Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5689

Reserve: 800-562-5689

Info: 719-275-6116

Info: 719-275-6116

Email This Campground

559 County Road 3A

Canon City, CO 81215

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 14, 2018
Jul 14, 2018
Jul 14, 2018
Requested to stay an additional day and was told the sight I was in was unavailable. No offer to put me in another site until I asked for options. This happened twice at this KOA. Poor service.
Jul 14, 2018
My grandsons enjoyed the go carts, slide and the Journey Quest rafting trip. WiFi could be better
Jul 14, 2018
Jul 13, 2018
Was a nice stay. Staff was friendly.
Jul 13, 2018
Friendly Staff.
Jul 12, 2018
Every one is friendly and helpful. Camp is clean and quiet. I would recommend a railing near the steps into the pool to make it easier to get out. Thanks for the good times.
Jul 12, 2018
Staff were rude, over priced higher cost of any KOA that we stayed at during our trip.All the trash dumpsters were full to the point of running over and smelled terrible, when I checked in I ask the lady at the desk if they did discounts for AARP or Military she stated We don't give those here. Would not stay here again
Jul 11, 2018
We had a great time at the Park. Patrick and Emma were very helpful with information and filling up the propain. They helped raise the rating from a 3 to a 4. Unfortunately there was a NO BURN BAND so we did not get a chance to grill.
Jul 11, 2018
This was my 1st time and it was a horrible experience. They messed up my reservation upcharging my stay. They stated they could not accommodate the situation due to their staff mix up we were told NO. BBQ didn't work and I was brought a small table top one. I ultimately had to leave due to an emergency and still had to deal with the mess of check out��
Jul 11, 2018
Jul 11, 2018
Staff was great. Facility needs updating, especially the child areas. Bathrooms were always dirty and unkept.
Jul 11, 2018
Jul 11, 2018
Very nice, would camp here again
Jul 11, 2018
For some reason our reservation wasn't in the computer but we had proof of payment. The lady was so nice and got us a good spot while making sure not to double charge us. The view is pretty and the showers were in walking distance :)
Jul 11, 2018
Decent stay. Was charged $5 each for 2 kids when one of them was 4. Price on internet says $4 per kid over 7. Bathrooms were disgusting and unusable. We got the extra patio deluxe spot which was ridiculously expensive and there was nothing Deluxe about it. All it had was a worn down picnic table. That is not a patio. We only stayed one night so it wasn’t too bad. Would probably not recommend.
Jul 11, 2018
No complaints about cabin or facilities. Disappointed that you have not forwarded my receipt by email as was promised (the printer was out of paper at the time).
Jul 10, 2018
It was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 10, 2018
We loved the events that we scheduled. The facilties and staff were great! Very family friendly environment and a great location.
Jul 10, 2018
Great location, clean bathrooms, friendly staff.
Jul 10, 2018
The young ladies that checked us in were friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable. There were several other young ladies and young men working around that were equally helpful and friendly. I was very impressed with them. The facilities and activities were dated but kept us entertained and clean.The only issue was a loud group that came in after quiet hours and kept being loud throughout the night.
Jul 10, 2018
It was nice and the bathrooms were clean. However the bathrooms were far from the tent sites and closer to RV which was confusing. And the dog park was full of stickers my dog stepped in and his paw was covered. But other than that great stay and great pizza. Friendly staff!
Jul 10, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay, The staff were friendly and helpful. The RV space was clean with easy access to the full hook-ups. The bathroom was in great shape, thank you for keeping it clean. The pool was very cold, but our grandchildren had a lot of fun. We totally enjoyed the slide, although you really need to buy some new burlap sacks. Loved the hay ride. Thank you, we will be back.
Jul 10, 2018
Weekend getaway for my brother/I. Staff was very friendly, and the cleanliness was great. Would gladly come back.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
We recently returned from a 15 day vacation into the south west. We stayed in 8 KOA’s while on our trip. While this KOA was in a good location in relation to Royal Gorge, and Cañon City, which was nice. The actual campground was probably the worst one we stayed in. We stayed in the basic cabin at almost every location. This one had broken steps which were very dangerous, the mattress’ were di
Jul 09, 2018
Great location for visiting the Royal Gorge. Facility is good for kids with a small pool and other activities. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. On the negative side, the entire campground is gravel (I did not see a single blade of grass), cable TV has been eliminated (after I made the reservation), not their fault but no over-the-air tv reception, dirty bathrooms. For $70/night, I expect more.
Jul 09, 2018
Tee spots are too little and we have a 38' fifthwheel and had to perform magic to get our unit in the space. The approaches are too narrow and the landscaping is nice but was not thought through when calculating for turns with longerner units. There is no TV antenna reception or access to cable and with down time i like to catch up on news and stay informed with area weather.
Jul 09, 2018
I was not satisfied with the condition of the campground. Pool was in bad shape,gravel lanes were dusty and unmaintained. The five days we were there we lost power three different times and resulted into some damage on my coach. The two cabins we had rented the air-conditioners only worked about half the time. It was an unpleasant stay. Beautiful area and has potential of being a nice campground.
Jul 09, 2018
This campground was very accommodating to my family! They had many activities for the kids.
Jul 09, 2018
The campground is really run down and most of the activities cost extra. Very disappointing. The only good thing is the vicinity to the Royal Gorge.
Jul 09, 2018
I was disappointed because I was not able to put out our awning due to a dead tree that they seem to be keeping for some unknown reason. I was not fond of having to share the same space as our neighbor for outdoor eating.
Jul 09, 2018
The best part about our stay was Grandpa Q, he was awesome and made our last day there enjoyable. Otherwise, power went out, no shade, no trees, had to share a picnic table with another camper, pool was dirty.
Jul 09, 2018
Fire ants everywhere and no fires. It would have been nice to be alerted to the fire ban. And please get rid of the ants
Jul 09, 2018
Great location for the Gorge, close enough to town and great activities for the kids. A bit dusty.
Jul 09, 2018
The pool was gross. However, everything else was great!
Jul 08, 2018
This was my first time in a KOA. The camping sites are a little close for me... I am use to room in between campers. I was in a tent site and a group come in and was so close I was uncomfortable. But was glad to have a place to lay my head.
Jul 08, 2018
Good location, nice staff and the convenience of pizza delivered to your site. However, we spent two nights and the dumpster was grossly overflowing the whole time (not yet July 4 so it can't be blamed on the holiday). Also, my husband said the bathroom was not as clean and well stocked as we are accustomed to at KOAs.
Jul 08, 2018
AWESOME THE STAFF IS SO PROFESSIONAL AND NICE!!!! CAMPGROUND WAS AMAZING... THE POOL WAS GREAT THE MINI GOLF WAS FUN CANT WAIT TO GO AGAIN
Jul 08, 2018
The activities for the kids that were provided were excellent, but what made the activities was the camp staff, Emma! She was super with the kids and went above what was expected of her! Also, the shuttle van that was available was perfect! We drove a motorhome, with no additional vechicle, so having this was exactly what we needed. And thanks to Matt, a very friendly staff member, help guide us!
Jul 07, 2018
Jul 07, 2018
The staff was not very helpful. Our group was no where near each other even though we made several requests over months and months. The slide got shut down an hour early after we bought a three hour pass. The trash was always overflowing. The facility was fine, it was just management that couldn’t run the campground very well.
Jul 07, 2018
Nice view but we have been to many KOA and for the 4th there was nothing to offer guest for the 4th things for kids. Never seemed to take pride in campground trash pulled high. Bathrooms were clean. Seemed like a bunch of teenagers running it with no clue about the area
Jul 07, 2018
Jul 07, 2018
The ataff says there is no 2 night stay in the cheaper sites only in the premium sites. When you get there there alot of empty sites. Price to stay is way to high. I paid $184 dollars for two nights. That was s awful.
Jul 06, 2018
Worthless! We reserved an 80' site in Feb for July. When we got there they put us in a 50' site & told us we would have to park our truck some where else. My husband is disabled & needs the truck next to us. There were lots available that would fit us but they wouldn't move us. Within the 1st hour we told them we were not happy but they would not refund our money. Bathrooms dirty. No deluxe site.
Jul 06, 2018
We had no internet or cable TV. This type of campground needs those amenities for those campers wanting to get news and weather forecasts, we hate to be out of touch for multiple days. The rest of the campground was good, nice pool, entertainment for kids, go-carts and giant slide. By the way, Phil (Grandpa Q) at the go-cart ride was a giant asset for this campground, he was wonderful.
Jul 06, 2018
Staff is friendly. Attractions are good for the kids. Could use a little more maintenance and attention to detail. Our particular spot was less than ideal. Dont like the shared electric/sewer with people next door. Makes hanging out outside a little awkward.
Jul 05, 2018
I can't really recommend the tent sites. Extremely close together on hilly, uneven gravel terrain. The kicker is that the numbering system is non-sequential and impossible to figure out. Just a poorly conceived tenting area all the way around.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals