Kennebec KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-6361

Reserve: 800-562-6361

Info: 605-869-2300

Info: 605-869-2300

Email This Campground

I-90 Exit 235

307 South Hwy 273

Kennebec, SD 57544

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 10:30 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 04, 2018
Served its purpose as a stop on the way home. There's nothing wrong with this KOA. The people were friendly and helpful. Place just needs a little TLC. It looks tired and needs some freshening up.
Oct 26, 2018
Oct 26, 2018
It was a good stopover for an overnight stay. The park needed a lot more gravel in the RV spots. It was mostly dirt.
Oct 23, 2018
Oct 23, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 20, 2018
This KOA is located off a very isolated,dark exit!Probably a great quiet place if you arrive day time with family,but it’s terribly spooky arriving in middle of night by yourself.no lights left on in cabin,key left in door,bathrooms unsecured.another hotel facility in area spoke very highly of camp hosts and area but I was too uneasy to be reassured and ended up in a hotel that night.
Oct 20, 2018
It is a clean little campground and all the staff were very friendly. This is very much a campground that is basically there for a convenient place to stop, which is not a negative comment. I am just saying there is not much reason to visit Kennebec. It is a small farming community with not much diversion. We had to drive 9 miles west to get a meal. But we wouldn't be afraid to stay here again.
Oct 17, 2018
Oct 13, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
Just came for the night and it was already dark when we got there, so not much to rate. But we did enjoy the breakfast in the morning! Staff was great to chat with!
Oct 09, 2018
Not our favorite KOA but OK for an overnight and appeared to be priced out of line with other KOA’s on our travels. Restrooms not as clean as expected.
Oct 06, 2018
We stayed here on our way to our destination and then on our way home. Both times were good experiences. When we had stopped for the night on our way home we discovered that our car that we tow had a dead battery. The owners were very helpful in getting us a local garage to come and give us a jump start at a more than reasonable price.
Oct 05, 2018
Small, but nice.
Oct 03, 2018
Staff really friendly and helpful. Clean bathrooms. I liked that the cabin had a designated gravel parking spot. No Muddy Mess!!!
Sep 29, 2018
Very close to the highway
Sep 28, 2018
Nice, friendly people.
Sep 28, 2018
Sep 27, 2018
Sep 22, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
Nice, quiet, clean. Good for a quick overnight. Nice staff.
Sep 21, 2018
Good for an overnight stay. We stayed here twice. Once on our way to Mt. Rushmore and then on our way back. Quiet clean. Friendly staff. Only bad was the black flies. Not at all campground fault. Could not sit outside until dark unless you had a swatter. Would go back on our next trip across country.
Sep 19, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
Seulement pour une nuit , situé à proximité des grandes routes , et très propre
Sep 17, 2018
Us campers are used to "camping under the stars". As a member of the dark sky movement, I was appalled at how bright your lights in the campground were!!! Other KOA's we have stayed at aren't lit like this one! Please lower or eliminate the wattage of the lights! We had to inconvenience ourselves by putting towels over our camper blinds in order to sleep after a long day! You should be ashamed!
Sep 17, 2018
Great place to stop for the night on a ride down I 90.Friendly, helpful, level spots.
Sep 16, 2018
Sep 16, 2018
Friendly fly staff, quiet place to stay.
Sep 15, 2018
Sep 14, 2018
Sep 14, 2018
It is a dry dusty gravel yard with few trees and NO cable
Sep 13, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
Was ok clean bathrooms. Lawn and camp site could have been better maintenance
Sep 11, 2018
Nice quiet night for me. This is very convenient and easy to find. The staff was spectacular and extremely helpful.
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
The tent area was far separated from the RVs and the main office, but not so remote. As a result there wasn't any stray headlights or other illumination that might have made sleeping difficult. I had a very good time at Kennebec.
Sep 10, 2018
Nice clean camp. Quiet place to stop overnight. Nice dog run. Great hosts. Don't give 5 stars to anyone yet, but most would.
Sep 09, 2018
A wonderful stay - Thanks!!!
Sep 09, 2018
Close to HWay ... clean bathrooms... good overnight spot
Sep 09, 2018
Just stayed for one night while traveling through the town. KOA campgrounds are always so very clean.
Sep 08, 2018
Sep 08, 2018
As we travel in our RV, we need to stop to eat, refresh and sleep. So far every KOA we have visited afforded us exactly what was needed. Close to the Interstate, easy to find and great friendly staff. Thank You KOA’s
Sep 08, 2018
No water at dump station.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We discovered that the water had been shut off by another camper. If you had let us know about this, we could have resolved it for you very quickly.
Sep 07, 2018
Nice staff, clean restroom/shower area, level space. Access road could get nasty after a rain though.
Sep 05, 2018
We had a nice quiet stay. The staff was friendly and the campground was clean..
Sep 05, 2018
The bad thing about this site is no market close by. However, the staff was excellent....

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words about the staff, they have been passed on. Unfortunately, the market is beyond our control. The price you pay for small town quiet.
Sep 04, 2018
Aside from the mosquitoes, it was very enjoyable.
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
Nice campground, restrooms and showers are about due for an update.
Sep 02, 2018
The people were very nice and helpful. The store/office had very limited hours and the grounds, while well maintained, were a bit aged. It's not quite as nice as other KOA campgrounds I've stayed at but still very good.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy