San Diego Metro KOA Reviews

Join Us for Socially-Distanced Fall Festival - Weekends in October

Learn More

Campground Reviews

Oct 25, 2020
Oct 25, 2020
We checked in late were told that it was okay and then couldn't get into the campground for 20-30 minutes and the after hours phone number on the website doesn't work, we were finally able to get in when one of the employees happened by chance to arrive at the gate and let us in. Then we got the key to our cabin, which didn't work in the door and had to contact the staff again...there is more!
Oct 25, 2020
Where do I start? You need better showers, you need better tent camping spots- Under the freeway? Are you kidding me? I could not wait until my one night stay was over! And the exorbitant price? Nope.
Oct 24, 2020
Oct 24, 2020
Young man named Royal (I believe) helped me with filling my propane tank. Very professional and kind. I’d be proud if he was on my team!
Oct 24, 2020
We had a very nice week
Oct 24, 2020
Someone broke into my locking gas cap on my vehicle and jammed the lock and caused me the headache and cost of getting the cap off getting a new one. Didn't notice while there or would have reported. We lock up items including locking gas caps but theft still occurred. I have stayed at KOA's and first time I had this happen. Need higher level of security. Some concern about going back.
Oct 24, 2020
very nice place and you spent the time and money to keep it that way . thank you
Oct 24, 2020
Oct 23, 2020
We camped with 8 other campers. Love all the activities for the children. Staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgable.
Oct 23, 2020
I love this KOA, I requested a deluxe site and it was supposed to be the best sites on the property, and have the most shade. the spot we had had no shade at all. I was a little disappointed in my stay for that. All in all I still think this is one of the best KOA
Oct 23, 2020
Very well kept grounds, clean
Oct 22, 2020
Reservation and checkin processes were super smooth. Assigned site was nice. However, the internet and coax cable feeds were completely not functioning. Was challenging to telework from the park, because of the inability to connect to the internet that necessity convinced us to leave early the next morning.
Oct 22, 2020
Love the camp but believe the staff could have been more accommodating in providing a late check out. I only needed an extra 2 hours. The park was less than 20% occupied and I would have agreed to move to another site and pay an extra fee. Our grandson was doing his 1st grade class remotely so hoped to use electric. The camp's wi-fi is poor so we were using our cell phone as a "hot spot".
Oct 22, 2020
Bc of COVID we called before making a reservation, asked what was open and closed. They said pillow jumper is open but only 9-1 and hot tub closed. We booked and checked in to find out the pillow jumper was only open on wknds (we checked in Sunday-Friday) called the office and they said it’s only open on wknds, told Paul they should have told us they are only open on wknds.
Oct 21, 2020
Oct 21, 2020
Halloween festivities were REALLY fun. Covid safety was totally appropriate but respectful to campers - appreciated! Wasn't sure what to expect. Site is VERY noisy from nearby freeway, but the centralized location makes it worthwhile. Facilities are beautiful, very nicely maintained. Pool was a bit cold, still great. Enjoyed our trip. Even the cafe food was good. Worth the price. We will be back!
Oct 21, 2020
Everything during our stay was perfect. The only single downfall were the terribly uncomfortable mats (not mattresses) that were on the bunk beds. It was misleading to say that the deluxe cabins "sleep 6" when in fact the bunk beds are not for anyone over 70lbs, at least!
Oct 21, 2020
Oct 21, 2020
I love it kids had fun just didn’t like the fact the bikes we have to wear closed toe shoe and that wasn’t mentioned anywhere so we had to make our way buy shoes at Walmart .
Oct 21, 2020
Great time with the family, nice and clean site and fun and friendly staff who care about the site and guests.
Oct 20, 2020
Had a great time, even with covid the campground had plenty of activities for the kids. Wish all campers would have mask on children at playground. Ut was great at pillow jumpers because it had staff monitoring it.
Oct 20, 2020
All was good, considering the necessary changes that had to be made due to Covid, I commend you on your process. I was disappointed that I did not get assigned my asked for spot, which moved me away from my group and when I tried to at least get my tent spot moved closer to my assigned spot that was not able to be accommodated; but we adjusted. The activities you all provided were outstanding
Oct 20, 2020
Oct 20, 2020
Always a great time. You guys did your best with Covid and activities. Your staff was helpful and friendly like always. We will see you next year!
Oct 20, 2020
Oct 20, 2020
The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The ability to text KOA staff made all the difference in the world! My family and I are definitely coming back.
Oct 20, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
It was hard to stay positive when the mask requirements were not being enforced. For example, for the dance party masks were checked as we entered the lawn and then people immediately took their masks off. This is the way it was all weekend creating a potential super spreader event.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
We came with a family and friends group who have been coming (and growing!) for many years. We love the park, the amenities (sorry for the Covid changes but totally understand and appreciate that!), the employees, and the general San Diego area.
Oct 19, 2020
We really appreciate all the nice workers and appreciated their help when needed! Also, loved all the upgrades too!
Oct 19, 2020
We like to come down to the SDMKOA but one of the things that bother us is the trees drop a lot of sap on our vehicles and campers. I am not asking to get rid of the trees but maybe have washing stations or a mobile wash vehicle to help us keep our stuff clean.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
The staff is awesomely friendly! Also enjoy our stays here.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Love it. Just can’t wait for Covid to be done. Pool sign up sucks
Oct 19, 2020
We love staying here, but the prices are so high for what you get. Our two cabins were dirty, We were told we could not check in early because they were cleaning them, however, when we finally were able to go to them, there was dirt piles and leaves all over the floors, spiderwebs in the windows and outside, and the other cabin had trash in the can. This was a big bummer staying with small kids.
Oct 19, 2020
For the first time ever in the 10 years we have been coming to this KOA your staff seemed unwilling to help, every interaction seemed like an annoyance. Also, don’t have big pumpkins in the back so that my kids can see them and only offer TINY pumpkins. Most of our kids (10 and under) could not carve the pumpkins. Super disappointed this year!
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Excellent activities planned for October Halloween Festivities, all activities Covid -19 safe.
Oct 19, 2020
It was so nice, clean and FUN! All staff encounters were friendly and accommodating! We already re-booked for Dec and March;)
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Too noisy at night and couldn't sleep well (please kindly have a sign to refrain noise after 10pm). Site is small and crowded.
Oct 19, 2020
Beautiful RV park.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Only problem we have is how the reservations for major holidays and event weekends are handled. One person shouldn’t be allowed to turn in 15-20 papers for 15-20 people, that’s not fair. I was (3)rd person in line yesterday morning and two people in front of me turned in 25+ papers between two people. We stayed in #1521 and wanted the opportunity to stay in it again October 14-17th 2021. Thank
Oct 19, 2020
The Campground is very nice and the staff, with one to exception, were kind and helpful.
Oct 18, 2020
Overall, we had a fantastic stay. The Campground is beautiful with lots of trees providing lots of shade. The facilities are clean and the staff is friendly. We would like to mention three issues. First, there is a lot of noise from the highway at night (not fixable). Second, some campers bluntly disregarded the quiet hours (Remind at check-in). And third, some of the showers require renovation.
Oct 18, 2020
Our family's first camping trip EVER. Place was very family friendly and clean. Wish all the amenities were available but die to Covid, it's completely understanding. We have 3 kids ranging from 5 too 11, and they all had a great time too which made the entire experience even more worth while!
- Nguyet Pham on Google
Oct 17, 2020
This place is amazing the staff did great. If you read the reviews first and you see them say sketchy neighborhood don't let that bother you, Chula Vista is the safest town in California. Yes you are close to the freeway and the navy base yes you will hear the helicopters but other than that the place is great the tent sites are great the bathrooms are clean. I showed up on a Monday to an empty park only a few people then Thursday a full park it was nice everyone was friendly they would invite you over for a beer and watch the game or just hangout. The grounds are so close to the beach and our favorite Sea Port Village. I will be going back soon
- Daniel Robinson on Google
Oct 17, 2020
Great amenities. Awesome pool, fun bike rentals. Quietly hidden in town.
- Joe Valdez on Google