Thompson / Grand River Valley KOA Reviews

Located in the heart of wine country!

Book Now

RV Reviews

Jul 15, 2020
We stayed one night and within 2 hours of arrival we already were trying to plan when we could come back! This is such a nice campground- the pool is clean and the pond with the water bounce toys is so wonderful for the kids to enjoy! We also appreciated the free kayak use. We didn't get a chance to try the pizza, but really loved their pizza delivery golf cart!
Jul 15, 2020
Disappointing! Showers and bathroom were closed, electric only works in campers, we weren’t told about sign ups for pool or any weekend activities at check in. We also only received one gate ticket for 6 people and then were hassled when we shared it with each other, since we had 3 cars. For the cost of an avg hotel room, amenities and service were lacking

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The showers and bath house was closed due to COVID. The pool times were due to COVID, and if you needed more key cards all you have to do is ask. We will give you as many key cards you need as long as your guests are registered to your site.
Jul 14, 2020
Very nice, clean staff friendly and helpful. Surprised that the pool was open with the coronavirus also all the staff were not wearing masks.
Jul 14, 2020
awesome
Jul 14, 2020
It has been several years since we were at Thompson KOA. We loved it then and really love it now. The progress you guys have made looks fabulous. It is great that we were able to come out and enjoy ourselves. BEAUTIFUL CAMPGROUND!!!!!
Jul 14, 2020
So much fun. Kids had a great time with the pool, the pond and panning for treasures. Convenience of the pizza place. Very clean and large sites. Will be back...did a great job of keeping bath rooms clean. Cleaned them constantly. Very friendly staff...
Jul 13, 2020
Another great weekend
Jul 13, 2020
Best customer service on the planet is the norm! Improvements are always in the works. We're there almost every week and I think we see something new or improved every time! Don, Cheryl and crew make every stay our favorite stay!
Jul 13, 2020
Everyone was very nice and helpful...this place was extremely clean and well kept ..Had something for all kids to do definitely will be back
Jul 13, 2020
Perfectly located for winery touring. Friendly staff and great facilities..
Jul 13, 2020
We had the Grand kids with us and let me tell you they had the best time at Grand River Valley KOA. They all wanted to stay another day some of them said they still had one more change of clothes! We are planning at least two more stays at Grand River Valley KOA with more grandkids! Very Clean and well kept KOA!
Jul 12, 2020
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were kept clean and love that it is dog friendly.
Jul 12, 2020
We were there in the middle of week. Grounds were well kept. Site was clean. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks to all the staff for doing such a good job!
Jul 11, 2020
This facility was very nice. High amount of seasonal campers
Jul 11, 2020
Awesome stay beautiful site and everyone was very courteous and helpful
Jul 10, 2020
This is one of our favorite campgrounds to visit. Very clean, super friendly, and so much for the kids to do and enjoy. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars is because each time we've camped we've been next to guests who like to smoke the marijuana. You could almost get a contact buzz from it. As an employee for a Judge in another County, that is a little bothersome. We had to say something.
Jul 10, 2020
Jul 10, 2020
We enjoyed a short get away July 5-8. It’s the perfect place to camp if you want to explore the local wineries. This campground is clean, well maintained and gorgeous! The lakes offer fun, fishing and a scenic place to take a walk. Everyone is super helpful and friendly. We love staying here!
Jul 10, 2020
nice place especially if you have children. A little too much dust cable would be nice
Jul 10, 2020
Very nice campground, very nice staff.
Jul 08, 2020
We had a wonderful time and the fireworks display was fantastic �ϋ� You have done some wonderful improvements �ϋ�So sorry for the vandalism that was heart breaking ��Hopefully you can find out who did it � This is the nicest KOA we have stayed at and we have been to a lot of them. You should be very proud of all the hard work you have done���
Jul 08, 2020
Always great! Always relaxing! Easy setup!
Jul 08, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
Loved the property. Nice sites, fishing pond, pool and beach. Only complaint was no staff members wore masks. I had one on at check in and felt strange. Didn’t see one mask the whole time we were there.
Jul 07, 2020
We love this KOA. The owners are very kind and know everyone by name. The campsite is also clean and well kept. Thank you for another great stay!
Jul 07, 2020
Awesome place to Stay!! Owners go out of there way for the people who stay there.Very nice ,clean lots for kids to do!!
Jul 07, 2020
Owners and staff are probably the best we have seen. Very patient and helpful.
Jul 07, 2020
Always love our stay. Beautiful place and great activities. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.
Jul 07, 2020
Absolutely awesome!!! The facility is fantastic!!!
Jul 07, 2020
This is our favorite place to camp. The owners do an awesome job with everything and are great people!
Jul 07, 2020
Jul 07, 2020
We loved it! Clean, beautiful property and sites! We hope to stay here again for a longer trip �
Jul 07, 2020
Beautiful campground! Friday night fireworks were fantastic. Due to covid 19 the pool was limited to 25 people and you could sign up for 1 hr slots to swim but the list was filled all 3 days of our visit. There was a lake to swim at so that made up for our no pool time. Would recommend separate showers/toilets in the one bathhouse so you aren't waiting to use BR while someone takes a 30 min shower
Jul 07, 2020
Awesome!
Jul 06, 2020
We had a wonderful time enjoying the beach and lake, it is a fun and clean campground with so much for kids to do
Jul 06, 2020
This is a tough review to write. The place is fantastic. So many things to do. Great RV sites with decks, gas grills, etc. But in these days of Covid-19, there was no social distancing and not a person on site, other than us, was wearing face masks. Not the guests nor the employees. Camping may be less fun with a mask on, but it beats dying.
Jul 05, 2020
Very nice place, friendly staff, large sites and a lefty of activities for everyone. There were many seasonal sites that were highly decorated and maintained.
Jul 04, 2020
Beautiful, well-kept campground. Friendly staff. Easy check-in and check-out.
Jul 04, 2020
The people are friendly and the grounds are wonderful. The kids have many activities that keep them busy all day. We just loved our first visit to this campground. We will be back.
Jul 03, 2020
Jul 03, 2020
Jul 03, 2020
Lots of new changes (for 2020) from last my stay and this campgrounds just keeps getting better!! I really enjoyed my relaxing stay here and lucky me, I was able to add an extra 3 days to my reservation. Don & Cheryl go above and beyond to make this campground what it is and my hat is off to them, keep up the good work!!
Jul 03, 2020
Loved the pool, grounds beautiful and well kept
Jul 03, 2020
The facilities are great. Not sure why the laundry is posted as being closed from 10 PM to 8 AM. The one bad experience was involved the grass cutting service. The person had no regard for personal property and we had things out that were covered with grass clippings. Totally unnecessary.
Jul 01, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Awesome time.
Jun 30, 2020
Always a great stay. Nice to see all the improvements made since the last trip. Keeps getting better! Nice job to Don, Cheryl and their team!
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Very nice campground, we’ll definitely book again!
Oct 20, 2020
We have stayed at many, many KOA's and this has to be one of our favorites! The grounds and facilities are immaculate. We were here for one night with our pups and stayed in one of the teepees (there are 3 of them) that are along the pond, what a view! Very spacious inside, nice to have a mini fridge and air conditioning. One thing to be aware of is that there is no latch for the entrance in to the teepee and the tarp that zips up (the front door) doesn't completely reach the ground so there is a gap. We were concerned about maybe critters getting in, which didn't happen. We did put all of our food in the car at night. Also concerned about the dogs maybe sneaking out so we placed our suitcase and cooler to block that area (worked out perfectly). We walked around the campground in the morning checking out the different accommodation options and Halloween decorations that alot of folks had put up, seems like there are quite a bit of permanent, semi-permanent sites here. Staff was super friendly, easy check in and check out process. It's nice that they are gated so you have to check in to gain access to the campground. The location is off the beaten path but just a short drive to some of the wineries in the area. We loved it and plan to go back next season!
- MelissaLasVegas on Trip Advisor
Oct 19, 2020
This KOA with a western country theme has it all for families and friends. Fishing, boat and cart rentals and so much more. Wish we had stayed longer. Very relaxing.
- Craig Stow on Google
Oct 13, 2020
It was wonderful, peaceful and beautiful.
- Sheila Rhodes on Google