Ouray KOA Reviews

Mountain Top Destination

Book Now
Jul 11, 2020
Jul 10, 2020
We enjoyed our stay for the most part but felt it was a bit crowded. I’m sure it is not always like that but it was very busy when we were there. The only frustrating thing about that was that there were lines for the bathrooms and lines to wash your dishes. The facilities were clean and the staff were friendly though. The location was close enough to Ouray.
Jul 09, 2020
Great KOA, fantastic new owners, I give it a 5 rating but the campground has a dust problem due to the dusty gravel roads, this makes it hard to dine outdoors during dry conditions. Also some of the bathrooms were out of T.P. during the July 4th week, may need to service more often during peak periods.
Jul 09, 2020
Jul 09, 2020
One of the best KOA’s that we’ve been to! The staff is very helpful and friendly, and our favorite “go to” person was Tom in the office. The kitchen does a great job with the breakfasts ... unfortunately we weren’t there on the days that they have supper. The grounds have beautiful trees, so this isn’t one of those “parking lot” type campgrounds. Hip Hip Ouray for this KOA!
Jul 08, 2020
The coffee/breakfast needs to stay open to a min of 11, not everyone is morning people. More gravy with the biscuits and gravy please, everyone at our table ended up throwing most of it away because there was hardly any gravy with the dry biscuits. Lastly, its not ok to charge regular customers $20 to reserve a cabin t when they have been coming for many years. Upgrades were awesome btw
Jul 07, 2020
All was great, except:the mattresses in the Kamping Kabins were not comfortable. We plan on bringing something to supplement the mattresses next year. But, we are definitely returning. Thanks Troy and Penny for a great first year as the new owners. You are off to a great start. Only one rec: PLEASE never forget the young couple with 3 kids that just want to camp in a tent. $ can be tight.
Jul 07, 2020
Jul 07, 2020
We loved everything about it except the lack of masks and social distancing by the employees.
Jul 06, 2020
I’ve been coming to this campground for 10 years now and it is by far my favorite campground to visit. The new staff is great and very friendly. The only thing I did not like was it was a bit overcrowded. The newly added tent sites and removal of the playground for new sites makes it feel very congested when you arrive. However still a great place to visit.
Jul 06, 2020
Enjoyed the campground & facilities. I feel that the restaurant should open earlier in the morning than 8 AM for those who want to start their day early. We rented Jeeps & that process was slow & frustrating. Jeeps were filthy when we got them - definitely not good in this COVID era. You need to notify people in advance that insurance information is needed for renting Jeeps.
Jul 06, 2020
This is the best KOA I’ve ever stayed at!!
Jul 05, 2020
beautiful campground & cabins! very polite and welcoming staff.
Jul 04, 2020
We rented a Kamper Cabin which is basic advertised with power&water. Unfortunately when we paid & moved in we realized that there was no water at our unit. Called the front desk and they sent three individuals and confirmed no water to our cabin. They were surprised too. Unfortunately we had no choice or other option but feel we paid for this service and was not given any partial refund.....
Jul 02, 2020
Lock did not work well/ outside lightbulb was out. Gap under door let in a mouse. The rest was great. Thanks!
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Everyone was kind and helpful. The camp had everything possible to make our stay comfortable. The hut was clean and ample.
Jun 29, 2020
Bathrooms were cleanest of all KOAs I’ve stayed at. Award-winning bathrooms.
Jun 29, 2020
What a change from previous stays... employees not wearing masks upon check-in. Bed in deluxe cabin very mushy-my husband only stayed one night. Sofa in living area so mushed down, hard to sit on. So many trees with dead limbs hanging over campers it was scary. I texted that I was leaving early, and the response was "you are not getting a refund." I did not ask for a refund! Manners??????
Jun 28, 2020
Our 1 room cabin was perfect for my husband, dog and I. We loved the food too!
Jun 27, 2020
It was great. However was not happy that our site was moved without prior notice as we had reserved a cabin and site together. Sites are very tight. Loved the frequent trash pickup and ice and wood delivery. Staff was friendly.
Jun 26, 2020
Our family has been staying at KOA Ouray for years! We worried when ownership changed but Troy and Penny have relieved our fears! The barbecue was the best ever!! Everyone very friendly! Only concern is upper restrooms not getting cleaned often enough. We know food service at breakfast will get faster when more help is available. Delicious but long wait. Thanks for a great week! See you next year!
Jun 25, 2020
We stayed Jun 21-24 2020 in cabin 81. There was a flowing stream next to the cabin. Bathrooms/shower were very close as well. Very clean campground, wouldn't hesitate to book again. New owners making improvements always. Attention to detail in the smallest things, very professional. The campground is quiet and relaxing, a needed break to refresh the body and soul.
Jun 25, 2020
Very friendly and polite workers . More than willing to help. Campgrounds look great . Been there before a few times and will be back .
Jun 25, 2020
The people were super friendly. I enjoyed the entertainment and meals at the restaurant. The coffee was outstanding and you can’t beat the views surrounding you. Everything was clean and top notched! One of the waitresses even gave me some tips on hikes to try out! I will definitely return!
Jun 25, 2020
Staff was the highlight. They were so friendly and helpful as well as patient.
Jun 25, 2020
Very pleasant and relaxing. Clean and comfortable. Thank you!
Jun 24, 2020
The front desk was friendly. I am concerned in that I reported the ladies room was out of paper towel to the check in desk around 6 in the evening and as of 9 the next morning, it had not been replaced. This is something very basic that should have been attended to and resolved. Everything else seemed fine. We only stayed for one night in a Kamping Kabin...a high price to pay for no paper towel.
Jun 23, 2020
Enjoyed all the KOA ammenities!
Jun 22, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
The stay itself was fine. We haven't stayed before but stayed at the recommendation of a family member. They stayed over by the main office and we stayed farther back. The bathrooms that we were using were being used by approximately 200 other guests. These bathrooms (some also had the showers) really need to be cleaned hourly because of their frequent use. Truck stop bathrooms are cleaner.
Jun 22, 2020
Beautiful, friendly and peaceful. Loved every moment of our stay. Thanks!
Jun 21, 2020
I feel like I was misled by the description and pictures on your website of the deluxe cabins. No way could you sleep six people and there was no stove or sofa sleeper as pictured. WIFI did not work and the over priced breakfast burrito was the worst I have ever eaten. Everything in it was burned and over cooked and it was so dry I could hardly choke it down. Shower in cabin and laundry nice.
Jun 21, 2020
This campground is beautiful and the new ownership is committed to improving even more. Bathrooms and showers were clean and staff was always available and helpful. We will be back soon!
Jun 20, 2020
Jun 20, 2020
Its lovely.GReat restaurant. Live music on weekends. Skip tbe teepee if tbe weather is coldishcoldish
Jun 16, 2020
Great location. Friendly staff and clean grounds. Not a lot of frills, but you aren’t there for man-made entertainment.
Jun 16, 2020
Helpful staff. Clean campground.
Jun 16, 2020
Beautiful site and so well organized- lots of places to walk and the best pet walking area I have ever seen at any other of the KOA campgrounds we’ve stayed at. The staff was super quick to respond to any questions via text and offered some fun family activities. We loved hearing the steam flowing behind us as we fell asleep at night. Our cabin was very comfortable and almost spa-like. Loved it!
Jun 15, 2020
Jun 15, 2020
Jun 15, 2020
It was awesome! The cabin was clean and everyone was so nice. When I had a question I just texted and the number texted right back!
Jun 15, 2020
WiFi should available at sites.
Jun 14, 2020
Lot of improvement in camp. All for the better. Be back in September
Jun 14, 2020
Jun 13, 2020
The cheerful greeting when I checked in was a great start to my stay of two nights. The amenities, though not completely open, were clean and inviting. The location is perfectly suited for the places I wanted to visit, and I am sure I will return.
Jun 13, 2020
I found it really difficult to rate. The location is probably perfect and 99% of the staff are wonderful people. However, consistently, as in each night we were there, the owner didn't show up to the office at opening time and employees waited outside. The restaurant workers also didn't show up at opening time. May be different owners but it's still not being ran very professionally at all.
Jun 13, 2020
Jun 11, 2020
Jun 09, 2020
This was a wonderful KOA site. We rented one of the Deluxe cabins and it had everything we needed for an awesome stay. We really loved the deck with the BBQ and had a great campfire one night as well. The proximity to the town of Ouray, as well as the Orvis Hot Springs was perfect. We will definitely come back again!
Jul 14, 2020
Great service, nice campsites. Kids had a lot of fun and dog friendly.
- Joan Sliman on Google
Jul 13, 2020
Nice people good food
- keith stone on Google
Jul 13, 2020
Very very very friendly staff. Super helpful, they will deliver ice and firewood to your site, our site was very large we put up 2 large tents and had room to spare.
- Wyatt Mayes on Google