Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 02, 2018
Not a bad KOA, but far from the best. It is in the middle of nowhere, but not a bad drive to anywhere you want to go (like Lake Isabella). The pool was nice but no shade what so ever. Nice shady spots for the RV.
Aug 01, 2018
Although ok location, the site was dirty with plenty of cockroaches .. Too expensive for what you get
Aug 01, 2018
We were pleasantly surprised by the good atmosphere on the campsite and decided to book another night. It has a calming effect on people. We enjoyed your pancakes and use of the swimming pool.
Jul 31, 2018
Camping and place were good but the staf was not very helpful. We were totally ignored in the shop/ restaurant.
Jul 28, 2018
I expected more from a KOA campground. It was not clean. The restrooms were dirty and the trashbins were completely full. The service was good tough.
Jul 26, 2018
The bathroom showers were warned down, they had holes on the walls and the toilets dirty. On the men’s side.
Jul 25, 2018
Jul 25, 2018
The Friday night I've cream social was a hit with my children. The pool was very nice. The restrooms were maintained and clean the entire stay. My children enjoyed the splash pad. The overall campground was very clean. The playground was fun and enjoyable for my children as well. Very friendly/helpful staf We loved the pancake breakfast. It was a wonderful stay.
Jul 24, 2018
We had a wonderful stay. The camp hosts were kind and helpful. Great place to stay.
Jul 24, 2018
High five to Louise who helped us with our reservation!!
Jul 23, 2018
I enjoy staying in koa Lake Isabella
Jul 23, 2018
When I became overheated, the ladies in the pub were very helpful and caring until I felt better. The only disappointment was the clogged waste receptacle that had to be plunged.
Jul 23, 2018
Dog Friendly!!! There is a dog area HOWEVER please use it with caution as there are thorns and all 3 of my dogs pull their paws up to have them removed. Staff is very nice, liked the pancake breakfast on Sunday! Bathroom was clean but there was always water on the floor from people running from the pool. Area to wash dished. Advertised Wi-Fi however it was never up the 4 days we were there.
Jul 22, 2018
Jul 21, 2018
RV PARK/CAMPGROUND IS NOT PAVED. VERY DUSTY
Jul 21, 2018
Jul 20, 2018
It was good, but the laundry facilities should be more accessible to people instead of some not working and the hours are stupid. If I have laundry to do, I'm not waiting till 9am to begin and I would want to have the ability to wash clothes after 9pm. Tourists are sightseeing, not hanging out in the camping area all.day
Jul 17, 2018
-Excellent staff - we love the trees in our camp side - great bathrooms and swimming pool I’ll be coming back soon for sure!
Jul 17, 2018
Beautiful place. Highly recommend it
Jul 16, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
Had a great time here. This was our first time going to Lake Isabella with our trailer, it we had a great time. Pull-thru sites were easy to get into. Pool was clean and refreshing. The bathrooms were well maintained and clean. The only complaint that I could come up with was that the fire pits in some of the pull-thru sites are a little too close to the trailer. Other than that, great experience.
Jul 16, 2018
The staff is pleasant to deal with. Other than that, the place is dated and equipment is run down. There is no pizza place. The pub (if you can call it that) will throw in a frozen pizza. The pub (again i use this loosely) is run by the same person at the same time as they check people in, answer the phones and run the store. The arcade has no air and 75% of the games are broken. Don't do it!
Jul 16, 2018
Jul 14, 2018
We did not stay there. We called multiple times to cancel when our plans changed, were met with a full inbox until finally being able to leave a message. I sent an e-mail as well within the cancellation guidelines, but were still charged for the stay. We are not pleased.
Jul 14, 2018
Campsite was ok with good facilities. Pool was excellent and our kids loved it. Not much to see or do in the area if you walk by foot.
Jul 13, 2018
Lovely people.
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Very good staff but the place needs some mtce & clean up work. The recycle bin is too small & so are the garbage containers.
Jul 09, 2018
We loved the grounds and staff and amenities. However the old electrical system constantly provided low power which caused my EMS system to switch off power in order to avoid damage to my RVs electrical system.
Jul 09, 2018
A lot of kids,but it was quiet at night time.
Jul 09, 2018
Great experience! Loved our time!
Jul 09, 2018
Loved the shade, nice friendly host, lovely pool full of mom's and kids! A bit dusty (it is in a desert) and the sewer connection blocked up; not good, but avoided the mess by watching will dumping :).
Jul 08, 2018
Perfect for families. Been to a bunch of KOAs and this one is in our top 3! Will return for sure!
Jul 08, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Very run down Pool always cloudy Playground dangerous Would be nice if paved like other KOAs Expected more...spoiled with SD koa. Spaces larger than SD though. Hook ups far from where RV has to be parked. Splash area needs upgrade. Bathroom shower floor dirty standing water. Front desk didn't seem to know about spots went back n forth on wrong spots. Finally figured out she was looking
Jul 03, 2018
The campground was not kept up: trash all over, bathrooms/showers were gross and run down, pool was dirty and crowded, stairs near office had no lighting, raised platform at site had nails sticking out of it, no grass at all,
Jul 02, 2018
This is a nice campground in a nice area. I believe they could do a better job of eradicating the “goat’s head” thorns in the park. The unleashed dog area was extremely small and the dog run was locked off.
Jul 02, 2018
The place is not hygiene , restrooms are very bad
Jul 01, 2018
Handicap accomodations were non-exeistent. I also fell off the "stool" provided in the shower. It was broke. Water temp reversed, and handicap low flow shower head up high was only shower head available.
Jun 27, 2018
Dirty, dirt and debris everywhere. Run down facility. Power issues unattended to. Pool water nasty. Garbage truck parked near dog park! Goat heads from weeds prevalent.
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Nice campgrounds and helpful staff but the bathrooms were filthy, dead bugs all over the sinks and countertops. The showers did not drain, no water pressure and they were dirty. There was standing water all over the bathroom will not be staying there again. The one lady who works there needs help. She seemed to have to do everything by her. She was very professional and friendly but overworked.
Jun 26, 2018
Love staying at KOA's always lots to do!
Jun 25, 2018
The campground was ok. We were a little bummed that the lake was so far away, our fault I guess for not looking at a map...we assumed the Lake Isabella name meant it was close but we were wrong. Also we were a little disappointed at how busy the pool was not with campers but with visitors from the city. We paid for 3 nights but left a night early to find a campground near the lake or river.
Feb 18, 2020
The employee's are awesome! There's a splash pad for the kids and a pool! There's also a little store and bar for little necessities
- Rebecca Estrel on Google
Jan 29, 2020
Finally under new management! Wonderful staff and everything is being cleaned up and rejuvenated! Getting back to the family oriented koa!!!
- Shannon Green on Google
Jan 26, 2020
It's a great community service
- Billiegirl Woods-Hopkins on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.