Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA Reviews
Jan 12, 2020
We came for a funeral. When We checked in to our pet friendly cabin, we found that a mouse had probably been there before us. The staff were apologetic and upgraded us to the super delux cabin which was much nicer. We were very comfortable. Great accomodations..We werent there long enough to enjoy the grounds..but we would definitely consider coming again.
Jan 04, 2020
I’ve been at this KOA many times, but this time I noticed everything was much cleaner and better organized. The lady that checked me in was so nice and lovely! Looking forward to our next trip!!
Dec 31, 2019
Loved our whole trip, our entire experience, however, I was double charged for my stay, I’m not mad or anything, it’s just an inconvenience. Maybe better WiFi to help the employees, who were incredibly nice. Especially Sadie! Very very helpful and kind!
Dec 31, 2019
Loved this KOA spot! We had a deluxe cabin (which was great). My only suggestion is that there should be some lights outside for the evening (yes flash lights help but more light is needed)
Dec 24, 2019
Dec 17, 2019
They certainly took care of us. We were placed 3 cabins down from our friends and they upgraded us so we could be close. Super friendly, great facilities, awesome stay. Thank you!
Dec 02, 2019
The employees were great. Each one was very friendly and helpful. We were put in a smaller cabin than we reserved. But it ended up being okay.
Dec 02, 2019
We stayed in the largest cabin at $220 a night. Both queen size beds were old and lumpy and the frames were broken, held up by bricks! I don't think the sheets had been washed either. The master bathroom toilet was constantly running after each flushing. The faucet at the kitchen sink was super loose. The futon in the living room was screwed in the open position. Very unhappy.
Nov 25, 2019
Ditch in front of our steps full of water, heaters did not work, only one blanket, fire sensor beeped every forty seconds starting at midnight and all night and next day, Had microwave next to sign that says cannot use to prepare food...glasses and silverware were dirty and had to be rewashed..the dinner table was so sticky that we had to wash it several times and still felt sticky. We left early!
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
I stayed in the "big" cabin. Last time I was told I had to move cabins because they were renovating it. Well, nothing has changed. Added a different bed that was on concrete blocks. Still dirty. No trash can, paper towels or soap in any bathroom. very disappointing. Megan & Sadie were awesome and took good care of us. Cabin is DEFINITELY NOT worth $210.00 a night. I left it cleaner
Oct 15, 2019
All staff are very friendly
Oct 11, 2019
Shower water temperature kept changing from very hot to very cold. $25 a night cleaning fee seems a bit unreasonable. Cabin very run down and mattress extremely soft and bumpy.
Oct 08, 2019
I love everything about this campground! Awesome, friendly staff, great amenities and location..
Oct 01, 2019
We appreciate our stay at your KOAkabin tank you !
Sep 30, 2019
Excellent, thank you KOA.
Sep 17, 2019
Enjoyed our stay! Clean and staff was friendly. Too bad that movie night and pancake breakfast was not happening.
Sep 16, 2019
Coming for 5 yrs & we used to love it, but since ownership change gone downhill. Pool area absolutely infested w/yellow jackets patio & pool. Still advertising ice cream, movie & pancake breakfast online & in prints but they don't do anymore - did ice cream only because some folks complained. They added a cleaning fee on top of cabin rental fee - aren't you supposed to clean it anyways!
Aug 19, 2019
Good prices. Good store and pool area. Movie night on Saturday was great. The new manger Hope seemed to be a hard worker and all the staff was real helpful
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 03, 2019
This is one of those unique KOA that’s in extremes. Hot during summer and cold during winter and spring. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Amenities di come in really handy. Kamp Kitchen, pool and bar/restaurant. We stayed in a one of those cabins and A/C is quiet acceptable and can be comfortable. All in all our stay went well as expected from KOA.
Jul 20, 2019
Reservation was for 8 people in a deluxe cabin. The gave me keys to a cabin that only sleeps 6. By the time everything was straightened out we were not able to get into our cabin until 5 pm. The area where we are all supposed to cook was a dirty. There was a fry pan was scrambled egg in the sink. But the cabin we had was very clean and fit our family very well. Wish it had bigger porch�
Jul 19, 2019
This is probably the BEST KOA I have stayed in yet. It has such a fun atmosphere and so much for kids to do. Loved it here!!
Jul 19, 2019
Staff was friendly. Bath house had code but both doors propped open, not clean at all and had lots of dead gnats laying around. We have traveled across country staying with KOA and this is the first one in this condition.
Jul 09, 2019
I really enjoyed the KOA. We will more than likely be back. The grounds need to be cleaned up of all the dead plants in planters or just removed. They would kill all the bugs in the bathroom and leave them over night instead of just cleaning them up. Check the toilet paper before the office closed for the night. That kind of thing would really improve the feel of the camp.
Jul 09, 2019
We left before even spending one night due to the 7.1 earthquake. Which has nothing to do with the KOA. However the cabin we had rented definitely needed some repairs. I do not feel it was worth the money that I spent..(even though we didn’t stay) we had been to this KOA on multiple occasions but they have changed management and not for the better. Pool furniture was broken.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
I stayed in 1 of the 3 cabins + 4 rv spaces our troops rented for the weekend. Upon arrival (after asking what time they would be) they informed me that there would be NO ice cream social & NO pancake breakfast on Sunday. I asked why and they said they just where not doing it. You had over 38 people very unhappy. The troops had nothing for kids/adults to eat on Sunday. So disappointed in this KOA.
Jun 21, 2019
We enjoyed our time and the pool was awesome.
Jun 10, 2019
Very disappointed in the cleanliness of the Deluxe cabin.We paid a $25 cleaning fee before arriving to the KOA, but do not understand the fee when the cabin was very dirty.We spent the first 20 min.sweeping all of the hair, dust, and dirt from the floors.The bed sheets were dirty.We think that when they put the new bedding on that the bedspread was on the dirty floor making the white sheets dirty.
May 29, 2019
I have never been to a KOA that had an onsite tavern before! Interesting. Beautiful area, just too cold for a tent site, but the cabin was adequate for myself.
May 07, 2019
Fun, relaxing stay. Clean camp cabins and facilities. Will come back again.
Apr 24, 2019
Most disappointed, An extra $25.00 put on the cost of my stay... cleaning fee.... really!!! No indication of it when I reserved the stay. Bathrooms and showers need some work. Maybe the 25 bucks they hit me for can go towards it.
Apr 18, 2019
We had a lovely time and we welcome any time we can come back. We enjoyed visiting Lake Isabell area, Kernville and Johnson bridge. Getting supplies from KOA store.
Apr 17, 2019
AVOID! Very small plots for tents RVs and cabins. Nothing to do! If you planning your visit between mid October through mid May - pool, Splash zone for kids are closed. No renting bicycles, no Jumping pillows, playground is super old with screws and nails sticking out. Not kept well: potted plants are dying with espoused root balls. Dog run is blocked by giant weeds. We cut our visit short.
Mar 30, 2019
My two sons and myself rented a cabin overnite. The cabin was clean. The staff are super friendly. The restrooms are clean. I really enjoyed our stay. We r coming back.
Mar 27, 2019
This site is wonderful but next time I'll come during the summer or fall
Mar 25, 2019
Under “new management” is a joke. I stay here a couple times a year and was treated like crap. After you guys change my cabin after booking it, not telling me I can’t bring my dog (I’ve stayed in all the cabins and had my dog everyone). Only thing changed around the property is 47 signs saying quiet time. Sad to see they don’t care about their regulars. Kinda felt like a joke
Mar 16, 2019
very clean and neat staff was very friendly and helpful great directions
Mar 11, 2019
this was 2nd stay at KOA at Isabella, and I will be back for sure~
Mar 06, 2019
Feb 24, 2019
The cabin was clean and the heat worked very well, which was important since it snowed during our stay. We just wish we had been there in summer to enjoy some of the kids‘ activities.
Feb 20, 2019
Great place. No stove or frying pans in bigger cabins. They do have a fridge and a microwave. Cute and clean.
Feb 20, 2019
Everything was very tidy and clean, including the bathroom and showers. The heater worked so much better than I expected since it was very cold out. We were nice and warm. The women who work there are very nice. Woke up in the morning to a view of snow covered mountains, as it had snowed overnight. Nice stay.
Feb 18, 2019
Feb 05, 2019
Love the scenery. This is a little out of the way but it is worth it. And how many KOAs has a bar? This one does! Staff is friendly.
Feb 01, 2019
We enjoyed the Kamping Kabin we used. It was somewhat confusing when making my reservation in differentiating which Deluxe Kabin we had ordered. We initially had need of the larger deluxe with room for six, and thought we had ordered it. We got the Kabin that had room for four. Fortunately, we had two who could not join us, and the smaller Kabin we obtained worked.
Jan 09, 2019
Clean and lovely cabins. We stayed right next to the playground and volleyball area. Everything was easily accessible. The hosts were very kind and accommodating.
Jan 06, 2019
Is very nice we like it maybe next time we come back on summer time on winter is very cold we don't join much but is very nice place
Jan 05, 2019
They over booked the cabin I had requested, but to make up for it they provided smaller cabin free of charge next to my sisters cabin for the day I was scheduled to arrive, next day I moved to the bigger one also got a free night due to the number of days staying.
Jan 10, 2020
Wooowhooo BuckaRoo lol
- eddie sanchez on Google
Dec 30, 2019
Was clean and we'll maintained.
- Jongwoo Shin on Google
Dec 28, 2019
A decent campgrounds with old but ok restrooms / showers. Store had very little RV supplies so not 5 stars. If you rent a cabin for $85 they charge another $10 for bed linens so bring your own. No restroom in cabins either.
- Mike Hilgendorf on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.