Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2018
Was good except for someone stole our fishing net out of our boat
Jul 17, 2018
Dogs were not leashed, ours was
Jul 16, 2018
The tent sites are tiny. The bathrooms need renovating. Usually the hosts ride around and check on things, never saw one employee outside the office. Not much to do. The staff was very pleasant.
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
Checked-in late but site assignment was prepared. Loved the grass tent site. Would be better to plant trees for shade from hot summer sun. Clean restrooms & shower. Dish washing sink was likewise clean. Very good KOA operations.
Jul 14, 2018
Jul 14, 2018
Nothing but gravel and dirt surrounding campsite. Ran out of hot water half way through my shower. No bathrooms seemed clean nor updated. Not very happy. I travel all over the united states using koa. This was the most disappointing KOA.
Jul 14, 2018
The people were very friendly. The showers and bathrooms very clean. The campground was well maintained.
Jul 13, 2018
People are always friendly!!
Jul 13, 2018
Came to fish and relax. Loved the store, especially the bookstore. Campsites and facilities were clean and it stayed quiet at night. Only really down thing I have to say is, there wasn’t really any recreational facilities like a pool, playground, mini golf, etc
Jul 13, 2018
Jul 11, 2018
This is a campsite for fisherman not campers. The toilets were discussing, one stall was plugged up not working. You walk into the main office you get hit with a cloud of cigarette smoke. To far form main highway, and it’s no where near the town of Townsend.
Jul 10, 2018
This is not a campground, it’s a pothole filled parking lot that has hook ups in it. A true dump! Long term residence out number campers 2 to 1!
Jul 10, 2018
Staff were very friendly. Site we were in was next to a trailer that appeared to be a full time resident. Stepped in dog feces on our site from that site. They parked in front of their trailer making it difficult for us to pull our trailer out the next morning. There was an old dog crate, bicycles, and various other items littering the yard. Site very unkempt. Loud late at night. Unhappy stay.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
We rented cabin #4. We thought it was great. Very clean, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The bed wasn’t all that comfortable, but not a big deal. We plan to be back next year for sure!
Jul 09, 2018
The surrounding view was nice, and the cabin structure was awesome, but the campground itself needs a lot of updates and care. The outside bathrooms and showers are run down and in need of some maintenance and TLC. The cabin curtains on the windows do not fit the windows so there was not a lot of privacy. The grounds themselves are in need of mowing and weed killer. I will not stay there again.
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Not enough bathrooms, very clean though spaces were a little close over all ok.
Jul 09, 2018
Campground & staff were amazing. Showers are a super nice thing to have. Stayed in the bunkhouse & our large family was super cozy....mosquitoes were bad but can't do much about that.
Jul 07, 2018
Very clean, scenic, lake, and nice people.
Jul 05, 2018
We had a great time. Loved this KOA.
Jul 04, 2018
Extremely hospitable people!
Jul 03, 2018
We were disappointed to arrive at our tent campsite to find dog poop all over. Thankfully the office staff let us move to the campsite next to us because the other site didn’t get cleaned up until three hours later. The women’s bathroom also smelled awful, like an animal had died in it. I kept telling my husband how bad it was and he was surprised because he said the men’s was fine.
Jul 02, 2018
My family and I felt very uneasy there. The staff was nice. But the area seemed dirty and not kept up. Something felt off.
Jun 30, 2018
This is a fishing KOA. So this is catered to fisherman. Ok for a one night stay.
Jun 28, 2018
there was no sign telling where to stop your rig to register at the office had to take a guess. no escort to your site had to guess what row to drive down to find your site.
Jun 28, 2018
the grounds and the bathrooms are very well kept up. no pool or anything for kids to do. if you want to fish the lake in right there for you.
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff and clean shower room.
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Friendly staff with a clean facility. Boater friendly!
Jun 25, 2018
Stayed one night, Pretty setting, all sites are gravel with a little square of grass, ours was dead and mostly mud.
Jun 24, 2018
Nice staff, gravel lot and RV spaces, minimal tree cover affordable
Jun 24, 2018
Place was great. nicest, most accommodating staff. Owner was really nice and offered to do whatever she could do to make our stay outstanding. Ate at the Flamingo Cafe while we were there. Food was really good. Get the chocolate nachos and either the elk or bison burger. Chef salad was great and the homemade ranch is amazing. The chef, Jodi is a great cook!
Jun 24, 2018
We would stay here again.
Jun 23, 2018
Jun 22, 2018
A short, easy walk to the lake and is out in the country between Townsend and Helena, MT. Clean restrooms and showers. A good, quirky place to eat, the Flamingo Grill is right next door to the campground. The camp sites are all in a big gravel lot with some trees. They do sprinkle water to keep the dust down. Very quiet, would stay there again.
Jun 22, 2018
It is a nice and clean campground and very friendly staff.
Jun 19, 2018
Everything was great except for the little bit of leaking through the window of our cabin during a heavy rain storm.
Jun 19, 2018
Thank you all for another great stay. Sandwiches were AWSOME!!
Jun 19, 2018
Wasn’t expecting the full time TVs there. For a quick stop, no frills location, good enough. But not that great.
Jun 17, 2018
Campground was excellent. Very friendly. Fishing was a big disappointment.
Jun 17, 2018
Jun 17, 2018
Very friendly staff and nice campground!
Jun 16, 2018
Great stopover on the way to Glacier from Yellowstone. Friendly crew. Definitely eat at Pink Flamingo next door.
Jun 15, 2018
The campground is nice but it is very expensive (almost $200 for 4 nights) and the fishing was not good. We probably will not come back again for those reasons. The people in the store were very nice. Thank you.
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Extremely cozy, clean, beautiful little cabin. Will be staying there again in the future.
Nov 23, 2019
Good place and good people! <3
- Cerajena Moon on Google
Nov 16, 2019
Home is wear the heart is
- Amber Goad on Google
Oct 24, 2019
Always clean and friendly
- Lionel Graves on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.