Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email This Campground

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2018
In new section. Pretty sparse now.
Aug 12, 2018
Nice bathrooms and cabins. My kids loved the dunk tank at the pool!
Aug 12, 2018
Friendly staff, easy in/out, will return!
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Spacious sites. Friendly staff. Multiple kid friendly amenities. Nice pool. Easy access to Des Moines. Everyone had a blast and we will be back.
Aug 11, 2018
lack of shade was a problem neighbor's fire pit rather close so my towing vehicle took some heat from their fire, who lights a fire on a hot, muggy August night
Aug 11, 2018
We were there to meet and spend time with family. Although we didn't swim, the pool looked very nice. Our grandson, a toddler, had a great time with the play area. We did enjoy the meeting area with games and tables. The staff was very helpful.
Aug 11, 2018
The hosts and their staff were professional and kind at every interaction. Campground was neat and clean. This campground has many amenities that all of us enjoyed between visiting area attractions. We will use it again when we return to this area. Thank you! P. S.
Aug 11, 2018
Wish we could have stayed longer. Just passing through from the Estes Park KOA in Colorado to our home in Michigan. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the cabin. A great value for weary travellers. It appears that this is a fairly new campground, or just very well maintained. We wish to thank the staff for their kindness and helpful attitudes.
Aug 11, 2018
Top-notch KOA with very friendly check-in staff and guide to our pull-thru site. We had a wide site for our fifth-wheel, and and an easy reach to utilities. A big plus is the easy access to the camp from I-80, right off Exit 106, yet far enough away to avoid traffic noise. We didn't use the many amenities, but there's a wonderful pool and other family activities to enjoy.
Aug 11, 2018
Very little shade so it was extremely hot with our door facing west, awning was worthless in the afternoon/evening. I’m use to federal, state, Corp of engineer and county park prices so $60 a night seemed rather high. It did have a nice pool which the kids enjoyed. Spaces were close. My one neighbor had his slide out 2 feet from my camper. My other neighbor shared the same picnic/pit area.
Aug 11, 2018
Great ending to a 6 week road trip. Stayed in a lodge and would gladly do so again. Really enjoyed my stay.
Aug 10, 2018
Nice place and well equipped. Would like to see entrance and exit to rustic camping better maintained
Aug 10, 2018
I used the campground for our family reunion. Rented their pavilion for our family gathering. They did not come and refresh the pavilion as they stated would do. Also was told was 1st on their cancellation list but they rented out a cabin to another family member before giving me a chance to rent it also.
Aug 10, 2018
You have a beautiful, clean campground! We loved seeing your staff out and about collecting trash or showing people their spots. They were always greeting us with a friendly hello or a wave. We felt very welcome.
Aug 10, 2018
I enjoy your campground very much and all the family-friendly activities you have to offer. We stop on our yearly trip coming and going to WI, so we don't stay long, but knowing we have a quiet, safe place to stay for the nights we are there, is a great feeling! We appreciate being escorted to our spot.
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Quick and convenient like I like!
Aug 09, 2018
Maybe the nicest KOA we have stayed in. Very nice store, very clean and updated bathrooms, nice pool, fishing pond, plenty of space, friendly staff. Gravel site, plenty of room.FHU
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
Stay was very good. Nice wide and long rv sites made for easy access both entering & existing. Area was very quiet as compared to many KOA's which are located close to main roadways. Was easy to get to downtown Des Moines. Would have been nice to know electric was going off for service! Pretty expensive electronics on the rigs that don't like fluctuations in electric current.
Aug 09, 2018
Very nice would stay again
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
This was our 2nd time staying at this facility. It is very well maintained and clean. Sites are roomy and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again if given the opportunity.
Aug 09, 2018
Nice place
Aug 08, 2018
Very nice KOA, sites are easy to get in and out of. Far enough from the interstate there is no traffic noise, nice!
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Quiet, clean, well taken care of campground. We have stayed here every year for 16 years.
Aug 07, 2018
We really enjoyed your campground, with the exception of the mosquitoes after dark at the lake, which were too friendly! The area is very well kept. Staff was great! We hope to go back very soon!
Aug 07, 2018
Very nice!
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
The bathrooms on Sunday were out of paper towels, toilet paper and soap.
Aug 06, 2018
The campground is very nice. Our kids loved the jumping pillow, the dunking tank, Gaga ball and the pool. It would be nice to have more trees and shade. One morning there was no hot water so we took freezing cold showers.
Aug 06, 2018
Most expensive campground we have stayed in. Were in new part so no trees, no shade. Pads were made on slanted ground so they dropped off as much as a foot. There was only 2 feet space between the drop and our door so we had to be extremely careful, no room for our mat.
Aug 06, 2018
Overall, the stay was ok. For the price, we thought that there would be paved spots instead of gravel. Additionally, we were supposed to have a swing or two Adriondak chairs, and we didn't have either of those. The campground overall was very clean and it was extremely easy to pull in/out.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
Have stayed at many KOA locations and my kids said this was their favorite. The staff was very helpful throughout the stay.
Aug 06, 2018
Very quick check in and helpful staff! Love the facilities.
Aug 06, 2018
Other campers need to respect the quite times. The accomodations were very adequate for us and it appeared that teh pool and childerns paly areas were highly used.
Aug 06, 2018
Very nice campground .some of the sites are a little small special if you have a slide out.but store is very nice once there never had to leave for anything. Lots of things for the kids to do.
Aug 06, 2018
My son and I enjoyed our stay. 1st time camping with our tiny dog. It was difficult to have to take our pup wherever we went so she wouldn't bark. As a single parent with a 9 yr old, I was embarrassed to be yelled at when I took my pup to the pool area so I could watch after my child. Neither me or the dog were swimming. A pet tie up would be nice. The campground was clean but not shaded for tents
Aug 06, 2018
I came late and left early. Everything was taken care of even without interacting with the staff. Booked online. An envelope was waiting for me upon arrival that directed me right to my spot! We LOVE this KOA and it has the nicest, cleanest restrooms bar none. Thanks!
Aug 06, 2018
We departed early in the morning and there was absolutely no hot water available in the shower room. I’m not sure what the issue was as we were on the road before the office opened. Just not acceptable.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
We only stayed one night but it was a very nice park and if we go this way again will likely stay here.
Aug 05, 2018
Aug 05, 2018
Excellent campground, flat sites, plenty of room, no problem with any of the utilities. Will be back soon!
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals