Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 04, 2017
Helpful staff. Great location.
Oct 04, 2017
Great stay and great people to work with. We had the best lot #77 and I will be coming back for more stays. Thanks
Oct 04, 2017
Very nice. Checked in after hours. The staff brought a bundle of firewood to my sight to make sure I had a great night, which I did.
Oct 04, 2017
Loved it here. Will definitely be back. Great help from all the staff, especially Adam who went above & beyond to help us with our bike trailer. Thank you!!!
Oct 04, 2017
This was my first stay and I was completely satisfied. The staff is amazing. Best customer service and so friendly. My three year old enjoyed the playground and of course the river. I enjoyed it so much I have already booked my section no visits in two weeks.
Oct 03, 2017
Wonderful!, Loved being on the river
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Our say, as always, was great. We love the changes that were made to our favorate site, site 30. The office staff, as always, was fantastic and very helpful.
Oct 03, 2017
Absolutely the best staff! They helped us park our RV, brought us firewood, helped make new reservations on a return visit. Very clean restrooms. Beautiful landscaping and natural setting.
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Awesome campground in a spectacular location. Needs better cell service and wifi.
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
The staff was amazing the bathrooms were clean and the site it self was welcoming!! Our children loved the playground area and the easy access to the store!
Oct 03, 2017
Great stay! Loved the property. Only negative was the tight space between sites.
Oct 03, 2017
We love the Townsend Koa! The staff is wonderful! And the campground is lovely!
Oct 03, 2017
We had a great time. Love the koa. We will be back next year. Thanks.
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Great activities and Staff!!
Oct 02, 2017
"Wonderful" could not be any better..........
Oct 02, 2017
I had service well beyond the ordinary. Every staff was not only helpful they did it with a smile. I will always go back to this KOA.
Oct 02, 2017
Very enjoyable. All associates were very friendly and accommodating. We can't wait until our next visit.
Oct 02, 2017
Great location Awesome service Well maintained WiFi Not so good Sites are close together
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The personnel is wonderful to help each camper. The only drawback is that the spaces are so close to each other, which means there's not a lot of privacy.
Oct 02, 2017
We have been to Townsend many times (1-3 times per year)over the past 17+ years. Until recently we had no idea about this hidden gem until a friend that travels suggested . More affordable & private than a hotel. We are so blown away at how friendly, safe, & fun the entire stay felt. We can't wait to plan another trip across the U.S. & get the opportunity to explore another location! thanks KOA
Oct 02, 2017
Having stayed all over the Great Smokey Mountains over my life time, this was by far the best camping I have done. The bathhouse was clean, the grounds was very clean. They help guide me into my site a back in. The staff picked up my garbage with out asking, they delivered fire wood to me. The sweet shop was to die for. The cost of items in the store was resaonable. Great visit. Thank you.
Oct 02, 2017
Great time! Super convenient to the mountains but not too far away for a quick trip to the store for a board game. Had a wonderful, technology free weekend with my teenage daughters.
Oct 01, 2017
Spent 5 night here. Staff was excellent. Helped with any problems/questions we had. Very busy/crowded park but a great place to stay.
Oct 01, 2017
Great enjoyable stay with you WILL BE BACK
Oct 01, 2017
The Townsend KOA is a very scenic campground. We enjoyed our stay there. The view was beautiful. Our only complaint would be that it is very difficult to back out of the parking spot for the cabin we stayed in. A tree & huge rocks make it difficult to maneuver around. My daughter scraped her car on the tree, & I hit my car door on a huge rock when I opened the door. It is a tight squeeze.
Oct 01, 2017
Staff was great .. very friendly and helpful! The entire campground is beautiful and our stay was relaxing!
Sep 30, 2017
We had a wonderful time as usual. We have been coming and staying with you for the last 5 years. Great service, always helpful, clean restrooms. We love the pumpkin fudge!! So pleased that the pool was still open.
Sep 30, 2017
Loved it. It was very relaxing and that was what we needed.
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Comfortable cabin. Great location, although Wifi is a bit difficult at times. You should talk to the folks at the Staunton, VA KOA. Their Wifi is fantastic.
Sep 30, 2017
Beautiful campground and very helpful, friendly staff.
Sep 30, 2017
Great staff, very helpful. Whole campground was clean and well maintained. We liked it so much we made two additional reservations.
Sep 30, 2017
Beautiful campground in convenient location. Fantastic, helpful staff. Great doggy park. Very clean restrooms and showers.
Sep 29, 2017
we spent most of the time site seeing and engaging in the activates in Cade Cove - Pigeon Forge - Gatlingburg the only time at the KOA would have been from 7pm. to 8am. was kept clean & friendly.. Fire wood was a little high in cost for the amount you got average cost for Fire Wood out side a KOA and we travel a lot different states & towns for the same amount of wood $5.00 plus tax
Sep 28, 2017
Sep 28, 2017
Staff is very friendly, campsite is beautiful
Sep 28, 2017
Quiet, peaceful, lived up to "quiet side of the Smokies".
Sep 28, 2017
Great campground that caters to the camper. Checked in, escorted to #9, then the escort spotted me as I backed in. While I unhooked, he blew the few leaves that were on the spot, table, patio and deck. After looking at the different spots, (we had a premium campsite near the river with a deck, all hookups and 50amp service. I would have preferred a non premium site next to the rapids. Great place
Sep 28, 2017
Great service from beginning to end!
Sep 27, 2017
It was a lovely, quiet stay in a cabin next to the river.
Sep 27, 2017
Nice clean brooms with paper towels!!! Nice deep (8') clean pool. Friendly staff. Clean sites.
Sep 27, 2017
Enjoyed our stay very much. Our campsite #5 was close to campers on both sides of us but other than that it is a wonderful campground.
Sep 26, 2017
Great location, clean and overly-friendly staff. We were disappointed in three areas: We all missed the turn into the campground (all 4 other of our family members towing their trailers). We all ended up making a U-Turn in the Marathon Gas Station. We all had no cellular or WiFi reception at the campgrounds, and Staff was overly-helpful during arrival (didn't ask/want their help parking).
Sep 26, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award