Asheville East KOA Reviews

Experience a scenic mountain getaway while being close to the historic city of Asheville!

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jun 29, 2020
Was impressed by the cleaniness and maintenance of your place...very impressive...will be back soon!
Jun 29, 2020
The check in and check out was a breeze. We had three camp sights total between my family. We enjoyed the campsite, although it was far from the restrooms and showers. It would be good to have bathrooms at the end of site C. The bathrooms were not the cleanest and it didn’t seem that they took sanitation very serious. They should clean and disinfect high volume areas often throughout the day.
Jun 29, 2020
The stay was wonderful. One suggestion have guard gate. Would cut down on employee following people on. When we arrived I had a friend who was going to come for dinner. She showed while I was unloading. An employee followed her to the cabin and told us we needed to get her a hang tag. While trying to finishing unloading another employee came by. Finally went and got her a pass after we unloaded.
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Great campground to stay at. Plenty of amenities for a little getaway. We camped next to the river which also made for a nice view. The staff was very friendly and helpful also. They have a little shop with goodies in case you forgot some things on the way.
Jun 29, 2020
Love the clean bathrooms, newly remodeled. Very dog friendly. Great location- Between Mt. Mitchell and Lake Lure. Close to grocery store and a few restaurants. Seeme like there were more gravel sites, and I liked camping on the grassy sites better.
Jun 29, 2020
Clean, well kept campground. We would recommend!
Jun 29, 2020
Always enjoy staying there . Each time visit something is new or been updated. Sincerely Roxane and Chris
Jun 29, 2020
The bathrooms were clean when we got there. They seemed to get a little dirtier each day. It didn’t seem like anyone was touching them up. We had a great time! The best part was the lack of mosquitos. We stayed in June. I don’t know if they spray or if they just don’t have them in June, but it was nice for our daughter to not get any bits. She is a magnet for mosquitos. We will stay here aga
Jun 29, 2020
We love KOA our girls wish we could live there
Jun 29, 2020
Everything was amazing!
Jun 28, 2020
Great place to stay.
Jun 28, 2020
This is one of the best koas we have been to.
Jun 28, 2020
Very pleasant
Jun 28, 2020
Always enjoyable, love the river and accomadations
Jun 27, 2020
Fantastic facilities. It's fun.walking around the lakes. Very clean and modern.
Jun 27, 2020
We truly enjoyed our stay. The park is beautiful, and everyone is so friendly and helpful. Love all the water and the ducks!!
Jun 27, 2020
Great time. Our 1st time there but definitely want be the last.
Jun 27, 2020
Very nice campground. Didn’t go in the bathhouses, so can’t comment on them, but everything else was well kept. Looks like they spent a lot of money updating since my last stay several years back. My only complaints are small and operational choices: 1 - the pool says it closes at dusk, which is after sunset, but they closed at 8. 2 - can’t go around lake in rental 4 wheel bikes. good loc
Jun 27, 2020
Had a fantastic time, we will be back.
Jun 27, 2020
Best campground we’ve stayed at so far. We stayed in the A section the first week where the sites are close together. Moved to the D section on the water the second week, and it was like staying at a state park. Lots of nice scenic trails to walk on, a breakfast on the weekend, and great staff!! We will definitely stay there again when in the area. They set the bar high!
Jun 27, 2020
Great people,Staff very accommodating, sites could use a little maintenance. Patio area of site was rough with larger gravel. Most other sites had pea gravel which was much softer. Over all, great place.
Jun 26, 2020
This is my favorite Koa. People here are so great and the view is amazing!
Jun 26, 2020
Campsites too close together...but clean and staff very nice
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
It was great.
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
Had a great stay - very pretty campground and we will definitely be back!
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 25, 2020
Great place to camp - especially if you have kids. Lots to do, lots to see in the area, great service, clean, convenient and fairly priced.
Jun 25, 2020
Stunning campground, had an amazing time as always. I just wish they would have cleaned the bathrooms more frequently due to Covid.
Jun 25, 2020
Loved it! Such a beautiful spot with so many entertainment options! We will definitely be back!!
Jun 25, 2020
The staff were very professional and attentive. The sites were well maintained. Landscaping was gorgeous and so detailed! And the campground itself has so many amenities both natural (lakes, river, flowers, ducks) and designed (pool, play areas, events, etc) that it was truly a lovely stay. Well done!!
Jun 25, 2020
Loved the views and our site on the lake. You can have a site on the Swannanoa River too. The kiddos went tubing. Having the dog park was so perfect for us too. We definitely want to return to this great spot!
Jun 24, 2020
We love this campground. Staff friendly. Many great updates over the years. Next update needed is new pool chairs. They are rusting at the bottom. A few tables with umbrellas would be great too. We look forward to our next stay.
Jun 24, 2020
Always love being at KOA East. Best place. Best people! Recommend to anyone! ��
Jun 24, 2020
great amenities, friendly service, beautiful lake, loved rafting in the river
Jun 24, 2020
Great campsite & great campground.
Jun 24, 2020
Jun 24, 2020
Very convenient to Asheville and everything that we were doing. Clean. Helpful staff.
Jun 24, 2020
Fantastic location. Great place to vacation.
Jun 24, 2020
Situated on beautiful land with creeks and a lake! Close enough to all the activities of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Firge without all the traffic, hustle and bustle! Don't miss the Biltmore or the quaint town of Black Mountain!
Jun 24, 2020
The bathrooms and showers were very clean with private shower rooms. The tent site was a little difficult to work with due to the gravel pad, but understandable as it was designed to be used for tent or camper guests. We really enjoyed the wildlife on the lakes and the creek. Very impressed with how well staffed and attended the grounds were. Warning-Lakes are populated with very vocal frogs.
Jun 24, 2020
Beautiful site on the river. Nice large area to walk pets. Very clean facilities and friendly staff.
Jun 24, 2020
I had a wonderful stay it was my first time at a KOA we all had a great time the only thing was on our last night some campers keep us up until 4:30 am and at that time their guest that partied all night left so you really need some night time security
Jun 23, 2020
Very nice & clean facilities, friendly & helpful staff, plenty to do. Would stay there again.
Jun 23, 2020
Jun 23, 2020
We enjoyed our stay in the cabin and service was great.
Jun 23, 2020
I love this KOA, we stay here at least twice a year, more if possible. E 1 through 6 are my must have spots!
Jun 27, 2020
This campground is great. We had a great time...... The pool was closed due to COVID.... but the river still flowing.. We tubed all weekend and had a blast.
- Susan McGinnis on Google
May 30, 2020
I just drove through once to check it out. It's serene and well maintained. Location is near a small river and a lake.
- Chris Hancock on Google
Jul 01, 2020
We stayed here a few weeks ago while my girlfriend and I are working remotely. The wifi was useful, but sometimes spotty. AT&T cell service works fine here, though. One bathhouse was a little outdated, but a more up-to-date one was a short walk from out site. Can't say enough about the sites on the river (A-loop, I think?). Very quaint and peaceful. I docked one star because they charged my sister $5 to come visit us for a few hours. Yes, it's only $5, but I just gave the campground a few hundred. Seems a little petty.
- Terry Karlson on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.