Des Moines West KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Dec 12, 2019
Very nice park staffed with very nice people. Was in area for work so stayed 5 months. Totally great experience. Would recommend to anyone. I don’t have kids, but seemed to be a nice place for family camping also.
Dec 07, 2019
Would have been much better if the facilities such as the laundry room and family shower / bathroom would have remained open. Overall a decent app experience
Nov 28, 2019
The best camping experience I’ve ever had. The facility and staff are incredible!
Nov 06, 2019
Nov 05, 2019
Very helpful and nice staff. Nice campground with lots to do, but the price is a bit much. I really enjoyed my stay and will return if ever in the area.
Nov 04, 2019
Best KOA there is.Cassie was very helpful when we needed anything! I will absolutely stay here next time I am in the area!
Nov 02, 2019
We have rented varoius cabins here several times and always a great experience. Clean, comfortable, first rate KOA. On this last stay, we arrived late at night and the heater wasn't working...so we had a very cold night. However, the manager made it right and all was well. Good customer service even when things go wrong. We will definately be staying again.
Nov 01, 2019
The hosts are very friendly and knowledgable, bathrooms were immaculate and warm and the cabin we were in was very nice! The only big complaint I have is the mattress we slept on felt the same to sleeping on the floor. There was a street lamp left on all night that shined right into our cabin and even with the curtain was too bright that sleeping was difficult.
Nov 01, 2019
Looks like this would be a fun place to stay during peak season. Lots of things for kids to do. Spacious sites. We stayed one night of their season. Oct. 30, 2019
Oct 31, 2019
Oct 30, 2019
I know we came at the end of the season, but did you have to take our picnic table early?
Oct 30, 2019
Oct 30, 2019
Nice campground, friendly staff, and large spaces. My only issue was the grade/unlevel surface of our site but that would not stop a return visit.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Everything was spotless as usual. The staff was awesome! My only disappointment was that there were no activities planned for the kids since it was the last weekend. Every other time we have stayed at this KOA, there we fun activities on the weekend. This would have been a perfect weekend for Halloween related activities.
Oct 28, 2019
Very pleasant
Oct 27, 2019
They were very friendly and helpful! Every problem we had was resolved guickly!! The long term person (Cassey) was great !! She was very caring about any issue we had!! Had a great stay and will return next year for long term!! Thank you!
Oct 27, 2019
Very clean and the employees were very friendly. All our questions were answered to our satisfaction.
Oct 26, 2019
Just what I needed!
Oct 22, 2019
We enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. We are thinking of getting a permanent site for next summer
Oct 22, 2019
The staff was great! Very pleasant stay!
Oct 22, 2019
DesMoines KOA is a comfortable ride from our home, whether it's for a get away or a stop along an extended trip. The staff is always so friendly, the cabin or campsite is always great. Would highly recommend time spent here. Look forward to camping here next year!
Oct 21, 2019
I would describe it as the prototypical KOA experience: The facility was well-maintained and clean – just what we would expect; the team of associates were very friendly and helpful. We'd always like to see a few more trees in the campground, consistent with the majority of the KOAs we have stayed at.
Oct 21, 2019
the stay was fine, however this koa is quite a bit more expensive than the other koa's that i stayed at on my trip to arizona
Oct 21, 2019
Great
Oct 20, 2019
Activities were fun and kids really enjoyed themselves. The haunted forest was really great this year! Thanks for putting this on! It was our 4th year and we love it!
Oct 20, 2019
Great campsite, good location, nice staff.
Oct 20, 2019
Accueil chaleureux Super toilette familiale ! À visiter !!!
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 19, 2019
Disappointed that with the park nearly empty, a rig was assigned to a spot right next to us. Could have given both of us more room if it was assigned somewhere else ... not so close. Everything else was great.
Oct 19, 2019
Oct 19, 2019
Nice location. Quiet. RV spaces are large enough for big rigs.
Oct 17, 2019
We were really impressed with this KOA. Loved the family shower and were amazed at all of the things for kids to do(wish that had been available when our now adult children were small.) Everything was convenient. The store was well stocked and staff was very helpful.
Oct 17, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
The facilities are great, the activities on the weekend are wonderful for families. The best part of the stay is the phenomenal staff!
Oct 16, 2019
Great activities for kids! Quiet location, lots of amenities.
Oct 16, 2019
Loved it! So much fun
Oct 16, 2019
We had so much fun camping here over Labor Day weekend that we decided to come back for the Halloween festivities. The weather was not cooperative but the campground did not disappoint! We loved every minute!
Oct 16, 2019
We really enjoyed this KOA! Very well laid out will lots of room and grass between sites. Very friendly staff and they even delivered our pizza directly to our site. Cable TV was great and their wifi was good.
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
excellent campground!
Oct 15, 2019
We had a great time. It was our first family camp-out and this was definitely the place to be. My son kept saying " I love this campground!" The Halloween Spooktacular was awesome and we all really enjoyed the activities.
Oct 15, 2019
All good . Staff more than helpful. Little to pricey for what we had for a campsite.
Oct 15, 2019
I appreciate the kindness of all of the staff I contacted and the help getting hooked up. The Hunts Brother’s pizza was the perfect supper!
Oct 14, 2019
A wonderful, cold, weekend!
Oct 14, 2019
Love this place! People are always great, store has lots of interesting stuff, sites are spacious and easy to get in and out.
Oct 14, 2019
We had a great stay this was our second year for the Halloween weekend. The kids had a blast!! Next year make it less windy and a little warmer lol. Thanks!!
Nov 10, 2019
My kids and my parents enjoy their visits here.
- Jennie Erwin on Google
Oct 15, 2019
I appreciate the kindness of all the staff I contacted and the help hooking up the RV. The Hunt’s Brothers pizza was the perfect supper!
- Carol Dahlberg on Google
Oct 08, 2019
This is a fabulous place. Huge site. Level. Great bath and laundry. They have this Halloween haunted maze that is fantastic. Happens on a Saturday in October. Don't miss it.
- James LeGoullon on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.