Asheville East KOA Reviews

Experience a scenic mountain getaway while being close to the historic city of Asheville!

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Mar 26, 2020
Clean, beautiful campground on the Swannanoa River. Large ponds and a nice walking trail. There are paddle boats to use and fishing. A wonderful place close to Asheville and all the wonderful finds of the Blue Ridge Miungains!
Mar 25, 2020
Had reservations at the very beginning of the Covid-19 breakout. I felt they were taking precautions and extra diligence of cleaning the public areas. As for the campground itself, it's set on a gorgeous plot of land with a river and two lakes. Very nice for dogs and daily walking. They have done many obvious updates from what I'm guessing; new dock, bridges, gathering spaces, etc. Very nice!
Mar 25, 2020
Mar 25, 2020
In spite of the Covid19 pandemic, the staff were very friendly and helpful, understanding our desire to safely camp on our way home, and made us feel like family, and by the way, it is a beautiful campground, even when raining all day and all night!
Mar 25, 2020
Beautiful setting/grounds, friendly staff, and they are very accommodating and flexible to the needs of guests. The common areas are immaculate. The family shower is by far the nicest shower I have ever seen at a campground.
Mar 24, 2020
Love KOA East!! Staff is wonderful. Our favorite campground. Can’t wait to go back.
Mar 24, 2020
The best! We’ve stayed here many times and the staff and location are perfect!
Mar 24, 2020
Mar 23, 2020
Nice campground. Very friendly and helpful staff. Did not care for the location of premium sites. They had no shade and were facing RV storage area. Not the best view. WiFi strong and reliable, which is a huge plus.
Mar 23, 2020
Mar 23, 2020
We stayed for 3 nights at this KOA. The setting is nice overall, but the monitoring of people’s behavior did not exist. There was a large group of people hanging out in front of one of the cabins across from our RV. They partied into the early hours of the morning (1-2 a.m.) and were very drunk. A fight broke out, they were dropping the F-bomb loudly. No employee seemed to be around. Never again
Mar 23, 2020
Mar 23, 2020
We only stayed one night but we did take a walk around. We liked what we saw. The river running through the campground was an added bonus.
Mar 22, 2020
Very nice - right on the river. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. Extremely clean camp ground.
Mar 20, 2020
Awesome campground and staff. Great place to walk. Beautiful lakes and they are working hard to make it better.
Mar 19, 2020
As always a wonderful experience
Mar 19, 2020
We loved it. Didn’t want to leave.
Mar 19, 2020
Short stay but everything was very well maintained and clean. I would stay there again.
Mar 19, 2020
Amazing patio with table and chairs plus fire pit and Adirondack chairs. The water pressure was great and the site had great parking. Laundry is quarters only at $1.75 per wash and $0.25 per 8 min to dry. There is no change machine. They do have wood available for $5 per bundle. The property is right next to the river with great views. Thumbs up!
Mar 18, 2020
Clean, beautiful. Will definitely go back.
Mar 17, 2020
Nice place! Hope to return soon!
Mar 17, 2020
Mar 16, 2020
Great facility. Beautifully kept campground
Mar 16, 2020
Clean and friendly staff.
Mar 16, 2020
Read a book by the lake. Took a nice walk. Just Relaxed
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 16, 2020
Great, quiet place to stay. Clean restrooms!
Mar 15, 2020
We stayed only 2 nights. Great location. Workmanship needs upgrading, i.e. latches on bathroom doors not maintained, dirty around propane gas area; makes one think the whole thing is going to blow up. Too many people driving around on carts doing nothing to improve state of the Park. Too much area used to park trailers. Gives atmosphere of warehouse rather than a Park for tourists.
Mar 13, 2020
Very friendly staff. Very accommodating Nice clean park. There is a train noise nearby that some might find disturbing but we were fine with it. Will definitely put it on good places to stay!
Mar 13, 2020
Great place!
Mar 12, 2020
Loved everything about it also the remodeled outside the office is awesome. Would recommend to anyone looking for a campground in Asheville to stay here. Beautiful area.
Mar 11, 2020
Large campground with a lot of nice sites along the river and lake. The staff and the operation of the campground seems top notch.
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 10, 2020
Wonderful place!!! My only thing was that I wanted to be close to the bathhouse and they got me close but the womens bathhouse was closed.
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 10, 2020
Clean, quiet and friendly. Really nice and beautiful
Mar 09, 2020
When called the office because no remote for bedroom heat, living area worked, bedroom did not. The office said they would check for a remote and let us know or we could get a space heater which seems unsafe. We ended up having to pull the couch out and sleep there. We were told the same remote worked both but not til the next day and we did try that and still no heat in bedroom.
Mar 09, 2020
Our only major issue was that the cabin's door has a gap so the cold wind blew in all night in cabin 1. We had to stuff towels in the door jam to keep the wind out. Some weather stripping could seriously help with this. The heater had only 1 speed so it couldn't keep the place warm. I get it was March but having no wind would have made the night more tolerable.
Mar 09, 2020
The people working there were friendly, the facilities clean and the surroundings lovely. Just a quick jaunt to Asheville and Black Mountain is a delightful little town. There was a strong wind storm there which knocked down a small limb overnight. We called the main store (office) 1st thing in the morning and it was taken care of within the hour. I hope to return some day and stay longer.
Mar 09, 2020
There have been a lot of nice upgrades to the campground. The cabin had dusty cobwebs on the ceiling and ceiling fan but was otherwise clean. We always have a good time at this location.
Mar 09, 2020
Had me in a very short pull thru in an almost empty campground. When I asked to be moved they gave me a choice of three back in sights even though there were several pull thru sights open. I asked about them and was told they were reserved for the week end?? I was staying for 6 nights and my reservation did not list a specific sight, not a satisfactory answer in my opinion.
Mar 09, 2020
Mar 09, 2020
Mar 07, 2020
Rude maintenance man
Mar 06, 2020
it was very peaceful and very nice cabin had all I needed
Mar 04, 2020
Nice campground
Mar 04, 2020
Handsome pine cabin, well-out fitted. Narrow stream behind cabin made good night music! River across camper area, beautifully fast-flowing. Great and memorable stay
Mar 02, 2020
Mar 01, 2020
The staff were very friendly. We filled our LP tank right before we left & they were prompt. Very clean grounds & level sites.
Mar 16, 2020
It's a good KOA. We're right along the river and makes for a calm spot. The only negative thing about this one would be the restrooms and shower area. In desperate need of a remodel!
- Ryan Nickol on Google
Mar 02, 2020
Great camping cabins!
- Amelia Jones on Google
Feb 27, 2020
Awesome incredible
- john stoddard on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.