Ouray KOA

Open May 1 - October 3

Reserve: 800-562-8026

Reserve: 800-562-8026

Info: 970-325-4736

Info: 970-325-4736

Email This Campground

US Hwy 550 - CR23, PO Box J

Ouray, CO 81427

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jun 18, 2018
I appreciate your efforts to accommodate our large group, including the breakfast rush.
Jun 18, 2018
Nice facility with clean bathrooms. Also a well-stocked store located next to the office. Beautiful views and got to meet Dave (the owner) who is a nice person and enthusiastic about keeping his campground in good condition and making sure that his campers are happy with their stay there. Camped in the motorcycle tent camping area up front near the office and very satisfied with the site.
Jun 17, 2018
great stay, always clean showers and friendly staff
Jun 16, 2018
Wish there was a 6th star for this rating. We love Ouray KOA! Excellent staff and facilities. Will definitely return in the future!
Jun 14, 2018
Jun 13, 2018
Great location, wonderful amenities! My tent spot was pretty and shaded, and breakfast at the diner was very tasty. :)
Jun 12, 2018
So sad we were a week too early for the BBQ, band and booze. Teepee was awesome.
Jun 12, 2018
Deborah, the owner, was very kind and accommodating - when I wanted to change my assigned campsite. The sites under the cliff area are very beautiful and a bit further away from the RV's, which was nice. The bathrooms are incredibly well kept and clean. And what a treat to have your own private bathroom - with toilet and sink, some with showers. All in all, a very nice stay.
Jun 12, 2018
Beautiful location, nice grounds, friendly staff, very clean bathrooms and showers, and just a couple minute drive outside of both Ouray and Ridgway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would absolutely come back.
Jun 11, 2018
The KOA is well kept and our stay was nice. However, a misunderstanding over price turned into an argument with the staff that could have been solved easily without staff members getting heated. That said, if you have a cabin with a queen sized bed and a pair of bunks, the rate should include 4 people. Pricey for 4 people. Hotel room would have been cheaper and have coffee and tissues in the room.
Jun 11, 2018
This KOA is very nicely situated in a beautiful area. The showers and bathrooms were nice and clean. Just a bit pricey for a tent site that had no water or electricity.
Jun 11, 2018
Been coming to this Campground for 19 years. Revisit multiple times throughout the summer time. Never once have we had a bad experience.
Jun 08, 2018
Lovely park, super friendly and helpful staff.
Jun 05, 2018
Jun 05, 2018
Lovely location and very clean facility. Can’t wait to return!
Jun 05, 2018
Beautiful location, clean restrooms, extremely kind employees!
Jun 04, 2018
We love koa Ouray. It was our 5 time there and will be back again. We missed the Hot Dam duo this year:-( it was sad do not have them there. Much love, Guacira, Dylan and Daphne
Jun 04, 2018
Clean bathrooms, excellent customer service, fairly priced bundles of firewood. Tent camping sites located in a more natural environment.
May 31, 2018
Was an AWESOME campground! Staff super friendly and we had the perfect tent spot! Will definitely be back!!!
May 30, 2018
I only have one thing that was disappointing here. It was a 3 day weekend, Memorial Weekend, and if I wanted to book here I had to book 3 days. Which I did as I was forced to or I couldn't book. So I had to pay for a day that I wasn't there. As I got there and walked around there were so many sites that were not being occupied so I think that I should of been able to only book the days I needed.
May 29, 2018
clean and very nice bathrooms, very nice workers and owners! the Jeep rentals were a big bonus!
May 29, 2018
May 27, 2018
Almost too nice... like scary friendly... I've seen enough scary movies to know that the staff here are probably hiding bodies in the hills.. All jokes aside, everyone was super helpful and courteous. Hospitality to the max. Staff worked well together as well, one picked up right where the last left off. Every need we had was met and sorted out before we knew it. Will return soon.
May 26, 2018
May 26, 2018
very pleasant front office staff; restroom were clean and well maintained - rest of campers obviously respect the area
May 17, 2018
May 14, 2018
The staff here were helpful. Facilities were very clean. The campground was pleasant and clean.
Nov 19, 2017
We had a great time, beautiful scenery and campground. This place was very affordable and the service was awesome. We had to "shoo" the deer out of our site so we could set-up. I can't wait to come back.
Sep 21, 2017
What a beautiful campground. We spent 7 days there tent camping and had a great time. The scenery is amazing, the staff is very friendly and the facilities are fantastic. Would highly recommend this KOA to anyone visiting the area!
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Staff provided perfect site based on my request. Restrooms are very clean and well maintained. A perfect base camp to explore Colorado.
Sep 11, 2017
Several loud, drunk, boorish jerks a few lots away insisted on partying well past 11 pm, and when I informed the campground security host, she TOLD these punks my exact campsite #. After she left, the inebriated pukes yelled what an a-hole I was. An HOUR AND A HALF LATER, they were quiet. I can take it, but how about the many young children there? Shame on this KOA for allowing this to happen. BOO
Sep 11, 2017
They kept asking me the breed of my dog but he doesn't have one because he's a mixed breed, pariah dog. He's tan, medium sized, pointed ears, and has a curve in his tail.
Sep 10, 2017
This is our favorite KOA! We keep coming back. Clean, great service, and incredible location!
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 09, 2017
Setting is great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I've stayed at many KOA's and the bathroom are individual and spotless from campground standards. We will continue to stay here!!
Sep 07, 2017
awesome
Sep 06, 2017
the staff at the Ouray KOA was outstanding. helping us in every way. from storing our roof rack basket for the week, to letting us store our food containers in their office (away from Bears) they had a great little breakfast café. all the grounds were perfect for as many people as they had. all the staff were friendly and there to answer every question. will definitely recommend and stay again
Sep 06, 2017
Stayed 6 days and enjoyed every minute. Our first night was the last day for the BBQ and Bar which was a disappointment but we got over it. otherwise it was a beautiful stay. Clean showers and bathrooms, great breakfast and the hosts were friendly.
Sep 05, 2017
We had deer in our camp and a bear :) The stay was awesome, it was our first KOA camp experience, we were very happy with our stay. We tent camped and Eric at the KOA helped us with the most "remote" camping they have. It worked great for us! We all said we'd stay there again!
Sep 05, 2017
It was nice. The water faucet was a ways away as was the bathroom. We usually stay in forest service campgrounds so the cost was higher. The staff was very nice. The store was great to have and the breakfast was awesome, especially the pancakes. Thank you.
Sep 05, 2017
We stayed 3 nights in campsite G. It was near the road (not much traffic at night) and the trade off was that we didn't have any close "neighbors" - so it was private and nice and shaded. We enjoyed it a lot. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. They were constantly patrolling around asking if anyone needed help. Facilities were some of the cleaniest I've seen. Enjoyed our stay!
Sep 05, 2017
Great campground beautiful scenery just watch that food stuff put away as bear was in campground every night. But we had no problems.
Sep 05, 2017
What a pleasant stay! Of all of the campgrounds in the Ouray area, this one is the one we recommend. Our tent camping experience was peaceful and quiet, in beautiful surroundings. The bathrooms and sink area were clean and well-stocked. The location is roughly equidistant between Ouray and Ridgway; Ouray has more spectacular scenery and hiking/swimming, and Ridgway has better stores and dining.
Sep 05, 2017
I made a last minute reservation change and the staff was super accommodating. I'd like to request that the dead aspen trees, in the campsites near the pond, be removed; in nasty weather they'll (eventually) end up being a risk. You guys are great and thanks so much for a fantastic time! I'd really like to join your referral program, if you have one.
Sep 05, 2017
Bears, bears, bears. If you are interested in a camping/ zoo experience come to this location. As you will be able to sleep with the multiple bears that ransack your campsite while trying to alert camp staff only to be blatantly ignored. Don't forget your bear mace as these bears have become reliant on people's food. Hope one doesn't snap when you visit.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry, but you are way out of line. Bears become reliant on your food when you leave it for them to find. Nature is as nature does. There are bears in nature along with many other animals. It is people who do not take head that causes bears to be attracted along with dry conditions higher in the mountains that cause them to look for food below. If you felt ignored, it was all in your head.
Sep 03, 2017
Outstanding KOA. Excellent staff, works hard to make sure everything is done right. Bath areas cleaned many times a day. Good security, saw them driving around in battery (quiet) powered carts all night. Really a great place. Everyone very friendly.
Sep 02, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Extremely helpful & friendly owner and staff -- helped us immensely after we locked our van with keys inside (only the 3rd time I have done that in my 77 years, with camping & travel nearly every year). We liked the site we were given -- way back at the end of the long section, with hill behind us -- when we drove up 3 deer were searching for food in the bushes. The campground is lovely & clean.
Aug 31, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award