Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 17, 2017
2nd year a hurricane inflicted itself in our travel plans. The park is very clean and Your staff is so nice and we will come back. Hope I can bring the grandkids. someday. Great location.
Sep 17, 2017
We (my wife and I) have been staying at this campground for many years about 1984 to present. It's always top notch. Great people clean everything and always has been. Can't wait to get back.
Sep 17, 2017
The updates to the camp ground were great.
Sep 17, 2017
Beautiful campground with many things to do, especially for children. Staff is very nice and always willing to lend a helping hand.
Sep 16, 2017
It is always the best we come every year. The people that work there are so much fun. My sister and I wouldn't go anywhere else. See you next fall.
Sep 16, 2017
We stayed here for a week in September and were more than impressed! From the time we checked in to the time we checked out the staff made us feel welcome. Everyone from the front desk to the staff at the gas station went out of their way to be helpful. We have to give a big shout out to Mike(Shorty), who was right there whenever we had a question or a concern:). All of you are awesome.. The Kings
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 16, 2017
Very nice campground! Enjoyed our stay!
Sep 16, 2017
Terrific staff, beautiful location, very organized, great facilities. A little cramped for our preference, which is the only thing keeping me giving the highest recommendation.
Sep 15, 2017
Very nice staff...showers were the best!! Very clean and lots were spaced nicely.
Sep 15, 2017
Great! The only issue was the grill. It never got above 200 degrees.
Sep 15, 2017
Nice and varied campground with lots of trees
Sep 14, 2017
Loved it! Lots of friendly, helpful staff always around and ready to help with whatever you need. Clean & modern bath houses. Great location just outside GSMNP. Looking forward to returning to this hidden gem!
Sep 14, 2017
Love coming "home away from home" to camp at Townsend every year. It is always nice to see the familiar faces and be greeted by name. This year I had some car trouble and all the guys came over to help. This year they had the FL evac and I watched as they made each one feel at home. LOVE EM! This is what makes this campground special. Everyone going above and beyond to make the stay amazing.
Sep 14, 2017
Our campsite was awesome and the staff attentive to everything. We were very happy with our stay!!
Sep 13, 2017
Wonderful and relaxing. People who work there are very kind and friendly. Thanks very much, Powell Family
Sep 13, 2017
AWESOME
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Wonderful setting and very nice and neat!
Sep 13, 2017
Great experience with our 3 and 4 year grandkids. Playground, hayride, and movie under the stars were much appreciated and enjoyed by all!
Sep 12, 2017
Awesome stay. We already scheduled our spring vacation.
Sep 12, 2017
Enjoyed the area we were in town for the Half Marathon. The wi-fi and cable worked great. the staff was friendly and the facilities were clean. We would come back. Location close to the entrance to the Smokey's. We stayed in a 36 foot Motor home. we stayed in spot 54, it was on the end, it had paver patio and fire place full hook up. Nice shade,
Sep 12, 2017
The campground is fantastic, clean with great amenities and a beautiful setting. The staff is kind, fun and hard working. We did have an issue with several very loud guests. They were yelling, playing music and very loud until the early morning. This made sleeping a little challenging. Quiet hours would be a good thing to consider.
Sep 12, 2017
Love the atmosphere at the campground, very beautiful. The staff is also very helpful and kind. Please emphasize that people who have dogs to clean up after them. Most do not. :(
Sep 12, 2017
Everything was perfect.
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Great place to stay. Very clean bathrooms and we'll managed campground.
Sep 11, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much the weather was perfect and the staff very friendly and helpful. Our site was next to the river enjoyed the sound of the water and the view. Can't wait to go back.
Sep 11, 2017
Came here for a vacation race; PERFECT LOCATION within walking distance of the race Clean and well kept; friendly staff. Would definitely come back!
Sep 11, 2017
Very friendly folks; cabin and bath facilities very clean; very family-oriented atmosphere
Sep 11, 2017
Great location, very nice staff.
Sep 11, 2017
Great facility!!
Sep 11, 2017
quiet friendly campground
Sep 11, 2017
Enjoyed it very much.All the personnel were courteous and very helpful.We will come stay there again and tell others how great it is.
Sep 11, 2017
Awesome stay at koa! Friendly, clean and beautiful. This is my new favorite place to stay. Located in great area in the beautiful mountains.
Sep 11, 2017
What an amazing place. The workers are kind and willing to help you in in way. One gentleman went and found a grate to fit over our fire pit so we could grill. Another one helped us get backed in at 9:30 at night. Everything was neat and clean! We can't wait to go back!!!
Sep 11, 2017
Loved your park, the team that parked us in our site, my only problem was the tight one lane to get out. We had difficulty with a 45 foot class A making the turn to position for the narrow lane out. More room is needed.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
The campground is clean, safe, quiet, and nestled along a beautiful river with plenty of shade for everyone. There were events planned for kids like a movie night on Saturday and you could rent tubes to go downriver. Right at the bottom of the Smokies, just a short drive to beautiful hiking paths and breathtaking scenery.
Sep 11, 2017
Great place activities for kids and loved to sleep next to the river
Sep 11, 2017
We have grandchildren that come with us and they love all there is to do there! The pool, the playground, the hayride, the movies all great activities for them! Don't know when you changed the mattresses in the deluxe cabins but they were MUCH better than the last time we stayed in one. Thanks!!!
Sep 10, 2017
Very nice will be back
Sep 10, 2017
All of the staff was super friendly and the grounds were very well kept. We were waiting to check in and a couple was checking in ahead of us as they were there from Florida and would be staying until they could go back home and the sweet lady that was checking them in was so helpful to them and giving kind words. Little river was beautiful and clean along with the cabin. Thank you so much.
Sep 10, 2017
Wonderful place to stay! The staff was so friendly and the location peaceful and very well-kept. The cabin was just the basics, but all we needed for our stay.
Sep 10, 2017
Best campsite u can remember
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 10, 2017
Upon arriving Adam met us and even guided us easily into our spot. He has the nicest mist friendly personality. Made us feel welcome from the first moment.
Sep 10, 2017
Very clean. Wonderful stay. just needs a little bigger parking spot. Would recommend and will go again. Thank you.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award