Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email This Campground

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2019
Jun 16, 2019
Great place to stay. Nice little fishing pond, we caught several fish. Grandkids loved it.
Jun 16, 2019
Beautiful campground. Best campground we have stayed in. We LOVED Kamp K9. Although we didn’t rent one, the patio spots are gorgeous.
Jun 16, 2019
We had a wonderful time and could have spent more than one night there with plenty to do. The kids had a blast!
Jun 15, 2019
We had a deluxe patio pad and it was worth every penny since we have dogs. Very clean. Didn’t feel jammed in there. Will do it again.
Jun 15, 2019
Jun 15, 2019
Just overnight, but campground was very clean and quiet
Jun 15, 2019
We had a blast during our stay and can’t wait to come back!! We would definitely recommend to people to use.
Jun 15, 2019
Clean, friendly, and (says my cat) some good trees to climb!
Jun 15, 2019
Fire pit on site 57 was so close to our site 56. It was right under our bedroom window. Our neighbors on 57 woke me up at 12:30 talking at their fire pit. Fire pit shold be closer to their patio area.
Jun 14, 2019
pleasant staff, clean facilities.
Jun 14, 2019
All KOAs are getting more and more pricey! This is a nice park but overpriced!
Jun 14, 2019
Jun 14, 2019
Heading back home after being at MIS for a week. Great place to stay. Thanks
Jun 13, 2019
Had a wonderful time as always. We have been camping here for at least 5 years. Son and daughter in law rent cabin for the weekend and kids love the pool and bouncing pillow , as well as other activities. By the way, pizza was delicious.
Jun 13, 2019
Facility clean, mowed. Staff were cleaning the outside of the cabins. Impressed. Staff was able to accommodate an extra 2 days stay for us. Would like to see fire pit moved on 57 to the front of the site instead of the back. Just a personal preference. We'll be back!
Jun 13, 2019
Jun 13, 2019
This is probably the nicest KOA I've ever stayed at. It was clean and very well maintained. And, to top it off, the staff was very courteous.
Jun 13, 2019
Luckily this KOA was nearby when we had a tow car breakdown. The staff is more than accommodating. This KOA is a busy place especially being nearby RT 80. Even though busy it was very quiet. Lots of fun things for the whole family.
Jun 13, 2019
The most beautiful of them all
Jun 13, 2019
Jun 12, 2019
Always a wonderful stay. The young employees are very attentive and see to your needs.
Jun 12, 2019
The campground is nice enough but the front office staff needs some serious training. They argue with customers and don’t take responsibility for their mistakes. Campground rules are not always enforced. Since there a few campground near Des Moines we have stayed here several times and each time we are disappointed.
Jun 12, 2019
We loved our visit here...we were greeted with a smile , a very nice welcome and even gotva fresh hot pizza delivered after a long day of travel. What a great surprise! Because of the Bridges of Madison county and John Wayne's birthplace so near, we stayed another night. We would definitely return...its a lovely place!
Jun 12, 2019
Jun 11, 2019
Great place good people
Jun 11, 2019
Jun 11, 2019
Only complaint was that their cancellation policy was the most severe we encountered in the KOAs we utilized. Shame my wife was ill and we tried to cancel 36hrs prior to our reservation. Otherwise, the campsite and campground were 5 star!
Jun 11, 2019
I like the big tent and king size bed in it. The only problem was that there was a bunch of teenager playing that ball drop game after 10 pm keeping me up.
Jun 10, 2019
Campground was clean and quite, was far enough off interstate 80 that there was no highway noise. Lots where graveled,spacious and level. Will stay again!
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 10, 2019
Very nice sites. Campground well kept. Popular spot. Appreciated the later check out time. Will stop in again when in the area.
Jun 09, 2019
Nice, spacious sites. Narrow roads and dusty gravel.
Jun 09, 2019
Jun 09, 2019
Extremely clean
Jun 08, 2019
I loved being able to use the pavilion to get my morning workouts in (a fan would be a nice addition). Love the blacktop! Love that every year we see new things added or upgraded! We had a great time as always �
Jun 08, 2019
Jun 08, 2019
Nice clean campground. Did not use any facilities so we cannot comment on those. Just stopped overnight.
Jun 08, 2019
Helpful staff; very courteous. They stopped by our campsite to see if we needed anything. Very nice playground for the grandchildren. Well kept campgrounds and nice store. We will definitely be coming back when we visit the kids and grandkids. A plus with the stay an extra night and get a night free.
Jun 08, 2019
Beautiful campground! Clean and everything you could possibly need is there. Lots to do at the campground for both adults and kids! Love the K-9 park!! The staff was wonderful!!
Jun 07, 2019
Great, easy and smooth, staff nice, ice cream great!
Jun 07, 2019
This campground is our "stop here" on our way through Iowa. Always accommodating and surprised to see a whole new section opened up now. Sites are level, hook ups are in top notch shape and best of all is the staff! All very friendly, met me at the door as I went to check in. Nice! Fresh pizza delivered to our door which is welcome when it has been along day on the road.
Jun 06, 2019
Very friendly staff. Everything is clean and well maintained.
Jun 06, 2019
Lovely staff, quiet location, though right off the highway.
Jun 05, 2019
Jun 05, 2019
We have stayed on several different themed weekends! They are awesome!
Jun 05, 2019
Employees very nice and was able to answer all our questions. Campground was very clean...one of the nicest KOA's we've stayed at
Jun 05, 2019
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals