Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2018
This is not a campground, it’s a pothole filled parking lot that has hook ups in it. A true dump! Long term residence out number campers 2 to 1!
Jul 10, 2018
Staff were very friendly. Site we were in was next to a trailer that appeared to be a full time resident. Stepped in dog feces on our site from that site. They parked in front of their trailer making it difficult for us to pull our trailer out the next morning. There was an old dog crate, bicycles, and various other items littering the yard. Site very unkempt. Loud late at night. Unhappy stay.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
We rented cabin #4. We thought it was great. Very clean, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The bed wasn’t all that comfortable, but not a big deal. We plan to be back next year for sure!
Jul 09, 2018
The surrounding view was nice, and the cabin structure was awesome, but the campground itself needs a lot of updates and care. The outside bathrooms and showers are run down and in need of some maintenance and TLC. The cabin curtains on the windows do not fit the windows so there was not a lot of privacy. The grounds themselves are in need of mowing and weed killer. I will not stay there again.
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Not enough bathrooms, very clean though spaces were a little close over all ok.
Jul 09, 2018
Campground & staff were amazing. Showers are a super nice thing to have. Stayed in the bunkhouse & our large family was super cozy....mosquitoes were bad but can't do much about that.
Jul 07, 2018
Very clean, scenic, lake, and nice people.
Jul 05, 2018
We had a great time. Loved this KOA.
Jul 04, 2018
Extremely hospitable people!
Jul 03, 2018
We were disappointed to arrive at our tent campsite to find dog poop all over. Thankfully the office staff let us move to the campsite next to us because the other site didn’t get cleaned up until three hours later. The women’s bathroom also smelled awful, like an animal had died in it. I kept telling my husband how bad it was and he was surprised because he said the men’s was fine.
Jul 02, 2018
My family and I felt very uneasy there. The staff was nice. But the area seemed dirty and not kept up. Something felt off.
Jun 30, 2018
This is a fishing KOA. So this is catered to fisherman. Ok for a one night stay.
Jun 28, 2018
there was no sign telling where to stop your rig to register at the office had to take a guess. no escort to your site had to guess what row to drive down to find your site.
Jun 28, 2018
the grounds and the bathrooms are very well kept up. no pool or anything for kids to do. if you want to fish the lake in right there for you.
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff and clean shower room.
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Friendly staff with a clean facility. Boater friendly!
Jun 25, 2018
Stayed one night, Pretty setting, all sites are gravel with a little square of grass, ours was dead and mostly mud.
Jun 24, 2018
Nice staff, gravel lot and RV spaces, minimal tree cover affordable
Jun 24, 2018
Place was great. nicest, most accommodating staff. Owner was really nice and offered to do whatever she could do to make our stay outstanding. Ate at the Flamingo Cafe while we were there. Food was really good. Get the chocolate nachos and either the elk or bison burger. Chef salad was great and the homemade ranch is amazing. The chef, Jodi is a great cook!
Jun 24, 2018
We would stay here again.
Jun 23, 2018
Jun 22, 2018
A short, easy walk to the lake and is out in the country between Townsend and Helena, MT. Clean restrooms and showers. A good, quirky place to eat, the Flamingo Grill is right next door to the campground. The camp sites are all in a big gravel lot with some trees. They do sprinkle water to keep the dust down. Very quiet, would stay there again.
Jun 22, 2018
It is a nice and clean campground and very friendly staff.
Jun 19, 2018
Everything was great except for the little bit of leaking through the window of our cabin during a heavy rain storm.
Jun 19, 2018
Thank you all for another great stay. Sandwiches were AWSOME!!
Jun 19, 2018
Wasn’t expecting the full time TVs there. For a quick stop, no frills location, good enough. But not that great.
Jun 17, 2018
Campground was excellent. Very friendly. Fishing was a big disappointment.
Jun 17, 2018
Jun 17, 2018
Very friendly staff and nice campground!
Jun 16, 2018
Great stopover on the way to Glacier from Yellowstone. Friendly crew. Definitely eat at Pink Flamingo next door.
Jun 15, 2018
The campground is nice but it is very expensive (almost $200 for 4 nights) and the fishing was not good. We probably will not come back again for those reasons. The people in the store were very nice. Thank you.
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Extremely cozy, clean, beautiful little cabin. Will be staying there again in the future.
Jun 11, 2018
It was good bathrooms were clean and spacious which was a huge plus versus kids marina and the tackle purchase options were awesome.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
Not your typical KOA. 90% of the campsites had people living in their RV. Not much shade, no areas to walk without being by all the campers, next to busy road, nothing in store. No mini golf like listed. Will definitely not stay here. Could stay down the road for $10/night and be lakeside.
Jun 10, 2018
People were friendly, but camp site did not have shade and other campers were in our site so we could not use it immediately...so we went shoppping. Those same campers were noisy until midnight...
Jun 07, 2018
Nothing special about this KOA unless you are a fisherman, which I am not. This was a one night stay on our way north.
Jun 05, 2018
The one room cabin was perfect for us. We were visiting friends for the weekend & there house was overcrowded with family & friends in town for their daughters graduation. So I checked into it & was able to book it at the last minute, & it was great! LOVED the swing!!!!
Jun 05, 2018
Very friendly staff and good location for an overnight tented stay.
Jun 02, 2018
Nice quiet place on a beautiful lake. The bathroom floors need a thorough cleaning and toilet seats need replacing. It was very difficult to drive stakes in the tent ground.
Jun 01, 2018
Nice park, a little tight for larger Class A and site a little sloped too much. Office and people were wonderful
May 31, 2018
Great place with friendly staff. Always clean.
May 30, 2018
May 29, 2018
We thought the campground was actually on/by the water, but it is about 1/2 mile back. Then there are loads of dry campers all along the banks of the lake that is near the campground. There are a lot of ATVs running after dark it seemed.
May 29, 2018
If you have a boat, this is a great place to stay. The playground was nonexistent for kids, and no mini golf. The campground was clean and the staff was nice. We spent most of our time down by the water which was a short drive away. If you are looking for a place to fish and be on the water then this is your place. If you want to spend time on the campground there wasn’t much to do.
Sep 03, 2019
Nice pull thru spaces. Located right on the lake. Boat docks, fish cleaning stations and a helpful staff.
- Bob Alexander on Google
Aug 28, 2019
Great info on lake, very friendly.
- Jim Robinson on Google
Aug 27, 2019
Don't Miss This Place Bring Your Kids 🐾 🐕 ,Camper🚄 & Boat⛹
- Nida Krum on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.