South Padre Island KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Mar 30, 2020
Dec-Mar Winter Texan season. This was my 4th season and it seems that each year there are more folks traveling with pets. As a pet owner I love dogs. This year there were a lot of folks with more than 2 dogs, large aggressive breed dogs, dog fights, worse yet, folks not picking up after pets. Lots of campers during the season refer to this KOA as a dog park. Reduce dog #'s and breed types?
Mar 29, 2020
First time there and very impressive. Pool and spa were great assets to the park. We spent every day at them. Clean restrooms and laundry area, Liked it so well we booked a months stay for 2021.
Mar 27, 2020
Everything was fine, I didn’t care that they shut down the pool area due to the Corona Virus.
Mar 26, 2020
Nice facilities great location. We were there during shut down so we’re disappointed about by hat
Mar 26, 2020
Very clean RV park. Great location. Awesome staff especially Tim and Marianne.
Mar 26, 2020
Mar 25, 2020
Mar 24, 2020
very happy with our stay in the SPI KOA!
Mar 24, 2020
This was our 6th winter at SPI KOA. It’s our home away from home. Fantastic staff, friendly, courteous, helpful and always make you feel at home. Great sites, fitness classes (both land and pool) , activities, live music, fireside get together and beautiful sunsets over the Laguna Madre. Looking forward to winter #7, December 2020! Stacie & Tom thanks for all you and your fabulous staff do!
Mar 24, 2020
Other than being crammed in with the other RVers staying there this KOA was awesome! The amenities exceeded some of the KOA’s that we’ve stayed at! Perfect location on the island and the staff were very friendly and helpful!
Mar 24, 2020
Mar 24, 2020
We had a good stay and the staff was very pleasant. We were offered a place to stay when other places were closing their doors to the public.
Mar 23, 2020
Mariann and Sandy were always efficient and very helpful every time I needed assistance from the office. Come March, new guests did not take proper care of their dogs and allowed them to defecate on campsites and do not always pick up. More instruction needs to be directed to this issue.
Mar 23, 2020
Sites are very small, hope you like your neighbor
Mar 23, 2020
Mar 23, 2020
Everything was clean and nice.
Mar 23, 2020
Close to the water. Very clean. Friendly staff.
Mar 23, 2020
The campground and their facilities were all very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back for another visit.
Mar 23, 2020
Considering corona virus...they followed the rules. Clen place.
Mar 22, 2020
The park it's self is nice and clean and it feels safe, especially for an older person. The problem this year was the barking dogs. Most of the dogs were big with big and endless barking. Maybe limiting the size of the dog would be helpful. Not leaving your pet for 8 hours would be helpful, to the dog and the neighbors! We would stay there again.
Mar 22, 2020
The South Padre Island KOA exceeded every possible expectation I had. The hosts were incredibly friendly and accommodating from the moment we arrived. The staff was amazing, and made us feel right at home. Also, you can’t beat the location, and the amenities are five-star. I can’t wait to go back.
Mar 22, 2020
Great place, beautiful 180° views of the water. Not too cramped like most island RV resorts. Great facilities, lots of places to sit in the shade by the pool, great playground with a beautiful view for parents to enjoy while the kids play. The Pier 19 restaurant within walking distance to the sites was a nice extra. This will be the only place we stay for any RV trips to South Padre.
Mar 22, 2020
Super friendly, very clean, and convenient to all the island's activities.
Mar 21, 2020
We have rebooked for the 3rd year. Stacie, Tom and Laura are fabulous and so is their work team. We participate in the wonderful activities and enjoy the beautiful location of the park. Thank you for all you do at the SPI KOA to make our stay enjoyable.
Mar 21, 2020
I felt this KOA was very well maintained. The showers and laundry were always clean. There are a few who like to party but most turn off music by the 10PM quiet time. The manager was very attentive to the one complaint we had on someone who chose to party until 2 AM and we had no further issues. Be prepared for very windy conditions �
Mar 21, 2020
Let me say this about KOA SPI. You won’t go wrong staying here. Great folks here from check in to check out. This is a family oriented camp. Our seventh year in a row staying here. Everyone we have come in contact with staying here have been polite. Pool Is clean. Boat ramp is nice and easy to use. Beach access right across the street a short walk.
Mar 21, 2020
This is the best camp site we have been to. Everything was well maintained and clean. The heated pool and playground is as good as they come. There is curb side trash pickup non-stop during the day. People are friendly and the city beach is close by and awesome. 5 �.
Mar 20, 2020
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Karen did a great job painting and it really brightened up the park. Steve and Billy were very helpful. Mariann is always a joy to talk with and is very professional. We were only disappointed by the stickers that the dogs encountered in the dog areas. These were the painful kind as well as the green plants with stickers. This was the worst in 5 yrs
Mar 20, 2020
I ran out of hot water in the shower for the first time in a KOA after more than 20 years. It was a crowded weekend and we were all camped next to each other but quiet except for some dogs barking. Great location so we had to accept it.
Mar 20, 2020
Great campground! Love the amenities and the staff were great! VERY clean and quiet. Planning to stay again next year with friends. Highly recommend.
Mar 20, 2020
Exelente lugar, nosotros acampamos con tienda de campaña, la pasamos muy bien, los baños excelentes, la alberca muy limpia y la gente muy amable. Gracias.
Mar 20, 2020
This is a very nice campground that is well kept and has friendly staff. It is convenient to all the touristy things to do and also downtown Port Isabel. We walked to the beach that is down the road at the county park or you can drive there. There are also a few restaurants that are in walking distance from the KOA. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back.
Mar 20, 2020
Just beautiful. Even though some venues were closed (Covid-19), had a great time!
Mar 19, 2020
Restrooms are nice and kept clean. Our site was unlevel and didn't realize until I was already unhooked from the trailer because you have to block the road while unhooking because the spots are really tight.
Mar 18, 2020
Really enjoy campground and staff. I do have one complaint. The number of dogs in the park. Pet owners leaving. dog droppings everywhere and dogs continually barking. I feel the owners should be held accountable and staff should be monitoring this.We know of several people that have been coming for years that are not returning because of this. We may follow suit if no change.
Mar 18, 2020
Laura and the rest of the staff were very helpful and friendly
Mar 18, 2020
Mar 18, 2020
Clean, comfortable, and the playground was perfect for our kids!
Mar 17, 2020
Best staff ever!
Mar 17, 2020
We enjoyed it
Mar 17, 2020
Fun
Mar 17, 2020
Friendly staff, clean restrooms, amazing view!!
Mar 17, 2020
It's a nice day at South Padre KOA...
Mar 16, 2020
They Facilities are excellent. Its just a sad thing that the county came in and placed all the debris on the North side where we used to park our boats. It would be a good idea for the KOA to work out a deal were they would allow boat users to park their boats that are staying at the HOA. Also, the wrist band issue is a problem to those of us that are not Spring Breakers.
Mar 16, 2020
Another lovely stay at the fabulous SPI KOA!
Mar 16, 2020
5 days with son, daughter in law, 2 grandsons and teenage granddaughter. Thank goodness for the walk to the beach and the play ground. The play groung could use a few additions like a swing set, teeter totter, etc,
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 16, 2020
Is was so clean and very take care off I really enjoyed staying looking forward to return back
Mar 16, 2020
All employees were friendly especially the asst mgr but the Mgr is really lacking customer service skills
Mar 15, 2020
Love going to this place every year super nice resort for your rv all the ladies are super nice when you check in they also have a nice pool and a recreation room.. you can rent a golf cart down the street and cruz the whole Island.. we will always stay here when we are in Texas
- bob22aol on Trip Advisor
Mar 16, 2020
Tight spots.. nice grounds.
- Brian Rogers on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.