Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We loved the campground. So many activities for the kids to do! The staff was exceptional. My only wish is that there were more lower river sites to accommodate our 33 foot camper!! Can't wait to come back!!!
Aug 09, 2017
We loved Townsend. Quiet compared to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge yet close enough to drive over. The campground is very small/tight so parking was limited/tight because they use every amount of space for tents. Even had a tent in front of our yard, making parking harder. The bathrooms/showers were clean/nice. Cabin was clean. Beds were soft compared to others. Will stay again but in deluxe by river.
Aug 09, 2017
The Playground, Pool, basketball court, Pet Walk, the River, the facilities, the people, the sites.....I mean! Our stay has been Absolutely Serene. The Staff was so Helpful and talk about Friendly. Special shout out to Staff Member, Adam (His smile was Infectious). Beautiful area. Will definitely be booking here, for future stays!!! Walked entire park, made notes of sites for our next visit(s)!
Aug 08, 2017
Beautiful campground. We always love staying there. We were there on July 4th, and it was VERY busy! We stayed on the river and people were constantly walking and running through our campsite. We were OK with this, but if noise and children running through your spot all day bothers you, pick a site that is not right on the water.
Aug 07, 2017
Have been staying there every summers for 10 years and booked our 11th before we left. Love the campground.
Aug 07, 2017
The staff is very nice and helpful. Very well maintained with very nice camp sites. We will be staying at this campground again and will definitely recommend it.
Aug 07, 2017
We really enjoyed our camping trip at the Townsend KOA. The improvements that have been made are great especially the new bathrooms, landscaping, extra sewer sites and the public access to the river. All employees are very nice and are knowledgeable about the area.
Aug 07, 2017
The ideal campground. Great locale, great management, great staff and great layout.
Aug 07, 2017
The staff is really friendly. When we arrived the person who took us to our site was very helpful. He made sure that we were in our site and guided us in. Everyone th r e us friendly. And the showers are very clean. We enjoyed our stay there.
Aug 07, 2017
We love the mountains and this is our favorite campground. They have all that we look for in a campground!
Aug 07, 2017
Really like this campground. It's a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. No hustle like the other side of the Smokies.
Aug 07, 2017
Beautiful location! Our spot was a little tight to fit in, but the workers assisted us with backing in which was a great help! Just a little pricey compared to the other places we have stayed. Our son loved the playground! We will be coming back in the future!
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
We had a great stay although it was only for one night. We are definitely coming back when we can stay longer. Beautiful country and a beautiful campground
Aug 07, 2017
Adam is great as well as the other staff that are around the park. Very nice team !
Aug 07, 2017
The people who work there are awesome, helpful and accommodating. They really seem to love working there, too. The grounds are beautiful and the bath houses are really nice and clean. My kids loved the activities!
Aug 06, 2017
Wonderful, friendly, helpful staff! Great KOA experience
Aug 06, 2017
We had a wonderful time! We stayed 7 nights here. The staff was very helpful and nice. The shower house was very clean and very nice- always hot water! Our kids loved the playground and we also enjoyed renting tubes and tubing down the creek! This KOA sits right on the creek! We WILL be back! We loved it!
Aug 05, 2017
The nicest KOA that I have stayed at. Already booked to return in 6 months. Every member of the staff are extremely professional and polite.
Aug 05, 2017
We do a lot of camping and this is the campground that we use to measure all others. Beautiful, well managed, awesome staff, perfect location.
Aug 05, 2017
One of our favorite spots
Aug 05, 2017
This was our second stay at Townsend koa. We loved it last year and they made it even nicer for this year. They added landscaping and paver patios at many of the sites. Its clean quite and right on the river. The whole family enjoyed our stay.
Aug 04, 2017
Impressed with how nice the cabin was. Staff is fantastic
Aug 04, 2017
Very overpriced. 80.00 per night with no sewer is too much.
Aug 03, 2017
Great place to be camping! Activities for the kids and family, and local tubing and swimming in the oool mountian river. WShat more could a family want and what better place to be relaxing on summer vacation? No where!!!!
Aug 03, 2017
Stay was nice, just over rude staff that treat you like a problem for years on end. We used to feel like family, now we feel unwelcome. Never going back!
Aug 03, 2017
We love Townsend KOA!!!! It's our summer home away from home!!!
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
This was our first time camping at a Koa and the Townsend location was wonderful. The bathhouse and bathrooms were very clean and updated. The pool and playground was great for our family. We loved the peaceful site by the river. We will definitely come back.
Aug 03, 2017
Our stay here was excellent We have stayed here several times and we are always very pleased with this koa campground. We will be returning
Aug 03, 2017
We had a great time. We just camped out in a tent and it was quiet and peaceful. The bathrooms were very clean. Would highly recommend for others and will definetely come back.
Aug 03, 2017
Very nice
Aug 02, 2017
We had a wonderful camping trip at KOA. We had a site on the river for 4 days and the weather was amazing!
Aug 02, 2017
This was my families first time staying with KOA. (We stayed with Townsend/Great Smokies KOA). We loved the experience and was very pleased with the campgrounds! We will definitely being staying again soon!
Aug 02, 2017
family friendly camp
Aug 02, 2017
We have stayed here 3 summers in a row. My kids absolutely love it. They are always sad when it is time to leave.
Aug 02, 2017
We have stayed at Townsend KOA several times and love it there. The staff was so kind to our little ones. Can't wait to return for another camping trip.
Aug 02, 2017
Great
Aug 01, 2017
Great staff wonderful location with nicely appointed cabins
Aug 01, 2017
Second time staying here. It was a great week and we enjoyed the tubing.
Aug 01, 2017
Staff was very kind and helpful. Campsite was clean and the river was great. This was my first time at a KOA and I believe you get what you pay for. We will definitely come back to this KOA.
Aug 01, 2017
every KOA should have Shorty (Mike) very helpful and handy, loved his dog!! Casey....
Jul 31, 2017
We had a wondeful family reunion. The activities at the KOA along with our planned activities had something for everyone to do no matter the age. I personally had themost fun at the Bingo for all ages.
Jul 31, 2017
The site were great. it was close to Pigeon Forge which was great for the grandkids The river that ran along the camp ground was a daily hang out for the grandkids to swim and tube. Will definitely be returning.
Jul 31, 2017
Good family campground.
Jul 31, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. The girls stated "best trip yet". The staff was very friendly and helpful. The river, pool and playground kept the girls busy. We will return.
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
It was very expensive. And one of the workers who watched the pool in the evenings was very rude. It is not as good as it used to be.
Jul 30, 2017
Very nice campground,campsites very clean and shady. All staff very helpful and knowledgeable.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award