Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 14, 2017
Grandchildren Fall Break. Great choice. Top shelf campground
Oct 14, 2017
Had a most excellent time! Plan to return in the spring.
Oct 13, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
We had a family adventure with our 4 kids and 8 grandkids...We stayed in the camping cabins and it could not have been any better! Facilities were sparkling clean, staff was very courteous and helpful. We will be back!!
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Wonderful!! All interactions with staff enjoyable. All very friendly professional etc from front officer to all in campground area. Appreciated clean restrooms!! See you next time!!!!!
Oct 09, 2017
Very clean. Great location.
Oct 09, 2017
Stayed in one of the small cabins and was perfect for a short getaway weekend! The staff is great and the restrooms/shower facilities are excellent!!! We will be back again!
Oct 09, 2017
Everything was clean and organized, we had a great time.
Oct 08, 2017
Oct 07, 2017
Love the improvements that have been made since we were here last fall. So glad to see the new restroom and dishwashing station. We love bringing our granddaughters here. They live the playground.
Oct 06, 2017
Absolutely beautiful place to stay. Very clean and lots of personal working. Always seen someone cleaning or interacting with the guest. Will most definitely return. This was our first stay..Very peaceful...Thank you !
Oct 06, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, just felt it was very over priced.
Oct 05, 2017
Excellent staff. Very clean facilities. Really pleasant trip!
Oct 05, 2017
Everything was convenient and the staff was friendly and helpful and the accomodations were nice and clean .
Oct 03, 2017
We had a great time. Love the koa. We will be back next year. Thanks.
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
We have been to Townsend many times (1-3 times per year)over the past 17+ years. Until recently we had no idea about this hidden gem until a friend that travels suggested . More affordable & private than a hotel. We are so blown away at how friendly, safe, & fun the entire stay felt. We can't wait to plan another trip across the U.S. & get the opportunity to explore another location! thanks KOA
Oct 02, 2017
Great time! Super convenient to the mountains but not too far away for a quick trip to the store for a board game. Had a wonderful, technology free weekend with my teenage daughters.
Oct 01, 2017
The Townsend KOA is a very scenic campground. We enjoyed our stay there. The view was beautiful. Our only complaint would be that it is very difficult to back out of the parking spot for the cabin we stayed in. A tree & huge rocks make it difficult to maneuver around. My daughter scraped her car on the tree, & I hit my car door on a huge rock when I opened the door. It is a tight squeeze.
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Comfortable cabin. Great location, although Wifi is a bit difficult at times. You should talk to the folks at the Staunton, VA KOA. Their Wifi is fantastic.
Sep 28, 2017
Sep 28, 2017
Quiet, peaceful, lived up to "quiet side of the Smokies".
Sep 27, 2017
It was a lovely, quiet stay in a cabin next to the river.
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Enjoyed every minute. Nice folks. Tremendous scenery. Great trails. Just wish the basketball court was functioning. I will be back.
Sep 25, 2017
Staff was excellent, helpful, friendly and very accommodating. They were always available for assistance and/or to answer questions. The cabin was clean, very well equipped and beautiful, much nicer then many hotels we've stayed at. The campground and it's amenities were very well maintained and clean. We will most assuredly stay again. Thank you
Sep 25, 2017
We enjoyed this campground very much. We will definitely return.
Sep 25, 2017
We had a great weekend!! It had been 6 years since we had been able to come stay. We stayed in the camping cabins and the Tv and refrigerator were really an added convenience since we had little kids with us. The playground was great. I guess the only complaint that I would have is that there is not enough room to just sit around the campfire at our two spots. other than that all was wonderful!
Sep 25, 2017
Awesome as usual! The new bathroom upgrades near the cabins are very nice, amazing staff as always!
Sep 24, 2017
Family time + the great outdoors + UT football + KOA = great weekend!!!!!
Sep 24, 2017
Great place to stay. Only complaint is the mattress was not the nicest. Overall, an amazing place to stay.
Sep 23, 2017
Love being there will be back as soon as we can
Sep 22, 2017
The most wonderful camp ground we have stayed in so far! Clean, and beautiful cabin on the creek. Lovely to hear the creek upon arrival. Nice staff and awesome playground! Can't wait to come back.
Sep 21, 2017
After arriving we found the mattress in our cabin to be unsatisfactory and a gap around the door. I mentioned this to the workers in the office and they immediately remedied the problems. They were very friendly and accomodating. The campground was well maintained and the restrooms were very clean. We will definitely recommend this KOA to our friends.
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
great family atmosphere. lots to do and we wished are grandkids were with us. nice and quiet even on weekend. the employees were very nice and did a great job. great home cooking in townsend. best food around. cades cove the star of it all.
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
We visit KOA usually two times a year. We really enjoy the Townsend campground because of all the trees. It's just like being in the mountains. We tent camped with our kids when they were younger and really enjoyed it but now they are all grown and we prefer the cabin with a bathroom and kitchen area. Fall is especially nice with the leaves crunching underneath your feet while walking .
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Our stay was just like the ithet times, fantastic. We love the consistency.
Sep 16, 2017
It is always the best we come every year. The people that work there are so much fun. My sister and I wouldn't go anywhere else. See you next fall.
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 16, 2017
Very nice campground! Enjoyed our stay!
Sep 15, 2017
Great! The only issue was the grill. It never got above 200 degrees.
Sep 13, 2017
Wonderful and relaxing. People who work there are very kind and friendly. Thanks very much, Powell Family
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award