Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2019
Nice KOA to stay at
Jul 16, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
Overall, a good place. Spots are a bit close - we could touch our next door neighbor’s slide from our window! Clean restrooms.
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Usually for a KOA Holiday, everything is included in a 'resort fee' this was not the case as the go karts and slide had a separate fee. The Slide was $7 for all day but go karts ( while fun) was $7 a person per ride. At least offer discounts to campground guests if a flat fee isn't feasible.
Jul 15, 2019
This was a perfect stay. Linda and Fred are gems and very awesome with the kids on the slide and go carts and Will was awesome with the go carts as well. We will definitely stay here again!!!
Jul 14, 2019
Jul 12, 2019
My wife and I stayed in one of the cabins which is wonderful if traveling by motorcycle, so you don't have to log around a tent. The staff was very helpful & nice. We will visit again.
Jul 12, 2019
Excellent, it just felt cramped and busy though.
Jul 10, 2019
first off, a+++. super staff. very nice showers restrooms and laundry. shuttle to royal gorge railway and royal gorge bridge was awesome. we were upgraded to a better sight due to our rv not leveling out good. nothing wrong with the sight, our rv did not want to level out. we can't say enough about how well we were treated here. very nice dog park. complimentary coffee in the morning. best ever.a+
Jul 09, 2019
They have a great staff, and they keep it very clean. We didn't have time to try out the go karts, but the slide (designed for older children and adults) was really fast and fun! I would definitely go again.
Jul 09, 2019
Nice campground. Lots of stuff for the kids. Will be back.
Jul 08, 2019
There was a man that has a Italian last name he works for the camp about 20 hours a week. When we came in late he brought out a flash light and helped us put our Fifth Wheel in the spot. Then when we left he was there again to help us out of the park. Also we loved the pizza they cooked there.
Jul 08, 2019
Looks like a lot of improvements are happening. I would recommend that the playground be high on the list of upcoming improvements. It is very aged. Also recommend including the slide and go carts in the nightly fees. Charge an additional 3-5. Other than that we enjoyed our visit
Jul 08, 2019
I stayed here for 2 days. I was out and about seeing the sights I in the area more than at the campgrounds. But the staff were friendly and I felt it was a great place to stay.
Jul 08, 2019
It is a nice clean campground love all the improvements made there since last year looks great. The people working there are so friendly! We will be back again.
Jul 08, 2019
Great Staff!! High Priced Extra Curricular Activities - Go Carts & Slides
Jul 07, 2019
First off they put us in a super small space all the other spaces were fairly roomy ours had maybe 4 feet. No room for our vehicle or to even sit out by the fire pit; if you could call it that. I asked to change sights the young girl rudely told me there were no others yet we visibly saw a couple of spaces empty the two days we were there. There are many things to add but I can’t due to room but
Jul 06, 2019
This was our first KOA experience. We had a full hookup spot with a 34’ travel trailer. When the park is full, they experience power surges. Regardless of our surge protector, our power kept going in and out causing us to not have air conditioning consistently. (90+ degree days are tough). The amenities need serious love and attention. 3/4 washers worked. 2/2 dryers however they were always full
Jul 04, 2019
Great location. A lot of extra things for kids to do such as go carting, a slide, pool, etc. an older park. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Jul 03, 2019
Friendly staff, facilities were in good order. Only suggestion is more frequent restocking of bathroom supplies.
Jul 03, 2019
Jul 03, 2019
Somehow our reservations got mixed. With pueblo canon city. We explained to Todd, who understood the situation and called pueblo and corporat to get it straightened. They could not find our reservation when we checked in at either, so when we checked in at Royal gorge we paid again. Pueblo did not use our koa card so left a message telling and to call if there was a problem. Then the 2nd day a
Jul 01, 2019
It was a nice place to stay. I wish there wasn't extra charges for the kids to go down the big slide. Also, the pool water felt freezing cold. Other than that everything was Great! The staff were really cool and helpful.
Jul 01, 2019
Very poor roads lots of dust.
Jul 01, 2019
It would have been nice if the people that ran the KOA to give you information about their campground. They told me to download an app. The app is nice but I had crappy cell service so it was hard to see what was going on. Other than that and the fact that no one acted like they wanted to help, it was ok. They should get cable too.
Jul 01, 2019
We have stayed at KOA's and other campgrounds all over the country and this was the best experience we've ever had. The location, amenities, laid back staff, cleanliness of the camp made our stay a 5 star experience. I messed up my booking dates and they worked a solution for me very quickly.
Jul 01, 2019
It is a beautiful and well kept campground. The employees were amazing and very helpful. We lost a cat and they found our cat and watched our cat until we could drive back there the next day. They went above and beyond and we are so thankful.
Jul 01, 2019
It was great be back in July Fred was very helpful I wish all KOA had people like Fred love everything about the camp thank you!
Jul 01, 2019
Jul 01, 2019
Jun 30, 2019
Great location near the Royal Bridge, can’t beat it. Friendly staff and clean facilities. Fantastic activities like golf, go carts and slide. On the negative side, very poor cell phone service and WIFI in the park. I would return to this nice place.
Jun 30, 2019
Very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend!! Extremely close to the Royal Gorge Bridge.
Jun 30, 2019
It was awesome!!
Jun 29, 2019
Staff was great! Fun activities for kids! Close to lots of awesome activities and hiking trails! I gave 4 just because the pull out and kids beds were not very comfortable...bring a foam pad to cover to make them more comfortable.
Jun 29, 2019
Kids loved the amenities. Everything was very well kept and neat. Very quiet. The space we were in was on the small side and hard to level which caused some grief. WiFi was slow. Overall though it was great!
Jun 29, 2019
Stayed one night. Site was level. Power OK. Overall can't see how this place got the Presidents Award in 2017??? It must be falling fast! There has been little to no grounds keeping maintenance that I can see. They're just resting on their previous laurels. Will not return again.
Jun 29, 2019
This is a very nice clean campground with very accommodating people. I had made a reservation and the space they gave me was far from the bathroom. I had hurt my foot on a hike and when I arrived I asked for a space near the bathroom and these folks happily found me one even though the campground was almost full. Enjoyed my stay there. Thanks very much!!
Jun 28, 2019
This KOA was awesome. It felt like we were staying with family. Very clean. Todd is very good with this team.
Jun 28, 2019
Beautiful setting with very nice pull throughs. Staff was incredible and very helpful!
Jun 26, 2019
The check-in process was great. I wish I could remember names but the lady who helped us was really nice and she. Please give her our compliments. I have to say you had the cleanest camp bathrooms I have EVER been in at a campground. Usually going to the restroom is dreadful and it wasn't this time. Our campsite was in great shape We had a hard time getting on and navigating the activities app.
Jun 26, 2019
We have a 35 foot pull trailer, the young lady that led us in just have been in a hurry, she ran off and left us. We could not navigate the turns for the rocks. Had too move rocks with the help of a guy in the cabin, not a worker. The site was too small and slanted 8'' slope. This Koa is not big rig friendly. The staff was not very helpful. Would not recomend!
Jun 26, 2019
Beautiful and really clean campsites. A clean pool. A huge slide. Very friendly and helpful staff. Really enjoyed this park. KOA is surrounded by other campsites but we wouldn’t stay anywhere else. They also deliver the best pizza right to your campsite. Good grief. What more could you ask for?
Jun 25, 2019
Great campground! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campground had a sewer clog while we were there and staff work nonstop to solve the problem.
Jun 25, 2019
Great views, clean, friendly staff. Recommendation: tables / benches need some work.
Jun 24, 2019
The employees here are amazing.The campground is clean but some of the RV sites are very close together. The reason for 3 stars here is it is advertised as having wifi but the wifi is useless and too slow to do anything. Worthless internet connection. There was also no cellular service (TMobile) so I could not plan much while at the campsite. No shuttle service as well to gorge as advertised.
Jun 24, 2019
Jun 24, 2019
Had a good time, we were here for only 2 days and unfortunately it rained the couple of days we were here and it was extremely windy but we had a nice time. The campground is clean and there is plenty of room per campsite. This is close to town and of many of the outdoor activities that Colorado is known for, if we are back in this area, we will definitely return to this KOA.
Jun 24, 2019