Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5689

Reserve: 800-562-5689

Info: 719-275-6116

Info: 719-275-6116

Email

559 County Road 3A

Canon City, CO 81215

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Dec 11, 2017
Terrible.Trash filled fire ring upon arrival.Campsite pretty much a hill so no good place for tent.Luckily could go into vacant campsite a little for flat area for large tent.Nothing on website about the slide/go carts being extra money.WAY TOO EXPENSIVE.I would think ONE wristband for the entire stay would be reasonable..but daily for each activity??Best thing is refunded $ to leave early
Dec 06, 2017
Had a wonderful time and the host was very friendly.
Dec 02, 2017
Nicole was a wonderful manager ! We appreciated her kindness and professionalism :)
Nov 30, 2017
Wonderful site! Management was very nice. Stellar clean bathrooms and showers!!!!
Nov 29, 2017
The KOA was very clean. Nicole was extremely helpful,and professional. We have already told friends and family about the KOA.
Nov 28, 2017
Nov 22, 2017
Problem with water freezing up over night until late morning.
Nov 20, 2017
the staff was MORE than accommodating, they were extremely great at all they had and provided. however the KOA campground itself was LACKING in amenities, the showers had no heaters, its November & COLD. the shop was minimally stocked with supplies, food, trinkets, toiletries, drinks etc. Rumor was the KOA had been sold and new owners coming. Hope the do better, Please Keep current staff!
Nov 07, 2017
We stayed in a single cabin for a long weekend in early November. The cabin was perfectly clean and stayed warm with a small space heater. The campground was near empty (off-season) and thus was very quiet. The restrooms and showers were clean and all in working order. Staff was not onsite during our visit but were easily reachable by phone. Would be a fun place with activities in high season.
Nov 07, 2017
Not very happy about our stay. We had to wait over 20 minutes and call twice for the attendant to come and check us in. Once we got in there we had to clean under everything the beds and whatnot because there was trash and taffy candy on the floor which one of my dogs found before we did. Not too happy about that. The restroom toilet was disgusting and it had feces in two of the toilets.
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Just too expensive! Especially when compared to similar campgrounds in the area. We are paying 40% less right now at the Oasis in Las Vegas, a gorgeous set up
Oct 30, 2017
There are no views of the bridge, from any site. We arrived to find all amenities shut down without prior warning on the website. The campground roads are littered with plant thorns which punctured both tires on both my kids bikes within 5 minutes of riding around. Bathrooms are very clean so kudos on that.
Oct 26, 2017
Was a great time. Definitely one camping trip I won't forget.
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 22, 2017
The Royal Gorge KOA is close to the Royal Gorge and Canon City. The sites were excellent and the restroom/showers clean and well kept. We loved it. Thanks.
Oct 18, 2017
We've been here twice before, so we obviously like it. We love Nicole, she's a sweetheart; very helpful and pleasant. The place is a little run down, needs some sprucing up and it looks like some of that is in process. The horse barn by C loop is an eye sore and the flies on that side are atrocious. But it's close to the Gorge and has great views.
Oct 17, 2017
Looked run down. First thing we noticed was green water in pool and the weeds needed to be cut.
Oct 17, 2017
Great location, didnt realize the cabin did not have a stove, but improvised with the propane barbecue. Propane tank was empty, so searched in the dark for another tank at nearby cabins so we could cook our dinner and breakfast the next morning.
Oct 17, 2017
We stayed for the weekend and had a great time. The staff was very helpful and friendly and even delivered pizza to our motor home. We live close to the campground and is a perfect weekend get away. We plan on using the Royal Gorge KOA frequently.
Oct 17, 2017
As always its great. A little weird this time with all the "long term" residents but always a pleasure. Nicole was amazing as usual.
Oct 17, 2017
It took two days to reply to or email for check in check out times. The camp site was to small for the trailer and we had to call the office to change sites because they left at 4:00 pm. The bathroom shower only one of the four worked and it was in the dark a burned out light and you had to keep pulling on a chain to get a small stream of water
Oct 17, 2017
Very nice host and accommodations but no WIFI or air antennae TV. Beautiful area right next to Royal Gorge.
Oct 17, 2017
Very friendly staff! Bathrooms and showers were not very clean or maintained. Gift shop was really unique! Campground was not much to look at overall. Although, you don't have many options by the Royal Gorge. My recommendation would be to arrive earlier and tour the Gorge, then head further down the road to a nicer campground.
Oct 12, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
The trash bins were running over could not find people who worked there unless you called on phone cost a little high for time off year
Oct 10, 2017
Had a very nice time!
Oct 10, 2017
We had a very nice time at the campground. Although it was past season everything was available for what we needed and wanted. This was my 86th birthday, my son came over from Moffat and my daughters were with me from CO Springs. We hiked around the campground and found the scenery very nice.
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
The lady working was very cheerful and nice.
Oct 09, 2017
Absolutely a beautiful site! I only wish we had stayed there during the peak summer season.
Oct 09, 2017
Helpful desk staffer and great location. We stayed 2 nights to explore the area. However the restrooms need some serious updates (lighting and exhaust ventilation that works, sink and shower plumbing fixtures that work). Also the thriving ant hills in the tent area made that setup dicey.
Oct 09, 2017
We rented the deluxe cabin. The ceiling fan, cabinets, drawers and tub were not clean. It was not stocked as advertised. A few cooking utensils and plastic eating wear. No sponge for dishwashing. The refrigerator smelled. There were bees nests above the front door and window and they kept getting in. The hostess was very helpful and courteous but not available when we checked out on Sunday.
Oct 09, 2017
Beautiful setting convenient to the gorge. Level sites on a slope. Arranged so that we didnât have to look into each otherâs RVs. Fun playground for kids.
Oct 08, 2017
It was very good. We got everything we needed. The place was clean and the rangers were friendly. Please excuse our English, we are German. So, thanks a lot.
Oct 06, 2017
The new landscaping was very nice. The view the best ever. Employees were friendly and efficient.
Oct 05, 2017
The location was great - lots of nearby activities to keep you busy. The views were stunning. Nicole was AMAZING - she went out of her way to ensure our stay was all it could be and then some. She was very responsive to calls and quick with recommendations. Thanks, Nicole for everything!
Oct 04, 2017
Staff was 1 person - not in office much! Computer/printer not working (no receipt)! Icenaker didn't work (no ice)! Staff suggested 20 mi round trip to get ice! Staff suggested 3 restaurants nearby - all closed! Dog poop all over site beside us! We realize it was late in the season but we reserved so we could visit Royal Gorge Bridge. This was not the usual KOA experience. 100% Guarantee?
Oct 03, 2017
We had made a reservation which requires advanced payment. When we arrived we were charged an extra seven dollars. I have never had that happen at any other KOA and we stay at them frequently. Also, the pool was green and the dog park had no poop bags and the garbage can was overflowing. This Park was not up to the standards you expect from a KOA
Oct 03, 2017
Had a great stay. Cabin was very clean and employee was very helpful. WiFi would only let me connect for about ten minutes on my phone and would not let my laptop connect. Kept saying invalid password wich was a correct password. Plus disappointed that the fire pit did not have a real grate on it to help with cooking. But other than those two things it was great!
Oct 01, 2017
Disappointed in the showers. Understand desire to save water, but showers were nearly unusable having to try to hold the handle in the right position above your head with one hand while washing with the other...chain pulls did NOT work.
Oct 01, 2017
I was told when I made the reservation that if we got there early to call and if there were sites available we could get in early. When we got there early we were told it would cost $10 extra. We opted to just go on and come back later but it would have been more convenient to have set up earlier. Convenient to local sites, Restrooms were very nice, site not very level. Staff friendly. Thanks!
Sep 30, 2017
had a great stay, helpful staff and conveniently located to the Royal Gorge RR & Canyon
Sep 30, 2017
employee was no where to be found after wait we ck in and got cabin as it was about to rain. cabin not cleaned so we had to wait til she went somewhere, came back, her husband & kids were in office talking to her. got in cabin, not very cleaned. no mention of what to do with key when we left. pizza we order from her was good. nice area but needs better help.
Sep 26, 2017
This KOA was pretty run down, just simple things like emptying the fire pits would help! The hours of the office were supposed to be 8am-8pm and they were never there during specified hours. Hard to get ahold of them also, they need another employee, the poor girl was cleaning cabins, working the front desk, and cleaning the bathrooms(thus why no one is there to answer the phone).Trash everywhere
Sep 26, 2017
Out of main season, why are the rates still so high? It is a little run down.
Sep 26, 2017
Very nice campsites. Nice clean campground.
Sep 26, 2017
We stayed there about a month ago and ask for the same cabin. Got it and just love the view !! Just wish the store offers coffee in the morning
Sep 23, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals