late September, but our grandkids (ages 4-5) spent more time in the river than the pool! The bath house was clean too. Will be back.
Oct 07, 2019
Had a great time and hope to see you again soon.
Oct 07, 2019
Beth and Peggy were both absolutely wonderful. Everyone e was so friendly and welcoming! They even delivered firewood to our site for us.
Oct 06, 2019
We had a great time & appreciate your wonderful kindness & service. The property was so beautiful and clean. Everything & Everyone was perfect! We highly recommend your property to all our friends & family.
Oct 06, 2019
Our deluxe cabin was just the right size for our family. The kids enjoyed their own space in the l loft and us parents enjoyed our bedroom with a door.� We didn't even miss a stove bc we brought our own electric skillet and crock pot to cook meals and sides along with the cabins outside electric grill and microwave. Kids loved the pool and swimming in the river. We will definitely be back.�
Oct 06, 2019
We rented one of the deluxe cabins (#12) 9/23/19 -9/27/19. Peggy processed our reservation over the phone and was very helpful. We have camped in Townsend many times over the years with our travel trailer and recommend the campground. If camping in a RV we recommend a river front site. The cabin was spotless and our dog enjoyed the dog park. The camp ground is one of the closest to the Cades Cove.
Oct 06, 2019
Good location. It is okay but not good as KOA Holiday quality. No night light on site, too high price compare than other KOA close to national park. Enjoyed trip.
Oct 05, 2019
This is by far our most favorite KOA to stay at!! We've stayed here for the last 4 years for our anniversary and plan to come back many more times!! Thank you for your amazing job keeping this such an amazing campground!!
Oct 05, 2019
It was a short trip but was the best campground experience we ever had. The staff was wonderful and very helpful a young staff member named Adam worked very hard to get our tv going. Thank you Townsend KOA for such a pleasant experience
Oct 04, 2019
Wonderful deluxe cabin next to the water, amazing staff, and a few days of peace and quiet. The only thing that would have been better was a few more days off work to spend at the KOA in Townsend.
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
Amazing area, amazing campground. Quiet, beautiful, large trees, private. Love the location and the proximity to such beautiful National Park.
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Always have a great time
Oct 02, 2019
Location was great being very close to Cades Cove. Fire pit area was excellently laid out with foliage surrounding to allow privacy.
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Excellent except sites to close together.
Oct 01, 2019
Oct 01, 2019
Everything was perfect. Site was roomy and clean. Staff was super friendly.
Oct 01, 2019
Oct 01, 2019
We had a great time. Staff exceptionally helpful.
Oct 01, 2019
This was definitely one of the nicest KOA‘s we stayed at. Very beautiful sites and super friendly staff
Sep 30, 2019
We think it is one of the two best KOA's where we have stayed. The staff was great and very helpful. Especially Polly.
Sep 30, 2019
Everyone was for nice thank you Mike and Mark for all your help. Brother In-law was staying in cabin 15. The staff was great in helping us out with what we needed to do. We have been going for the last 4 years and have reservations for next year. I would recommend your KOA to everyone. Thank you again God bless. Dennis Snyder
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
1st time staying at KOA. Best camping trip we ever had. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. I would recommend this campground for your next stay!!
Sep 30, 2019
Very friendly staff and restrooms were clean. Already booked again for next year. Thanks
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
The staff were very accommodating and helpful the entire time. It was very quiet and peaceful and had every amenity you would need for primitive camping or even staying in their wide selection of cabins.
- Steve T on Google
Oct 10, 2019
great people
- Douglas Currey on Google
Oct 10, 2019
Everything you need or want Is available close by.
- Lana Adams on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.