Lava Hot Springs KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2018
Extremely attentive to customer needs and the grounds were clean and well shaded.
Jul 20, 2018
Jul 20, 2018
Had a great time. Friendly check in with Peggy. A little noise with trains but hey that's life. We will be back. Thanks.
Jul 20, 2018
The staff was so kind and generous to us. They were helpful and caring. The facilities are wonderful and kept up well. The only complaint is something no one can do anything about - the noise of the highway and train tracks. I couldn’t sleep at all. It’s sad cuz I loved it there. Maybe consider building a sound wall? I don’t know.
Jul 19, 2018
Over all very nice phone person making reservation was somwhat short with my wife when asking a question about cancel policy in person stafe was very good and helpful
Jul 19, 2018
High price, too close to very active train track and busy truck highway. Two locations about a mile apart you don't know which one has your reservation until you get there. Better choice would be at Pocatello.
Jul 18, 2018
I was at Lava for a family reunion. Everyone had a great time. We floated the river, swam at the pool, sat in the hot pots, ate lots of good food. I liked the variety of rental choices. Some did cabins, some did trailers, and other tented it. I rented the pavilion, which was nice. I just wish there would have been a better playground for the kids with shade. A little pricey for the bathroom cabins
Jul 18, 2018
Nice place lots to do.Although we felt like we were being watched the whole time staff would patrol the campground every 15 minutes.
Jul 18, 2018
We loved the KOA and booked our site for next July as we pulled out of the campground. Only criticism we had is that the picnic tables in the East campground really need to be updated. Almost everyone in our group got a sliver from the crappy table that was on site #88.
Jul 17, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
Great stay as always, love the new updated camp sites we are already looking forward to next years trip.
Jul 16, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
I completely enjoyed our stay. If there was one thing that needed attention, it would be the picnic table at our site. We received a few slivers from it.
Jul 16, 2018
We pulled into the park, we were met just as I was getting out of my truck with a camp host that guided us to our spot, said to come up to finish registering after we were settled. Super awesome and friendly service.!!! The small "C" store inside the KOA office had everything and more than you could ever want or need, customized to what people might need while visiting Lava Hot Springs.
Jul 16, 2018
Enjoy our stay every time we camp at your KOA. Only thing I don’t like about your campground is that it is always over run by people from Utah. Can’t understand why you let any person reserve a site one year in advance.
Jul 16, 2018
Unique
Excellent camp. Well maintained and very clean. Would return here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind review.
Jul 15, 2018
Trains and traffic were too much. A little courtesy warning about them might have been nice.
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
Really high price for 10 square feet of camping space. Facilities are nice though. The tents from the other camspits were less than 6 feet away.
Jul 14, 2018
This time we stayed on the upper campground and had grandkids with us. Very much liked access to the playground, and the nice restrooms and shelter nearby. Took advantage of the tubing on the Portneuf and had a great time. Just watch for rocks and limbs.
Jul 14, 2018
Jul 14, 2018
Jul 13, 2018
This is our 3rd trip to Lava Hot Springs and each time we have stayed at the KOA. Everyone is nice and it’s super close to town. We always have a wonderful time.
Jul 12, 2018
There's nothing on the website that advises campers that the sites are within 50 feet of a major highway with semi trucks coming down hill with their exhaust brakes on, also 50 feet on the other side of the highway there are train tracks with trains running night and day and at $89.00 it's rather steep price. We left 1 paid for day 1 day early due to the noise, do plan accordingly !!!!!!
Jul 12, 2018
Great cabin, but for the amount we payed the pillows could have been better. They were flat like pancakes!!
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 12, 2018
The campground is nice but the noise from the train screaching wheels is annoying. We asked for a campsite further from the tracks and they found one for us.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
Love this spot I will always make my reservations here.
Jul 10, 2018
Excellent service. Beautiful campground with lots of shade.
Jul 10, 2018
great
Jul 09, 2018
Very Very clean
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
I had a great stay until the last two days when I got neighbors who blasted music and partied until 2am! I called the office but there is no way to get in touch with anyone after 10pm. We left a day early due to that. If that would not have happened I would have given the park a 10/10.
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
These sites are tiny and ridiculously expensive! We like the activities at Lava but will never stay at this KOA again.
Jul 09, 2018
The campground was very clean, lots of trees and shade. The bathroom and facilities were clean and well maintained and the staff was awesome!
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
It was great, I would recommend changing the check out time at 12 instead of 11. Other than that everything was great.
Jul 09, 2018
Shaded sites with green grass. Clean bathrooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean campground. Right by the river. Short walk into the little quaint town. Easy to get to. If you have a large trailer or RV I recommend that you take exit 47 and not exit 44 as Google maps says. Plus it's just a much easier direct route to the campground, and there's a gas station off of exit 47 for trucks and trailers
Jul 09, 2018
Always a great stay. The campground is always impeccable, green, well maintained and the staff is wonderful, all of them, very helpful and with a smile on their faces. A lot of amenities. too. The Portneuf River is beautiful and a lot of fun. The springs are at walking distance. I recommend it. Thank you.
Jul 09, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 09, 2018
The campground is clean ,staff was courteous only one issue with showers not enough hooks to hang clothes and no bench to sit on if you have a handicap we loved the trees and proximity to the water parks.
Jul 08, 2018
Sep 15, 2019
Nice place to stay
- John Bennett on Google
Sep 14, 2019
This KOA is located on a River, there are beautiful sites that back up to the river which was still running with some white water in mid-August. Our spot was shady and flat. There is a walking path to downtown from the RV Park. You can walk to the Lava Hot Springs and that is a must for relaxation. You also have a dog park on site for your little travelers. The park is well kept up, green lawn and flowers around. There is a train that does run across the road on the mountain side, it is really kind of interesting to watch it.
- nanaandgpabusch on Trip Advisor
Sep 14, 2019
We loved our little cabin!
- Kimberle Leeds'Cardona on Google