Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 20, 2019
Just passing through for one night. Nice location. Quiet. Lovely woman at the office in the morning. And she opens early too. Thanks for the great cup of coffee.
Aug 25, 2019
This campground is geared to fishermen and I wasn't there to fish.
Aug 20, 2019
Nice tent spot! Facilities close by and kept clean. Quiet at night and best price!
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 02, 2019
After a few reservation changes these guys are amazing and so accommodating. We love the location and facilities.
Jul 28, 2019
Awesome, clean bathrooms and showers. We were glad to see a playground. The tent sites were a little small and there are only four so it’s not somewhere we could meet and camp with friends or family.
Jul 26, 2019
Great staff, clean restrooms, campsite was good.
Jul 20, 2019
It was a very clean and quiet campground, and the location was beautiful.
Jul 19, 2019
Stayed in a tent, sites are not well defined. Campground was clean, good store, and friendly staff. Lake is within walking distance for those without disabilities.
Jul 17, 2019
Bad weather. Permanent residents.
Jul 08, 2019
The bathrooms and showers (free) were very nice, but the campsites were far too small! If we had a larger tent, we wouldn't have fit next to our neighbors.
Jun 21, 2019
We had a great experience at this KOA. The lady at the desk was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean and showers had plenty of room and hot water. They have a nice little camp store too.
Jun 20, 2019
Expensive and very few amenities. Very nice restrooms.
Jun 12, 2019
Office staff were super nice.
May 19, 2019
Good location run by good people. It’s right next to Canyon Ferry, and is close to a number of hiking trails and picnic destinations. Owners saw it was going to rain and upgraded my tent site to a cabin for no extra charge. Would absolutely recommend staying here
Oct 04, 2018
There were clean bathrooms but very little views.
Sep 04, 2018
The best part was the huge area for each RV. Most of the area are seasonal people, that make you feel uncomfortable. They are older and we had grand kids who loved to play and had been told to calm down and be quiet. There is not much to do they have a small store that is very over priced, the have a small playground. Compared to other KOAs this is over priced.
Sep 03, 2018
Only bad thing was that we where told that there was water at each tent site and there wasn't
Aug 19, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Enjoyed the camp....staff were friendly and helpful...with the algae problem in the big Canyon Ferry reservoir, they should consider an outdoor pool to give guests a swimming option because right now the reservoir is not a great swimming experience.
Aug 10, 2018
Nice quiet campground, very friendly hosts. Loved the free coffee in the morning too!
Jul 26, 2018
We had a great short stay. The only downside was the high wind that day.
Jul 17, 2018
Dogs were not leashed, ours was
Jul 16, 2018
The tent sites are tiny. The bathrooms need renovating. Usually the hosts ride around and check on things, never saw one employee outside the office. Not much to do. The staff was very pleasant.
Jul 15, 2018
Checked-in late but site assignment was prepared. Loved the grass tent site. Would be better to plant trees for shade from hot summer sun. Clean restrooms & shower. Dish washing sink was likewise clean. Very good KOA operations.
Jul 04, 2018
Extremely hospitable people!
Jul 03, 2018
We were disappointed to arrive at our tent campsite to find dog poop all over. Thankfully the office staff let us move to the campsite next to us because the other site didn’t get cleaned up until three hours later. The women’s bathroom also smelled awful, like an animal had died in it. I kept telling my husband how bad it was and he was surprised because he said the men’s was fine.
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 05, 2018
Very friendly staff and good location for an overnight tented stay.
Jun 02, 2018
Nice quiet place on a beautiful lake. The bathroom floors need a thorough cleaning and toilet seats need replacing. It was very difficult to drive stakes in the tent ground.
Oct 12, 2017
Both the staff and the other campers were friendly and helpful.
Sep 09, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Nice campground, excellent customer service, excellent bathrooms. Tent sites could use some more trees or something for shade.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
The staff were great and the site very clean but not a great tenting area. Wouldn't recommend for tenting but for RVs probably not a bad spot. Great showers!
Jul 29, 2017
I've stayed here before. On my last stay, the grass in the tent area was green and well kept. This stay, it was dry and weedy. I think more attention needs to be paid to the tent area.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
stay was good till I watch three german shepard dogs not on leases get in a fight with two tiny dogs on leashes, lots of noise fromall the dogs owners yelling and screaming..pet owners must always have pets on a leash and not use the tent camping area as the dogs potty place, don't walk the dogs in the camp grounds but only in the dog park area I hate dog poop in tent camping area the rest good
Jul 05, 2017
Convenient place to stay if you want to go boating or fishing on Canyon ferry lake. Friendly, helpful staff.
Jul 04, 2017
Nice campground. Nice people. Close to lake and off the main road enough so no traffic noise from it.
Nov 08, 2016
Great location with friendly staff.
Sep 19, 2016
Warm welcome and a lovely guest lady, the coffee was great too!
Sep 05, 2016
Loved the cabin. Great facilities and the folks were awesomely friendly.
Aug 11, 2016
We were on a long distance road trip checking out colleges for our daughter. WE had driven over 500 miles after a long day, so we were a little weary when we pulled into your camp site. We found the map with our tent site on it and a note saying that it was forecasted to be pretty windy and we were welcome to stay in cabin 6. We were elated. It was the best nights rest we had all week!! Thank you
Jul 18, 2016
Small tent spaces, no shade or wind breaks, dirty bathrooms, staff never checked in on sites, overall worst experience at any koa I've ever stayed at, and i have been to several
Jun 25, 2016
Was a very nice site but we thought we were going to get blown away. We have come to notice that most KOA do not think to much about where they are putting tenters. If they are alongside a road we seem to always be tenting along the road and having to listen to traffic all night
Jun 13, 2016
Good clean friendly staff. We will return again!
Mar 14, 2016
Very friendly, nice and quiet, showers and bathrooms were quite nice. Gorgeous views. Close to fishing. Spacious and user friendly camping \ RV spaces. Pet friendly:) hoping to have lots more great experiences and your locations!
Sep 08, 2015
It was awesome. Nice people, good store, they even had used books that you could by for about there dollars each.I loved the place!
Nov 23, 2019
Good place and good people! <3
- Cerajena Moon on Google
Nov 16, 2019
Home is wear the heart is
- Amber Goad on Google
Oct 24, 2019
Always clean and friendly
- Lionel Graves on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.