Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 07, 2019
Fun, relaxing stay. Clean camp cabins and facilities. Will come back again.
May 05, 2019
May 03, 2019
Charming place.
May 02, 2019
We stayed here because we needed to take a shower and do laundry. We had a reservation, but did an after hours check in. We were left a map, but not the code for the bathrooms and laundry, meaning we couldn’t take a shower, do the laundry we needed, or even use the bathrooms. Waste of money. The dog walk area is also just a narrow strip of unmowed foxtails.
Apr 27, 2019
We stayed for one night In the tent area. The Staff was very friendly and the Campground was clean and we had a good stay.
Apr 27, 2019
Sensationell: this campground has a bar with 4 beers on tap. And the beers are very good. But :-( the bar closed at 6 pm
Apr 26, 2019
Very nice place, people were great!! too many flies, time of year thing!!
Apr 25, 2019
Park needs updating. It was hot and pool would have been nice. Staff was friendly.
Apr 24, 2019
Most disappointed, An extra $25.00 put on the cost of my stay... cleaning fee.... really!!! No indication of it when I reserved the stay. Bathrooms and showers need some work. Maybe the 25 bucks they hit me for can go towards it.
Apr 24, 2019
Arrived late, with reservations, and no note left on door with bath code, site number, etc. Very disappointing
Apr 21, 2019
Well maintained grounds and facility. Helpful and friendly staff. Great location.
Apr 20, 2019
No possibility to go to the lake. No swimming pool and on the website swimming pool had to be open. That's why I reserved this camp site!!! Campsite empty but no chose for the emplacement. Emplacement just in front of the garbitch which was full!!! Bar closed at 6pm!!! And that for the same price as a 5 star campsite in las Vegas where I am now. No more koa for me .
Apr 19, 2019
Nous avons été reçu merveilleusement bien part la patronne et toute l'équipe KOA. Nous avons beaucoup d'aide lors d'une réservation dans un autre KOA et l'annulation d'un autre. Personnes très généreuses et enthousiastes qui aiment faire un travail bien fait. Des gens qui savent ce que veut dire le service aux clients. Merci, nous le recommandons à tous.
Apr 18, 2019
We had a lovely time and we welcome any time we can come back. We enjoyed visiting Lake Isabell area, Kernville and Johnson bridge. Getting supplies from KOA store.
Apr 17, 2019
AVOID! Very small plots for tents RVs and cabins. Nothing to do! If you planning your visit between mid October through mid May - pool, Splash zone for kids are closed. No renting bicycles, no Jumping pillows, playground is super old with screws and nails sticking out. Not kept well: potted plants are dying with espoused root balls. Dog run is blocked by giant weeds. We cut our visit short.
Apr 13, 2019
The staff here were amazing. The grounds were clean and we absolutely loved our stay here!
Apr 09, 2019
Apr 06, 2019
Last minute booking in our way back west to the Bay Area during spring break with the kids. Great service, clean, welcoming and perfect for our family. Wish we could have stayed a little longer.
Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
Nice layout to the campground. Surrounded by high desert mountains at the east end of Lake Isabella, lots of birds in the nice shade trees. Fun decorations in the cowboy/western motif. Love the camper kitchen ramada. Looks like fun things for children—especially the spray tree and speedboat sand’box’! Hope to be back soon!
Apr 04, 2019
Mar 30, 2019
My two sons and myself rented a cabin overnite. The cabin was clean. The staff are super friendly. The restrooms are clean. I really enjoyed our stay. We r coming back.
Mar 29, 2019
Mar 27, 2019
This site is wonderful but next time I'll come during the summer or fall
Mar 26, 2019
Staff at check in were very helpful in choosing a site. The shower and bath room facilities were clean.
Mar 25, 2019
Under “new management” is a joke. I stay here a couple times a year and was treated like crap. After you guys change my cabin after booking it, not telling me I can’t bring my dog (I’ve stayed in all the cabins and had my dog everyone). Only thing changed around the property is 47 signs saying quiet time. Sad to see they don’t care about their regulars. Kinda felt like a joke
Mar 25, 2019
Mar 25, 2019
Nice and well kept. Very friendly staff. Good views of mountains.
Mar 20, 2019
Charmingly rustic with a western theme. New management is in the midst of upgrading and improving everything. 30amp hookups, roomy spaces, lots of trees for shade,a pool and even a bar that makes pizza on premise! If you’ve little ones they have a very cute kids play area and if your kids have four legs, a doggie area. By far the best thing here is the amazing staff!
Mar 20, 2019
We never saw the people caring for that KOA. But when we made the reservation they put us right on the highway side. Cars all night. They were pretty empty and could have put us in the back
Mar 16, 2019
very clean and neat staff was very friendly and helpful great directions
Mar 16, 2019
Shower were minimum. No place to hang clothes etc. (no hooks, stool, seat). Dog run was right next to neighboring property with their barking dogs lunging at us. Prop is literally on the hwy so traffic noise all night.
Mar 15, 2019
Clean raked sites and nice staff. It would be nice to have the store open longer. The dog park has shards of broken glass in the decomposed granite ground. That really needs to be addressed.
Mar 13, 2019
Great location, nice and peaceful especially if your trying to get away for the weekend.
Mar 11, 2019
this was 2nd stay at KOA at Isabella, and I will be back for sure~
Mar 06, 2019
Feb 25, 2019
It was great and the snow on Thursday February 21 was awesome!
Feb 24, 2019
The cabin was clean and the heat worked very well, which was important since it snowed during our stay. We just wish we had been there in summer to enjoy some of the kids‘ activities.
Feb 20, 2019
Great place. No stove or frying pans in bigger cabins. They do have a fridge and a microwave. Cute and clean.
Feb 20, 2019
Everything was very tidy and clean, including the bathroom and showers. The heater worked so much better than I expected since it was very cold out. We were nice and warm. The women who work there are very nice. Woke up in the morning to a view of snow covered mountains, as it had snowed overnight. Nice stay.
Feb 18, 2019
Feb 05, 2019
Love the scenery. This is a little out of the way but it is worth it. And how many KOAs has a bar? This one does! Staff is friendly.
Feb 02, 2019
Very nice facility and friendly staff. Nearby Audubon hiking trail. BUT, quite undesirable bathroom. Dressing area in shower stall had standing water, no mat, so hard to get dressed without soaking pant legs. Limited hooks, no bench so hard to keep stuff off floor. On departure morning, all 4 toilets were half flushed. Worst bathroom in 2 months of traveling. Told staff. Appreciated my comments
Feb 01, 2019
We enjoyed the Kamping Kabin we used. It was somewhat confusing when making my reservation in differentiating which Deluxe Kabin we had ordered. We initially had need of the larger deluxe with room for six, and thought we had ordered it. We got the Kabin that had room for four. Fortunately, we had two who could not join us, and the smaller Kabin we obtained worked.
Jan 16, 2019
Only complaint is there was no cable or school up.
Jan 09, 2019
Clean and lovely cabins. We stayed right next to the playground and volleyball area. Everything was easily accessible. The hosts were very kind and accommodating.
Jan 06, 2019
Is very nice we like it maybe next time we come back on summer time on winter is very cold we don't join much but is very nice place
Jan 05, 2019
They over booked the cabin I had requested, but to make up for it they provided smaller cabin free of charge next to my sisters cabin for the day I was scheduled to arrive, next day I moved to the bigger one also got a free night due to the number of days staying.
Jan 05, 2019
We just did one night, and it was a traveling through choice, not a destination in itself. That said the place was clean and seemed to have plenty of amenities. It is very close to the summer time lakeshore. Water spigot didn't work in morning, but may have been frozen.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.