Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 07, 2017
This was our first time tent camping as a family without anyone else, and I was not looking forward to it. I was worried about dirt sites and gross bathrooms, but this KOA had neither! I was so impressed by our beautiful grass-covered site and the bathrooms were clean and very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful, and there were tons of amenities to use. We're looking forward to returning!
Aug 07, 2017
Everyone is so friendly which is hard to find with summer help these days. Clean restrooms. The grounds are very well maintained and the hanging baskets all over the grounds adds a beautiful touch of color. Lots of events to keep the kids busy. They liked the science experiments. This was our 3rd visit to this campground and most certainly will NOT be our last.
Aug 06, 2017
This was our first KOA stay. While we like state parks better because we are tent campers. The bathrooms by all thevRVs were so clean and nice and the kids loved the kids zone.
Aug 06, 2017
Enforce morning quiet hours on playgrounds.
Aug 06, 2017
The tent site was small couldn't use the campfire tent was to close to it. This campsite was packed in like sardines. First time staying here so the church and all kid outdoor avities was a surprise and I enjoyed everything that they offered. How ever we did go to the all you can eat pancakes tent and my kids got sick of the milk that we ordered and threw up. Please check the temperature of frig
Aug 06, 2017
Great location for all the sites. Two pools and great hiking trails across the street.
Aug 06, 2017
The bathrooms near our site were amazingly clean and even had hooks on the back of the bathroom stall doors! We weren't traveling with kids so didn't participate in any family activities, but with playground, horses, etc., & activities offered throughout the day, this spot is ideal for families!!! And anyone else who wants a fresh cup of coffee in the morning or a fully-stocked camping store.
Aug 04, 2017
The tent sites were positioned as far from all restrooms as possible.
Aug 04, 2017
We enjoyed it so much that we didn't want to leave. In fact we stayed an extra day.
Aug 04, 2017
Lots of fun things to do and great facilities. The only issue with the tent sites is that they were open and lacked privacy- felt like we were on a field instead of in the Hills.
Aug 04, 2017
Beautiful location. Bathrooms/showers could be cleaner and bleach treated to clear the mold but otherwise loved it!
Aug 04, 2017
crowded, noisy and expensive. Even with all the extra activity's they had available for kids and adults I would not stay there again. The tent sites were tiny and on a slope. Even though the showers were individual rooms they did not have shower curtains so the closes would get wet hanging on the shower door.
Aug 03, 2017
great location , friendly staff, lots of amenities
Aug 03, 2017
Would definitely stay here again. Wish we would have had more time here. Lots to do for the family.
Aug 03, 2017
Bathrooms and showers were dirty. Too many people, campsites too close. Noise next to us until well after midnight...and started again early in the morning. We got very little rest. Lots of group activities available.
Aug 02, 2017
Had a family "meet up" here with about 4 different parts of the family and we all liked it a lot. So much to do for all ages!
Aug 02, 2017
I've stayed at this KOA 4 times now (this was #4) and this was by far the worst experience that I've had... sadly. The "curfew" of 10PM was not at all adhered to (nor enforced). In my tent, I recall looking at my watch at 10, 11, 12, 1, 2 and 3 am... with noise all around... Additionally, I was saddened at the fact that there was no water fountain, water bottle filling station, or the like availab
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Too many campsites in too small area. No privacy. Tents, without bathrooms are 1/4+ mile from the restrooms, while RVs are parked next to them.
Aug 02, 2017
Koa community was great.however wi-fi was not great and the bathrooms need improving.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy