San Diego Metro KOA Reviews

Get the latest information about our amenities and hours in compliance with COVID-19 safety.

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 20, 2020
Very nice camp ground. The only problem we had was we requested a 50 amp site and paid for one but was put on a 30 amp and could only run one AC
May 19, 2020
We absolutely love the San Diego Metro KOA! The grounds are beautiful and they offer so many ways to stay. It’s the place we can’t wait to get to and the place we are sad to leave! Great employees and we love the Sand Castle Cafe!
May 19, 2020
This was our first visit. We loved your campground and all the amenities, though we visited during the pandemic and most were closed. We will return for another visit later this year.
May 19, 2020
Clean, fairly quite (other than the occasional helicopter). Unfortunately, COVID-19 restricted access to most of the amenities normally available, but staying in a clean and quite environment during this time was a nice escape from home.
May 19, 2020
Wonderfully maintained property. With all the mature trees you would never guess that You were minutes from downtown San Diego. The only thing I can complain about is a weak WiFi connection and that’s no. It deal. All in all a very nice campground .
May 19, 2020
We had a great staycation since we live about 30 min away. We enjoy the cabins, the restrooms were clean. My only hitch from giving this 5 stars was in our cabin the ceiling fan badly needed dusting. But I did see the cleaning crew do other cabins & they were quite thorough. It’s quiet, it’s relaxing, normally they have a lot of amenities so it’s a nice place.
May 19, 2020
The family tent site location was great. Wish the bikes were open during the week.
May 19, 2020
May 19, 2020
May 18, 2020
May 18, 2020
A place to relax, and do some serious reading
May 18, 2020
I was in space 2003 and it was great. Lot's of grass for the dog and close to everything. Thank You for spaceing us out. I had been on the road for 6 weeks and it nice to just relax
May 18, 2020
beautiful clean, friendly staff. so happy we stayed there. Can't wait to visit again when the pool and playground are open.
May 18, 2020
It was wonderfully peaceful. Very clean and maintained. Staff was friendly. Can’t wait to go back!
May 18, 2020
This was without a doubt The Cleanest and most well kept Paris I’ve ever experienced in the entire country. The landscape, trees, lawns and dog parks were in beautiful shape and the pool looks like a Las Vegas 5star style resort. Too bad it was closed. Can’t wait to come back when everything is accessible. Cottages are very cute too! Loved this park!!!
May 18, 2020
May 18, 2020
It was great. Very peaceful. Loved the cabin!
May 18, 2020
Always a great place to stay. A little upsetting they were changing full price when a lot of the amenities were closed. I know these are unprecedented times, but a little creativity in finding ways to open up the pool/jacuzzis would have been nice. Will be back again soon, hopefully the pool will be back open. More than like, won’t be back until the pool area opens back up.
May 18, 2020
This was our first stay at KOA San Diego and it most definitely will not be our last. The grounds and facilities are very well maintained, staff is courteous, and there are some really great RV camping spots. While most amenities were closed at the time, there appears to be plenty of activities for children. We will be headed back soon and this has become one of our routine RV’g spots!
May 18, 2020
Our tent site was literally beside the sewer. The woman in the office was literally grumpy and rude.
May 18, 2020
May 17, 2020
Loved everything!!!
May 17, 2020
It was clean and peaceful
May 17, 2020
Very clean and beautiful place.
May 17, 2020
Great place to stay, the grounds were clean And beautiful. The food was so good I had a cheeseburger and it was cooked perfectly. The only thing is all the skunk ties were closed due to Covid but the prices were the same. They should of adjusted prices accordingly.
May 16, 2020
Very clean. Staff were very nice and helpful. Thanks for a nice sta
May 13, 2020
Very helpful staff. We celebrated Mother’s Day and my husbands birthday. Will come back soon.
May 13, 2020
The manager Paul is horrible and needs to be replaced. Absolutely no sense of customer service at all. He ruined my Mother’s Day!!! All other staff were amazing.
May 13, 2020
Sure near the maintenance yard that was loud every morning at 700 despite being informed it was a quiet location upon booking. Employees were outside of their vehicles talking and playing music even before the end of quiet hours. Cafe closed down their cooking elements early and refused to make food. Several other negative interactions with staff. Paul the manager made aware and apologized.
May 13, 2020
May 12, 2020
This place is amazing however it’s a bit ridiculous that you charge full price when all the amenities are closed
May 12, 2020
Had a blast staying in the eco tent! All tables and chairs still need to be de-webbed by stay more frequently though.
May 12, 2020
We camped with 2 kids and our camper van. It was awesome. Wish pool was back open. Even on a limited usage term. We camp here all the time. It’s always a good time. Kyle that did the kids the dye was awesome and great with the kids!!!! Movie in park was great.
May 11, 2020
Celebrated my 50th BDay with friends and family. Thank you for making it happen and not closing due to Covid! �
May 11, 2020
The stay is always great fun! We love going as a family to enjoy a safe environment for the children to ride bikes. The only downfall is that people choose to have their trailers pressure washed and waxed is annoying and very disturbing! This weekend was about 4 hours of loud noises one evening! Then the next day as well! It also takes up some of the road. Maybe it can be done in a restricted
May 11, 2020
We had a great time, just one thing being a member if you make a reservation for a certain site you sure be able to get it if site is open for that date
May 11, 2020
May 11, 2020
It was terrific! Staff were helpful & followed safety measures. It wasn't too far from the beach & we were able to see the bioluminescence in the ocean. We enjoyed the fire pit, riding around on skateboards & scooters, & eating outside. We thought the loft had 2 single beds but there was only 1 double mattress. There were no BBQ utensils.It will be even better when the pool & everything is open.
May 11, 2020
You really don’t want to know what I thought of this weekend was very upset we’ve been coming for many years most of them were very good yearsBut this weekend the koa away with much different
May 11, 2020
Very nice park but way over priced
May 11, 2020
With the stay home ordinance currently going on in California it was SO NICE to get out and enjoy the fresh air from a campsite as opposed to our backyard (again). Staff was wonderful and considerate.
May 11, 2020
We haven't stayed at the metro KOA in many years and were very happy with all the nice developments even though we couldn't enjoy most of them during our stay due to the social distancing.
May 11, 2020
Excellent camp ground, friendly staff great location very close to the beach. We definitely will be returning when all of the amenities open up
May 11, 2020
May 11, 2020
Campground was too loud after 10pm all i heard was people playing music too loud even after 10pm people cross over me with tent playing there music way too loud like they own the whole place im disappointed big time
May 11, 2020
Absolutely great place to get away from home!
May 10, 2020
May 08, 2020
May 07, 2020
Wonderful relaxing time. Only thing that wrong was the non-essentials were not open, but that is our governments fault and not yours. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Thank you!
May 06, 2020
We love this park and have camped here before. The only negative is there are always groups with very loud music playing all day long. Every time we have camped here it has been a problem. They stop after 10, but the rest of the day is not very pleasant.
May 08, 2020
My wife and I have visited a lot of RV parks. The San Diego KOA stands out amongst them all. This park is centrally located making it perfect for visiting all of San Diego’s tourist spots. A friendly staff. Ramon the GM is a gracious caring host. The park has an over the top new pool complex. A restaurant that makes tasty food. 2 dog parks. A playing field, a full size basketball court and many fun things for the kids. Plenty of organized activities too. During the summer they have live bands. Nicely landscaped with plenty of mutate trees. And a large number of pull thru sites. The metro KOA is a destination park.
- articmarine on Trip Advisor
Mar 14, 2020
I love this local gem! Its has everything we need. Peace. Quiet. Coffee.
- Jason Brooks on Google
Mar 12, 2020
Kids love it
- Tonie Everhart on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.