Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 23, 2017
The cabin was outstanding! Very clean, comfortable, and it felt like home.
Aug 23, 2017
The staff was very helpful. The facilities were clean. Our teenagers had a great time playing basketball, frisbee, swimming, rafting, etc. Will definitely be back.
Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful campground along the entrance to the Smoky Mountains. Great staff, and well maintained.
Aug 23, 2017
Stayed four nights and had a great time. Campground well taken care of. Friendly staff very helpful. My only complaint: The WiFi is terrible. It's a blessing to be able to travel and work online. When a campground says it offers internet, it should be dependable.
Aug 23, 2017
The campground itself is very nice although over priced for a KIA in my opinion. The problem that we as well as other campers found was that the children at the playground were unsupervised and when we mentioned the noise level to a worker there, after 9 P.M. We were told that children need to let off steam and he was willing to do nothing about it. After 4 nights of this we were DONE. Very poor s
Aug 23, 2017
Great.....as usual!
Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Beautiful accommodations. Great stay. We cannot wait to go back.
Aug 22, 2017
We have been camping here for years. It is a beautiful campground. They really do a nice job!!
Aug 22, 2017
Very well maintained. Nice staff. QUIET!!!!! long drive to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, but near Cade's Cove, IGA, and had great basic food within short distances. Would stay again when in Smokys
Aug 22, 2017
Townsend KOA was awesome. Environment was clean. Ambience was great, riverfront cabin was the best.
Aug 22, 2017
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Adam was knowledgeable and went out of his way to provide information that was very useful. The desk staff who checked me in was very courteous and sweet. The only problem we encountered was a rude and short tempered lady at checkout. Have no idea of her name but she had dark hair and rings on every finger. She refused to give me a paper receipt.
Aug 22, 2017
Great place to take the grandkids for a fun time.
Aug 21, 2017
This is our favorite campground. The staff are very helpful.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Nice clean facilities, helpful staff, great location... we have always enjoyed Townsend, Cade's Cove and the Smokes...
Aug 21, 2017
This KOA is by far our favorite place to camp! We visit there at least once a year, but usually twice. It's always clean, things we love to do are nearby, and the staff is super friendly and helpful - with a special shout out to Adam, who always has a smile on his face! If I have a complaint at all, and it's not a complaint against KOA, it's that our last 2 visits we had rude neighbors!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Very quiet atmosphere
Aug 20, 2017
One of the best campgrounds we ever stayed at. Everything was very clean and well kept. Would always stay here when in the area.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Wonderful staff and flat out the nicest campground we go to.
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Adam was great. The campgrounds and restrooms were clean.
Aug 19, 2017
Loved our river-bank, full hookup site! Craig's help with trailer placement was wonderful and critical for us on that particular site. Campground was spotless and employees were friendly, helpful and available. We enjoyed the store, fudge and ice cream shops several times along with the 'tubers' floating past. This KOA is exceptional and LOCATION, location, location! We will be back!!
Aug 19, 2017
Had a great time. Stayed in cabin on the Little River. Fantastic. Cabin was great and much cleaner than most hotels.
Aug 17, 2017
Jimbo, his wife, and everyone else were so so very nice and great !!!
Aug 17, 2017
Had a great time. The staff is so helpful and friendly. Treated us like family.
Aug 16, 2017
Always a great stay at our favorite local campground. Great staff, well run
Aug 15, 2017
We had a fire dish instead of a fire ring which was difficult to cook on. Bath houses were HOT, no air conditioners in them and 86 degrees outside. We felt at $115.00 a night was a bit pricey. The campground was beautiful. Landscaped beautifuly. Staff was very helpful.
Aug 15, 2017
We will deffently be back.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Excellent location, great wi-fi throughout the campground. The kamping kabin was in very good shape and was very spacious. I would highly recommend this location.
Aug 14, 2017
As always, we had another great stay this year! This year made fifteen years at this campground. Nice to see familiar faces year after year, as well as meeting new ones. Mark you are running a great campground with great friendly employees! CC7 was a good location, looking forward to next year. See ya then!
Aug 14, 2017
We were in lot 85 which was extremely narrow. Could not even get awning to full extension without hitting a tall bush. I thought your rates were extremely high. $96 is way over priced for that lot. For those reasons we will probably not be back to KOA in Townsend Tn.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Always a great experience, staff are always helpful.
Aug 14, 2017
We've been coming to KOA for several years,we always have a great time. The only thing I could say is the couch bed was trouble for both our cabins. One wouldn't stay blown up and the other one had a mattress that was really to thin. But overall a great place!
Aug 14, 2017
Campground very loud with heavy machinery running through property every day. Could not hold a conversation outside camper. The price here is the most I've ever paid for a campsite. The price will probably exclude us from ever staying here again. You can stay beachfront for half the price.
Aug 14, 2017
The place was quiet friendly and clean. Will come again.
Aug 14, 2017
We have stayed at the KOA Townsend twice now and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. Besides the beautiful scenery and great amenities, the KOA has the best staff in town. The staff makes the place, it really does. EVERYONE there is always eager to help out and get you what you need, with a smile on their face. You can tell they care and want to make it right. We will back again soon.
Aug 14, 2017
Other than the rain (which no one could do anything about), we had a WONDERFUL stay. The campground staff were phenomenal; every one of them. Our tent site was perfect. We'll definitely be back.
Aug 13, 2017
Best place around!
Aug 13, 2017
The staff was totally amazing. We were on our 1st night of honeymoon it was terrible down pour with a tent. They gave us a free upgrade to a cabin and had no idea who or why we were there. Thank you from upstate NY
Aug 12, 2017
Best campground ever.
Aug 11, 2017
We had a great stay!!! We will be back!
Aug 11, 2017
We rented 2 deluxe cabins and a campsite. The cabins were very nice, but it was stretching it to advertise a 6 person cabin that only slept 4 comfortably. When the sofas were open you could not open the front doors or pass by to get to the rest of the cabin. There was kitchenware for 4 instead of 6 (plates,cups,etc.)The well-groomed grounds and amenities were wonderful. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 11, 2017
It was absolutely amazing! Such a beautiful and clean campground. Staff was extremely friendly. We can't wait to go back!
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award