Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 12, 2019
The management was great, very friendly, very accommodating, the campsites were very adequate, but some sites could use some tree trimming for larger units. The pool while satisfactory, could use a good cleaning. Of note, this part of California is rural and fairly arid, so expect some wind & dusty conditions. All in all we enjoyed our stay. The surrounding area offers hiking, boating, ohv & mtb.
Sep 10, 2019
Very nice,friendly employees. Nice atmosphere. Very much enjoyed it.
Sep 09, 2019
Great pool (7 ft deep in deepest end), cool ranch style look, easy to locate & bonus has a little bar on site.
Sep 05, 2019
Worst KOA ever. All dirt lot, no kid activites, horrible manager that took it upon herself to park her trailer in a spot that my friend had reserved , therefore breaking up our group of 4. They closed the pool on Sunday and Monday during Labor Day weekend because they had to shock the pool. Easily could have done that at night to have the pool ready for Sunday since it was 105 degrees.
Sep 04, 2019
Place was just ok. We went for a major holiday weekend. It was about 100F° daily, the pool was closed 2 of the days we were there so the kids had little to do being the pool was a major reason we choose that spot during our visit to lake Isabella. Kids ended up just having to play catch with a ball by our camp along with the 4 other pull thru rv camps we occupied. They were told not to play there
Sep 03, 2019
Our reserved pull through spot was taken by the new manager. We were never notified prior to our arrival. We book this months ago and had 4 other groups that also reserved PT spots. This KOA is not well kept & the pool was out of service all day on Sunday and Monday. It wasn’t the fault of the KOA but there was no other activities for the kids. Our kids was not allowed to play catch in shapes ar
Sep 03, 2019
The staff was very welcoming! A lot of fun amenities!
Sep 03, 2019
We had a nice visit to your area
Aug 29, 2019
Thanks for giving us a nice shady spot! Friendly service.
Aug 26, 2019
Although the weather was hot and our AC failed us, it was an otherwise pleasant experience. The staff was excellent. The camp ground is basic but it worked well for us. We would have enjoyed it more if our AC (2019 coach) performed its task as designed.
Aug 21, 2019
Started out as great family vacation. Unfortunately it turned into the worst camping experience I have had with my family. The Manager of the campground threatened to make the last part of our stay unpleasant and she did. The other staffers were great, and could not help my family except to apologize that this Manager was know for this and the other Manager was out sick. No good publicity from us
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
Good prices. Good store and pool area. Movie night on Saturday was great. The new manger Hope seemed to be a hard worker and all the staff was real helpful
Aug 19, 2019
Staff was friendly and helpful. However, campground only had 30 amp electrical service available, and spaces were not very accommodating for large RVs. Also, in order to activate the wi fi, it required you create a profile. I tried doing this and it said I already had an account, but it would accept my pass word. I never did get on their wi fi.
Aug 18, 2019
My husband and I habe stayed here before and loved it. This was our 11 year old daughters first time camping and she had a blast! The staff was amazingly nice! Bathrooms are always clean despite the bugs which hey we are camping bugs are to be expected! The other campers are friendly and camp sites are clean and large!
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 11, 2019
Just one night passing through. Clean park would be great place for the grandkids. Lots of fun and cool things for them to do.
Aug 07, 2019
Nice level sites with shade in an area where shade is a precious commodity. Showers were clean but need updates. Laundry facilities were top notch. Pub on sote was an added bonus. Friendly and courteous staff. Nice pool. Any on-site “problems” were immediately addressed and rectified by management.
Aug 03, 2019
This is one of those unique KOA that’s in extremes. Hot during summer and cold during winter and spring. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Amenities di come in really handy. Kamp Kitchen, pool and bar/restaurant. We stayed in a one of those cabins and A/C is quiet acceptable and can be comfortable. All in all our stay went well as expected from KOA.
Jul 29, 2019
It was a great time and excellent experience. The staff are friendly and informative. Interacted with the kids My complaint is about the bathrooms in general. The cleanliness was terrible insect everywhere sink and shower the windows could use a little broom. We arrived at 2pm and the bathroom was being cleaned/serviced for 40 minutes, so we waited. Sign outside said cleaning time is 10am to 1
Jul 29, 2019
Unfriendly staff. There was a leak at our site and they took their time fixing it. It almost flooded our site. They advertised activities on their website, but were all cancelled for the weekend, then at the last minute they decided to have 1 of the events, the ice cream social, but didnt inform their campers. Pool was not maintained, it had a lot of water beetles, a sign of lack of chemicals
Jul 29, 2019
Loved it there
Jul 28, 2019
This is the dirtiest uncared for campground ever. Our air conditioner burned up because of low voltage. I would not recommend this place to znyone.
Jul 27, 2019
Liked the shady spot replacing our original assignment. Accessible shower stalls need grab bars.
Jul 26, 2019
Pool was not well maintained. Water was yellow. RV has dog pin full of dog feces 1 site away from us. Dog run had feces in it from people who didn't pick up after them. Bathrooms we're not clean. Dead bugs all over the counters so bad I thought it was part of the granite. Toilets didn't flush well. KOA Lake Isabella is no where close to the lake or white water rafting. I felt pictures lie
Jul 24, 2019
Website claimed ice cream social Friday, movie Saturday and pancake breakfast Sunday. Sign at registration said no ice cream social or pancake breakfast. Don’t know what happened to the movie. 3/4 of park had shaded spots like website said. Ours had a tree next to it. Minimal shade. Overall park was ok but not the quality that was described on website or what I expect from KOA.
Jul 22, 2019
The restrooms were dirty and disgusting. You should put a lot more efford in cleaning them. The site itself and the restaurant close to the campingground are nice.
Jul 21, 2019
Terribly dirty and dusty. Gravel or pavement would make a big difference. All dirt. Men’s room/showers were horribly filthy even after cleaning hours. Cobwebs, dirt on trays, hundreds of dead insects on vanity tops, toilets constantly running or did not flush. Filthy. Staff needs motivation or owners money to make greatly needed infrastructure improvements.
Jul 20, 2019
Reservation was for 8 people in a deluxe cabin. The gave me keys to a cabin that only sleeps 6. By the time everything was straightened out we were not able to get into our cabin until 5 pm. The area where we are all supposed to cook was a dirty. There was a fry pan was scrambled egg in the sink. But the cabin we had was very clean and fit our family very well. Wish it had bigger porch�
Jul 19, 2019
This is probably the BEST KOA I have stayed in yet. It has such a fun atmosphere and so much for kids to do. Loved it here!!
Jul 19, 2019
Staff was friendly. Bath house had code but both doors propped open, not clean at all and had lots of dead gnats laying around. We have traveled across country staying with KOA and this is the first one in this condition.
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 18, 2019
We stayed for three days and during that time the bathrooms were never cleaned! Thousands of dead mosquitoes everywhere and a simple wipe down would have been nice! Also, the camp kitchen was ill-kept, dirty and mostly broken gas ranges that had worn knobs. Hard to tell which ones were working because dials were wore down. All kid activities cancelled. What a shame!
Jul 17, 2019
V hot but the shade and the breeze under the cottonwood trees was just lovely. Staff helpful and friendly. Bathrooms need a bit of a facelift.
Jul 12, 2019
Very nice campground. The tent sites are huge, and have lots of shade. Clean bathrooms and a laundry room. The only thing that would make it better is if the store had more food stuff for sale.
Jul 11, 2019
Staff excellent, shame the stay was generally marred by some other campers being less than considerate; noisy and brash. The facilities were cleaned daily, but were often dirty with a lot of flys, compounded by inconsiderate other campers; rustic feel to site may not help people take care of facilities. The pool was good as was the shop, bar and pizza.
Jul 09, 2019
I really enjoyed the KOA. We will more than likely be back. The grounds need to be cleaned up of all the dead plants in planters or just removed. They would kill all the bugs in the bathroom and leave them over night instead of just cleaning them up. Check the toilet paper before the office closed for the night. That kind of thing would really improve the feel of the camp.
Jul 09, 2019
We left before even spending one night due to the 7.1 earthquake. Which has nothing to do with the KOA. However the cabin we had rented definitely needed some repairs. I do not feel it was worth the money that I spent..(even though we didn’t stay) we had been to this KOA on multiple occasions but they have changed management and not for the better. Pool furniture was broken.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
Too much dust, quads riding around camp, dumpster over flowing all week, bushes dead in buckets, no dog poop bags, we left a day early. The best part of the campground was the beautiful shade trees.
Jul 06, 2019
Dusty dirty and noisy. Great staff.
Jul 05, 2019
Well placed as far as seeing the area. Comfortable stay and great little pub. Friendly staff.
Jul 05, 2019
The campground was extremely dirty. We will not stay here again. The bathrooms have not been cleaned for a long time and it looks like garbage hasn’t been picked up for at least a week or two. There also is not ample space between the sites. Very disappointing! The only positive is that we only stayed one night.
Jul 04, 2019
Overall our stay was great, the only reason I’ve not given 5 * was due to the splash pad at the top of the park leaking causing a stream of water to run from the top of the RV park to the bottom. This caused the area outside our Van to become soaking wet. Toilets could have been cleaner, but no real big deal.
Jul 02, 2019
I stayed in 1 of the 3 cabins + 4 rv spaces our troops rented for the weekend. Upon arrival (after asking what time they would be) they informed me that there would be NO ice cream social & NO pancake breakfast on Sunday. I asked why and they said they just where not doing it. You had over 38 people very unhappy. The troops had nothing for kids/adults to eat on Sunday. So disappointed in this KOA.
Jul 01, 2019
As always, a great stay.
Jun 23, 2019
We enjoyed our stay very much. The ladies in the office were so nice to us during our emergency with our little dog. The only thing I would say is the need to have the dumpster emptied more often.
Jun 21, 2019
We enjoyed our time and the pool was awesome.
Jun 18, 2019
Great spot, great staff.
Jun 17, 2019
Office staff is very friendly. Maintenance staff not so much. Facilities are somewhat aging but seem better than when we visited two years ago. Pull thru site users might be frustrated if they hope for satellite tv reception due to large shade trees. But be glad they are there. Hot days! Trash dumpster area unsightly and it attracts flies. Plan on it being a bit rustic and you'll be happy!
Nov 10, 2019
Excellent
- Gilbert R on Google
Oct 30, 2019
Great facilities and great location
- Dalton Jackson on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.