Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2018
On our way to backpacking in Sequoia National Forest and it was getting dark so we dropped in without a reservation and were nicely accomodated. Nice facilities and super staff. Thanks!
Aug 06, 2018
Great location to see many local attractions including the 100 giants. Would have gave it a 5 except our dog was chased three times by other dogs not on leashes. You need to enforce your rules.
Aug 06, 2018
My husband and dogs stayed here for 2 nights and this is our third time staying. The staff is always very nice and the RV spaces are roomy and shaded with big trees. They provide a lot of amenities and activities, cold beer in the bar, plenty of items in the store in case you forget anything, and we also enjoyed the pool. The ice cream night, movie night, and pancake breakfast were also a plus.
Aug 05, 2018
Lovely site and GREAT people! Gate could have been a little wider, tho.
Aug 05, 2018
It was a very wonderful cabin. Great for all 6 of us, 4 humans and 2 furry ones. Nice and cool and the pool was great. Lots of fun walking around with the dogs and a great play area for them. I would love to stay there again. And know my kids loved looking for stones and bones in the play area.
Aug 04, 2018
I expected a little more for the money. The people were nice enough, but everything just seemed a little run down.
Aug 04, 2018
Superbe camping, magnifiquement équipé et décoré, on est en plein far-Ouest !
Aug 04, 2018
Location was good, but common area was not well managed. It was very dirty in the bathroom and papers were not there long time. Very short staffed.
Aug 03, 2018
None of the amenitiea that were listed on there website were available. Wifi pool market game room all closes early didnt work or were just closes off
Aug 02, 2018
Not a bad KOA, but far from the best. It is in the middle of nowhere, but not a bad drive to anywhere you want to go (like Lake Isabella). The pool was nice but no shade what so ever. Nice shady spots for the RV.
Aug 02, 2018
Aug 01, 2018
Although ok location, the site was dirty with plenty of cockroaches .. Too expensive for what you get
Aug 01, 2018
We were pleasantly surprised by the good atmosphere on the campsite and decided to book another night. It has a calming effect on people. We enjoyed your pancakes and use of the swimming pool.
Aug 01, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
It was awesome!!!
Jul 31, 2018
Camping and place were good but the staf was not very helpful. We were totally ignored in the shop/ restaurant.
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
Fun place about 2 and a half miles from the lake. Friendly staff. Amenities are old but it works.
Jul 30, 2018
Wonderful staff. Clean lots of things for the kids. Would stay again
Jul 28, 2018
Usually a great trip for our family... we come every year. This year it was really bad - cabin had several broken/issues and we had to go to office repeatedly to get someone to even respond. We come mid week so it’s less busy - but this year they seemed to be running a social club out of the pool with parties and summer camps - made my kids not want to even leave the cabin. New owners maybe? Sad
Jul 28, 2018
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. The inventory list was out of date, many things were missing. Decor and furniture were old and some were broken. Dishes were not clean. House in general was not very clean, but bathrooms and beds were ok. We asked for a quiet cabin and got one at the street (but it was main season and very well booked). Conclusion: we were not very happy with our stay, but it was ok.
Jul 28, 2018
I expected more from a KOA campground. It was not clean. The restrooms were dirty and the trashbins were completely full. The service was good tough.
Jul 28, 2018
Jul 27, 2018
My family had a great visit! We enjoyed the pool, panning activity, and the friendliness of the staff. The showers were clean and facilities cleaned daily. The kids had a fun time at the playground and splash pad. The store had a wide variety of items for purchase, everything we needed and forgot we needed. If we were local, this KOA would be our go-to camping spot!
Jul 26, 2018
The bathroom showers were warned down, they had holes on the walls and the toilets dirty. On the men’s side.
Jul 25, 2018
Jul 25, 2018
The Friday night I've cream social was a hit with my children. The pool was very nice. The restrooms were maintained and clean the entire stay. My children enjoyed the splash pad. The overall campground was very clean. The playground was fun and enjoyable for my children as well. Very friendly/helpful staf We loved the pancake breakfast. It was a wonderful stay.
Jul 24, 2018
I stayed in the deluxe cabin number 57 and it was far from deluxe. First, the beds horribly hard, I had to sleep on my lounge chair in the cabin. There were no cooking utensils although you state that there’s no cooking in the cabin however you should still supply more than just 4 plates 4 bowls 4 spoons snd 4 forks, i.e. strainer, serving bowls etc. Staff was very nice & we enjoyed the playgrou
Jul 24, 2018
The facilities were nice and the theme was fun. The kids really enjoyed the swimming pool, but their favorite thing was the toads that they found by the kitchen after dark.
Jul 24, 2018
Jul 24, 2018
We had a wonderful stay. The camp hosts were kind and helpful. Great place to stay.
Jul 24, 2018
High five to Louise who helped us with our reservation!!
Jul 23, 2018
I enjoy staying in koa Lake Isabella
Jul 23, 2018
When I became overheated, the ladies in the pub were very helpful and caring until I felt better. The only disappointment was the clogged waste receptacle that had to be plunged.
Jul 23, 2018
Small cabin was great, air conditioning was much appreciated with 100 degree heat, made sleeping more comfortable, good price Free Ice cream on Friday and Pancakes on Sunday was a big plus
Jul 23, 2018
Dog Friendly!!! There is a dog area HOWEVER please use it with caution as there are thorns and all 3 of my dogs pull their paws up to have them removed. Staff is very nice, liked the pancake breakfast on Sunday! Bathroom was clean but there was always water on the floor from people running from the pool. Area to wash dished. Advertised Wi-Fi however it was never up the 4 days we were there.
Jul 23, 2018
Nice and clean KOA. On the small side, but that's not a big deal at all. A short drive to the lake, and a bit longer drive to the mouth of the Kern river. Air Conditioner was a definite PLUS!! Kids enjoyed the lizards in the daytime and the toads at night. Will keep this place in mind next time we're in the area.
Jul 23, 2018
The Kampground was as expected with some minor issues. Main issue - quality of the bathrooms. We don't expect a 5 star clean especially with the uncaring guests who trash the bathrooms without regard for others. However, drains in the shower stalls were clogged causing standing water and unsanitary conditions. The management and employees were incredibly friendly and helpful!!!
Jul 23, 2018
I did not appreciate the loud music played by someone else there. I asked them to turn it down, they did not. The staff didn't seem to care either since it wasn't "quiet hours". People didn't respect others when it came to noise - they weren't the only people playing loud music. People screaming over each other - if you turned the music down, you could maybe hear!
Jul 23, 2018
Everyone was extremely friendly! The cabin we stayed in was so cute and the air conditioner was perfect for the heat. Loved the pancakes in the morning and the friendly people serving them! Great place!!
Jul 22, 2018
Clean air condition cabin. Friendly helpful staff. Our family had a good time here.
Jul 22, 2018
I thought Tammy was very welcoming and helpful. The cabin was super clean and we'll kept, my only complaints is the shower could not stay at a comfortable temperature. Every minute temp went to hot then too cold continuously. WiFi ip address no connection occurred on two nights, WiFi worked ok only the first night.
Jul 22, 2018
Jul 21, 2018
RV PARK/CAMPGROUND IS NOT PAVED. VERY DUSTY
Jul 21, 2018
The Deluxe Cabin was more than we expected, clean, well stocked, beautifully decorated, comfortable. Pool hours were great, pool needs minor cleaning, child area slippery but probably only because it's used so much. Family also loved the Pub and General Store -- people at the desk were really nice! Thanks much.
Jul 21, 2018
Jul 20, 2018
It was good, but the laundry facilities should be more accessible to people instead of some not working and the hours are stupid. If I have laundry to do, I'm not waiting till 9am to begin and I would want to have the ability to wash clothes after 9pm. Tourists are sightseeing, not hanging out in the camping area all.day
Jul 19, 2018
The cabin was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We realized at about 8pm that our light didn’t work and the lady in the office gave us a lantern and batteries to use which worked out great.
Jul 18, 2018
Staff was friendly however the KOA is in desperate need of an overhaul. We tent camped for 3 nights then due to the overwhelming heat moved into a small one room cabin and “a/c” wasn’t working well and the overhead light wasn’t working.
Mar 04, 2020
Stayed here 3 weeks in a row . Great staff and a cool little bar their
- Sam Mcgowen on Google
Feb 18, 2020
The employee's are awesome! There's a splash pad for the kids and a pool! There's also a little store and bar for little necessities
- Rebecca Estrel on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.