Kennebec KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 04, 2018
Aside from the mosquitoes, it was very enjoyable.
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
Nice campground, restrooms and showers are about due for an update.
Sep 02, 2018
The people were very nice and helpful. The store/office had very limited hours and the grounds, while well maintained, were a bit aged. It's not quite as nice as other KOA campgrounds I've stayed at but still very good.
Aug 31, 2018
It was just an overnight stop over with no expectations! Campground ���� had basic amenities and friendly staff.
Aug 31, 2018
Nice camp. Friendly people.
Aug 31, 2018
We got in a little late but the office was still open which was nice! The staff was very friendly. Our RV site was clean and spacious. We just stayed overnight but our stay was comfortable.
Aug 30, 2018
Long haul from Virginia to Montana, and this campground looked like a good place to stop. Well, let me tell you...it was a GREAT place to stop. Very well maintained, easy check-in, friendly staff...and very quiet! Best sleep I've had thus far on the trip. Thanks for an enjoyable, restful camping experience.
Aug 29, 2018
Really great KOA - easy in, easy out & the laundry was excellent.
Aug 29, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
My only complaint were the flies. They were very assertive and annoying (but likely drawn to human habitation). Host was super friendly!!
Aug 28, 2018
There was a storm that we weren’t prepared for. Just the unknown!
Aug 27, 2018
Nice park. Very friendly staff. Would stay here again. Easy in and out.
Aug 27, 2018
A good place to spend the night while traveling on I-90 through South Dakota--we will stay here again in the future when passing through the area; easy on and easy off from the interstate with long pull-thru sites for big rigs. Make sure you pack groceries in your RV since the closest Walmart is almost 65 miles away. A nice friendly staff that took care of us with a pleasant smile. mw
Aug 27, 2018
The staff was very helpful and friendly! The spaces were all pull throughs which was nice, but the pool and the baths all needed major revitalizing. Since there are no nearby attractions, the amenities offered at the campground are important, which is why this is a 2 star review. If I only rated the staff it would be 5 stars. (*The bathrooms were all clean, just aging.)
Aug 25, 2018
Well kept, but no one in the office when we arrived, just a list on the door of incoming campers & their assigned sites. Had to search to find a map so we’d know where our site was. My credit card was charged for our 2nd night, but no personal contact with anyone-I guess at the rates we pay at KOA, we would appreciate someone checking in.
Aug 25, 2018
Aug 24, 2018
Nice campground, sites are easy to get in and out of. Not much to do there, but the owner/manager did let us know where he closest decent restaurant was. This part of South Dakota is quite remote, no large towns for many miles away. This campground meets our needs for a halfway spot on our travels.
Aug 24, 2018
Aug 24, 2018
It was an ok park. Rest rooms need work. Kennebec itself has nothing to offer.
Aug 23, 2018
Great KOA for a stop over. Great owners.
Aug 23, 2018
An ‘ok’ spot for a quick overnight. The flies are horrific!!!!! Roads are dirt and can be muddy. That said the staff was fantastic. This place is just tired and needs a good makeover.
Aug 23, 2018
unfortunate the chuck wagon was closed
Aug 22, 2018
Good overnight stop.
Aug 22, 2018
Beautiful and relaxing! Very friendly and perfect for the kids to get out and run around after a long day driving!
Aug 22, 2018
Aug 22, 2018
We stopped here just for the night with our five kids. It was a great pit stop, clean campground and very nice staff!
Aug 22, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Very clean camp ground showers building were also very clean would use their camogrounds if we travel that way again
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Some help was gone. No chuck wagon like advertised.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We publish that the chuck wagon is open until mid-August. This year it was closed on the 14th of August due to our staff leaving us and returning to school. I am sorry you missed out but we absolutely did what we advertised and kept it open until mid-August.
Aug 20, 2018
No cable tv. Pool need some work.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It is correct, we were left high and dry by our cable company going out of business, leaving us with no cable. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Aug 19, 2018
Convenient location off I-90 if traveling across SD. Level sites with easy access.
Aug 19, 2018
nice park great hosts
Aug 18, 2018
We only stayed over night and came in on a rainy day so it was wet. They have piles of dirt all over right by the hook-ups so expect to get full on mud if it is raining. They could fix this by picking up the piles dirt and adding some gravel.If its raining find a different place to go.
Aug 17, 2018
Nice campground, easy in & out.
Aug 17, 2018
The campground was clean, the sites were nice, the staff were friendly and the store was well taken care of. The pool was extremely cold, almost unbearable, the flies were really bad, and the bathrooms needed to be cleaned and kept up better.
Aug 17, 2018
This KOA is very convenient when traveling across the Midwest and you're on the move. It is quick and easy to get your rig parked as the layout is well planned. The folks at the front desk were very nice and the park itself is well maintained and clean.
Aug 16, 2018
Nice stop on our way to Rapid City! Friendly staff and spacious sites. Easy on and off the highway. Would stay here agai.
Aug 16, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Friendly staff and great service. Especially loved their Chuck Wagon for breakfast and dinner. Will stop there again if in the area.
Aug 15, 2018
Tree branches below head height posed a danger. At least till I snapped one off with my face. No cover on fire pit posed a danger for sure. But after a couple of run ins with it a got smart and covered it with my dog ramp. Peaceful served our every need. Thanks.
Aug 14, 2018
Stayed many times! Very nice people and a nice camping area!
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 12, 2018
Terri and Tony are great hosts. We always enjoy our stay with them.
Aug 12, 2018
Great
Aug 12, 2018
Great people to deal with. Showers and bathroom were clean. Enjoyed the pool. Only downside were the mosquitoes!!
Aug 10, 2018
It was good.
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Sep 06, 2019
Nice campground to stay at, when it's up and running. They have had a bad time of it with mother nature flooding them out.
- Lyle Gerling on Google
Aug 18, 2019
This is a very nice well ran Campground, with the kind of owners that will treat you like you treat them. The layout of the campground is very good it was very easy to park our 45-foot fifth wheel. Park was quiet slept all night with no problem. Stopped here on the way to the Sturgis bike rally. It is right off the interstate easy in easy out.
- Timothy Gray on Google
Aug 11, 2019
This was probably a very nice park before it flooded. Currently (8/11/19) the pool and all buildings are out of commission, dog park very overgrown, flies and mosquitos pretty bad and roads super muddy. Hope for speedy recovery.
- Bavette Goes Mobile on Google