Richmond North / Kings Dominion KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 20, 2019
My stay was excellent. Service was very prompt. A very friendly staff. Campsite clean & well kept as well as other areas. I thought some items in the Campstore were a little bit Pricey that was offset by nearby shopping.. Thumbs up to this KOA. �
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 19, 2019
A wonderful campground close to 95. The park, grounds and bath houses were bath houses were VERY CLEAN. Everyone was helpful and nice. We will definitely stay again. The only negative I saw was that we have a 40' with 3 slides and the Buddy Site was too close.
Sep 18, 2019
A tie for first place (so far) with New Bern NC due to SPOTLESS washroom/shower facilities and friendly, courteous staff!! These last few nights - and next few nights - represent my first experience with KOA sites...but they will not be my last.
Sep 17, 2019
Stayed 3 nights and park was very nice and well kept. Had a paved lot which was great for motor coach. Shower house was very clean and modern. Had plenty of room to walk the dogs, although dog park was a long distance from the lot we had.
Sep 17, 2019
Everything was nice. Pull thru sites OK for our 40' 5th wheel after checking out how to get in. Everything very clean and well maintained. We go here just for a close (2.5 hour) get away without going to the amusement park.
Sep 16, 2019
Easy check in. Clean restrooms
Sep 16, 2019
Overnighted, it was clean, quiet, and not very busy at all.
Sep 15, 2019
Hi. Just over night stay. But, Facility was clean. Site was clean. Staff was very nice. We stay at KOA there on our travels north and south.
Sep 15, 2019
Sep 12, 2019
Off season during the week. Less than 20 campers in area. No discounts for off season, parked us right next door( and at $60.00 a night ) to another camper. St this rate KOA’S should provide cable.
Sep 12, 2019
Campground was beyond nice! Only stayed one night but we will definitely be back.
Sep 10, 2019
Somebody was in our site when we arrived. I called office and they came out. No more buddy sites available. They asked person in my site to move to their assigned site. When moving they dumped their black tank all over the site. The staff were very accommodating, even though we didn’t get a buddy site we still had a great time
Sep 10, 2019
We stayed one night and needed a pull thru site to save time that had full hookup. The facilities are well maintained, clean. It was easy I95 access. Exceeded our needs. Would stay again.
Sep 09, 2019
very nice facility and friendly staff. Will definitely stay at this KOA again for future trips.
Sep 09, 2019
We had a great stay. The staff was very friendly, especially the two guys who picked up the trash. They were polite and wished us a good day when we acknowledged them and asked if we needed anything. We will definitely tell our friends about this campground.
Sep 09, 2019
Campground is spotless and well maintained, as are the bathrooms and showers. Our only complaint was the hot water in the showers. It took forever to heat up, like 5 minutes and was only hot for maybe 10 minutes. Maintenance did check it out, but with the same results. The shuttle to the park was a fantastic added bonus. Lots of staff in the store, but it was hard to get waited on.
Sep 09, 2019
the cabin was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Sep 08, 2019
We only stayed overnight traveling through The staff was very friendly and the check in process was great
Sep 07, 2019
We had a wonderful stay, friendly neighbors and staff. The pool, campground and bathrooms were clean. Check-in and checking out were very easy. I’m already planning my next stay!
Sep 07, 2019
Everything was great from day we checked in and to the day we left. The bus to Kings Dominion and return was a very convenient for us too! We look forward to our next trip up here.
Sep 05, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
Nice park but, some sites are maybe 3 foot apart slide to slide, the only place to park our car was under our awning. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A little pricey because it was next to an amusement park.
Sep 04, 2019
Norris, Moses and David were beyond helpful!!! Norris was getting off work and 1/2 way across the parking lot when I approached him (not knowing he had clocked out) and he went back to his radio to call for help with the sewage pipe at our site. Moses and David arrived ready to assist. Then saw that we needed a picnic table at our site and went to retrieve a table and bring it back CHEERFULLY!!!
Sep 03, 2019
Need to expand the number of full hook up sites otherwise a nice relaxing stay.
Sep 02, 2019
I really enjoyed our stay. I would have given 5 Stars but they charged us an early check-in fee (why do that if the cabin is ready) and the general store was overpriced.
Sep 02, 2019
We booked at the last minute and ended up with a great site! Our site was shaded and well-maintained. The facilities were clean. All of the staff that we met were friendly and helpful! We love this KOA and will be back soon!
Sep 01, 2019
Very corporate! Not personal. Short pool hours. Labor Day weekend 91*. Crazy. Pool needs to be open! Big drop off our concrete pad. Right out our door. Picnic table bad. Paid too much for this. Never stay here again
Aug 31, 2019
Clean facilities really nice camp sites with many trees. Close to major attractions as well as easy hop on the interstate to get to many other historical sites as well as stores and restaurants.
Aug 29, 2019
clean
Aug 28, 2019
We only stayed overnight, and it was pretty empty, but a very clean well kept park. I was disappointed that there was no golf cart to take us to our site, when your driving a 41' motorhome, towing an Avalanche, you don't want to make a wrong turn. Bath house was clean
Aug 28, 2019
The 2 days we were there was OK. Two things , we arrived 1 hour before check-in and was charged an extra $20 for a site that was vacant , as for the site, 179 should not be classified as an "Elite" site. I could barley fit my rig there and could not open the awnings because of the trees. I would come back again because of being very close to the park.
Aug 27, 2019
Nice park but not much hot water
Aug 27, 2019
We only stayed a few nights to go to Kings Dominion. July 22 , 2019 weekend. Everything was perfect and great. Plenty of staff there. They were very helpful and nice. The pool was great. Campstore is huge and had a nice area in it with Tv, game boards, checker table and cozy couches. The bathrooms in the campground area was like being at the Ritz! Showers in each one is secure and private
Aug 26, 2019
well kept and maintained campground, friendly staff, hookups worked fine. There was a paper-wasp nest in the insulation for the water connection, and when I called the office they were there in just a couple of minutes and took care of it.
Aug 26, 2019
Overall enjoyed the stay, however a regular size box of graham crackers an 3 candy bars(1.79 each) an the bag of marshmallows 1 bundle of wood shouldn't be $35.00. Graham crackers @ ($5.69) is so grossly overpriced. Maybe the high prices for the items is why nothing is priced so when you get to the register its kinda to late to back out. I was very upset about the pricing. Crazy overpriced..
Aug 26, 2019
always clean. quiet. comfortable. and willing to help with any needs
Aug 25, 2019
Very clean facility and friendly staff. We will definitely return for a longer stay.
Aug 25, 2019
Expensive, did not accept rewards, nearby train, unfriendly staff
Aug 23, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
Nice campground for visiting Kings Dominion. Shuttle service to the park is a plus. Cabin we stayed in was nice and had plenty of room. Cabin is overpriced at $200.00 a night. Some things noted are, AC filters dirty, floor vents full of hair and debris. I believe the cleaning crew needs some guidance.
Aug 22, 2019
Deluxe paved sites too close together
Aug 22, 2019
We came down to Richmond to visit our grandkids and go to kings dominion . Had a good time even though it was very hot, but your pool was nice.
Aug 22, 2019
Some of the Red Carpet sites are very narrow and you have someone else's electric running through the front of your site. The park was very clean and tidy and we enjoyed using the shuttle to Kings Dominion. We would absolutely return if we were able to pick our site.
Aug 21, 2019
nice clean campground, staff friendly and helpful … very close to Kings Dominion so it was great
Aug 21, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay and looking forward to doing it again soon.
Aug 20, 2019
We really enjoyed our time and stay. The pool was well maintained, the store had appropriate provisions, and I appreciated the pull through concrete site. We will definitely stay again. Thank you to the owners and staff. :)
Aug 20, 2019
Nice clean sites. Quiet, comfortable stay. Concrete pads, ample shade.
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
Sep 19, 2019
Loved this place it was spacious and it reminds me of a tiny house also it was very peaceful and quiet
- Johnetta Wilhoit on Google
Sep 10, 2019
Wonderful place!!! So much to do. Great place to take the family and have some fun! Campground was emaculate and the sites were large.
- Mary Giordano on Google
Sep 07, 2019
My family and I had a great time over the Labor Day weekend. The campground was very well kept. The pool, bathrooms and campsites were very clean. The staff and fellow campers were very friendly, we had a wonderful time. I’m already planning my next stay!
- Sunny Sebring on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.