Santa Cruz / Monterey Bay KOA Reviews

Looking forward to seeing you once we re-open! Check back often for opening date.

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Tent Reviews

Mar 16, 2020
Mar 06, 2020
Feb 24, 2020
Everything was super clean and well maintained. Loved having power and water right on the sight. The bathrooms and showers were really clean and functional too. Loved the pool and hot tub as an added bonus.
Feb 21, 2020
We needed a place to camp and the public campgrounds were full. It was clean and neat but the sites were right on top of each other, it was noisy and there was little privacy. My kids had trouble sleeping because of the noise.
Feb 04, 2020
I was a little disappointed that during our stay alot of the KOA activities were between the times of 9-1 and check in time is at 2 and check out the next day is at 11. We missed out on almost all the activities and we only stayed one night. I guess that's the "catch" to get you to stay multiple nights. Positives: clean,friendly,safe,fun,pool,hot tub,activites.
Jan 21, 2020
I was only there for a night, but the place met all the high KOA standards I've come to expect.
Jan 05, 2020
Kids really enjoyed the amenities. Very worthwhile stay for families.
Dec 22, 2019
Very festive. We loved it!
Nov 13, 2019
While the property is nice, the attention to detail by the staff is lacking. Staff was unable to take a proper reservation over the phone and moved us several times which was unnecessary. Staff also lacked the ability to be detail oriented; we had to explain our situation several times to a second staff member. The "strict" quiet hours starting at 10pm were not "strictly" enforced.
Nov 04, 2019
This was our 5th Annual Family Camping at KOA Santa Cruz/Monterey Bay and it was wonderful as usual. Even though the weather got down to 44 at night, we had plenty of wood for the fire. Our grandkids had a blast riding bikes and skateboards down the hill in front of our tent campsite. Thank you KOA
Oct 21, 2019
Amazing time with family and friends
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
Started out bad when an employee stopped me from checking in with my service dog which enraged me. After contacting the front desk I was informed that the gentleman was wrong and came in to check in. The camp ground was quite and beautiful which is what I needed
Oct 07, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
Not informed we would be by noisy water coolers and NO shade! Might be a nice courtesy to inform guests so they can bring a pop up tent and earplugs
Sep 03, 2019
Activities and pool are nice but the tent sites are tiny! Way too small for 6 people or even one family without being right next to the fire pit. Felt claustrophobic.
Sep 03, 2019
It was way too crowded and sites too close together. Bathrooms were not checked often enough for the number of guests. Womens bathroom had blood on floor for and was not cleaned the evening of our stay.
Aug 29, 2019
Very quiet and clean. Employees are super friendly and sincere. I'll be back for sure..
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
The campsite that we were assigned was so noisy, the machine next to it was ringing all night! This is the worst stay that I have ever had with this KOA.
Aug 14, 2019
We enjoyed the safety for the kids and activities- my grandson had a very fun time and easily met and played with other kids
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 03, 2019
Group next to us had 15 people and were very noisy, so kind of killed it for us. Staff seemed friendly though.
Aug 02, 2019
We stayed at the tent sites and they are very tiny and on a hill. Was hard to find a flat spot. You are practically sleeping on top of your neighbors. At night it gets very cold and wet. We did not care for the layout of the camp and all the hills. We had some neighbors that made our stay very unpleasant and they had more than 6 people on there site every night and a lot of cars. Not coming back.
Jul 28, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
HI- We had a good time there. Clean bathrooms, friendly staff, and the grounds were well cared for. Ref the palm tree climbing activity: The female staff member on 6/24 told me we had until 5:30. We returned at 5:19. There was no one there, my daughter found her and when questioned, she told us well everything is locked up now. It should have been open til 5:30!
Mar 10, 2020
Very nice all around
- Cole Cameron on Google
Feb 11, 2020
You will love it here...Beach is close and Santa Cruz boardwalk is only 20 minutes away.
- Angela Willsey on Google
Feb 29, 2020
Liked it. Way off the beaten path
- Ron Roe on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.