Lava Hot Springs KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 12, 2018
Jul 12, 2018
The campground is nice but the noise from the train screaching wheels is annoying. We asked for a campsite further from the tracks and they found one for us.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
Love this spot I will always make my reservations here.
Jul 10, 2018
Excellent service. Beautiful campground with lots of shade.
Jul 10, 2018
great
Jul 09, 2018
Very Very clean
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
I had a great stay until the last two days when I got neighbors who blasted music and partied until 2am! I called the office but there is no way to get in touch with anyone after 10pm. We left a day early due to that. If that would not have happened I would have given the park a 10/10.
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
These sites are tiny and ridiculously expensive! We like the activities at Lava but will never stay at this KOA again.
Jul 09, 2018
The campground was very clean, lots of trees and shade. The bathroom and facilities were clean and well maintained and the staff was awesome!
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
It was great, I would recommend changing the check out time at 12 instead of 11. Other than that everything was great.
Jul 09, 2018
Shaded sites with green grass. Clean bathrooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean campground. Right by the river. Short walk into the little quaint town. Easy to get to. If you have a large trailer or RV I recommend that you take exit 47 and not exit 44 as Google maps says. Plus it's just a much easier direct route to the campground, and there's a gas station off of exit 47 for trucks and trailers
Jul 09, 2018
Always a great stay. The campground is always impeccable, green, well maintained and the staff is wonderful, all of them, very helpful and with a smile on their faces. A lot of amenities. too. The Portneuf River is beautiful and a lot of fun. The springs are at walking distance. I recommend it. Thank you.
Jul 09, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 09, 2018
The campground is clean ,staff was courteous only one issue with showers not enough hooks to hang clothes and no bench to sit on if you have a handicap we loved the trees and proximity to the water parks.
Jul 08, 2018
Jul 08, 2018
Great location nice park but don’t show up early as women who checks you in is very obnoxious and try’s her best to make you feel unwelcome since ck in is at 3pm I came in at 1pm after a 5 hour drive and even though the premium site which I booked was clean and clear she was only interested in letting me know that I should have waited 2 hours to ck in. As a VIP customer this person needs to go
Jul 08, 2018
Wish you had more than one restroom/shower building for such a large KOA but a very nice campground
Jul 08, 2018
You must have put us in one of your 2 worst campsites. We had no picnic table or connection to a disposal like others. We asked to be allowed to stay at the campsite we accidentally set up in (next to our assigned one) but were not allowed, as if assignments can't be reassigned. You called about some wood by the fire pit when you could/ve come talk to me about it, saving me phone roaming charges.
Jul 08, 2018
4th of July 2018 so crowded. Nice store. Very nice store staff and welcoming checkin. Right on the river which was fun. Also next to the freight trains which honk all day and night. We were glad to get a full service space but expensive$65 . Not much room between spaces . Only 2 showers and 3 bathrooms.
Jul 08, 2018
I was there for July 4th and is a beautiful place, definitely I will came back,
Jul 08, 2018
Unique
Good clean campground with nice amenities and an awesome location
Jul 07, 2018
Always a nice park to stay in! Our annual summer trip is Lava and this KOA. See you next year.
Jul 07, 2018
Unique
Jul 07, 2018
Jul 07, 2018
t was good minus noisy neighbors entering are site and worrying about them using a bb gun in their site
Jul 07, 2018
A little pricy! Cabin was very nice. Office personal was wonderful!
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Great people, very nice..Enjoyed our stay
Jul 05, 2018
Unique
This place is Awsome . Please teach the young boys at reception to show some curtesy with a small smile. We are customers not collection agents.
Jul 05, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Just don't forget anything!! We had to purchase a hose and pressure regulator for the water supply. $55 later we were in business. That's right... if you forget anything, you can expect at least a 100% mark-up over retail for any item you find yourself without. I'm all for business being able to make a profit... but this kind of gouging hits below the belt. OUCH!!
Jul 04, 2018
The KOA was excellent and the staff was great. The only reason I dropped the rating is that no where did the literature mention that we would be next to a busy freeway with freight trains going almost continuously all night long. I was able to sleep once I got used to the sound, plus I had been hiking all day and was exhausted, but my family could not. I wish we had known in advance.
Jul 04, 2018
By far one of the best KOA’s we’ve stayed at.
Jul 04, 2018
There was nothing wrong with the campground if it had been in a different location. But being right by the highway and some very busy train tracks made it so nobody slept well. The staff was friendly and the campground clean, but with the high price I would expect something better. I wouldn't stay there again.
Jul 03, 2018
Wonderful location and staff; very accomodating and on the ball.
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Great stay with extended family for a reunion. Camp spot and facilities were fantastic. Our only complaint is the "nickle and diming" charges for everything. We have 4 kids and were charged extra for each kid. Extra, for cars, extra for tents, extra, extra extra. Holy cow. To spend $68.00 per night for a tent spot is really steep, especially since our total group rented so many spots.
Jul 02, 2018
Nice campgrounds, but extremely close together. Party campground next to a tubing river. Staff great at keeping campers quiet and I know it was a tough job. Pet policies need to be enforced, got tired of cleaning up after the neighbors dog. Area is beautiful but nothing to do or see unless you are tubing or swimming.
Jul 02, 2018
What a relaxing and beautiful vacation. Campground is right on the river and yes, train tracks are right across the street but we thought the train was great! Walk to town where there’s just the perfect amount of things to do with the family. We loved this KOA and would love to return!
Jul 01, 2018
We had a blast here. So much to do. Can't wait to come back.
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
If you like camping near a highway and railroad line, this is the place for you!! Did not care for the dirt/dusty roads inside the campground either. With all the money you make on charging for extra adults and children, I would think you could update this campground. WiFi inside the campground was not good either. We won't be staying here again!!!
Jul 14, 2019
I was pleasantly surprised. The new owner was awesome. Told my wife of the improvements he had planned. He even helped us out when we ran into a snag in the campground. Love this place, and will definitely be back again.
- Fred Jensen on Google
Jul 06, 2019
Cabins clean but made me kinda nervous where we slept.. the train on side of mountain made me feel uneasy... if you see it you will understand..lol
- CHARLES MARSH JR on Google
Jul 03, 2019
A lovely campground, and the location is very convenient. Not far from the Hot Pools, and a short walk through Lava to check out the cute shops they have in town. This is a nice place to get away, we will be back later this summer!!
- Teresa T on Trip Advisor