Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email This Campground

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 22, 2018
Our stay was outstanding. Great campground, clean and organized workflow with a very courteous staff. The weather was not the greatest during our stay, but we made the best of it and felt secured to stay in this campground.
May 22, 2018
May 22, 2018
Very nice large site and close to all attractions
May 22, 2018
Great facility and friendly staff. I hope to return soon.
May 22, 2018
It was clean and there is a lot to do. The additional fee for a 4th person I think was ridiculous as a hotel doesn’t even have that fee. Also it felt invasive having staff drive by the site every 10 min. Discrimination of dog breeds is also a negative, any dog can bite.
May 22, 2018
May 22, 2018
Rate was to high specially when there was no WIFI at vehicle and no cable TV (regular TV access none or very limited
May 21, 2018
May 21, 2018
May 21, 2018
Great !!! Location. The people were just as helpful and friendly as the location. We had a fantastic stay.
May 21, 2018
May 21, 2018
Many trips to the area, first to your KOA. Outstanding
May 21, 2018
Beautiful park, awesome showers and tons of amenities!
May 20, 2018
we had a great stay in the KOA but we were 2 weeks early for the season. Nothing at the camp was open except the main office and the restaurant. Being early we avoided all the crowds but we also had fog everyday which made it hard to see the sights, what we did see was beautiful, this campground had no wifi or cell service.
May 20, 2018
Beautiful, clean campground with all of the extras. Gorgeous scenery. In the middle of all the attractions, yet very quiet. Loved our stay.
May 19, 2018
It is a great RV resort and too many places claim to be resorts and are definitely not. But it is a bit pricey especially when many of the amenities are only open Memorial Day to Labor Day.
May 18, 2018
Campground was very nice- poor internet and cell reception.
May 17, 2018
Nicest KOA we have ever stayed at.
May 17, 2018
Only a 3 because a lot of stuff was not open and the internet was impossible ..usually we would give a 5 its our favorite KOA...thanks we hope to be staying again around the 15th of June ..
May 16, 2018
Beautiful campground, WiFi could be better
May 16, 2018
Our family of four were here for two nights. We would have liked to stay longer as this area is absolutely beautiful. This is my favorite campground this far and I have been camping for forty years. Thank you to your welcoming staff as well. We sure hope to return again in the future.
May 16, 2018
Staff were friendly and accommodated my personal needs. Difficulty lies in poor cell phone reception. I was unable to speak to friends or monitor my home security system because I only had one bar. Rental car on premises was a perk and very helpful. The campground was clean and neat with nice grassy areas. Dog park was quiet a hike and the bridge to it was shaky. Restaurant not recommended
May 16, 2018
Great place!
May 15, 2018
great place!!
May 15, 2018
Great place
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
great staff. great site
May 15, 2018
This is considered a "resort" KOA with a surcharge (they removed it since it is not yet Memorial Day). I would expect a resort to have WiFi throughout the campground, gravel or paved, not muddy roads, paper towels and hooks in the bathrooms. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and spacious, though.
May 14, 2018
Ok but the site was not long enough for our camper and truck. They said the site was 55 feet but our camper alone almost went the full length of the site and it's only about 30 feet. Not sure how you measure your sites.
May 14, 2018
This was our first stay, with our new camper, at a KOA...even though this was the off season...we entirely enjoyed our stay. The staff was exceptional! We will definitely be staying again!
May 14, 2018
Great, except a place this nice should have a better WiFi connection & cable tv
May 13, 2018
Did not like how men and women share the shower rooms in the same building. I do and did not feel safe.
May 13, 2018
This is a great place to stay if you want to see Mount Rushmore and other things near there. Very nice, clean, well maintained RV park resort. Lots of amenities. They even have rental cars if needed.
May 11, 2018
Great place!
May 11, 2018
Nathan was very helpful and professional, as were all the staff with whom we interacted. We would visit again.
May 11, 2018
Greatest staff. First time staying at a KOA and we were blown away with how much there was to do. Would highly recommend. They all loved our dogs and our American flag rv.
May 10, 2018
Awesome park! Need to get WiFi.
May 10, 2018
Excellent
May 10, 2018
Great facility that will wow you, huge property, lots to do, great staff, amazing store. Thank you very much!!
May 09, 2018
Loved the facility. Dog park needed the grass cut and new bags during our 3 day stay. We were there before all the amenities were open. No coffee creamer available to buy in store. And the internet issue is a disappointment.
May 09, 2018
Very nice people, great WiFi, have cable tv, clean shower and toilet
May 08, 2018
May 08, 2018
Very clean and spacious place to stay. Lots of avaiable activities.
May 07, 2018
Beautiful area and facilities. The workers and other guests were very helpful and friendly. We loved our stay.
May 07, 2018
Very nice not that crowded for this time of the year. Relaxing and enjoying MT. Rushmore. Very courteous and respectful. Thanks.
May 07, 2018
May 06, 2018
Great place very clean. We only stayed overnight but enjoyed ourselves. Personal who met us in the office were very friendly and professional.
May 04, 2018
Very nice staff. Huge, pretty campground. We arrived on opening day for the season. They were still getting the resort ready for the season and most of the amenities weren’t open. However, it looks like after Memorial Day, it will be a fun place with lots of family activities. Mount Rushmore was just 5 miles away. We knew ahead of time, but we had no internet or cell service during our stay.
Nov 13, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy