Lava Hot Springs KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 09, 2018
Shaded sites with green grass. Clean bathrooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean campground. Right by the river. Short walk into the little quaint town. Easy to get to. If you have a large trailer or RV I recommend that you take exit 47 and not exit 44 as Google maps says. Plus it's just a much easier direct route to the campground, and there's a gas station off of exit 47 for trucks and trailers
Jul 09, 2018
Always a great stay. The campground is always impeccable, green, well maintained and the staff is wonderful, all of them, very helpful and with a smile on their faces. A lot of amenities. too. The Portneuf River is beautiful and a lot of fun. The springs are at walking distance. I recommend it. Thank you.
Jul 09, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 09, 2018
The campground is clean ,staff was courteous only one issue with showers not enough hooks to hang clothes and no bench to sit on if you have a handicap we loved the trees and proximity to the water parks.
Jul 08, 2018
Jul 08, 2018
Great location nice park but don’t show up early as women who checks you in is very obnoxious and try’s her best to make you feel unwelcome since ck in is at 3pm I came in at 1pm after a 5 hour drive and even though the premium site which I booked was clean and clear she was only interested in letting me know that I should have waited 2 hours to ck in. As a VIP customer this person needs to go
Jul 08, 2018
Wish you had more than one restroom/shower building for such a large KOA but a very nice campground
Jul 08, 2018
You must have put us in one of your 2 worst campsites. We had no picnic table or connection to a disposal like others. We asked to be allowed to stay at the campsite we accidentally set up in (next to our assigned one) but were not allowed, as if assignments can't be reassigned. You called about some wood by the fire pit when you could/ve come talk to me about it, saving me phone roaming charges.
Jul 08, 2018
4th of July 2018 so crowded. Nice store. Very nice store staff and welcoming checkin. Right on the river which was fun. Also next to the freight trains which honk all day and night. We were glad to get a full service space but expensive$65 . Not much room between spaces . Only 2 showers and 3 bathrooms.
Jul 08, 2018
I was there for July 4th and is a beautiful place, definitely I will came back,
Jul 08, 2018
Unique
Good clean campground with nice amenities and an awesome location
Jul 07, 2018
Always a nice park to stay in! Our annual summer trip is Lava and this KOA. See you next year.
Jul 07, 2018
Unique
Jul 07, 2018
Jul 07, 2018
t was good minus noisy neighbors entering are site and worrying about them using a bb gun in their site
Jul 07, 2018
A little pricy! Cabin was very nice. Office personal was wonderful!
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Great people, very nice..Enjoyed our stay
Jul 05, 2018
Unique
This place is Awsome . Please teach the young boys at reception to show some curtesy with a small smile. We are customers not collection agents.
Jul 05, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Just don't forget anything!! We had to purchase a hose and pressure regulator for the water supply. $55 later we were in business. That's right... if you forget anything, you can expect at least a 100% mark-up over retail for any item you find yourself without. I'm all for business being able to make a profit... but this kind of gouging hits below the belt. OUCH!!
Jul 04, 2018
The KOA was excellent and the staff was great. The only reason I dropped the rating is that no where did the literature mention that we would be next to a busy freeway with freight trains going almost continuously all night long. I was able to sleep once I got used to the sound, plus I had been hiking all day and was exhausted, but my family could not. I wish we had known in advance.
Jul 04, 2018
By far one of the best KOA’s we’ve stayed at.
Jul 04, 2018
There was nothing wrong with the campground if it had been in a different location. But being right by the highway and some very busy train tracks made it so nobody slept well. The staff was friendly and the campground clean, but with the high price I would expect something better. I wouldn't stay there again.
Jul 03, 2018
Wonderful location and staff; very accomodating and on the ball.
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Great stay with extended family for a reunion. Camp spot and facilities were fantastic. Our only complaint is the "nickle and diming" charges for everything. We have 4 kids and were charged extra for each kid. Extra, for cars, extra for tents, extra, extra extra. Holy cow. To spend $68.00 per night for a tent spot is really steep, especially since our total group rented so many spots.
Jul 02, 2018
Nice campgrounds, but extremely close together. Party campground next to a tubing river. Staff great at keeping campers quiet and I know it was a tough job. Pet policies need to be enforced, got tired of cleaning up after the neighbors dog. Area is beautiful but nothing to do or see unless you are tubing or swimming.
Jul 02, 2018
What a relaxing and beautiful vacation. Campground is right on the river and yes, train tracks are right across the street but we thought the train was great! Walk to town where there’s just the perfect amount of things to do with the family. We loved this KOA and would love to return!
Jul 01, 2018
We had a blast here. So much to do. Can't wait to come back.
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
If you like camping near a highway and railroad line, this is the place for you!! Did not care for the dirt/dusty roads inside the campground either. With all the money you make on charging for extra adults and children, I would think you could update this campground. WiFi inside the campground was not good either. We won't be staying here again!!!
Jul 01, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Unique
The staff was courteous and helpful! Our cabin was clean when we checked in. The campground and restrooms/shower areas were well kept. We will definitely stay if we go to Lava Hot Springs again. The only improvement that we would like to see would be an actual table or a countertop in the cabin and a porch swing would be great.
Jun 30, 2018
Unique
Jun 30, 2018
Close to the hot springs, clean campground with nice bathrooms and laundry room.
Jun 30, 2018
We had a great time and enjoyed our spot by the river. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Thank you!
Jun 29, 2018
Campground is kept is nice condition. Improvements of some curbing and concrete pads for some of the sites kept things cleaner. . We missed the clothes line and rope swing of past years.
Jun 29, 2018
Beautiful place!
Jun 29, 2018
Unique
Staff was incredibly helpful to us when we had an emergency with our pet! Only criticism us that the upper bathroom had many rooms locked due to our mid week stay there were extensive wait times on occasion.
Jun 29, 2018
Beautiful spot. Some train noise. Interesting bathroom set up. Lots a little bathrooms in one building. Convenient.
Jun 28, 2018
Beautiful, loved the trees river close by, close to the hot springs and close to shops. Easy to get to
Jun 28, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay. The improvements you have made to your campsites are great. Can’t wait to return for another stay. Your staff is friendly and caring about our stay.
Jun 28, 2018
Love the place I even finally got used to the trains. The trains come through all hours day and night and usually not too quiet that was the biggest drawback to this KOA but I would stay again
Jun 28, 2018
Nice, helpful staff, clean grounds
Jun 27, 2018
the staff at Lava Hot Springs KOA campground did a wonderful job. We were unsure if we would be able to stay and they went out of the way to make sure we had a spot. Thank you so much for your help in making our vacation a memorable one.
Jun 27, 2018
The first night the my husband's chain saw was stolen out of our truck. The personnel the we're very friendly but the campground was way too close to the train tracks and the highway. Both were very busy and noisy. I was disappointed in my first stay at a KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very disappointed to hear your chainsaw was stolen. We recommend that all personal items are locked up.
Jun 26, 2018
Sep 15, 2019
Nice place to stay
- John Bennett on Google
Sep 14, 2019
This KOA is located on a River, there are beautiful sites that back up to the river which was still running with some white water in mid-August. Our spot was shady and flat. There is a walking path to downtown from the RV Park. You can walk to the Lava Hot Springs and that is a must for relaxation. You also have a dog park on site for your little travelers. The park is well kept up, green lawn and flowers around. There is a train that does run across the road on the mountain side, it is really kind of interesting to watch it.
- nanaandgpabusch on Trip Advisor
Sep 14, 2019
We loved our little cabin!
- Kimberle Leeds'Cardona on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.