Kennebec KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 11, 2020
Jul 07, 2020
They were more than helpful. We were out riding and exploring the area when a sudden 70 mph storm with hail came through the camp - they called us and they help preserve our tent by putting up our rain fly - so we had minimal damage while we sheltered in place where we were at. Great camp hosts.
Jul 05, 2020
Nice spot near bathrooms, which were very clean, quiet grounds, missed having brkfst
Jun 30, 2020
Great stay all good
Jun 29, 2020
Very small campground situated in the perfect place for your trip to or from the Black Hills. Not a lot of facilities, but clean whatsoever. Friendly staff. Beautiful nature. Quiet. Bring your own food, because the town is very small and doesn't have a lot of choices for where to eat!
Jun 17, 2020
I liked how they were following the coronavirus guidelines. They had a campground between mine and someone else. Very friendly guy at the front. I also liked that there was sanatizer next to the door so you could use it as you left.
Jun 13, 2020
Beautiful Thursday night. 70's and comfortable. The hosts were great. We got to see wild turkeys walk right by our site in the morning. Couple drawbacks, (not their fault) trucks going by 24 hours a day using their jake brakes, pool closed, store closed.
Oct 06, 2019
Sep 29, 2019
A little rough, but not bad considering the flood. The 110 v receptacles are in bad shape and need to be replaced. Everything is clean and the camp hist is a great guy. I’m looking forward to seeing the camp after flood recovery is complete!
Sep 26, 2019
Unfortunately they had been flooded and we were unaware before booking our stay. No laundry service and the grounds just needed a good cleaning. Bathrooms and showers were clean. The whole campground just not up to the standards of most KOAs.
Sep 23, 2019
It was a nice visit. The owner was great.
Sep 11, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Considering the campground was flooded in the spring, it is amazing that they got back up and running this season. Hosts were very nice and friendly, gave a discount since not all services were available. Restrooms were clean. Too bad we didn’t get to see the true campground, wish them well on their recovery.
Aug 31, 2019
Flood damaged. Terrible condition. They should be more forthcoming with the condition when you make your reservation

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

To set the record straight, you did not make a reservation, you were a drop in. You were informed of the conditions and had the opportunity to check the park out before staying. I am sorry you stay was so bad, I wish you had said something to us about it. Perhaps we could have helped.
Aug 18, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
They just got over being flooded felt so bad for them .. Very friendly staff clean bathrooms would stay again in a second ..
Nov 14, 2018
met all my expectations
Sep 14, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
Nice quiet night for me. This is very convenient and easy to find. The staff was spectacular and extremely helpful.
Sep 10, 2018
The tent area was far separated from the RVs and the main office, but not so remote. As a result there wasn't any stray headlights or other illumination that might have made sleeping difficult. I had a very good time at Kennebec.
Sep 09, 2018
A wonderful stay - Thanks!!!
Sep 09, 2018
Just stayed for one night while traveling through the town. KOA campgrounds are always so very clean.
Sep 04, 2018
Aside from the mosquitoes, it was very enjoyable.
Sep 02, 2018
The people were very nice and helpful. The store/office had very limited hours and the grounds, while well maintained, were a bit aged. It's not quite as nice as other KOA campgrounds I've stayed at but still very good.
Aug 20, 2018
Some help was gone. No chuck wagon like advertised.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We publish that the chuck wagon is open until mid-August. This year it was closed on the 14th of August due to our staff leaving us and returning to school. I am sorry you missed out but we absolutely did what we advertised and kept it open until mid-August.
Aug 14, 2018
Stayed many times! Very nice people and a nice camping area!
Aug 12, 2018
Great
Aug 12, 2018
Great people to deal with. Showers and bathroom were clean. Enjoyed the pool. Only downside were the mosquitoes!!
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
Very friendly folks, good tent spot.
Aug 01, 2018
Clean restrooms friendly staff. Good halfway stop in the state
Jul 23, 2018
Van was not running properly and stayed at the Koa for awhile while we figured out our plans. Very nice people and place. Thank you
Jul 19, 2018
Nice facility. Good. Clean bathrooms, warm shower. Site was nice with trees and listening to the river at night was awesome, would stay again!
Jul 09, 2018
It was a very pleasant experience. The tent sites were ideal and were quite spacious. Staff was pleasant and friendly. It was an overall quality camping experience for me.
Jul 03, 2018
Quiet and pleasant small park
Jun 25, 2018
Arrived late, right at closing time and host graciously did the paperwork and we were able to buy firewood. Large tent sights, quiet for having the road nearby. Set up, had a fire, cooked supper and relaxed. Very clean. Would stay again.
Jun 14, 2018
Check in was easy after hours. Bathrooms were clean. A bit of a noisy area but not loud from the interstate.
Jun 03, 2018
Very friendly managers!! The campsite we were given was very windy, they let us move to a new site to set up our tent. The only bad thing about our stay was the park had sharp plants throughout the gravel. All three of my kids had a thorn in their feet through their sandals.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thorny plants are a part of the natural flora of our area. We are aware of them and we do spray for a wide variety of noxious plants. Unfortunately this has been a very wet year and that has rendered our spraying efforts less effective than we would like. We continue to do battle with the stickers and pray for more conducive weather.
May 18, 2018
Very clean
Oct 15, 2017
The guy who checked me in was really nice. The location had a lot of space. My only complaint was that there are hard, painful stickers all over the grass. My little dog had one stuck in his foot and I had them in my shoes. Not the KOA's fault--can't control the plants! Just make sure your kiddos don't run around barefoot. Otherwise, it was nice and quiet!
Oct 05, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Very nice hosts, clean quiet campground. Would stay here again if passing through.
Aug 27, 2017
siting plan a little close to industrial towers and interstate. washrooms need work, updating, repairing. Tent area near creek, lots of mosquitos.
Aug 25, 2017
Nice hosts/owners, onsite convince store. Bathroom was clean. Layout made it comfortable for us tent users to share with the RVs and the site was relatively quiet.
Aug 24, 2017
The lady at the front desk was great. It was quiet the day we stayed there which was a nice change for my family. My only issue with this location was that the entire place needs updating. The staff is taking excellent care of everything, but it looks like it hasn't been updated since it was built and things are starting to wear out. If it was renovated I would give it 5 stars in a heart beat!
Aug 23, 2017
Loved the billboards
Aug 22, 2017
Stayed there before, nice people, but campground is just ok, not great!
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Clean, quiet. Staff very friendly and helpful. The chuck wagon had some good chow.
Jul 22, 2017
Easy to find late at night, clean and friendly place to stay for a nights sleep on the way home.
Jul 05, 2020
Clean Bathrooms, nice sites, lots of trees for shade, and overall a nice place to stay.
- Shane Draz on Google
Jun 24, 2020
This Koa has been damage because 9f flood. Yes it doesn't t look good but they are so friend and doing the best they can do . Yes I would return. They are working on their pool now. Thank you all for being like family
- Cecilia Long on Google
May 09, 2020
I liked this campground and hope to stay again. It was a very nice lady that took us to our spot, and it was so quiet and peaceful. Even though it was convenient to the highway, there was no highway noise; just birds and the sigh of the wind. Little bitty town had a little Main Street across from the county courthouse building. I did my morning walk up and down the streets of this quiet little town. Hope to stay again. Thank you and I hope you continue to recover from the floods last year, and now COVID-19 this year! Tough couple of years you’ve got going here. Wish you the best and hope to see you on the way back through!
- Kristin Britt on Google