Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 16, 2017
Very well kept campground
Aug 16, 2017
Very nice stay for the Iowa State Fair easy in easy out Fairgrounds is approximately 30 minutes away we had 11 year old on the trip and the fun activities for him to partake in
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Very clean facility. Friendly staff. Tons of kids activities. Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 16, 2017
Lots of gravel dust. Wifi very weak. When a person uses FB to sign in to wifi it posts that on FB. Didn't like that AT ALL!! We don't share that for security reasons.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful. Site was very small and extremely close to the next site. Had a little bit of difficulty getting into the site because of a tree that needed to be trimmed. Park was fairly clean and tidy. Did not use showers.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
We paid what we thought was a fair price for all the activities that happen at this campground, but then we found our they are all extra except the pool. A fun pass for $10 a person, plus the price of the campsite, which is triple the price of state parks. Then there is one bath house for a very large campground with very few mature trees. And the huge mix up of our 4 month in advance reservation!
Aug 15, 2017
The stay was nice, the only thing that upset us that we were suppose to have site #30 across from our friends and we were moved two different times, each spot they took us too they had campers on. We were getting a little upset with it and very frustrated as well. Come to find out we weren't the only ones that had some issues as well. Need to get that issue fixed, so we can be all happy campers.
Aug 15, 2017
We reserved ahead of time, arrived very late and were glad for the pull-through site. Seemed odd that our after-hours reservation info was in the laundry room around the back of the office. Thankfully we had called ahead and knew where to look. Lots of sites kinda close together; everything worked perfectly (which is why we prefer KOAs!).
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Very nice, clean and pretty campground with everything we needed. We appreciated amenities such as cable tv and enjoyed a delicious KOA pizza which was delivered right to our camper. Staff was helpful, friendly and attentive to our needs in setting up our camper.
Aug 15, 2017
For just a one night stay not worth the drive off of i35. Great activities for kids. Very dusty
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Great place to stay, great staff!
Aug 14, 2017
Great place great staff
Aug 14, 2017
Friendly staff. Slightly disorganized checking in. Pool is getting pretty crowded as this location continues to expand sites and cabins, but not the amenities.
Aug 14, 2017
Lots of awesome things for the kids. Staff was a little unorganized but ultimately the gravel dust was the biggest down fall. Don't need concrete pads to park on but the roads need to be something other than gravel. Way to dirty.
Aug 14, 2017
Nous avons été très bien reçus par le personnel. C'est un très beau terrain avec de grands sites. C'est à recommander aux campeurs qui passent à Des Moines. Merci beaucoup
Aug 14, 2017
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Kids love all the activities. Only down side is the layout of some of the sites puts some people right on top of others. Site we had seems new or recently changed. On the end of one of the rows. People right next too us had no grass space and taking up our drive area to park in. Large number of kids taking pedal bikes and leaving at their sites too.
Aug 14, 2017
Clean rest rooms, nice pool, friendly staff, nice pull through sites. We were on our way to Michigan and wanted to stay longer.
Aug 14, 2017
We had a full hookup 50 amp site reserved/prepaid $57. The check-in attendant put us on a 30 amp site extreme close to neighbors who had not picked up 6 large dog poop piles around the entrance to our front door/along the passenger slides. This was an event weekend, and clearly the camping masses had never been "coached" on camping etiquette! After request, we moved to 50 amp. Overpriced KOA.
Aug 14, 2017
Very nice Clean and always a Great stay at another KOA
Aug 14, 2017
would have been good except for the golf carts running around . it seems like someone came in that was friends of one of your long term guest . they were running around visting with them and cutting through the empty camp site next to us very annoying your camp ground is not so big that a golf cart is needed. maybe after you get done with your expansion it will be.
Aug 13, 2017
Friendly staff, clean
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Very impressed from the Get-Go. Staff warm and friendly, we were escorted to our site and were blown away with a large gas grill and a charcoal grill on site with patio furniture!! We don't see that very often in a Campground. Lots of activities for kids. Very well run.
Aug 13, 2017
we took two of our grand kids great time
Aug 13, 2017
Friendly staff
Aug 12, 2017
Great park Friendly employees ð
Aug 12, 2017
We really liked the layout & the big spaces. This koa offered a lot of family friendly activities however everything cost extra. We paid the same rate as Newton koa and their jump pad & activities were all part of the price. It was very difficult for our kids to see all of these fun activities but not able to enjoy them. Wish we would have been informed prior to our stay.
Aug 12, 2017
Absolutely amazing showers! Beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Thank you!
Aug 12, 2017
We spent our 2nd time there this summer. We were impressed with the employees. They are very friendly and accommodating . We will definetely be back.
Aug 12, 2017
Nice clean very kid friendly
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Loved this place , everyone was friendly, the food delivered when I called the office. Definitely will stay their again.
Aug 11, 2017
It's been 10 years since our last stay there. It was nice then but it has been much improved. We were very impressed. Will no doubt stop again.
Aug 10, 2017
Good place to staff. Nice campground and good staff.
Aug 10, 2017
Nice campground. Everything worked well. Liked having someone taking you to the site.
Aug 10, 2017
Woke up by neighbors because sites are too close together. Only stayed one night. Gravel sites. No railroad or highway noise,as we have experienced I'm some KOAs.
Aug 10, 2017
Last visit before current visit was about 10 years ago. The improvements made to the facility during that time were "unbelievably" surprising and pleasant. All future trips west from our home in Northern Virginia to Utah/Colorado will now be planned around a stop at Des Moines West KOA. Congratulations on a very fine facility.
Aug 10, 2017
Pool could be bigger and a hot tub would be nice. Especially in the mid-west where it can be cold and a hot tub is a soothing soak. Facilities, especially the rest rooms were exceptionally clean.
Aug 09, 2017
Very dusty and the campsite behind us looked like red necks lived there and the guy had wood piled up and he keep throwing logs on it just to watch it smoke. I'm allergic to smoke and when we left I smelled like smoke.
Aug 09, 2017
Very well set-up. Excellent entrance u& exitl
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Enjoyed it very much. Lot of things to do, if you so desire. Clean and spacious sites. Staff very friendly. One of the top KOA's that we have stayed at.
Aug 09, 2017
Excellent location and very nice staff. Kids loved all the activities and the spots were clean and spacious.
Aug 09, 2017
Wonderful stay!! Only thing to change Tis gap under gates of dog park too big for my little dog who escaped other than that thank y'all so much we enjoyed.
Aug 09, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award