Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Info: 724-722-4444

Email

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 03, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
Nice campground. Missed having the KOA signs on the road to follow. Nice dog park. Lots of traffic in and out of the campground, but we were only there for one night. If we were to stay longer I would request a site away from the main campground road.
Aug 31, 2017
The restrooms were very good and clean. Hook ups worked but hokey and kinda scary. Water inches from electric hookup, cable didn't work, no help from staff.Pond was sad, could be beautiful, needs management. Loud trucks all night and day. Diesels stink. Good price for ice and firewood, which burned very nicely.
Aug 30, 2017
Great family amenities, bathrooms an dish washing station very clean and in good condition. Unfortunately, our cabin smelled of cigarette smoke, but as it was just one night we dealt with it.
Aug 28, 2017
We stayed just one night on our way from one destination to another. We chose this KOA because it was located near the expressway about the distance we wanted to drive that day. Staff was very nice. The site pad was reasonably level. But the sites were small with no shade and built into a hill. There was nothing but a small strip of gravel between our site and the next site and it was downhill.
Aug 28, 2017
There were many permanent residence, which had a lot of items thrown around and under the exterior of their rv's. The place looked quite junkie. The restrooms were not kept clean. even saw used used Q tips stuck in the trim around the commodes along with toilet paper. The place needs a good cleaning and renovation. In my experience this place was not up to KOA standards
Aug 28, 2017
All worked out fine. One suggestion: some low voltage lights along the gravel road from the tent sites to the facilities. Helpful to those not too keen on dark, rough trails! Thanks....
Aug 27, 2017
KOA sets a standard for their campgrounds and this one barely meets those standards. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained but that is the best I can say. There was construction on a pipeeline going on in the area and many of the workers were staying in the campground. Work trucks started up at 4:30 every morning with steady traffic until about 6:30, we felt like we were in a truck stop.
Aug 26, 2017
Space 25 has a 6 percent grade
Aug 25, 2017
Excellent
Aug 25, 2017
Came in late. Easy to find spot, but very tight to get into, not at all level.
Aug 23, 2017
Like KOA but not this one. The air constantly had the smell of septic waste. There was also a great deal of truck traffic in and out, especially between 5 and 6 am. Very noisy. Not a good experience.
Aug 23, 2017
It would have been a 5 but the full timers there have total disregard for speed limit and therefore the dust was a constant pain with the exception of the day it poured down rain. If i stay again i will try to be on the very front spaces or 2 rows in.
Aug 23, 2017
Easy on and off of I-70. Very quiet at night time allowing for a restful night.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Tent sites were a decent size and the facilities were very clean. However, the stench of stagnant water from either the lake, sewage or standing water was very strong at all times. The roads into the tent sites were in desperate need of gravel.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
This was the same KOA we stayed too about 4 years ago. We thought this was a different one, we were wrong. Park is terrible, nasty, dirty, noisy and spaces are small. Roads and trees are in need of repair, grass hasn't been cut, couldn't hardy fine the sewer. Way to many contractors and they speed thru the campground. Won't stay again.
Aug 21, 2017
Love staying there it's our 2 home staff is wonderful you always feel like family there we love our madison koa
Aug 21, 2017
Very tight and narrow campground. Full of contractors coming and going at all hours. Spaces were narrow and not so level.
Aug 20, 2017
Une escale d'une nuit, pas de drap dans le chalet,.
Aug 20, 2017
I was very worried after reading some of the online reviews. The campground was just fine for us. Pool was little small but clean and we swam. Cabins kind of close together but clean. Everyone was friendly.
Aug 20, 2017
We like this place during our east coast travel ðð. We will stay again.
Aug 20, 2017
It was great that i was abke to call an hour before and book a cabin for the night. Staff was very helpfull & friendly!
Aug 19, 2017
Very noisy early in the morning. Loud trucks left running for 10-15 minutes. Dusty from traffic. We went to pool at 10:30 and it was locked should have been open at 9. Cable hookup did not work. Very disappointing for a KOA
Aug 19, 2017
I camped in a tent site that barely could contain my 10x10 tent. The area reeked of effluent from a broken sewer line in the camp. The whole place seemed more like a trailer park than a peaceful camp ground. The night and early morning stillness was punctuated by continual testosterone amped loud engine roars. I'm glad I was there only the one night.
Aug 18, 2017
Sites were not level both horizontally and vertically. Restrooms/ showers were clean. Pool was nice. Lots of traffic
Aug 17, 2017
The staff was super friendly & helpful and I liked them, however, I didn't feel the cabins were well cleaned in between stays & the mattresses where hard as rocks. The site & bathhouse were well maintained and there was hot water. There were no hiking trails in the campground itself which was disappointing, and the common area for games was used more for mail sorting then for the kids recreation.
Aug 16, 2017
Loved the grounds and the activities. I would have rated perfect except there was some sewer work or something being done right behind our cabin. It smelled like sewage. It would have been nice to have known about it beforehand. But for one night we tolerated the smell but a longer stay would have not been enjoyable. But other than that we had an awesome time
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
We knew before arriving that this wasn't the best place. We figured it would be ok for just an overnight. Sites are located on a hill. Pretty steep hill. While each site was somewhat level, getting into and out was another story. At one point the left side of the fifth wheel was literally only 2" from the bed rail of our truck. If you have a rig longer than about 28' stay away from this place.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
We loved it! Stayed in the deluxe cabin. It was very clean as was the whole campground. Fantastic activities for kids. They loved the jump pillow. The staff was very friendly and caring about people and their work. Will come back.
Aug 14, 2017
The staff was very friendly, professional and polite. The cabin was rustic and very nice. The restroom was complete with a shower. Very nice cabin that gives you a great camping experience. I am looking forward to staying there again.
Aug 14, 2017
we were a bit disappointed with this KOA.....the staff were not as friendly or helpful as at other KOAs, in fact when I asked what the daily rate was the girl said she wasn't sure, about $55 she thought!..The campground was probably the noisiest we've stayed at....dogs barking at all hours and trucks in and out all hours! On a more positive note there is lots to do in the surrounding areas.
Aug 14, 2017
Campground was fine for an overnight, and we would stay there again. Staff not overly friendly, place is FAR too tight on space and noisy to be worthwhile for a longer stay.
Aug 14, 2017
Convenient to Pittsburgh. Nice campground.
Aug 14, 2017
The tent site we were at, they were having sewer issues? And it came by us and smelt very bad, also older kids were playing football in the pool and almost hit us with the football several times even after I asked them to please stop, also the older kids were doing flips on the jump pillow and even at one time asked my kids to stay over on the other half of the side, no wagon rides, no craft
Aug 13, 2017
Not your typical KOA. We we're not escorted to our site. Never heard from or saw staff after registering. Small sites. Streets in campground rough. Never received activities. Dissatisfied with our stay
Aug 13, 2017
Only stayed one night driving through the area. Did not use any activities in the campground.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Everyone is always helpful and cheerful. We are going to campground over a decade. We come every year because they make us feel like home.
Aug 11, 2017
Fun little Koa with plenary for the kids. Lake was smelly and had sewage smelling runoff going into it
Aug 09, 2017
Strong sewer smell constantly. Esp at night time.
Aug 09, 2017
Nice small campground, bathroom was clean, staff was friendly and a few activities over the weekend. The tent site was okay, the smell from the sewage or whatever it was, was pretty terrible. Hopefully that can be fixed soon. Son and I would come again.
Aug 09, 2017
Easy check in and hook up. Great shower!
Aug 08, 2017
The camping area was clean and nice along with the restrooms and pool area. The one thing we didn't like about it was the laundry and office were so far away you had to drive there rather inconvenient. It had a lot of people working on a pipeline and they had to pass by on a dirt road which was dusty and noisy.
Aug 08, 2017
Nice activities for the kids, but the sites were very tight. It was great and nicely priced for our full hook-up, overnight stay, but not someplace that I would plan a several day vacation at.
Aug 07, 2017
My very first KOA. The plus was: It was a nice get away. Nothing very loud. We stayed in a cozy cabin. It was as advertised. The bathroom was quite small, but good enough for a weekend. The minuses: the largest would be the comfort of the beds. There was none. It felt like a sleeping bag on the ground. Air mattress is a must. The sewage smell was there. not overwhelming, but there.
Aug 07, 2017
Very nice, friendly staff and the grounds were kept very clean. Wish there would be a little larger, flat area around the fire pit.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy