Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 28, 2017
Great service from beginning to end!
Sep 27, 2017
It was a lovely, quiet stay in a cabin next to the river.
Sep 27, 2017
Nice clean brooms with paper towels!!! Nice deep (8') clean pool. Friendly staff. Clean sites.
Sep 27, 2017
Enjoyed our stay very much. Our campsite #5 was close to campers on both sides of us but other than that it is a wonderful campground.
Sep 26, 2017
Great location, clean and overly-friendly staff. We were disappointed in three areas: We all missed the turn into the campground (all 4 other of our family members towing their trailers). We all ended up making a U-Turn in the Marathon Gas Station. We all had no cellular or WiFi reception at the campgrounds, and Staff was overly-helpful during arrival (didn't ask/want their help parking).
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Enjoyed every minute. Nice folks. Tremendous scenery. Great trails. Just wish the basketball court was functioning. I will be back.
Sep 25, 2017
Our favorite place to camp is KOA in the Smokies. The staff are friendly and helpful. Best showers in a campground we have ever seen.
Sep 25, 2017
We loved it! Coming back next year for third year in a row!
Sep 25, 2017
Staff was excellent, helpful, friendly and very accommodating. They were always available for assistance and/or to answer questions. The cabin was clean, very well equipped and beautiful, much nicer then many hotels we've stayed at. The campground and it's amenities were very well maintained and clean. We will most assuredly stay again. Thank you
Sep 25, 2017
Great time friendly people
Sep 25, 2017
We enjoyed this campground very much. We will definitely return.
Sep 25, 2017
We had a great weekend!! It had been 6 years since we had been able to come stay. We stayed in the camping cabins and the Tv and refrigerator were really an added convenience since we had little kids with us. The playground was great. I guess the only complaint that I would have is that there is not enough room to just sit around the campfire at our two spots. other than that all was wonderful!
Sep 25, 2017
Great stay!
Sep 25, 2017
We were camping in a tent surrounded by RV's and girlscouts. I didn't feel like I was in the wilderness nor did I feel like I had any privacy as there were 4 other sites within 5 ft of mine. On top of that my site was not set up for tent camping as it was all gravel and no plot of land suitable for a tent (it was almost impossible to stake our tent into the ground.) HORRIBLE.
Sep 25, 2017
Awesome as usual! The new bathroom upgrades near the cabins are very nice, amazing staff as always!
Sep 25, 2017
Nice clean campground.
Sep 25, 2017
Very clean campground and the bathhouse was brand new. My wife and I had a very nice relaxing stay.
Sep 25, 2017
We had a beautiful campsite the only problem was we kept smelling a stench and we looked and found two green covers that we suspect was the sewage for the campground. It was hard to eat outside because of the smell. We was in 84a
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Beautiful campgrounds, friendly staff, perfect location for riding motorcycles through the mountains!
Sep 24, 2017
I camped at Townsend KOA September 17 and also September 20, 21 and 22. I have camped here about 30 times since 1998. In all of these stays, I have never had reason to complain about anything. The grounds and facilities are always immaculate and the staff people are friendly, helpful and efficient. If you are looking for campgrounds located near the national park, Gatlinberg, THIS IS IT.
Sep 24, 2017
Family time + the great outdoors + UT football + KOA = great weekend!!!!!
Sep 24, 2017
Great campground, very beautiful and clean! Friendly staff and a great location!
Sep 24, 2017
Great place to stay. Only complaint is the mattress was not the nicest. Overall, an amazing place to stay.
Sep 23, 2017
Super friendly ad helpful. Worked with my motorhome to get it of the road and have a very relaxed and pleasant location.
Sep 23, 2017
Love being there will be back as soon as we can
Sep 23, 2017
Campground was well kept; bathrooms clean and updated. Staff was eager to please and polite. Our site, 84A, kept getting wafts of sewer smell, which I think came from the sewer system pumps nearby?? Location on river was pretty, and access to bike path was great!
Sep 23, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights at a site on the river. It was FANTASTIC!... We were not ready to go home... wish I had been able to reserve one more night there. Loved the staff! Super friendly and very helpful! We felt safe at the campground knowing someone was riding around checking on things often! The other campers were very respectful of quiet hours, and we were able to get some much needed rest!
Sep 23, 2017
Awesome, very friendly and helpful
Sep 22, 2017
The most wonderful camp ground we have stayed in so far! Clean, and beautiful cabin on the creek. Lovely to hear the creek upon arrival. Nice staff and awesome playground! Can't wait to come back.
Sep 21, 2017
Had a great time, all amenities worked well, KOA employees were helpful and friendly.
Sep 21, 2017
After arriving we found the mattress in our cabin to be unsatisfactory and a gap around the door. I mentioned this to the workers in the office and they immediately remedied the problems. They were very friendly and accomodating. The campground was well maintained and the restrooms were very clean. We will definitely recommend this KOA to our friends.
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
This was a beautiful facility with helpful staff. We had car trouble upon arriving and the staff were all extremely accommodating and helpful in the process of getting our camper trailer set up without a working vehicle and assisting in communicating with the repair shop. At the campgrounds, there was plenty to keep our young children occupied with for the days we were without a vehicle.
Sep 21, 2017
Lean, well managed and beautiful site
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Nice improvements since last year. Entire campground is always clean. Restrooms and showers always clean. Great addition with restrooms and dishwashing station at back of pavilion. Staff is always friendly and polite. Marshall is a great host. Fudge store is a bonus
Sep 20, 2017
Best KOA Campground we have stayed at. Campsite was great, service in front office great. We had to check out earlier than we had planned and were granted a refund for nights we did not stay without even asking for the refund.
Sep 20, 2017
The people there was very nice and helpful
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
great family atmosphere. lots to do and we wished are grandkids were with us. nice and quiet even on weekend. the employees were very nice and did a great job. great home cooking in townsend. best food around. cades cove the star of it all.
Sep 20, 2017
We spent four nights here. The campground is right on the edge of the Great Smoky Mountain NP perfectly located between Gatlinburg and Cades Cove. We had a site on the river and it was beautiful, a large generous level site, The entire campground was impeccably clean, The large showers had Italian tile. Even the laundry was pleasant. If KOA is the Ritz-Carton of camping this is one of the reasons
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you for new bathrooms closer to where we like to camp! Everything nice except for the dog poop on our campsite (130). We hung our Eno and stepped in some, then smelled it the rest of the weekend.
Sep 20, 2017
We had just bought our 1st 5th wheel and wanted to try it out locally. Couldn't have picked a better place. Friendly and helpful park attendants . Property was absolutely beautiful! Large trees, river running on the back, nice little cabins in the woods, easy walking! Cant wait to go back again.
Sep 19, 2017
We enjoyed your beautiful campground. It was fun watching the wagon rides filled with singing kids. The staff was friendly and helpful, with a special call out to Mickey. She went out of her way to find an answer to a question I had. Because of our stay we plan to stay at another KOA next summer
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
Always great. Good people very helpful.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award