Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email This Campground

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 15, 2018
Very nice and clean KOA. Lots of things for the kids to do. We just stayed overnight.
Jun 15, 2018
Was disappointed when we were taken to our site. There was a huge ditch to get into it. There were four empty sites to our left and two to our right. We couldn’t believe you would send someone to that site when there were others available. Other than that it was ok. Only stayed overnight so didn’t use the pool.
Jun 14, 2018
It started with being overcharged. I was charged for 9 people & only had 7 so I spent 20 minutes in the office trying to get $31.50 refunded. Then when I ordered pizza & wings I was delivered the wrong order. & when I took my kids to swim & play in the dunk tank, The water was very dirty & buggy & not well maintained
Jun 14, 2018
The site was clean and the staff very friendly. They ran out of firewood and went and got us some. The jump pillow is so much fun, my mother even got on it. I really want to go back!
Jun 14, 2018
A good place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 14, 2018
Beautiful, nice, perfect. Thanks
Jun 13, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Where to go in keeping the kids busy
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
Great Stay, Staff was very friendly and helpful, Lots of activities, facilities were very clean.
Jun 11, 2018
The campground was very clean and the children’s activities were wonderful. The couple running it and all of the staff were always very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again! The only thing I didn’t care for, is that you have to pay extra for your children to camp with you.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
Fantastic campground! We stayed here 3 years ago and were just here a few nights ago, can’t believe everything they have done. Extremely well taken care of and lots for the kids to do.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Very clean, well maintained campground. Lots of fun amenities for the kids. Will stay again!
Jun 09, 2018
Great campground. Friendly staff and lots of things for the grandkids to do. Convenient location.
Jun 08, 2018
Fun for everyone- the kids loved the activities. It would be nice to have a mini golf. Bathrooms were very nice. Quiet & Beautiful area. Pool area could be improved (updated).
Jun 07, 2018
It was a great stay and we will be back.
Jun 06, 2018
First time staying at a KOA, it was great. Thanks
Jun 06, 2018
Price is a bit high. Cost for wood and ice is way too high. Guy grading drives was working too long. too noisy for too long.
Jun 06, 2018
Very friendly staff of kids. Had good internet connection
Jun 06, 2018
Jun 05, 2018
This KOA are THIEVES. If you are planning on having an extended stay here please reconsider. We left 2 weeks before our month was up due to the owner foul language towards us and they refuse to refund any money due to a policy that we were never inform about even after speaking to multiple employees about our options to leave sooner. They rented our spot an hour later and got double their money.
Jun 04, 2018
Staff was friendly but seam to be rushed when checking us in.
Jun 03, 2018
We have stayed here the past 3 years during the Memorial Day weekend time frame. Each year we have seen improvements that add for an enjoyable time for everyone. The owners are very friendly and seemed to be courteous to everyone they meet. Although we had experienced a power outage, (owners had no control over this) we still had an enjoyable stay. We will plan to be back.
Jun 03, 2018
Very friendly and helpful people!
Jun 03, 2018
Clean and quiet great stay
Jun 01, 2018
I'm rating our stay at a 4 regardless of the power outages we experienced. Kids' activities was great, customer service was always friendly and professional. We enjoyed the pool, but would have liked to have seen canopies for shade more along the sides for "spectators" rather than swimmers. Pizza and ice cream was a plus and park was very clean. Appreciate the free night due to the power loss.
May 31, 2018
Really nice, quiet KOA with level gravel sites and pizza delivery!
May 30, 2018
This is an excellent KOA! We had a great spacious site we'd ask for again. They had trouble with the power going on and off during our stay, but handled it so well! The campground is well laid-out, the office area is well-organized and has a lot to choose from if you've forgotten anything, and the staff is incredibly friendly. Our arrival was a little chaotic but overall we had a great stay!
May 30, 2018
We were traveling & needed an over nighter near the Interstate hwy. After getting set up around 8pm, in a shared sight, we discovered there was not enough power to run air conditioning. The temps were in the high 90s! The people at the office said it was out of their hands. Same answer when we asked them why they couldn't have told us the day before when we called to confirm our reservation.
May 30, 2018
We were having RV problems and needed to make a prompt reservation. Even though they were having electrical problems, they accommodted us. It was a LOVELY location.
May 29, 2018
We always have a wonderful time at KOA!No matter what! Great Management and staff. Lost power a few times this past Memorial Day weekend so we decided to leave only because the dogs were hot. Looking forward to returning soon!
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
We had a great time staying at this campground.
May 29, 2018
This was the 2nd time we have stayed at this KOA. Experienced power issues both times (breakers tripping often) some of it was related to MAE but not all - same thing last 4th of July with circuit breakers tripping. Our motorhome now has issues and has to go in to be checked. My opinion is that the underground distribution for this campground is dated. Needs more 50A sites. Priority??
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
May 28, 2018
We arrived to 5+ hours of no electricity in 95+ heat. We were only offered a free night in the end which we can't use because it has to be used this season and our trips are already planned. I feel they should have offered free ice or something. Plus there was no planning ahead. The pool opened 40 min late because they didn't start filling the dunk tank earlier. And everyone was dying in the heat.
May 27, 2018
Our stay was nice, the campground well taken care of . On a negative no electric for 5 hours on Friday evening was not so good.
May 24, 2018
The gal that took our reservation and checked us in was personable and very nice. They allowed us a late checkout since our daughter was graduating from college. This was very helpful to our plans. The bathrooms are modern and kept very clean. The guests at the campground were considerate of the other guests and it was quiet at night.
May 24, 2018
Very nice park with really clean showers and restrooms.
May 24, 2018
The nicest I have seen. Host was awesome
May 21, 2018
Very nice!!
May 21, 2018
The camp grounds were prestige. And the showers even better. I was sad we were only staying for one night. We’ll be back with our grandkids!
May 18, 2018
Office was closed but the lady there helped us find a spot. Very nice place. Clean and friendly. Great dog park area. Will stay again on our return trip.
May 16, 2018
very helpful and accommodating staff. nice facilities.
May 16, 2018
We enjoyed our stay, it was only one night but staff was very friendly and helpful! Nice bathrooms!
May 16, 2018
May 14, 2018
We love this campground. The large, pull through spaces make it easy getting in and out. The campground is extra clean and well maintained. There are themed weekends with lots of activities for kids of all ages. The hosts and staff are wonderful.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award