Campground Reviews

Jan 12, 2024
After traveling cross country and back staying in KOA’s this is by far our favorite. This “Resort” has something for everyone in the family.
Dec 15, 2023
This review has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Nov 20, 2023
We loved our stay at Mount Rushmore. It was so nice the location was close to everything. Beautiful, clean and well manicured. I know that we were at the end of the season but it would have been nice if the restaurant was open and you still had activities for all of us in RV's that were still there. The other KOA's we stayed at did.
Oct 30, 2023
Convient to Mount Rushmore with capacity and neat, clean facility. A little more pricey than we're used to but Justified for the location
Oct 13, 2023
Gorgeous landscape. No question there. Bathrooms/showers, the playgrounds as well as the mini golf area looked pretty run down. Definitely overdue for TLD. Not a dealbreaker since I didn’t pay peak season pricing but if I did I would have felt a bit ripped off. Especially when you consider the extensive roadway construction at the entrance and towards the cabins. Spend the money smarter.
Oct 11, 2023
The park very nice, well maintained, clean. It was a pleasure to stay there. The only disappointment was that many of the amenities were already closed because of the time of year. We will definitely look you up next time we are in the area.
Oct 10, 2023
Great location. Easy to get to all the attractions nearby. Most of the amenities were closed as we visited at the end of the season but still worth the price. Campsites were level and had grass on either side of the pad. Bathrooms and showers are updated and very clean. Camp store was very nice and carried staples as well as souveniers. All the campground employees were friendly and very helpful,
Oct 06, 2023
Stayed for two nights end of September in Kamping Kabin, surprised it wasn't heated. Stayed at two KOA's the previous 4 nights and they both had heaters in their lowest rate Kabins. Toilet in mens bathroom was constantly clogged, otherwise they were nice ( very good hot water ).
Oct 05, 2023
We stayed the last few nights the KOA was open for the season, so we should've assumed a lot of things would be closed or shut down already. It really was unfortunate that we couldn't experience it in full. Only negative comment was by the last day the womens bathroom had only 1 soap dispenser that still had soap in it. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The showers were always very clean.
Oct 05, 2023
Great location, nice facilities and grounds, and a lot of family friendly things to do. We stayed the last week of the season so a lot of things were shut down. Staff was friendly and helpful. Though showers were not dirty, they weren't really being cleaned either since the wasp I killed stayed on the floor the whole time. Lastly, the shower curtain was disgusting and should have been replaced.
Oct 05, 2023
Beautiful large park, with numerous amenities (restaurants too) and activities -- as long as your visit is on/before Labor Day weekend. After that, everything is closed up with the exception of the gift shop/store, which was a bit disappointing. Very conveniently located to Mt. Rushmore, Needles Hwy, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park.
Oct 05, 2023
Staff was all knowledgeable and very helpful.
Oct 04, 2023
So much was already shut down, bathrooms were quite a ways away from our cabin. The mattress were TERRIBLE. The only water source was the bathrooms. Our hook up was off. I understand that we came in at the end of the season, but I don’t appreciate being charged the same amount as a regular season. The store closed so early we couldn’t even grab things for our evening meals.
Oct 04, 2023
Booked with koa because of pool and amenities for the kiddos Found out 2 days before arriving no pool No bathrooms close because everything locked up
Oct 04, 2023
Very disappointed that Restaurants, Ice Cream,other stores and amenities were NOT open during our stay. We paid for a premium site for five nights! Wished we had known in advance of stay that we had to leave the campground for meals every night since this KOA was basically closed the day before we arrived. If you are planning a trip here make sure you know when they close everything!!!
Oct 03, 2023
We love this campground and will continue to stay there each year!
Oct 03, 2023
Full price was charged with most of the park closed down for the winter. Pretty lame
Oct 03, 2023
This is a beautiful campground and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Be sure to check ahead of time if all the great amenities are available at the time of your visit. They were all shut down for the season when we got there. We were disappointed.No dates posted on the website. Also, the showers and restrooms need to be ungraded as they are rather old. Otherwise, it's a nice place to stay.
Oct 03, 2023
Great service location and amenities
Oct 02, 2023
Very well kept KOA. Alot for everyone to do. You never need to leave its like a little town. We will definitely be going back
Oct 02, 2023
I feel that the rate charged for the time we were there was high. All of the park amenities were shutdown for the season. Adjust the nightly fee down, when you have nothing to offer, other than camping. I would stay here again, though.
Oct 02, 2023
Disappointed, EVERYTHING was closed for the season. A word of warning would have been nice. A group with a dozen+ dogs were camped across from us crying all day? How did that happen? No rule enforcement. Grill didn't work, poor customer service in the store. The facility looks like its great, but that was not our experience, and felt we should have been informed of the conditions.
Oct 02, 2023
Excellent customer care. When we had to leave 3 days early for a family situation, there was no question about refunding the last three days of our nine day stay. Everyone was super helpful and super friendly. We love it there!
Oct 02, 2023
Glamping cabin: bed comfortable, but porch light broken and no one came to fix it, no pegs/hooks on walls to hang anything, wasps in cabin. ...and please, enough with not having paper towels in bathrooms at KOA. I can't stick my face in a hand dryer or wipe down a surface with it.
Oct 02, 2023
When we booked this stay for September we understood that some of the amenities would be closed like pool & spa.When we checked in we found that most amenities were closed & of course there was no discount for no amenities also this was unfortunate having brought our two grandchildren.WiFi is very weak pretty much useless past the office area not good for this size of park. The showers were dirty.
Oct 02, 2023
This was a good spot if wanting access to local activities including a trip to the Badlands. Most campsites have no trees, so that was disappointing. Non existent privacy between sites. Bathrooms, showers were clean with ample hot water. The staff were great at check in!
Oct 02, 2023
Beautiful property
Oct 02, 2023
It is a great KOA. Unfortunately we missed getting to use the full spectrum of offerings because we got there late in the season and all the goodies were closed. We said that this would be kid and family heaven. The staff, location, facilities were great, just wish we had been there when the restaurants and fun offerings were still available.
Oct 02, 2023
Oct 01, 2023
My ratings are high ONLY because of Jenny, the Asst GM. She took ownership of my concerns and delivered outstanding customer service. She was the only person I spoke with who took the initiative to follow up with me. There are not enough characters allowed here to tell the story. Please have someone contact me if you want to know the details.
Oct 01, 2023
This is a really nice KOA, and the staff/crew/folks that work there are very friendly, and eager to help in any way. There's so much to see and do in this region of South Dakota, that it's impossible to see all the near by sites in just a few days. I'd say stay at this location for 1 week minimun, and that should give you plenty of time to see quite a few places of interest. But do stay here.
Oct 01, 2023
We’ve camped at several KOAs in their small cabins. It was a terrible campground. There was deferred maintenance in the cabin and in the bathroom building. Ripped screens allowed flies and wasps in the cabin, could see daylight through the walls. The worst part was that they were regrading the campground roads 15 feet from cabin- vibration, loud heavy machinery all day. Not peaceful! Do not stay
Oct 01, 2023
Clean level site with a picture perfect view. Great proximity to outdoor activities.
Sep 30, 2023
Beautiful resort, hosts very helpful and nice. Sights are to close together though and don’t care for the workers watching you to make sure your out by 11:00. They went by and stopped at least 4 times!! Even though we left on time!! But overall it’s a huge well talkin care of park with so much to do!! We came just before the park closes, so all the activities were closed! Thanks
Sep 30, 2023
This is a resort not a campground. We were there in late September and many amenties were closed for the season. Wasn't a problem for us but I imagine this place is busy in season! Its a beautiful park. Well kept. Restrooms/Showers were top-notch. Depending on where you are it can be a bit of a hike for the laundry. Staff was great. This is the nicest park we've stayed in.
Sep 30, 2023
Pay premium for cable tv?
Sep 30, 2023
Sep 30, 2023
Ok, check in was good. Had an issue with 30 electric. Watch dog said neutral and hot line reversed. Maitenance said many people stayed in site with no issues. They did move me but was taken back by response. These protectors we purchase have the less on them for a reason.
Sep 30, 2023
The showers are in need of some improvements, they were moldy and the shower curtains were ripped! Otherwise we love the park!!!
Sep 30, 2023
Sep 30, 2023
We were charged full price even though all the amenities were closed. We left 2 days early because the "campground" was more like a parking lot.
Sep 29, 2023
Wanted to extend 1 day & staff accomodated us very efficiently. Staff was very courteous, found some 1/2 price end of season Christmas Gifts :) close to Custer Park & Mt Rushmore.
Sep 29, 2023
We reserved a full hook up campsite. We got there. They gave us a campsite with no TV in the very back of the park why we were having a discussion about the site for other RVs pulled in and took the available spots that we were supposed to half
Sep 29, 2023
Wow! What a great park. We could only stat a couple of days and enjoyed every minute.
Sep 28, 2023
Beautiful, well-kept park with ALL the amenities. We stayed in a premium spot with a patio, table and chairs, firepit, and BBQ. It was level and clean with large grassy areas between each site. Great location for us to see Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park. Other than some loud neighbors using foul language and parking their UHV’s (4) on the lawn, it was a wonderful stay. Highly recommend.
Sep 28, 2023
Sep 27, 2023
Perfect location. Close to Mt Rushmore. Very quiet, very clean, large pull in spots for large RV’s pulling trailers.
Sep 27, 2023
Good base for our explorations of the area. Full range of activities for families. We found the shower size cramped and hard to put on dry clothes after showering.
Sep 27, 2023
Loved the stay at Mount Rushmore KOA Palmer Gulch. Lots to do for families. Very clean. Staff is friendly. Close to two state parks and Crazy Horse. Thanks we loved it.
Sep 27, 2023
First stay at a KOA. stayed in a primitive cabin 5 nites and used public facilities. Clean and comfy we were. Would do it again.
Feb 20, 2024
We stayed here in 2010. We have reservations to return this May. Looking forward to it. Great location and service.
- John Levasseur on Google
Jan 25, 2024
It was a great camp ground. Lots of fun stuff to do. There was a wasp next on the window screen and slight tears on the window. So they kept getting in. We ask if it could be removed. We were there 3 nights no one ever came. My husband on noght tqo finally took care of it, because it was right next to where the kids were sleeping
- forlove T on Google
Nov 08, 2023
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves during our stay. We stayed 5 nights and didn't have enough time to do everything in the area. It is smack down in the middle of the black hills and an excellent base camp to go visit places like Deadwood, Mt. Rushmore, Custer, etc. We are trying to plan another trip when everything else is open at the campground. We went after labor day so not everything was open. I didn't feel crowded; we had one of the sites close to the front.
- Joe Crawford on Google