Campground Reviews

Jun 10, 2024
Overall great stay and everyone is so kind! I do wish some improvements could be made to the red barn playground specifically. The ramp could use some traction tape or something so littles can get up easier and the gravity rail hasn’t been in business in the past year we have visited so that is always a bummer. Thankfully there is the zip line back by the jumping pads.
Jun 10, 2024
Very disappointing KOA. It was not kept up at all. There is weeds everywhere. Half of the playground equipment was gone or not working. There was nothing in the swimming pond. The Cafe ran out of food on Friday afternoon as well as Sunday morning.
Jun 10, 2024
Jun 10, 2024
Jun 10, 2024
Jun 10, 2024
We stayed in Rivers Cabin. 1st time at your KOA. Grateful you allowed our 9 lb dog to stay in cabin too. Most other KOAs don’t allow that. Cabin very clean. Bed comfy. Nice that you had toaster, can opener, paper towel, cold fridge, spatula, well stocked kitchen, windows with screens, nice AC, hair dryer & soap, shampoo, shower gel and best view of the sunset! Wonderful ice cream in general stor
Jun 10, 2024
The pot holes were horrible. I’ve noticed a decline at Sunbury not sure what’s going on there
Jun 10, 2024
Very very nice!
Jun 10, 2024
Pool is freezing. Inflatables are not out yet. Coaster swing up front is broken. Entrance driveway has pot jokes everywhere. Place going down hill not keeping up on maintenance. I have been coming here for 8 years now. A lot of trashy damaged employee vehicles parked up front by check in the first impression coming to stay is not good.
Jun 10, 2024
Jun 10, 2024
Beautiful property. Friendly staff. Lots of outdoor activities for kids. 30-40 minute drive from Columbus Zoo. And COSI. Would definitely stay again.
Jun 10, 2024
We chose a pet site so we could keep the dogs safe outside with some room to run around. The fencing wires were so far apart, our smaller dogs could get through with no problem. That site should specify its best for larger dogs
Jun 09, 2024
Jun 08, 2024
Jun 08, 2024
So many things to do and many different ‘neighborhoods’ there. Very large KOA, with fun activities.
Jun 07, 2024
Nice KOA, a lot to offer, and things to do. My only complaint is the office and reservations, we called ahead to double check my reservations. When we arrived they couldn't find my reservation. They had extra sites so it wasn't a problem. Then after 5 pm, I get a text from the office mentioning that if I'm arriving late my information will be in a box. Was I charged twice?
Jun 05, 2024
Staff was incredible. Campground was immaculate. The only suggestions I have would be for more activities for younger children and some of the playground equipment is worn down and needs attention. However, we enjoyed our stay.
Jun 04, 2024
This is our favorite camp ground to go too
Jun 04, 2024
Jun 04, 2024
Many things to do for the kids. Very large area and sites are beautiful and mostly well kept. I was not impressed with the way the grounds were kept looks like it was let go for too long. Additionally, the pool was so cold on an 86 degree day that the kids stayed in for maybe 10 minutes. Great location, many amenities and staff were kind and professional. This KOA hasn’t reached its potential ye
Jun 03, 2024
We were very excited to stay at this KOA based on it making the Top 10 American Campgrounds by USA Today two years ago. While it has great bones, there were several discouraging things: abundance of broken Children's equipment, no one to unlock pool and pond well after 11am, and broken disc golf frisbees. Families deserve better when paying for these advertised features. It was disappointing.
Jun 03, 2024
This park is a hidden gem - we only stayed one night as a stop on a longer journey but wish we had stayed longer - the only thing is those golf cart rentals !! The road we were sited was like a highway at one point and golf cart renters were driving them up and down creating dust storms and honking the horns all day and night ! Or else this would have been a 5 star rating
Jun 03, 2024
Jun 03, 2024
Amazing staff!! Much improved over the years. So many available to assist if needed. Noticed so many more friendly KOA faces as we walked the park. Facilities were also very clean.
Jun 03, 2024
Jun 03, 2024
We stayed in one of the cabins and it was very comfortable. The location was fantastic, overlooking the field and horse barn. The staff was super friendly and helpful! Love that there is a pool, which was a good size and well kept. Nice touches all around. Having pizza delivered to the campsite is a fun amenity!!
Jun 03, 2024
Stayed at site 515. It was private and shaded...love it! Absolutely loved the customer service with the staff especially the ice and wood delivery. We loved the pizza at pool side. Maybe focus on fixing the potholes on the driveway. We needed to zigzag a lot. Brilliant job everyone! Keep doing it.
Jun 03, 2024
Well kept. Courteous staff. Lots of activities and amenities. Price is getting a little high though.
Jun 02, 2024
Jun 02, 2024
This was our second visit to the campground. We love how quiet, clean, and friendly it is. A wonderful place to stay for a night or a few days!
Jun 02, 2024
Jun 01, 2024
It was a great time. Just wish the main playground zip line was in use and there were less weeds and more flowers. Over all fun place if you have kiddos.
Jun 01, 2024
The sound of mowing grass is what I want to escape from. We were chased off our site by an unapologetic zero turn kamakize worker in the middle of the day. 4 hours we endured the sound of loud mowers. Ice cream choices were unavailable on Wednesday. The site is poorly maintained with pot holes, broken fences, and tired looking paint. What a shame. The grass has even abandoned the site.
Jun 01, 2024
Great
May 30, 2024
Great Memorial Day Weekend. The pool looked so much better than our last trip. The playground was a bit disappointing as it looked dirty especially covered in grass clippings. Campsites were clean and well maintained. Main boathouse by the store is dark, the 1 shower that worked were blazing hot and door would not latch. Boathouse 2 was AMAZING!
May 30, 2024
Not enough characters so . . .
May 30, 2024
Very nice park clean level great Amenities very nice staff
May 29, 2024
Very accommodating, lots to do and the text option to keep campers in the loop was great!
May 28, 2024
This camp ground was recommended so we thought we change it up. Check in was good. The lot was great. It was all The extras not so much. We came for the inflatable but no one said they wouldn’t be ready for that weekend . The pillow pad was broke and the second one was disgusting. The extra zip line was broke. Pool was nice but busy. Propane tank was empty on lot. Must be spoiled at other KOA.
May 28, 2024
We always love the Sunbury KOA! Can’t wait to visit again in the fall!
May 28, 2024
Campground is clean, lots of shade, many amenities.Three things we hoped for more. 1 Wish grass was cut lower and weeds trimmed at all campsites. Our grass was a little high. Our neighbor's weeds had not been trimmed for a few weeks. 2 The sites need raked or fresh gravel. It does not appear they have been raked, leveled, or new gravel applied for a few years. 3 More activities during holiday.
May 28, 2024
Great place but needs to be cleaner and updated
May 28, 2024
May 28, 2024
We have been coming to this KOA for years now and every year it seems to get worse and worse. When I checked in, there was staff being rude to other staff, the grounds are not being taken care of, the dog park littered with pet droppings. For the prices charged, you would expect more out of a KOA. More than likely our last stay at Sunbury KOA.
May 28, 2024
Had a great time, but somethings could use some up keep on the campgrounds. Overall positive but some of the pot holes coming and going were pretty rough. The checkin was a nightmare due to one person working. Sites could have used some grooming but we had a premium pull through, but the umbrella on the supplied table had a broken chord so would not open. Hopefully new management will fix
May 28, 2024
We enjoyed our weekend here, much to do, very quiet and peaceful. Campground is very clean and super friendly staff. We are returning next year already booked!
May 28, 2024
We love camping here. It started off a little scary our first night due to all the raccoons in and around our campsite. Staff was very friendly and relocated us to a new campsite and made the rest of our weekend very fun and relaxing.
May 28, 2024
We’ve stayed here before & loved every minute which is why we returned this year, however, we may not choose to stay on Memorial Weekend again. The blow ups on the swim pond were missing (I know that one had a hole and that was beyond their control),the ice cream social started 20 min before they said & ran out of icecream before the set time. Some staff were rude I'm sure they were stressed out
May 28, 2024
Grass was not mowed
May 28, 2024
We have stayed at your facility before and were incredibly disappointed this year. Grass was out of control and not mowed, there was goose feces all over the place, nothing was ready on the biggest weekend of the year. No chairs out at the pond, there were no inflatables at the pond. Our site was partially mowed with no trimming done. Weeds growing over the picnic tables by the pond. Shameful.
Jun 07, 2024
Great camp ground
- Tim on Google
May 26, 2024
So friendly,clean showers.The horses are so lovely and the pool or pond to swim in also fishing😃
- Marianne Nelson on Google
May 25, 2024
Great KOA! We have stayed several times on our way west from New England.
- Ed Smith on Google