Lava Hot Springs KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 14, 2018
The sheets on one of the beds were stained and the pillow case had hair on it. It looked like the sheets were not changed from the previous occupants.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry you hear you this experience. Our cleaning lady is very particular, and has always done a superb job. If ever our staff knows of any situation that is less than perfect for the guest, they are well trained to make it a perfect and great experience within their ability.
Jun 13, 2018
Unique
Very very nice to have lots of fun, going to try to Deluxe next time lava
Jun 13, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff! The only downside is it is very very loud being right beside the road and railroad tracks. A nice campground for a short stay.
Jun 12, 2018
Our family reunion was wonderful. We’d like to come again and rent the premium cabins. We loved everything about them and the view. The office staff was kind, patient, and helpful.
Jun 12, 2018
Awesome time! Friendly staff, clean facilities.
Jun 12, 2018
Every year we get together with friends in Lava. We stay at KOA because it is very well maintained and has nice amenities. Even the staff is fairly nice.
Jun 11, 2018
We stay at this KOA a couple times each year and really enjoy it. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The only negative... less than half the guests observe the 5 mph speed limit; which is not enforced. Sometimes the staff did not observe it either. We'll see you again in August!
Jun 11, 2018
Had a great time.
Jun 11, 2018
Spaces were little cramped
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
The customer service was exceptional. The bathrooms, playground, and camp site were clean and great. I was not expecting how loud the train would be and how loud/close together the other campers would be. Our neighbor came in very late and played LOUD music until almost midnight and then again at 7am for all the camp to hear. I’m sure staff heard and it could have said something to the campers.
Jun 11, 2018
very clean bathrooms, camp grounds and beautiful facilities all around. We enjoyed our stay and were very impressed.
Jun 11, 2018
Unique
We stayed in Cabin 61. It was very nice. The campground was very clean and neat. The bathrooms were set up nice with a shower in each bathroom, they were very clean. My kids loved the playground. Fun place to stay!
Jun 11, 2018
Wonderful
Jun 11, 2018
Stayed twice this month and love it. Will go back. I recommend it. Fun, clean, safe, beautiful campground. The town is beautiful too. Staying by the river is so relaxing and the natural hot springs are state of the art. Has that western old town feel where people are genuine and friendly.
Jun 11, 2018
It was so beautiful and quiet! It was easy to book and the staff was very friendly!! Get site T1 if you are booking in Lava Hot Springs!
Jun 10, 2018
We stayed at 3 RV parks this trip. Lava Hot Springs was the best of the 3. The other 2 were over priced and crowded.
Jun 10, 2018
Very nice time, great place, weak wifi, most koa ‘s. Have gotten better... thank you for a great time Submit me as “pat”
Jun 10, 2018
We liked the cabin we stayed in. It was clean and cozy. It did lack kitchenware. One pan and hardly any utensils. I think this particular style cabin should have a small stove, It just had a hot plate with one burner. I know these deluxe cabins are new, but they should also plant trees around them. There was one tree in the lot.
Jun 09, 2018
Unique
We loved the cabin we were in. Only after we unloaded the car did we realize that my luggage was left in the other car back home! Walked down to office and she told us places to go to get necessities. Was thankful for the kind words and helpfulness! Loved our cabin too!!
Jun 08, 2018
Very peaceful and very friendly staff
Jun 07, 2018
Unique
This was the nicest KOA kabin we have every stayed in! The four of us enjoyed the extra room. We preferred staying here on the outskirts of town, wonderful setting surrounded by beautiful scenery. Only drawback was close to highway and train tracks.
Jun 07, 2018
Unique
Great place. Very clean.
Jun 07, 2018
Trains and traffic noise all hours of the day and night. River noise was soothing but the mosquitoes and flies were a definite nuisance.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you did not enjoy your camping experience. Our local county department sprays for mosquitoes several times during the camping season. And the noise of the trains and traffic may be alleviated by ear plugs.
Jun 07, 2018
Delightful park, plenty of mature trees which would be nice in the heat of summer. The river that ran right behind the sites was very soothing, and led to restful sleep. The restrooms/showers were clean and well-supplied. I might even come back next year.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review.
Jun 06, 2018
Love this KOA and Lava Hot Springs!
Jun 05, 2018
Jun 05, 2018
Very pleasant campground. the only problem I found was that our "super" site in the corner by the trail to town was too close to the adjacent campsite. We managed, but for all practical purposes we were basically sharing a site with them. Fortunately they were nice people. Also people
Jun 05, 2018
very clean sites!!
Jun 05, 2018
Grounds are so nicely maintained Staff is courteous, helpful and friendly We will visit a couple of times a year�

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to right a pleasant review.
Jun 04, 2018
Cabins were very nice, clean, and well maintained.
Jun 04, 2018
Probably would have rated it higher but unlike other koa’s I have stayed at this one does not enforce the quiet time hours between 10p and 8a. Both nights had loud music until 11:30pm or later from site next to us.
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 04, 2018
Great staff and an awesome campground. We love staying here.
Jun 04, 2018
Beautiful spot! Love that the river is so close!
Jun 04, 2018
Beautiful place and landscape. Our site was on the Portneuf river. So relaxing! All the people around our RV site were polite, there was no noise or drama. The staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities are great and kept like new. We enjoyed it a lot. Will go back! Recommend it! Thank you.
Jun 04, 2018
We had a wonderful time at Lava Hot Springs.The staff was so helpful and nice everytime we had a question.
Jun 03, 2018
Second tome coming to the Koa up there and I have loved it I think we are making this our future stay when we come to stay up at lava thank you the area is in a excellent spot it’s actually quite and very clean
Jun 02, 2018
Jun 01, 2018
Showers and restrooms was the best I had seen
May 31, 2018
May 31, 2018
Nice, slightly out-of-town location for avoiding the summer crush in town...which was a mad-house. The improvements to this KOA are much appreciated. We hardly needed to level our trailer. This campground seems to attract a quieter crowd, which we definitely appreciated. Flowing river, big beautiful trees. All good.
May 31, 2018
May 31, 2018
A great place to sit back and relax! Many activities for children of all ages. A sleepy town, so don’t expect “gourmet” dining but there are places with the standard menu of pizza and burgers. Bring your ear plugs because the trains at night can be LOUD!! The kids sleep right through it, it’s just us adults that have a hard time. Bring a lot of water because it does get warm here!!
May 30, 2018
good place yet the wifi is worthless same last year please get it fixed so all the paying people can use it half the time you cant connect if you do it drops you and then it says your on there wifi and nothing works. (unacceptable)
May 30, 2018
May 30, 2018
It was an amazing weekend with my wife and grandkids. Peggy was a very good host and very helpful to make first time in Lava memorable. We are planning to came back again in August.
May 30, 2018
May 30, 2018
We had a lovely waterfront spot and our friends were in the middle area. Spots were very close together, to the point our friends couldn't access their firepit because their neighbors slide-out was over the pit. The waterfront was nice but a little scary with little kids, especially at night. The large cottonwood trees provide excellent shade but were shedding REALLY bad (cotton, seeds)
May 30, 2018
The campground was beautiful and well maintained. We loved how close it was to the town and the hot springs. We will definitely be back!
Sep 15, 2019
Nice place to stay
- John Bennett on Google
Sep 14, 2019
This KOA is located on a River, there are beautiful sites that back up to the river which was still running with some white water in mid-August. Our spot was shady and flat. There is a walking path to downtown from the RV Park. You can walk to the Lava Hot Springs and that is a must for relaxation. You also have a dog park on site for your little travelers. The park is well kept up, green lawn and flowers around. There is a train that does run across the road on the mountain side, it is really kind of interesting to watch it.
- nanaandgpabusch on Trip Advisor
Sep 14, 2019
We loved our little cabin!
- Kimberle Leeds'Cardona on Google