Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Email

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 21, 2017
This is surprisingly a beautiful ground, the more you go deeper into the site, the more beauty you see! Tons of trees, very very clean bathrooms and new. We stayed in tent.
Sep 05, 2017
only two tent sites. Campground was full of mainstay gas/oil workers with loud diesel trucks Pros - 1) Close to activities such as bounce pad, playground, pool, & pond, 2) in nicely shaded area, 3) tent area on a nice even pad, 4) friendly & inviting staff, 5) plenty of kid-friendly activities Cons - 1) at the end of a runoff stream that smelled like waste
Aug 28, 2017
All worked out fine. One suggestion: some low voltage lights along the gravel road from the tent sites to the facilities. Helpful to those not too keen on dark, rough trails! Thanks....
Aug 22, 2017
Tent sites were a decent size and the facilities were very clean. However, the stench of stagnant water from either the lake, sewage or standing water was very strong at all times. The roads into the tent sites were in desperate need of gravel.
Aug 19, 2017
I camped in a tent site that barely could contain my 10x10 tent. The area reeked of effluent from a broken sewer line in the camp. The whole place seemed more like a trailer park than a peaceful camp ground. The night and early morning stillness was punctuated by continual testosterone amped loud engine roars. I'm glad I was there only the one night.
Aug 14, 2017
The tent site we were at, they were having sewer issues? And it came by us and smelt very bad, also older kids were playing football in the pool and almost hit us with the football several times even after I asked them to please stop, also the older kids were doing flips on the jump pillow and even at one time asked my kids to stay over on the other half of the side, no wagon rides, no craft
Aug 11, 2017
Fun little Koa with plenary for the kids. Lake was smelly and had sewage smelling runoff going into it
Aug 09, 2017
Nice small campground, bathroom was clean, staff was friendly and a few activities over the weekend. The tent site was okay, the smell from the sewage or whatever it was, was pretty terrible. Hopefully that can be fixed soon. Son and I would come again.
Jul 17, 2017
Campground was nice and well kept, but the tent area near the lake smelled like sewer really bad. Woke up with a headache.
Jul 11, 2017
Good, clean facilities. Organized, friendly. Quick check in and the store had everything you could possibly need to camp. I stayed at a tent site. Unfortunately, it must have been located next to the sewer, because it smelled like sewage most of the time (except inside the tent thank goodness). Otherwise, it was a great experience.
Jul 07, 2017
Staff was OK... but our tent site had a horrid sewer smell that apparently the staff had known about but neglected to convey.
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 13, 2017
We loved it. staff and other camper from around the states were so kind. bathrooms were clean, lake fully stocked and the kids loved swimming. My family will be returning soon. Great for first time tent campers!!!!!!
Jun 04, 2017
May 29, 2017
Easy to find off interstate, kampstore was very nice, great staff, pool area and play area looked very nice. But the tent sites were less than nice. Tent pad was not clean. Horrible smell in that portion of campground and site was rather small.
May 13, 2017
It took the campground manager an hour to make it to the lodge to check me in. There is raw sewage running through the tent sites into the pond. I have reported this to the Pittsburgh DEP.
Sep 20, 2016
great customer service
Sep 11, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
Only thing we did not like was the horrible smell! We were by the lake at a tent site, and the smell was unbearable at times. We had to eat our meals at the main pavilion, and I bought air fresheners for our tent. Other than the smell, we had a great time! We always do at Madison KOA!
Aug 25, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Tent sites we separated from other campers pretty well. Only complaints I have were poor water drainage of tent pad caused some issues during a storm, and water runoff from other sites ran nearby during the and was a bit dirty. Other than that, the staff was nice and the camp store was well stocked. Thanks again.
Aug 11, 2016
Very quiet and peaceful.
Jul 26, 2016
Very nice campground. Set up early- t hen sent to Pirate game in Pittsburgh. Nice tent site. Quiet. Staff very accommodating. Would gladly stay again.
Jul 25, 2016
All was great - Critique: - Not ready for the mosquitoes in the tent site. (Told there weren't any.) Also, was not made aware, via phone, that the tent sites were not 'primitive' (I had asked) and therefore less expensive. Found this all out once we drove to the KOA and were too tired to drive elsewhere. Positive: The grounds are vast and lovely.
Jul 12, 2016
We tented here over the 4th of July weekend. All we could smell the whole time was sewage. There is a small stream that runs behind the cabins and down by the tents that is filled with sewage sludge. They had several activities planned for the weekend. We went to make tye dye t-shirts... first of all there were not even enough rubber bands for everybody, you would think that they would have been p
Jun 20, 2016
3 families camping in tents. The manager and staff did backward flips to get us together and happy. We fished, swam, ate Pancakes, played bingo and just hung out. Many rvs, but still idyllic! Will go again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank You! I am glad your family could all be together and enjoyed!
Apr 19, 2016
Quiet place with nice sites. Good people.
Sep 21, 2015
The staff was super nice, for an RV I would totally recommend it, however for tent camping, I would not! The "tent sites" are all gravel and very small with no picnic tables.
Aug 18, 2015
Tent camping area was near a putrid creek that had the strong odor of feces. The actual site we were given was not a grassy area as seen in the pictures but a square of dirt covered in rocks..
Jul 22, 2015
Great rates. Tons of things to do! Gladly make it a yearly visit.
Jun 10, 2015
The spots are all rocky. It was wet and muddy by the bathhouse, and it hadn't rained yet. The bathhouse was exceptionally nice, but getting there was difficult for me. The trash being picked up by a large, noisy truck, at 2:30 AM made sleeping difficult.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have many natural springs around the grounds. We are trying to address this one abundant one. Our waste containers are quite a distance of the campsites, we are sorry the garbage truck awoken you.
Sep 15, 2014
The biggest issue was a pervasive septic smell where we were camped beside a small stream at 109.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy