Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email This Campground

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 15, 2018
Oct 15, 2018
Halloween Weekend was amazing! The activities (and weather) we awesome! Your staff is warm and friendly and kept the activities on schedule!
Oct 15, 2018
Oct 15, 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. The activities for the children were especially nice and very nice that some were indoors so they could still enjoy them even though the weather wasn't the best. Very nice, clean campground and I would highly recommend it for family enjoyment.
Oct 15, 2018
Upkeep of interior roads needs improvement. Too many pot holes and deep dips for big rigs.
Oct 14, 2018
Wonderful facility in a great location. Some of the friendliest KOA people we have ever met. Although we weren't traveling with children, this place went all out to entertain the kids. One of the best facilities we have ever stayed at. Highly recommended.
Oct 14, 2018
Oct 14, 2018
Friendly and efficient.
Oct 14, 2018
Staff friendly. Nice sites with grass & hard packed gravel therefore no mud. They picked up ur garbage. Some sites Could have been bigger.
Oct 13, 2018
I stayed here while working in the area. Very clean, very convenient, very nice people. Everything you need and want from a great campground
Oct 12, 2018
Too cold to enjoy
Oct 12, 2018
We feel your workers were extremely nice and helpful!!! The whole campground was the best one we have stayed at! There were many fun things to do for kids....eventhough we did not have our grandkids with us this time we have definitely decided to bring them some time in the future. Also your showers and bathrooms were amazingly clean and nice!!
Oct 12, 2018
Oct 12, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
the park was great! The hosts were great! A the Pizza was great. We were there for 3 nights and the only problems were the small shower size in the pool house and the fact that it took about 10 minutes for the hot water to heat up. Oh, and the rain, but that's mother nature for you. Looks like a great place to spend time with the kids, lots for them to do and a stocked fishing pond. Thanks!
Oct 11, 2018
Nice, wide pads. Nice store, amenities. More modern looking than many KOA parks.
Oct 11, 2018
This campground is amazing!! The owner was very helpful and nice to chat up. The showers/bathrooms were fantastic clean and new. The store was great too. They had pizza!! Again. Delivered to your site. Amazing. Definitely come back here again if I was passing thru.
Oct 11, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
Oct 09, 2018
Very nice setup. Not happy with all the mud. They had rain, but, the roads are all mud. Need to bring in some gravel or something to top the main streets in the campground. Been in other KOA’s in rain and didn’t have this issue.
Oct 09, 2018
Very enjoyable! TV was a plus. Very clean. We will come back to stay as we have family in the area and we’re impressed with the amount of kid activities. We had been on a first ever KOA Kabin camping trip. We had stayed in 5 different KOA’s in a 10 day period and your KOA was the BEST!!!!!
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 09, 2018
It was raining and dark when we came into the campground and we were greeted warmly and they provided an escort to our site, and made sure we were set and had everything we needed.
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
easy in and out sites, grassy sites, some trees, secure WI-Fi, cable TV, not far from I-80 but far enough to be quiet 15 minutes drive to Des Moines
Oct 08, 2018
Rates have went up, plus more campsites however not enough room in the pavilion to accommodate the additional people.
Oct 08, 2018
We had a great time and enjoyed all the activites. However, we were disappointed to find the site we reserved was given to someone else and we were moved. We planned this trip with 3 other couples and purposely got buddy sites. We were supposed to be site 29 and were moved to 30. Our friends were supposed to be 30 moved to 33. Although still close to eachothe, it was an unpleasant surprise.
Oct 08, 2018
Amazing team at KOA West thanks for all the hard work despite all the rain! Great family fun had by all! See you next year!
Oct 08, 2018
Only an overnight that we do heading West for the winter and returning in the spring. Loved all of the updates and as always bathrooms sparkled. Thanks!
Oct 08, 2018
Everything was great for an overnight stay. An employee even stopped by to make sure everything was OK!
Oct 08, 2018
Owners are very acomidating. They do the extra things for the long term stay at there park.
Oct 08, 2018
1. Used as an overnight stay off I-80. Convenient but expensive for that purpose. 2. Roads within Park need improvement, holes and ruts. 3. Bathrooms very clean. 4. Staff friendly and helpful.
Oct 07, 2018
Been having lots of rain so roads a little messy but very cleanr and nice.
Oct 06, 2018
Oct 06, 2018
Good people, good area
Oct 06, 2018
Oct 06, 2018
This was an overnight stay on our travels. Very clean large campground.
Oct 06, 2018
Passing through very helpful staff. Thanks again
Oct 05, 2018
It rained for most of the 2 weeks we were there so there was mud everywhere. Getting to the dog park was especially difficult due to mud. They need to put in a path to the dog park or steps since it is down a short hill. This KOA is overpriced for what you get. They have no weekly rate and charge more on weekends, I assume due to the activities for children. The only good thing is the WiFi.
Oct 05, 2018
Excellent KOA. Very nice, clean and uncluttered property. Great amenities for the family and pets. One of the best camp stores I have seen. Very friendly and helpful staff. We have stayed at this property before and will definitely stay again.
Oct 05, 2018
Oct 05, 2018
Oct 04, 2018
Loved,loved this campground, everyone very helpful and friendly. Wifi worked great and so did Cable. Also enjoyed the breakfast pizza and wings that we ordered and was delivered to our site
Oct 04, 2018
Would be a great campground if not for the choice of gravel lament , when wet tracks everywhere, so if you like to keep you, your unit and pets clean don’t choose this stop when wet weather is predicted ! Limestone silt everywhere.
Oct 04, 2018
Oct 03, 2018
Oct 03, 2018
Great park. Plenty of space. Loved having the pizza/chiken wing dinner delivered to us after a long day of driving-a really nice touch!
Oct 03, 2018
Had a good time!! Only a few minor problems when went to leave the office was closed and wasn't completly sure where to drop of the cabin key! Also the cabin door seemed to have trouble closing all the way if we went outside. It would take along time for it release the bar down. Other than that it was a wonderful stay!!
Oct 03, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals