Angola / Hogback Lake KOA Reviews

We are Open - Welcome Campers!

Learn More
Jun 30, 2020
Booking our stay was easy and the customer representative was very helpful and patient while I asked questions and made my choice. We stayed in a studio deluxe cabin for 5 nights during which 2 problems arose and the staff was very responsive and handled them quickly, I would stay there again.
Jun 29, 2020
The cabin was nice, but there were issues: being new, it reeked of varnish- so strong that it was nauseating and headache inducing and everything brought home reeked of it. It should have been aired out well before renting. Also, the loft area is so tiny, it's near impossible for a normal sized adult to put kids to bed. The original lodge models are far better. Liked that linens are now provided.
Jun 25, 2020
our key fob didn’t work and we arrived after the office was closed- the phone number on the map went to a mailbox that was full, the 800 number didn’t go to anyone and I missed the sign for the after hours- it would be awesome if that was just on the envelope. There was also trash left in the room, and no number on the door (it’s new). an instructional book with cabin directions would be
Jun 22, 2020
Great weekend. I love the pool. The staff was friendly.
Jun 22, 2020
We had a great time, you have a very clean nice campground and we really enjoyed our cabin.
Jun 22, 2020
Jun 19, 2020
Staff was amazing in every aspect. We always love our stays here. There were a couple of small missed items in our cabin but the staff was eager to make a note to get it corrected asap. Can't wait to try the new rental cabins next time we come!
Jun 19, 2020
Well we paid for the full bathroom facilities in our cabin. The next morning we we're loading up to leave I went in to take shower no hot water. I told them at desk about it and asked about getting refund on full bath. $20 manager said no. no other response.
Jun 17, 2020
I am a seasonal, but I rented the cabin for my daughter’s bachelorette party. Our party also rented a 2nd cabin, and an RV spot. Everything was great for our 3-day celebration! Only complaint I heard from all the rentals is that the grass was pretty long. For the price of renting, I would think the grass would be groomed. (This is not the 1st time we have heard this from weekenders)
Jun 17, 2020
Cabins were great, check in was smooth, campground clean and the new pool was beautiful!
Jun 17, 2020
Cabin was dirty, ac kept breaking the circuit and would have to restart, pool closed almost whole Time we were there, beach was disgusting. Absolutely disappointed.
Jun 15, 2020
The small deluxe cabins are pretty nice, refrigerators are pretty small for 3 or 4 people for a few days but we made do. The hot water runs out quickly so you have to be very conservative with in when showering, and price seems a little high but overall, not bad at all. The new pool and lazy river are very nice, we had a very enjoyable time and would consider staying again some time.
Jun 10, 2020
Our first time there. was good in this different kind of times. A few thing were still not open for use. The new pool and lazy river were awesome, the grandkids loved it.
Jun 08, 2020
We stayed in deluxe cabin it was the same cabin we stayed in last year and experienced alot of the same problems. Sink in bathroom shoots water everywhere. Water pressure was horrible. Hot water runs out very quickly. People invading your area due too fishing pond being out front. Big thing is no front blind or curtain so while your in your bed you can see outside and others can see inside.
Jun 08, 2020
May 30, 2020
Very friendly and helpful staff! We will definitely be back!
Oct 21, 2019
Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Everything was clean and well kept. Only negative was that I felt the golf carting was a bit dangerous because many people were flying around the streets and with two little kids it made me very nervous. Wish speed limits were more effectively enforced.
Oct 16, 2019
beds could use new mattresses, had a light out in the chandelier and the screen door had loose hinge so door didn't want to close properly.
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
I don't think u should b charging $15 to bring your own gold cart.. that is just crazy..I could understand if you charged a little for battery golf carts because it uses your electricity but not gas carts
Oct 14, 2019
Lodge 9 is in need of some repairs. Tile floors need replacing due to wear and damage. Patio door lock doesn't work.
Oct 02, 2019
Stayed in deluxe cabin. Nice but a little crowded. Bed very comfortable. Water has a horrible smell that permeates the cabin.
Sep 23, 2019
Upgrade to a cabin and found it to be a waste of money. Cabin dirty, spider web in almost every corner, window blinds did not work and was damaged to a point of providing no privacy
Sep 16, 2019
We loved this campground. There are so many activities and every single employee was courteous and helpful. We will be back.
Aug 31, 2019
The lodge we were given was a small trailer that was so dirty. So disappointed at the accommodations. I cleaned the kitchen, bathroom and tub. Swept the floor. Tiles in the kitchen were broken and one came totally up. Would not recommend ever���
Aug 26, 2019
It was wonderful and we will be back, but cabin 1 needs some attention. The air conditioner was really dirty,with mold and the room smelled really musty. They did bring us spray, but it didnt really help. Also the area needs sprayed for ants they were tons of them outside. Other than that a great stay!
Aug 18, 2019
We were delayed and got in past check in time. There was a note, our key and directions to our site in the binder for a seamless check in.
Aug 03, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Cabin we reserved said it slept 5 it didn't had to buy an air mattress and squeeze it in for my son to sleep. Fishing what a joke. Seaweed that's about it unless you have a boat. No privacy screen or anything on the front door. So if it's light out you're up and if the campers across from you have lights on which ours did you see that to. All amenities on website outdated. Wifi sucked.
Jul 15, 2019
We rented a cabin for 1 night. The water smelled like rotten eggs. We let it run to get rid of the smell and it filled the entire cabin. We talked to the office about it. The KOA itself was mostly seasonal campers which I didn't know KOAs were like that. We didn't feel welcome at the campground at all.
Jun 24, 2019
Our kabin had a bathroom with toilet and sink which was great. Location of kabin was nice. Front desk was super friendly and helpful. Loved the beach area and was able to rent a pontoon. Dog friendly. Would def recommend.
Jun 24, 2019
The grounds are clean & lovely. My reserved cabin wasn't ready so the upgraded me to a larger cabin which was nice. I had a security issue with another camper which was addressed by the staff the next morning. Would love to see a better security plan in place before my next stay.
May 29, 2019
Stayed in a Deluxe Cabin for a week in May 2019. This is a old existing campground that has recently been taken over by new owners and is now a KOA. Our cabin had no heat, lousy foul rust filled water and most of the windows had no screens. The living room had a couch, no chairs or tables so only two could sit and there was no place to set a drink. Whole place needs work. Not big rig friendly!!
May 28, 2019
May 17, 2019
I've traveled all over the US with my girls, and I always stay at a KOA anytime I can.They simply CARE. These days, that is so very rare. And we walked into a nightmare situation. They handled the situation so well, and with such kindness that I could not help but leave a good review. Our cabin was amazing and our night was magical. I cannot wait to utilize the free night stay we received.
May 14, 2019
Wonderful campground and staff! Beautiful views everywhere you look! Clean bathrooms and hot showers. Highly recommend when in the shipshewana/angola area. Will be returning.
Nov 01, 2018
Filthy Park Model. Couch smelled like pee. Dirty, advertised as “linens provided”, They were not provided at first. We rented the 3 and 4 wheel bikes. Tires were flat. Spend 20 of our 60 minutes trying to get tires pumped up. Attendant said she had no idea where to pump tires up. If you want people to pay to ride them, they should be well maintained! We rented 7 of them and they all needed a
Oct 08, 2018
We did not have warm or hot water at all and the beds were comfortable but very squeaky and kept the whole cabin awake. Campground, showers, cabin very clean and staff very helpful.
Sep 25, 2018
I enjoyed the cabin and the lake. Was hoping for more activities for my younger children and wished the bounce houses stayed up longer. All in all my family had a relaxing weekend. Your staff was friendly and accommodating. My children and I would have enjoyed maybe a guided nature hunt for salamanders, turtles and frogs in the creek .
Jul 07, 2020
I stayed at this campground with my wife, two kids, and in-laws for three nights in a 38 foot travel trailer. We had a pull through site toward the front of the campground, which had plenty of room for our camper, two trucks, and a golf cart. Even though it was a busy weekend, our kids loved the pool, splash pad, and lazy river. The beach area at the lake was also nice. There are several playgrounds and trails to walk or take the golf cart on. The camp store had great ice cream and anything you might need during the stay. The most impressive thing from our stay was the fireworks show, which was possible the best private fireworks show I’ve seen. The only negative from the stay was that the shower houses could have been cleaner, but that would not deter me from returning, as everything else was great. I would definitely recommend this campground for a long summer weekend.
- jdt0622 on Trip Advisor
Jul 03, 2020
Good campground to stop over during travel. No real compliants.
- Alex Ruder on Google
Jun 28, 2020
Great cabins, nice pool and camp store. Excellent staff. The manager, Fred, is incredibly customer focused
- Bob Dunne on Google