Wilmington KOA Reviews

We are Open to Recreational Camping. Learn More About The Status of Amenities & Rec

More Details

Tent Reviews

Jul 06, 2020
Only complaint is the playground was closed which is an issue with the governor not the KOA.
Jun 30, 2020
Awesome campground, friendly staff and good location. Please consider keeping the Pool and General Store open a bit later during the summer months.
Jun 28, 2020
Jun 27, 2020
The staff members were all friendly and the campground clean. Large spaces and lots of little "extras". We were very happy with our stay. Perfect if you have small kids!
Jun 24, 2020
Very nice, and friendly staff.
Jun 24, 2020
Jun 23, 2020
All I can say is IT WAS AWESOME ! The staff very friendly and knowledgeable! Very clean bathhouses!
Jun 22, 2020
We had such a great time. The campsite was in a great spot, the facilities were clean and nicely air conditioned. Our kids loved hanging out at the pool and having craft time! We will most definitely be coming back!
Jun 22, 2020
Very nice, clean, peaceful place to stay. I stayed in a primitive tent site but it was a very nice big site.
Jun 20, 2020
Extremely well-managed, clean, quiet and organized. I always enjoy my stay here.
Jun 19, 2020
Friendly staff, decent amenities bathroom could have been cleaner and pool hours were very limited. It's geared more towards RV's and campers. Overall good place to camp if you don't want to worry about forest critters.
Jun 17, 2020
Wonderful, amazing, friendly, very accommodating staff! We were tent camping and it rained the entire time. They were very helpful and accomodating with our reservation! The location is wonderful and the grounds are kept very clean! Our tent site was covered and had a raised sand bed for the tent so we stayed completely dry! We will be back!
Jun 08, 2020
The staff was so kind and professional. Great location. Great people. Great tent site. Will definitely be back!
Jun 04, 2020
Very friendly staff and convenient tent site near the pool, bathrooms, laundry, and store. Really enjoyed our stay!
Jun 02, 2020
The bathrooms smelled pretty mildewy/moldy. During these times it would have maybe been better to assign bathrooms to prevent at least a bit of cross contamination.
May 30, 2020
I come here every year and always have a great stay. I love how peaceful it is yet its in the middle of the city. The bathroom upgrades are great! Staff is always friendly and helpful. I love how you patrol periodically and check on sites and campers. I will definitely be back.
May 29, 2020
Only thing that could be said negative was loud banging from the industrial site next door and a lot of mosquitoes. Overall wouldnt stop me from ever recommending the place. Could use a better, if any pest, control routine.
May 27, 2020
It was a wonderful stay! Very clean bathhouses and very friendly staff.
May 27, 2020
Stag was very friendly and even willing to let the pool remain open a few minutes extra so my children could get a quick swim. That seems small but to them it made a huge difference. It kept me from having to tell them they couldn’t swim even though I had told them there would be a pool. It was a huge thing for them.
May 26, 2020
We always have an amazing time at the Wilmington KOA. Both times we have stayed we gotten the back corner tent camp sites and they are amazing. The primitive campsite could stand a little pruning back if the wildlife, but my tent is rather massive. (18×13).
May 26, 2020
Very clean (especially bathroom/showers), excellent location (close to gas/restaurants/car wash/downtown), well-managed and well-organized (excellent welcome package and map). Very affordable rates for staying. I will definitely return.
May 25, 2020
The campground itself is good, clean, and well-maintained. Love that it’s close to the beach. Here is why we gave it sub-par ratings: - we tent camped and because of the location it was very loud with traffic, sirens and a police helicopter circling for 45 mins at midnight - there were no trees close enough together to hang our hammock; maybe consider installing a post? - store Hrs 2 limitEd
May 11, 2020
Quite and family friendly place. We very much enjoyed our stay.
Mar 02, 2020
What a great campground! Very safe, really clean, and the staff was excellent! This was our first time at a KOA and we will definitely be back.
Feb 17, 2020
Everything that KOA can control was great. Restrooms clean, park was well groomed, etc.. However the neighborhood is very noisy. Cars without mufflers, loud booming stereos, close to a busy road. etc.. I stayed in a tent and had to wear earplugs to fall asleep. If you have a RV or trailer, might not be so bad.
Feb 16, 2020
Jan 27, 2020
Super friendly check in and gift shop experience. Great campsite.
Jan 23, 2020
It was great! No complaints! Everyone was nice and we enjoyed our stay!
Nov 25, 2019
A pleasant and clean place to stay. Being a tent camper, I would have liked to have seen the lounge available in the evening, but realize being connected to the office makes that difficult.
Nov 17, 2019
Stay was fun, it rained the whole time though. Kids were sad that the trampoline thing wasn't inflated. Store was great, had a good variety of essentials, and a nice selection of fun stuff too. We'll be back...when it's warmer and not raining!
Nov 07, 2019
Enjoyed the grounds very much
Oct 21, 2019
Even in the pouring rain we love the Wilmington KOA. Friendly staff, safe and super clean facilities. I look forward to trying the new Casa Blanch café next time! :)
Oct 21, 2019
Staff was very friendly, and helpful. Clean facilities. Excellent general store.
Oct 17, 2019
I absolutely HATE camping. But I wanted to do something special as a surprise for my family and koa made the outdoors not seem so bad ;) I would definitely recommend and we plan on going back! My kids had the time of their lives, and me well I survived!!! They even have the nicest shower house/bathrooms which made the stay that much better
Oct 16, 2019
I was in a tent and the site was too close to the office and such. It was too bright in the tent at night to sleep well. Maybe dimming the lights at night would be better. Nice location. Even though it was right off a busy highway it was quite. Nice staff.
Oct 14, 2019
Camp too close to road for tent camping. Sure it’s fine for RVs
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 06, 2019
Very friendly at the front desk. Checking in was smooth. Tent site could be a little bigger and have more than just 2 primitive tent sites. Overall great experience! Will be back soon!
Sep 03, 2019
We enjoyed the kids activities & friendly staff. The tent campsites are close together with little privacy(site 50) A large group of college kids (sites 52/53) did not adhere to the 'quiet hours' policy. On consecutive nights (1.30am) we had to ask them to keep the noise down. I also had to engage re foul language/late night partying. Not suitable for 'family' tent camping.
Aug 24, 2019
Closest campground when visiting friends. We will be staying here often. It was very nice. We were close to the pool and bath houses. And we were camping in a tent.
Aug 06, 2019
Mostly it was a good stay. Sleeping was not pleasant. We were tent campers in one of the basic tent sites. Sleep was interrupted all through the night by what sounded like a garbage pick up through the neighborhood next to our campsite (back-up beeping, thumping, trash falling from bin into truck). The morning staff were not very helpful in guest recovery from this.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
We wish there was more bathroom. With the toilet And shower together. Make it hard to go to the toilet. Because same one is taking a long shower. Many people had to wait in lines. Other wise the places is very nice to stay.
Jul 17, 2019
Jun 27, 2019
Very nice. Will go back again.
May 27, 2019
We love this place. Best staff. Fun activities.
Jul 08, 2020
Wonderful staff! Not far from the beach, and the campsite itself is fun.
- Sarah Harper on Google
Jul 06, 2020
The bathrooms were very clean.
- Pamela Lee on Google
Jul 04, 2020
This was a fun trip and I loved it. We took our dog and she loved walking around and exploring. The bathrooms were so clean and this is such an amazing campground. So many things to do! Only downfall is that it is not on the beach and it took awhile for us to find parking places at wrightsville beach.
- Brianna Jimison on Google