Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2018
Quaint, clean cabin. Clean pool. Friendly helpful staff. The kids participated in the ice cream social Fri night and watched the movie Sat night. The general store had the bbq supplies we needed. It was really hot in mid Aug, and the AC in the cabin was not quite sufficient for the size of the larger cabin, but it took the edge off in the master. The bunkbeds and loft areas were still warm.
Aug 20, 2018
This is my first KOA stay. Some of the family that stayed was their first time camping. In short the staff was very friendly, accommodating, and went out of their way to serve us. My kids thought that the bathrooms were clean and appreciated all the immenities. Some of the sites are small so get in early to get a better choice and the Kern is not in walking distance. Perfect cell reception.
Aug 16, 2018
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Wish it had showers in the campgrounds. Had to leave after 2 nights although we had 7 days just because there were no showers. I believe the website it had showers but soon found out there was none. It would have been an enjoyable time.
Aug 13, 2018
Nice facility with friendly and helpful staff
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
The campgrounds were so well maintained, the convenience store well stocked and the staff was amazingly helpful!. We loved how clean the cabins were, how organized the site is and all of the fun things there were to do onsite. The entire family enjoyed the Ice Cream Social, Pancake breakfast and everything else that this site had to offer. Thanks to the staff for being so friendly!
Aug 13, 2018
thought bevor coming that there is a lake access, but it is not. Nice staff and service
Aug 13, 2018
We stayed in the new smaller cabins. They were well built and the AC inside held up to the 100 degree weather. The pool was OK and was over clorinated. The facility was good for the location. Would visit again.
Aug 13, 2018
Staff very friendly. Trash overflowing. Bathrooms dirty. Camp spots primitive. Not well staffed. Very hot, electrical hook-up was only 30 amps. We could not run out air conditioner. Other KOA we have stayed in were a 5 star. This was a 2 star. Very disappointed basted on the night fee.
Aug 12, 2018
Pool was closed and attendant did not notify us before checkin (even after talking with her about the pool). Laundry closed at 7pm, with a line of people waiting for it. Overall just really marginal location, no attractions at the campground, and did not feel like the splurge that we had expected it to be on our two week trip of actual camping.
Aug 12, 2018
Bad costumer service
Aug 12, 2018
The campground has nice amenities, but I think they need more help. Our checkin process was awkward - we were sent to an occupied cabin at first. The bathrooms ran out of toilet paper - completely. The pool looked nice, and the store was well stocked.
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
I had a very much appreciated shaded site. It was shaded by two big and thick mulberries all day long. The site had water and electricity. The electricity was cut a few hours before my checkout. This was particularly annoying as I was trying to take care of some business on my laptop, which was plugged in. For this reason I wasn't able to finish. Shower clogged, and a little dirty.
Aug 10, 2018
Friendly staff. The north sites had goat heads (ground thrones) that made staying there difficult. The wind blew everyday and the dust and trash blew into the north sites. Lots of red ants. General maintenance is rather lacking. Might have been a great campground in its day but not worth the money charged per night now.
Aug 08, 2018
Tres apprécier les services offert
Aug 08, 2018
WiFi was bad :(
Aug 08, 2018
Campground is in great surrounding, not far from hiking trails and fishingspots. Facilities are worn out bit. Especially when groups are there, campground rules should be enforced better and restrooms cleaned more frequently . People may shortcut across sites next to bathrooms and damage your drain hose (when it's dark). This happened to us, while having a site directly next to the men's bathroom.
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
On our way to backpacking in Sequoia National Forest and it was getting dark so we dropped in without a reservation and were nicely accomodated. Nice facilities and super staff. Thanks!
Aug 06, 2018
Great location to see many local attractions including the 100 giants. Would have gave it a 5 except our dog was chased three times by other dogs not on leashes. You need to enforce your rules.
Aug 06, 2018
My husband and dogs stayed here for 2 nights and this is our third time staying. The staff is always very nice and the RV spaces are roomy and shaded with big trees. They provide a lot of amenities and activities, cold beer in the bar, plenty of items in the store in case you forget anything, and we also enjoyed the pool. The ice cream night, movie night, and pancake breakfast were also a plus.
Aug 05, 2018
Lovely site and GREAT people! Gate could have been a little wider, tho.
Aug 05, 2018
It was a very wonderful cabin. Great for all 6 of us, 4 humans and 2 furry ones. Nice and cool and the pool was great. Lots of fun walking around with the dogs and a great play area for them. I would love to stay there again. And know my kids loved looking for stones and bones in the play area.
Aug 04, 2018
I expected a little more for the money. The people were nice enough, but everything just seemed a little run down.
Aug 04, 2018
Superbe camping, magnifiquement équipé et décoré, on est en plein far-Ouest !
Aug 04, 2018
Location was good, but common area was not well managed. It was very dirty in the bathroom and papers were not there long time. Very short staffed.
Aug 03, 2018
None of the amenitiea that were listed on there website were available. Wifi pool market game room all closes early didnt work or were just closes off
Aug 02, 2018
Not a bad KOA, but far from the best. It is in the middle of nowhere, but not a bad drive to anywhere you want to go (like Lake Isabella). The pool was nice but no shade what so ever. Nice shady spots for the RV.
Aug 02, 2018
Aug 01, 2018
Although ok location, the site was dirty with plenty of cockroaches .. Too expensive for what you get
Aug 01, 2018
We were pleasantly surprised by the good atmosphere on the campsite and decided to book another night. It has a calming effect on people. We enjoyed your pancakes and use of the swimming pool.
Aug 01, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
It was awesome!!!
Jul 31, 2018
Camping and place were good but the staf was not very helpful. We were totally ignored in the shop/ restaurant.
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
Fun place about 2 and a half miles from the lake. Friendly staff. Amenities are old but it works.
Jul 30, 2018
Wonderful staff. Clean lots of things for the kids. Would stay again
Jul 28, 2018
Usually a great trip for our family... we come every year. This year it was really bad - cabin had several broken/issues and we had to go to office repeatedly to get someone to even respond. We come mid week so it’s less busy - but this year they seemed to be running a social club out of the pool with parties and summer camps - made my kids not want to even leave the cabin. New owners maybe? Sad
Jul 28, 2018
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. The inventory list was out of date, many things were missing. Decor and furniture were old and some were broken. Dishes were not clean. House in general was not very clean, but bathrooms and beds were ok. We asked for a quiet cabin and got one at the street (but it was main season and very well booked). Conclusion: we were not very happy with our stay, but it was ok.
Jul 28, 2018
I expected more from a KOA campground. It was not clean. The restrooms were dirty and the trashbins were completely full. The service was good tough.
Jul 28, 2018
Jul 27, 2018
My family had a great visit! We enjoyed the pool, panning activity, and the friendliness of the staff. The showers were clean and facilities cleaned daily. The kids had a fun time at the playground and splash pad. The store had a wide variety of items for purchase, everything we needed and forgot we needed. If we were local, this KOA would be our go-to camping spot!
Jul 26, 2018
The bathroom showers were warned down, they had holes on the walls and the toilets dirty. On the men’s side.
Jul 25, 2018
Jul 25, 2018
The Friday night I've cream social was a hit with my children. The pool was very nice. The restrooms were maintained and clean the entire stay. My children enjoyed the splash pad. The overall campground was very clean. The playground was fun and enjoyable for my children as well. Very friendly/helpful staf We loved the pancake breakfast. It was a wonderful stay.
Jan 26, 2020
It's a great community service
- Billiegirl Woods-Hopkins on Google
Jan 24, 2020
Very clean....helpful staff..has pool..and a mini-mart..love it!
- Wiley Anglin on Google
Jan 10, 2020
Wooowhooo BuckaRoo lol
- eddie sanchez on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.