Rochester / Marion KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2019
Campground was nice enough but they had bright lights throughout the campground that were on all night. We had one right next to trailer. We had to hang a towel on the window so it wasn't like daylight, unfortunately that only helped a little. The trailer never got dark enough for a sound sleep.
Jul 28, 2019
Office hours were posted 8AM to 7PM...but when we went to the office at 9AM, the door was locked and no one was there. We were placed at a site right up to the street lamp so it was bright all night in our camper. I would save that site for last - if the campground is full.
Jul 23, 2019
Pool and pool area are well maintained. Staff was nice. Smaller than other KOAs we've been to. At no fault of owners, it was very muddy and some grass areas were overgrown due to frequent rain. Couldn't get to K9 park, (lots of mud puddles) but it did look nice. We will be back again!
Jul 22, 2019
Nice campground to stay at, very clean and welcoming. Enjoyed our stay, we will be back
Jul 22, 2019
The staff was annoyed that we arrived right before the end of check in time (7:00pm) and the the sites were so small that you couldn't park you vehicle at all without blocking some of the road. Driving through was difficult and people had to move cars constantly. Even the ones staying in the cabins could barely get their car off the road. None of bathroom soap dispensers were not functional.
Jul 22, 2019
Our stay was much better this time compared to a year ago, staff was much friendlier. Restrooms and grounds very clean. One thing that could be improve upon is the campfire wood was high prices for only wood from cut up palets.
Jul 22, 2019
Always nice, and clean.
Jul 19, 2019
It was a very nice and convenient location when our Daughter was having treatment at the Mayo clinic. The staff at the camp ground are very welcoming and helpful.
Jul 18, 2019
This is a nice park and its clean. The only issue was one day the pool was closed and there was no information as to why it was closed. We paid for a campground that offered a pool and we paid full price. In my opinion, if an amenity is offered & you paid for that amenity then you should be told about it, and given a discount if you cant use it. The KOA should have posted the reason for closing.
Jul 18, 2019
Great place, perfectly located for the clinic
Jul 18, 2019
Very friendly and helpful. Tree covered and cozy.
Jul 16, 2019
It was great. The staff was nice and informative! I just wish they would allow people to come in by 9:00 pm. When you’re out site seeing it can be hard to be there by 7:00 because many things can happen during the day that cause delays making it hard to be there by 7:00. Especially if you plan to have dinner before arriving to the campground.
Jul 15, 2019
Not very welcoming or friendly. Had to ask them to weed wack the weeds about a foot high all around the picnic table. Only bathrooms are across the busy road next to the office. Not in the campground area.
Jul 12, 2019
We were only there for overnight, but had no picnic table or a fire pit. So can’t really say much about this campground.
Jul 12, 2019
Jul 11, 2019
My family and I had a great time. Clean facility.
Jul 11, 2019
Camp host (mid 50's female) a bit abrupt. Very no-nonsense. But she did give us a pull-thru since we were towing a car --even though I mistakenly reserved a "back-in. Site very muddy from recent heavy rains. Not permitted to use plastic fencing enclosure for our dogs in large grassy area next to RV. This KOA requires dogs be leash-walked only. That meant mud walk. Left next a.m. feeling unwanted.
Jul 10, 2019
always enjoyable. Nice people and clean campground
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
It's a great place to stay, my family and I will be staying there in the future.
Jul 08, 2019
This campground is clean and well cared for. The bathrooms are always clean and well maintained. The owners clearly take pride in running a tidy and efficiently operated campground.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
Convenient place to stay for a night but doesn’t offer much. Campground seems a little tired but the staff was friendly.
Jul 05, 2019
since we had a satellite, the trees presented a problem, but they were nice for the shade.
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
Rude staff, outdated playground
Jul 01, 2019
great
Jun 29, 2019
Jun 27, 2019
The only thing we would have liked here is a slab for the picnic table like most of the other sites had. We were one of only a few without it and there were many open sites when we arrived.
Jun 26, 2019
Barbara and Roger are always so helpful and work tirelessly to make this a nice place to stay.
Jun 24, 2019
Customer service skills lacking. Pool says open at noon 1230 still not open. Owner yelling at her grandkid. Store locked when we went to check out.
Jun 23, 2019
Nice quiet campground, well kept and clean.
Jun 23, 2019
Very nice, clean and social people
Jun 22, 2019
Easy on-off Interstate. Campground quiet and well maintained. Staff knowledgeable about other KOAs and even recommended better driving route for us. This was our third time at this campground. Great for one night stay.
Jun 22, 2019
very nice campground
Jun 20, 2019
Immediately welcomed by Barb, friendly and showed us to our site. Barb even helped guide this motorhome newbie as I backed into my site-much appreciated. Nice spacious, shady sites, clean facilities, and best of all quiet and relaxing. Both owners were always working hard but took the time to help out/answer questions, a little chit chat to make sure we were comfortable. Yes-visit again!
Jun 20, 2019
The sites were a little out of level but of a good size. The cable connection was spotty but there were storms in the area. Overall pretty nice and convenient.
Jun 19, 2019
These owners are rude, plain and simple. Both the husband and wife were short with my wife, and the woman was not friendly to me either. We did nothing to provoke such a response. We will go out of our way to not stay at this campground again. It’s obvious they do not enjoy owning a campground.
Jun 19, 2019
Very nice, quiet, and the hosts are very helpful!
Jun 17, 2019
Stayed for a few nights while working in Rochester. Other than swampy ground from all the rain, no real complaints. I wasn't at the campsite except the evenings. Facilities were ok. I've certainly seen a lot worse. Convenient location, easy to get to.
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 16, 2019
All went very well . The fact the area has had a lot of rain and the campsite #79 was awesome. The grass area was a little soggy but the parking site was hard as rock lol . Thanks for a great stay at another K O A .
Jun 15, 2019
Jun 15, 2019
Jun 15, 2019
Disappointing. Lots of mosquitoes. There was a big drunken fight at the park. Did not see any security or surveillance. Bathrooms were clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

With all the rain this year we have had way too many Mosquitoes. We do live on the Park, we do answer the Phone all the time. Any problems can be solved at anytime of the day or night. Don't ever worry about telling us at night. We would have liked to know.
Jun 14, 2019
Very nice camp site. Owners very attentive and nice. We enjoyed our time there.
Jun 14, 2019
We have stayed at the Rochester/Marion KOA many times over the past several years to attend to appointments at the Mayo Clinic. Barb and Roger have been great hosts and accommodating when we have needed to extend our stays. They also are pet people.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for camping with us
Jun 13, 2019
Kind and helpful couple running the campground! Enjoyable stay. We plan to return.
Jun 13, 2019
This was our first campground on our two week trip and we had a great stay. Barb was very helpful and we would definitely stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for camping with us
Jun 10, 2019
The staff was very peaceful and knowledgeable and very good at giving directions to various places easy to get in and out of
Sep 23, 2020
Professional staff. Nice site
- Chuck Sawicki on Google
Sep 20, 2020
I really like this koa-plentiful shade, adequate space between rv's, children's play area, a quiet paved road for walking our 4 legged friends and owners Roger and Barb are very accommodating.
- Barbara Grauman on Google
Sep 19, 2020
Perfect spot to stay when we visit Rochester/Chatfield. Most tent sites have electricity to keep your devices charged. Showers and bathrooms were spotless.
- Justin Lewis on Google